BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1974

The Aluminum Company of North Carolina, Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (919) 620-8500Fax: (919) 620-0501View Additional Phone Numbers1335 Hamlin Rd, DurhamNC 27704-9662 Send email to The Aluminum Company of North Carolina, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1974

BBB has determined that The Aluminum Company of North Carolina, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The Aluminum Company of North Carolina, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Aluminum Company of North Carolina, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company was contacted in December 2015 regarding warranty issues. I've been getting nothing but promises and a runaround.
I have spent many thousands of dollars with the Aluminum Company of NC over the years. Last December 14, 2015, *** came to the house to check on warranty issues weather stripping on an exterior door, caulking on a bay window, and most importantly, leaking water issues on a French door which they had repaired previously which was again causing problems with rotting of the door and frame and water stains on the hardwood floor in the family room. He told me the Aluminum Company would make the repairs but the company making the door jam which needed to be replaced was on Christmas break and closed for two weeks. I called again in January and was told everything would be repaired in February. I called again several times in February, leaving multiple messages. Finally, the end of February **** along with *** on the phone called to say the parts would be in within the first two weeks of March and they would make the necessary repairs. It is now April and no one has called to either make the repairs or tell me what is going on with this warranty work. I would like these repairs made as it is now almost four months since I reported the issues to the Aluminum Company of NC. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to make the necessary repairs in a timely manner which is in the month of April! Not another four or five months from now!

Business Response
In response to Mrs. *****'s complaint, our first project with Mr. & Mrs. ***** was in 2002. Since then we have done three other projects with the *****'s and over the past 14 years, we have had 18 minor service calls submitted by the *****'s. We have always addressed and responded to these concerns to their satisfaction making sure to follow up with courtesy calls before closing each service. During these follow up calls, the customer has given us positive feedback stating our service was "excellent" and "terrific".
We received this call regarding the issues with the door on 12/8/2015. We had spoken to Mrs. ***** on several occasions and our last contact was on 2/26/2016 informed her that we had a new door jamb ordered and we did get it covered under warranty through our manufacturer. We apologized for the delay with the manufacturer because they were behind in production due to their holiday shutdown. We additionally informed her that as soon as the parts came in (which would be approximately 2/3 weeks), we would schedule a time to come out and take care of her service. At that time, **** ***** provided Mrs. ***** with her direct number in case she had any further questions or needed to discuss anything further. Unfortunately, the parts are on back order but are scheduled to arrive to our office the week of 4/5/2016; therefore, no call was made to schedule the repair. After receiving the BBB complaint, **** ***** called Mrs. ***** on 4/4/2016 and, based on the parts coming in, scheduled the repair for 4/14/2016. This was the first date that worked for the customer after the door jamb arrives.
As a previous board member of the BBB, I think it is important to let the consumer know the effect a complaint has on a business. Even if the complaint is resolved it stays on the record for a period of 3 years which does affect business. A simple question to the consumer would be, have you contacted the company before filing this complaint and has the company been in communication with you about your concerns. In this case the answer is yes. We have been in contact with the customer, albeit we should have updated her in the middle of March. It would have been nice if the customer would have contacted us before filing a complaint since we have a long, positive history of doing business with the customer as you can see and servicing her work over the past years with no issues or concerns.
I feel that this complaint was filed prematurely and with no merit. I also believe that this customer does not realize what a negative effect that filing a complaint has on a company's business in lost revenue and the goodwill in the community it serves.
Respectfully,

**** *******, Owner


Consumer Response
I mentioned all my calls to the Aluminum Company in my previous email. Since December, *** did call in December and again in January. I left two or three messages on ***'s voice mail in February and never received a return call until the end of February from **** and ***. At that time (although **** gave me her phone number) she assured me the parts would be in by the middle of March. Again, no calls in March. I waited until April 2 to contact the BBB. I received a call Monday, April 4, from **** scheduling the repair date today.

