BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/25/2009

FUNCOM, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(919) 882-9547View Additional Phone Numbers5826 Fayetteville Rd Ste 201, DurhamNC 27713-8684 Send email to FUNCOM, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/25/2009

BBB has determined that FUNCOM, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised FUNCOM, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Additional Complaint Information

BBB had previously identified a no address
of complaints concerning customer service issues. The company discussed with BBB in October 2008 ways to correct the cause of the customer complaints. Complaints have decreased in volume since the meeting.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on FUNCOM, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
07/14/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid to upgrade a Free account to a paid account and you banned the account and still haven't answered on why.
On July 1 2016, i opened a brand new free to play account with the intention of upgrading it via a special deal you had, Where you would receive all the expansions and an extra 180 days of game time with free armor set. So i upgraded on Friday July 8 2016 in the evening, I woke up Saturday and checked on the payment processing and noticed that on the account page it was deemed Approved. So i went in game and had not received any of the items. I then proceeded to file a support ticket as you direct people to do with problems. I did not hear anything until Monday July 11 2016 at 430 EST Time.

The email i received stated that they could not reopen my account until i sent them a email of my ID and Credit card with certain numbers blacked out. Also they Banned my account so i can no longer play, i have a problem with them Banning an account for no reason, i understand they want to make sure the charges are not fraudulent, i am ok with that but why not ask for that in email and if i do not provide it, then decline the payment and ban the account. Not a punish me now and then wait a week and still not hear anything back from your non existent support team.

So after replying to an email from your GM over billing within 30 minutes of him requesting the information ( Takes time to scan and edit the pictures to not show ID # and parts of the CC# ) i still have not heard anything from them, even though i have been charged $95.40..... So this is Fraud in my opinion and if i do not receive and answer soon i will file a case with my Credit Card company and the local sheriff and press charges against Funcom.

Account Name : King***** leaving rest blank. Attached to my email ******************* you can figure out the last bit of the account name.

Also since my play time is clicking away and i am not able to play will i get some type of restitution for lost time and money ?

Desired Settlement
I want my account opened back up and time added to my account for lost time.

Business Response
Hello,

We apologize for any frustration you've experienced regarding your account. Rest assured your purchase has not gone through yet. Purchases will not process on frozen/banned accounts.

I've checked your records and it appears that you are currently in active communication with a customer service support person. Our staff has been actively communicating with you over the past 48 hours regarding your account.

As it stands currently, your account was reopened this afternoon and your purchases attempted but have failed with the error "DENIED." This error is directly from your card company/bank and that is something you will need to resolve with them.

Thank you for your interest in our game and we hope you're able to get your payment issues sorted shortly. Please let the customer service person that you are currently speaking with know if there is anything more we can do to assist you at this time.

Take care and have a great night.

Consumer Response
It was denied because you had a transaction hold for 3 days according to chase, it was all resolved on their side and when speaking with your last CSR payment went through.

You guys really need to open up a live chat or atleast a phone service. Waiting from the night of 7/8/16 till 7/14/16 over a payment is insane!!!

This is the reason this complaint was filed.

Thanks for finally getting the issue resolved... with nothing given for my time and troubles!

Final Consumer Response

05/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Funcom tricked its players into a limited-time deal only to introduce harmful changes to the game later
Funcom offered players a deal (199.99 USD) on the so-called Grandmaster Package - an edition of their online game, The Secret World, only to introduce game-breaking changes right after the offer ended and players were tricked into buying it. Almost immediately after the changes were deployed, the official forums are overwhelmed with a couple dozen pages of generally negative player responses to such changes.

What's more important is that the game director has promised the community both in verbal interview and in writing that the majority of those newly-introduced ruining changes won't happen in the game. I suspect that Funcom expected a possible backlash from gamers thus trying to really push this offer, which really seems now like some kind of a malicious practice of their sales department.

Last but no the least, all these game-ruining changes weren't carefully prepared, but rather carelessly thrown into the game introducing even more game-breaking bugs (in addition to all the bugs the game already had).

Customer support hasn't so far come up with anything worthy of being named as a solution to this disaster.

Desired Settlement
A refund on Grandmaster Pack (199.99 USD) offer purchase minus company proclaimed value of digital items that came with the offer (some of them still unused/unclaimed).