Everything was completed satisfactorily. And I would continue to do business with the Aluminum Company. I believe they are an excellent company with which to do business, and I have always been completely satisfied. My only complaint was the timeliness of the warranty work and the fact that they did not keep me informed. It was unprofessional and not what I expected from the Aluminum Company.

Final Consumer Response

07/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They did not deliver what was described by the salesman and they never arrived on time to do the work.
Buyer Beware - The Aluminum Company of North Carolina has very friendly sales people who show and describe one product to you but later another, much lesser quality product is delivered and installed on your house. Everyone I talked to was very friendly, but no one showed up on time except the lady to collect our payment. In several cases, I had to call the office more than once to find out why they had not arrived as promised and although I had stayed home from work to meet them, I was asked to wait until the next day for them to start.
Our project involved several different parts with different crews and not one of them arrived on time. When the first crew finally arrived, half of the crew was pulled off for a higher priority job. After waiting 8 weeks to even get the job started, the work took several days longer than it should have because we were treated as low priority. Our total bill was almost $20,000, which is a lot of money for us but apparently is not significant to this company.
This complaint is being filed because it has been over a week since I was promised a follow-up call about my issues. They cashed our check without ever giving the final walk-through inspection that they promised. The whole experience has been a big frustration and we wish now that we had chosen a different company to do our work.

Desired Settlement
Several items need to be replaced - a window that does not close properly and a storm door that was not installed correctly. These have been ordered and are promised to be delivered and installed. However based on prior experience, I am including them to make sure that this work is done as promised.
I want a walk-through with someone who is knowledgeable and in a position to get other minor items corrected.
I want to talk to someone who can either adjust our bill or (preferably) get the siding on our front porch replaced with a product more in line with what we were promised.
I want an apology, not a dozen excuses, for why we were treated as unimportant and had to call multiple times to get any of the work done.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
In response to the complaint from the customer, the customer states after waiting almost 8 weeks to start the job we finally showed up to do the work. The contract clearly states the approximate start date will be 6-8 weeks before it starts. This complaint had no merit.
The customer states they were treated as a low priority. This is not the case. Once the job was started, we stayed until it was complete. It may be true that part of the crew left the job to do something else but there were always people working on the job. Sometimes things come up and one of the guys may need to leave the project for a short time to take care of something on another job, this is just the nature of the business. This complaint has no merit.
The customer states that there is a problem with the storm door and that is correct. What she failed to mention was that the salesman included this door for her at no charge and the door was custom made to clear a dropped beam in front of the door. Our installation crew was able to modify the beam so the customer could enjoy a full size door and we ordered another door again at no charge.
The customer states that the job was almost $20,000, it was actually $19, 447 and we collected $15,000 at the walk through. The customer and our employee agreed that they would hold back $4447 until any remaining punch list items were completed. I find it very interesting that the customer left this detail out.
The customer also states that she has not heard from anyone. This is a blatant lie because her salesman called her on Friday July 11th and left a message with her to meet and discuss her concerns. The customer did not return his call and then filed the BBB complaint on Monday July 14th. I also want to say that the customer's door had already been ordered and should take 3-4 weeks to come in.
The BBB holds its members to a higher standard of ethics but I also think customers should also be ethical and truthful when filing a legitimate complaint. I feel this customer has not been truthful or ethical on this complaint and left out many details which I have previously described and we feel that this customer filed this complaint prematurely and without merit given the short time that has passed when we had the initial walk through and collected her partial payment on July 2nd.
With that said, we will get her door installed, take care of any punch list items and collect the remaining balance of $4447 and move on.
Respectfully,
**** *******, Owner
The Aluminum Company of North Carolina


Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
I am very disappointed that **** ******* would call a customer a blatant liar. I filed this complaint on Friday, July 11 around 3:30 in the afternoon. His salesman called at 5:28pm. I interpreted the timing of the call to be in response to the complaint. His message said that he wanted to come by early the following week, but my schedule was full and I needed to compare calendars to have an alternate time to meet him. I had waited all week for a call from him. I thought he could wait until Monday for a call back from me.
On Thursday, July 3, I was promised a call back early the following week. As I stated in the complaint, I waited all week and filed the complaint late on Friday because it appeared that no one was going to call. Since I had called them to get nearly every phase started and had already put up with many delays, I did not feel obligated to call them to resolve their customer service issues.
**** *******'s response mentions several details that I did not include. In an effort to be concise and list the items that were most problematic to me, I did not include every detail. However, he did not mention all details either. The Customer Service Manager called around the 6 week mark to say that our job was delayed due to delay in getting the windows. I told her that I understood vendors could have problems, and requested that they go ahead and do the gutter helmet part of the job. We were having bad storms nearly every evening during this time and our gutters had not been cleaned since that was to be included in installing the helmet. She said that she would check on that part of the job and get back to me. I did not hear from her again and it seemed to us that our job was not on the schedule at all until I called on June 16 or 17 to see when they would start. In response to my call, someone called me back and offered to start on Monday of the following week. Because we were going out of town, we agreed to start the job on Wednesday, June 25. I was told the crew would be there around 8 AM. I stayed home from work to meet them. When they had not arrived at 9:30 AM, I called to find out why they were not there. The person who handled the crews had no idea they were not there even though he told me that they should have come to the shop at 7:30 to pick up our windows. The scheduler called me back after checking on the crew and said that a personal emergency had kept the crew away. He rescheduled us to the following day with a different crew.
I already mentioned how half of this crew was pulled off our job on the first day. Not only did half the crew leave, but they took all the tools. My husband loaned them his power tools and hammer so the two guys who were there could continue working.
The window and siding crew told me that a painter would come to finish the inside work. It was scheduled for 8:30 AM on July 2. Someone called on Monday, June 30 to confirm the painters would be there on Wednesday morning. This time, I waited until about noon to call and see why they had not arrived. The girl that answered the phone told me the painting was all outside and that it had been done on Monday. I assured her that it had not been done and that it was inside, not outside. She checked with someone and came back on the phone to say they would come the following day. Since I had specifically stayed home to meet the painter, I informed her that this delay was not acceptable. She checked with someone else again and came back to tell me that the painter would come that afternoon.
**** ******* also failed to mention that the salesman included the storm door at no charge so he could close the sale. We had gotten quotes from 3 other companies and wanted to review and consider them all. His salesman offered the storm door to encourage us to sign a contract that night. Although we were told that we would get a no obligation estimate, the salesman did everything he could, including throwing in the replacement storm door to get us to sign the contract.
This complaint was not filed because The Aluminum Company of North Carolina did not start the job within the stated timeframe. The salesman had said that they could probably do it sooner, but that 6-8 weeks was the promised time frame. Actually, the job was started 9 weeks after we signed the contract. Still, this is not the complaint. The complaint is that except for arriving to get measurements at the start and to collect the payment near the end, not one crew showed up on time and in most cases, although the appointment had been confirmed, I had to call to tell The Aluminum Company of North Carolina that the crew was not there and to make alternate arrangements.
Representatives of The Aluminum Company of North Carolina and **** ******* have asked me to withdraw this complaint. I was considering doing that until **** ******* called me a blatant liar. Withdrawing the complaint would prevent others from knowing how they may be treated by The Aluminum Company of North Carolina. I understand that many customers attest to having a wonderful experience doing business with The Aluminum Company of North Carolina. The Aluminum Company of North Carolina had several opportunities to exhibit great customer service on this job and failed every time until I filed this complaint. Overall, it has been a very disappointing experience.

Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
In response to the ******* response dated July 21, we feel the complaint with the Better Business Bureau was filed prematurely, without giving The Aluminum Company of North Carolina an opportunity to correct any punch list items, receive the new custom storm door, and while the ***** still owed the Aluminum Company a balance of $4,477.55 until the issues were resolved.