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Hello,

Our apologies you are not satisfied at the direction that the game has changed since you started playing. As you may know, a MMORPG is an ever evolving game and there will be times when some players like certain changes and other players will not. Then more changes will be made and those same players will like the new changes and then the other players will not. That is the nature of an ever changing, exciting, updating online game.

When you signed up for our game, you signed an agreement with us. In that agreement it listed that we are not obliged to refund players due to changes made in the game. You were informed that it was ever evolving game play. You are still able to access the servers and play your characters, we have not interrupted your service in any way.

To complicate matters, while we would in some circumstances, be able to honor your request for a refund and then close your account, I cannot in this instance because your purchase was through PayPal. PayPal removes our ability to issue you a refund on payments made more than 60 days ago.

Because you bought the Grandmaster pack in early February, I do not have the ability to refund the payment.

My hope is that you will continue to play and watch for the next changes on the horizon, as those may be more to your liking.

Thank you for understanding.

Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Good day,

Firstly, I am not complaining about the direction changing since I STARTED playing. I am complaining about a lot of things in the game changing right after the 200$ deal was pushed to the players, while it was clearly promised by the company executive that such things won't happen. I have been playing the game for almost a year until that moment.

Secondly, I am aware of the PayPal policy regarding refunds. However, according to PayPal representatives (one of many sources can be found here - https://www.paypal-community.com/t5/Refunds-and-cancellations/refund-after-60-days/td-p/XXXXXX?profile.language=en-gb) you're still able to process the refund via Send Money function and then request fees cancellation from PayPal that will be approved as they see it as a refund of original transaction.

Besides, even if you're not willing to do that, I will still be fine with a partial refund with fees deducted from the transaction. So if you really want to honor my humble request, please do. This will reinstate Funcom honesty in my eyes and I will look forward to the studio further development.

Looking forward to your reply.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Thank you and I appreciate your continued thoughts and feedback on your experience.

If we grant this refund request (which again is way outside our terms) we would have to close your account with us.

This is because you have been thoroughly using your account since the upgrade purchase back in February.

Please respond and let me know your final decision.

I still cannot guarantee a refund but if you are 100% sure of your request and you understand that you would no longer have access to your account, then I will see what we can do.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I understand your reasons for closing my account, and I am willing to go forward with this resolution. Please close my account and see what you can do with the refund. I am 100% sure about this.

Thank you.

05/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fraudulent money siphoning system
The game is free to play but for those who pay get full access to game which is absolutely not true, after payibng 15$ a month subscription, you find out later in game that you need to buy certain items in their funcom coin system I ended up spending nearly 500$ just to play the game for a month, now for their supposed anniversary the came out with a new world content , and everyone including the paying customers and the free players have to pay 15$ just to access the new content, ON TOP of the monthly charge...I demand a full refund to account name 2012******* in Age of Conan.

Desired Settlement
full refund and permanent deletion of my account with funcom

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Hello!

I'm sorry you feel that you've had a negative experience with our game. You were in no way obligated in making those purchases but you did so and then you used the items that you bought. Furthermore I believe the issue you are currently having is due to your recent account suspension due to profane harassment of a certain group of people. Then you took it upon yourself to harass the customer support staff quote " I don't give a rats ***" "you have zero rights " " I paid 500 dollars this month so you go ahead and ban me. your loss." I am in control not you **** i pay."

If you would kindly note, that when you signed up for our services, you agreed to abide by our rules and terms. Since you repeatedly violated those terms by being abusive to the other players and then were abusive to the customer support person your account was suspended for a period of 24 hours.

My sincerest apologies we are not obligated to refund you in this instance as we did not mistakenly auto bill you or anything like that. You made a conscious choice in your purchase decisions and then used the items from those purchases.

Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns and I will gladly assist you as much as possible.

Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Im starting a class action suit along with 25 other subscribers, we will settle this in court. They are using manipulative tactics to try and change the fact, another thing, their rules and regulations are constantly violated by their very own employees and it also infinges on my constitutional right to express myself in the way i want to, if they act like idiots i will tell them they are idiots as I will do in court. it will cost them more than what they should refund me, another perfect example of how they do their business. We tried the arbitrary system now Im going to use my court system.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Per your request, all your accounts are now closed.

Payments made within the past 90 days have been refunded to you, except for the 1 month subscription valued at $14.99 on the *********** account.

You actively used our services from 4-25-2015 though 5-22-2015. This is why that particular payment is not eligible for refund.

However, the subscription payment on the ****** account was refunded as a courtesy because you only logged on briefly.

Lastly your information has been forwarded to our legal department.

I hope this information has been helpful.
Take care.








Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
refund accepted.

04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Playing a game by punishing players by awarding them 1 hour lockout time every time they fail the Main Story quest for expansion The Fall of Tokyo.
Problem Date, Purchase Date soon as I bought it 2015-04-10 21:49:25 Reference# XXXXXXXXX Total Amount 29.99 usd No Sales Rep online order from website http://www.thesecretworld.com/

Desired Settlement
A refund of 29.99 usd or fix the issue by allowing people to play there game they bought especially when it is the Main Story.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
I apologize for your frustration, however I'm unsure of what you'd like us to do for you.

Playing the game can be challenging. Have you tried asking other players for tips on how to progress though this encounter?

If we refund the purchase of your Fall of Tokyo expansion pack, that means I am forced to permanently close your account. The reason for this is that you've already been accessing the content that this pack gave you and playing the game utilizing upgrades from this pack.

Please let me know how you wish to proceed.


Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Are you kidding me not sure what you want me for you to do it says right in the description take the 1 hour lockout so I can play the game stop blocking people from playing the game and punishing them for failing I should be able to try as many times as I want plus it stuck on normal can't pick novice reinstalled and its still doing the same thing and asked a GM To help did exactly what he said to repair the game does not work that's why I reinstalled. What good is that to ask another player for tips when you guys are blocking me from playing by locking me out.
Either fix this 1 hour nonsense give me a token to
buy The Council's Seal so I don't have to deal with this stress nonsense by coming back every hour to play the game so I can play Tokyo expansion and try the new world which I paid for or give me a refund. You shouldn't be blocking people out for doing a Story Mission. Good thing this game is not subscription based because this is ridiculous paying for a game the gives you 1 hour lockout timer each time you fail a mission. Never played an MMO that blocks you out of doing THE MAIN STORY.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Thank you for your continued feedback. I will be happy to submit your ideas and thoughts to our Feedback team.

Per your request, I have refunded the purchase of your Tokyo expansion pack. Because of this, as previously explained, your account has now been closed.

Again, thank you for your thoughts.
Take care.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
Thanks for your help they gave me a refund for the expansion pack and closed my account for the original game as well, but was hoping they would do the honourable thing and fixed the game so people can play and get rid of the lockout timer for an hour for failed missions. Apparently they don't care about players because they would have read what I wrote now I lost money for the original game which was $59.99 because of their deceiving marketing practices. Now I just find out the game is selling on steam 11.21 Canadian for the original and the The Fall of Tokyo expansion for half price 16.49 Canadian. Now I see the company's who they really are. I gave them a chance instead of fixing the problem they just give me a refund of the expansion and close the account.

03/17/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Funcom pushed a "deal" for the most expensive version of one of their games in bad faith.
Funcom pushed a "deal" (not an actual discount, merely future incentives) for the most expensive version (Grandmaster Package) of one of their online games, The Secret World, while knowingly working on game-ruining changes at the same time. They announced the new changes almost immediately after the deal on their product ended. Less than twelve hours after the changes went live, their own forums are filled with TWENTY THREE pages of mostly negative responses, many of which also regret being tricked into such an expensive purchase by Funcom's bad practices.

I believe that the sale was pushed so strongly because of the expected backlash from their previously-loyal players; many of the changes were things that Funcom's own Game Director had just recently publicly assured us would not happen, both in a podcast and in writing. I feel like pushing purchases of their most expensive product while working on changes directly contrary to what the company's Game Director was publicly saying is a malicious and deceptive sales practice.

In addition, the changes were rushed and haphazardly thrown together, introducing a series of bugs that even the most cursory QA checks would have caught. Rather than listening to player feedback regarding these bugs on their test servers, they rushed the changes to production, introducing all of these game-breaking bugs to live play with less than day's notice.

I have called on their customer service to remedy this situation but they are not forthcoming with a solution, nor are they willing to discuss any of several options that I suggested.

Desired Settlement
The purchase of their GM package was at full retail price but included several in-game items. I am requesting a refund of the GM purchase minus their own proclaimed value of these digital items.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Good Morning,

Sorry you are not happy with the Grandmaster purchase. I can refund your purchase, but this means that we would have to close your account. Your account has been permanently altered by your purchase of the Grandmaster version of the game and sadly we cannot refund you without closing your account.

Try to remember that any decision on in-game items, and game mechanics is done so with the whole community in mind and what you may not like, another player might love. Things change over time and you can always make your requests known on the forum or using our feedback link.
This doesn't mean that we will implement what you've requested, but it does help the developers know what's on your mind.


Would you like for me to issue you a refund?

Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Yes, please go ahead and do that (refund + closing the account). We heavily discussed the GM package in-cabal before purchase and my decision was heavily influenced by ******* post, here: https://forums.thesecretworld.com/showthread.php?XXXXX-High-end-DPS-Contest&p=XXXXXXX&viewfull=1#postXXXXXXX.

Without explicit assurances like that, I (and several others) would definitely not have purchased the GM package given ******* tone in the podcast w.r.t. the kill. The timing has simply left me too bitter w.r.t TSW - GM statement in December, pushing a $300 product in February, and then announcing a major patch in March that is focused on things counter to the statement in December.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Your purchase has been refunded and your account is now permanently closed.

If you ever decide to come back, you are welcome to do so as long as you re-purchase the grandmaster pack.

Take care.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
04/19/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company appears to engage in fraudulent practices.
I went to thelongestjourney.com to purchase this game for download. Clicking the banner for the game download took me to another website: https://register.ageofconan.com/signup/ctrl/register/us/tlj/THELONGESTJOURNEY-NEW

I completed the registration form and provided my credit card information and submitted it. Immediately I felt a sense of alarm because I was taken to what appeared to be a very low budget shell of a webpage where most of the links did not work. I was NOT provided with a link to download the game. I did NOT receive an email confirmation of my purchase or with a link to download the game. I have checked and double checked all of my email folders including Spam and Junk mail and there is nothing.

I checked my bank account and saw that the money was charged to my account instantly. I finally was able to get through to my "account" page which confirmed that I paid $9.99 for the game. However, once again there was no link on the page and actually there was nothing that I could click on to access the game. Here is the payment details as shown on my account page:

Status Approved
Timestamp 2016-04-09 06:25:55
Currency USD
Total Amount 9.99
Reference XXXXXXXXX

This company literally just stole $9.99 from me because they did not provide me with the product that I was supposed to have purchased.

This is extremely alarming to me that an internet company could operate this way. When making any purchase online it is unheard of to not receive an instant email confirmation. I received no such confirmation of either my registration OR the purchase I made.

Desired Settlement
Immediate refund of $9.99.

Business Response
Good Morning,

I can certainly refund you but I wanted to let you know that the link to download the game is indeed on your account page. It's midway down the page and says "THE LONGEST JOURNEY DOWNLOAD." Use this link below and just type without the brackets. This link will take you directly to the download page:

https://register.ageofconan.com/account/subscription/ctrl/tlj/

Did you want to look one more time before I refund you?

My apologies you are having trouble finding this link.

Just let me know how you would like to proceed.
Thanks!

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Funcom refused to reopen my anarchy online account or even provide a valid reason to why it was closed, after I got hacked.
After taking a several month break from Funcom's sci-fi MMO Anarchy Online, I tried to return to game to find my passwords and email changed. I tried contacting their customer support and received a reply saying my account was closed for several payment issues and fraud, and then ceased communications. I tried several times over the course of the next few weeks to find out what had happened to my account when I was gone but they refused to even so much as reply to me, and when I told them I would be contacting the BBB they said they wouldn't reply or help with the case. I paid 4 accounts over around 7 years totaling around $60 a month, and spent a lot of time working very hard to create endgame levelled/geared characters, for Funcom to just decide I should lose it because I got hacked. I find this type of customer service, especially to a long term and very loyal customer, quite frankly appalling, and as such I would like it resolved either via re-opening of my wrongly closed account, or a refund of the several thousands of dollars I paid them for it just to be snatched from me for no good reason. I personally done nothing to violate their EULA or T&C and as such they have no rightful reason to keep my accounts banned

Desired Settlement
Re-opening of my accounts in full, or a refund of all the money I spent on paying for several accounts over years, estimated to total around 3000-3200 USD

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Hello,

We are troubled to hear about your frustrating situation. While you did not provide enough information for me to be able to look up your accounts in question, I can give you some general answers that may be of help.

You are responsible for your own account security. If you allowed other people to access your accounts that is account sharing and under our rules and terms this is not permitted.

Refunds are never given on purchases over 90 days old on credit card purchases and 60 days old on Paypal purchases.

If you were not the last person making payments on those accounts, that means you would not be able to verify account ownership. When an account becomes contested like these sound like they were, then we simply close the account(s) as per the agreement you signed when you created your accounts.

I hope this information helps.
If you want me to look more specifically into your specific accounts I can, however you will have to give me the account names in question to do so.

I apologize if this is not the answer you wanted to receive.

Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
I did not allow anyone on the account, I was gone from game during which time I was hacked, I hardly think that can be classed as account sharing as I had no idea it was going on and didn't give out any personal info regarding said account. The username was mr-w33d-pk

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Thank you for providing the account name in question.

This account has many problems that span over the years starting back in 2011. The account was reported compromised, shared, compromised, shared over and over again throughout the years. Furthermore the account has been suspended many times over the years for profane harassment, terroristic threats, among other things.

Also in 2014 the account, logged in from an IP address that had accessed the account for many years, stated in the chat channel that they would like to sell their account, listed their characters levels, the amount of subscriptions attached to the account and then gave a Skype address for people interested to contact them to complete the sale. This behavior is strictly forbidden per our terms of service.

Shortly after that, the account owner name and address changed and a new IP address began playing on the account. Then a few months later, another person reported that the account was theirs, not the other person whom had stolen it. Meanwhile, that other person had been making payments on the account and advancing the characters.

It appears, that the account was willingly sold (again against our rules) and was played and paid for by the new owner. Then it appears that the previous owner, after the fact, came back and tried to claim that the person now paying and playing on the account, "stole" the account.

Disputes like this is one of the major reasons that our agreement, that you signed when you created your accounts, states that this is expressly forbidden.

It was decided at that time, back in 2014 that the account would be closed due to the numerous issues associated with the account.

Numerous violations occurred on this account.
Numerous instances of account sharing/selling was reported.

This account will never be reopened and has been permanently closed.

We never like these situations to occur because we love our customers and want to keep them happy but when this type of issue occurs, we have absolutely no recourse but to close the account.

Lastly, since the last payment made on this account was back in 2014, and paid by a person not yourself, we obviously cannot issue any type of refund.

I hope that this information helps bring you some closure.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can't help but feel that this is a blatent lie as I've never once tried to sell the account and it has not been suspended many times as stated, I got a 1 day ban once for trolling in the chat but the allegations made by yourselves saying multiple times and the reasons are a complete fabrication. I had no idea that the account was being stolen, sold, or anything else of the matter, I invested far too much time into the game to give away or sell my account, but from your account of the situation it seems whoever hacked me tried to sell it, then perhaps that person tried to sell it again or something. The only time I've ever had is sues logging in is when I moved from the UK to the US in 2012 and I can provide accurate information to prove that was indeed me recovering my own account with no foul play entailed. What I think happened is that when I was gone from game in 2014 my account got somehow compromised and that you are just jumping to conclusions and trying to fabricate other instances to seem like they were something else or something worse, in order to cover for the fact that your customer support team messed up when I reported my account compromised, which is quite frankly ridiculous to be honest. This isn't the first time I've heard of funcom messing up and wrongfully banning someones account to cover for their own staffs incompetence, and honestly I feel trying to cover a failure up just to not make a member of your staff look bad is a horrible way to run a company. I've literally had nothing but minor offences on my account, and can provide extensive evidence of such, as well as proving I'm the account owner and showing that the one time it was reported compromised in 2012 was just because I had moved and lost my password in the process. Regardless of whether or not my account was paid for by the hijacker(s), it doesn't make it any more fair that I should be banned for being hacked, as I can assure you that I never gave the information out for the account in any way nor tried to sell it, so these claims (If there's any truth to them, which I don't entirely believe anyway) are unsubstantial.

12/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Support for Funcoms Pc game The Secret World.
I am unable to get the game to load properly. I asked for online email assistance. They replied several times without offering anything that solved the problem. Then claimed not to have received some emails and finally just stopped responding at all.

Desired Settlement
I really want a solution for the problem with the game.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Good Morning,

I apologize for your negative experience with TSW.
All I can suggest is that you contact our support team and describe your technical problems in detail to them so that they can better assist you.

There are certain system requirements that you must meet before you can play our game.

I see that you have been successfully logging into our game, as you've created 2 characters and played on them. So I hope that whatever issue you had, is already resolved.

Again, please contact our support and explain your issue in as much detail as possible. They will gladly assist you.

Have a good holiday season!

12/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello, I purchased a videogame called the secret world and a lifetime subscription. I can not access my account because it has been banned.
Hello, I purchased a videogame called the secret world and a lifetime subscription with doing so I did not know it came with very lousy customer service and security. I am a college student at University of Phoenix so I do not play all the time on it. What makes me angry is that my account has been hacked several times I know it not on my end for I am an IT student and I know a lot about computers. Furthermore, if it was on my end all my accounts on my computer would be hacked not just a single one. I have contacted customer support and told them of my situation and was told that my account is now banned because of being hacked so many times. I told them that I never authorize my account information to be changed. That they had never took any type of procedure to make sure that I was the one changing the email or password on my account. I had also told them that that is negligence on them not on my side for I kept on getting told that I must have a virus in my computer. Please remember I'm an IT student so I do work on computers and I do know a lot about them and if I did have a virus in my computer like be stated not only this account will be hacked. I have tried and plead with them to give me back my account but so far nothing. I was told to contact their customer relations as I did and I still have not gotten any response and that was in August. All I'm asking for is my account back with the lifetime subscription with my characters for I have paid enough money my lifetime subscription plus the game. I am also requesting like I asked before that my account gets monitored like it should be and that they implant a system making sure that it's the owner changing the email and not some hacker. Furthermore, if none of this can be done I will request my money to be returned to me in what I paid for my lifetime subscription and the videogame. I am also requesting to speak to hire management and not a GM for so far I've been ignored with all my plead for help with my account so we can make sure that this doesn't happen again. I do love the game and it is killing me how customer service is acting for they cannot fix a simple thing with who is doing this or add in a simple protocol and making sure that the account holder is the one changing the account information. I can also provide emails that I have tried been in contact with them and that they did stop Communication with me.

Desired Settlement
All I'm asking for is my account back with the lifetime subscription with my characters for I have paid enough money my lifetime subscription plus the game. I am also requesting like I asked before that my account gets monitored like it should be and that they implant a system making sure that it's the owner changing the email and not some hacker. Furthermore, if none of this can be done I will request my money to be returned to me in what I paid for my lifetime subscription and the videogame. I am also requesting to speak to hire management and not a GM for so far I've been ignored with all my plead for help with my account so we can make sure that this doesn't happen again. I do love the game and it is killing me how customer service is acting for they cannot fix a simple thing with who is doing

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Good Evening,

I apologize for the situation you have found yourself in. I cannot find your account at this time, because your name nor your email address match anything in our system currently.

That being said, I wanted you to know that account security is your responsibility. I understand you work in IT, and I can sympathize with your opinion however our system has not been breached. Did you share your account with anyone else? This is how accounts get "hacked." Or did you buy your account from a 3rd party? That is another common way. If it keeps happening multiple times, we close your account due to the fraud risk involved.

Depending on how long ago you made your purchases, it may not be possible to issue any refunds. Any purchases over 90 days old cannot be refunded.

Kindly contact us again and ask for the fraud department and include your account name. Then we can look into this matter further for you.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
Here is the documentation that states they had a breach in security on their side. I never received an email all they did was put this on the forms. Their securities are very lacking so anyone can grab anyone's information and hack their account. The protocol when someone changes an email address on account is to send an email to the original email address making sure it's the original owner changing it. That way is not a hacker neither any of these protocols were done. I hope the documentation I just send you helps a bit because it just states that they did mess up on their end. Now I did not receive an email at all about this was just posted up on the forms. By the way, I'm sorry have not got this to you earlier is just taking four classes by the time I get home I'm tired out. You have multiple complaints just in this year and occluding minds with accounts being hacked.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just got an email from you GM name ***** in Customer Service Representative and told me that Greetings,

Thank you for contacting Funcom Customer Support.

Unfortunately, the account in question is not eligible for re-opening, as you have been informed in the past. Thank you, and please have a nice day.

Regards,

Therefore, even though I showed evidence that it was on your side at the time that my account got hacked you won't take responsibility. This is what I am talking about that why I ask to speak to upper management. You admit at the time as well with the picture and URL I sent in that there was a security breach, but you do not send out emails out letting customers know to change passwords or information all you did was posted up on the forms. I am a college student I do not have time to monitor the forms. If I cannot get the account back then I would like a refund because the security issue wasn't on my end.


Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
Good Morning,

No problem on the delay of response however you have not emailed us and asked to speak with the fraud department. I cannot help you unless you contact us and ask for the fraud department.

Again, we can't help you resolve this until you contact us because the information you have here, is not found in our system.

Thanks.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After years of paying for and putting time into a game/service provided by funcom the account was banned due to a security breach.
After years of paying for and putting time into a game/service provided by funcom the account was banned due to a security breach. I have played the Funcom game Anarchy Online since its launch off and on. One of my accounts that was started in 2005 and which I have had a security issue with ONE other time was banned. I have payed for this game for years and put countless hours into it. I would think that with ME bringing to funcom a security issue with my own account they would be able to restore my service. This is not something that i did against the rules and was caught doing this is something that happened to me that I brought to them for help with. The result of years of loyalty was met with them closing my account and telling me there was no appeal and that it was final. I have asked several times from a few of there staff via online webchat for some way to contact them via phone ect but they simply tell me that is not an option and to deal with it. I have hundreds of dollars and countless hours invested into this game and feel as if i have been treated unfairly by funcom. If this is the way they handle things that are outside of peoples control then i want others to know about it. This is no way to treat a loyal paying customer. I would think that as a company customer retention and satisfaction would be a priority.

Desired Settlement
I wish for my account to be restored.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Thank you for contacting us.

Unfortunately in this situation we simply close the disputed account. It is your responsibility to maintain secure access of your account. This means not sharing your account with anyone else, to prevent issues like this from occurring.

When account is shared and someone else starts making payments, they become the owner as they are making the payments. When someone disputes the ownership change, we close the account. As all of the above was against the terms of service/EULA that you signed when you created your account. This is one of the many reasons we do not allow account sharing/transferring (or account selling.)

We are regretful that ultimately this is what has occurred here but hopefully you can now fully understand our reasoning behind this decision.

I see that you have other account open and playable, I hope that you will continue to enjoy those. Remember to keep your username and password secret to prevent anyone else from gaining access.

Take care.



Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
The confusing part to me is that someone can pay for the account and its not a problem for you guys...just seems like its more about money than rules ect. I have played this game off and on since launch and will most likely continue to do so off and on but i have lost faith in the customer service.

Thanks

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Software Developers, Computer Software Services

Additional Information

top

This firm also has offices located in the following countries:

Funcom NV/
Funcom GmbH
Neugutstrasse 66
CH-8600 Dübendorf
Switzerland

Funcom Oslo AS
Drammensveien 167
N-0277 Oslo
Norway

Funcom Rep Office
Hengchuan Town house
168 Xi Ba He Road,
Chaoyang District
Beijing 100028
P. R. China

BBB file opened: 07/02/2001Business started: 07/01/1993
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2000, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ole Schreiner (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Sheri Tarter (Contact)Mr. Scott Junior (CSR/QA)Ms. Terri Perkins (Media Strategy Dir.)Ms. Janet Racketa (Human Resources)Mr. Edward Walsh (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

49

Business Category

Software Developers, Computer Software Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

FUNCOM, Inc. has received 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for FUNCOM, Inc.

5826 Fayetteville Rd Ste 201

Durham, NC 27713-8684

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 5826 Fayetteville Rd Ste 201 

    Durham, NC 27713-8684

  • PO Box 14390 

    Durham, NC 27709-4390(919) 882-9547

  • 1440 Ste-Catherine Ouest Suite 900 

    Montreal, QC H3G 1R8

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*FUNCOM, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 806-0707
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Software Developers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.