With that said, when we receive all the materials we will complete the punch list items, complete all work, collect the balance due in full, and move on.


Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The Aluminum Company of North Carolina is entitled to have the opinion that the complaint was filed prematurely. As a customer, I am disappointed that it took filing this complaint to get The Aluminum Company of North Carolina to meet with us for a walk-thru and to resolve our issues.
I had to call The Aluminum Company of North Carolina numerous times to get the work done when crews did not arrive as scheduled. As described earlier, for many reasons, we felt that we were treated as a small, low priority customer. This is our opinion based on the poor customer service and unreliable schedules we were given. When another appointment was missed by 4 days, the follow-up phone call from the Operations Manager, I was not going to call the company again and beg them to hear my issues. Filing this complaint seemed like my only option.
According to the BBB website, accepting the business' proposed resolution means that I am completely satisfied with their response. This is not the case; I am not completely satisfied. After I filed this complaint, The Aluminum Company of North Carolina contacted me and is working to resolve the issues with the products and work done at our house. I am disappointed that The Aluminum Company of North Carolina chose to personally attack me for filing this complaint and has done nothing beyond a phone call from the owner and the basic terms of the contract to apologize for the problems we have experienced. Although I am not completely satisfied with the response, The Aluminum Company of North Carolina is working to meet the terms of the contract and I agree to accept their resolution and close this complaint.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Siding Contractors, Window Companies, Door Installers, Awning Canopy Suppliers, Window Installation Companies, Deck Builder, Deck - Repair, Patio and Deck Builders, Home Improvement Builders, Contractors - Gutters, Gutter Leaf Guards, Gutter and Downspout Suppliers, Door Repair Stores, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, General Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1972Business started: 06/01/1961
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Carolina Licensing Board of General Contractors
14460 New Falls of Neuse Ste 149
Raleigh, NC 27614-6643
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.org

BBB records show a license number of 54876 for this company, issued by North Carolina Licensing Board of General Contractors. Their web address is http://www.nclbgc.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1963, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey A. Monsein (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Sami Hanna (Controller)Ms. Niki Baker (Administrative Assistant)Ms. Janice A. Monsein (Vice President)
Number of Employees

16

Business Category

Siding Contractors, Window Companies, Door Installers, Awning Canopy Suppliers, Window Installation Companies, Deck Builder, Deck - Repair, Patio and Deck Builders, Home Improvement Builders, Contractors - Gutters, Gutter Leaf Guards, Gutter and Downspout Suppliers, Door Repair Stores, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, General Contractors

Products & Services

Aluminum Co of NC Inc offers home improvements including siding, storm windows & doors, gutters, roofs, decks, vinyl siding, and hardiplank.

Alternate Business Names
Aluminum Co of NC Inc, Aluminum Company
Industry Tips
Home Remodeling Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Aluminum Company of North Carolina, Inc has received 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 9 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Aluminum Company of North Carolina, Inc

1335 Hamlin Rd

Durham, NC 27704-9662

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1335 Hamlin Rd 

    Durham, NC 27704-9662(919) 620-8500
    (919) 620-9406
    (919) 620-8410
    (919) 620-9185
    (919) 620-0696
    (919) 620-9323
    (919) 620-8900
    (919) 620-8800
    (919) 620-8817
    (919) 620-8611
    (800) 672-4348
    (919) 220-7576
    (919) 971-1151
    (919) 220-7476
    (919) 422-4517

  • PO Box 15185 

    Durham, NC 27704-0185

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Aluminum Company of North Carolina, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 620-9406
  • (919) 620-8410
  • (919) 620-9185
  • (919) 620-0696
  • (919) 620-9323
  • (919) 620-8900
  • (919) 620-8800
  • (919) 620-8817
  • (919) 620-8611
  • (800) 672-4348
  • (919) 220-7576
  • (919) 971-1151
  • (919) 220-7476
  • (919) 422-4517
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Siding Contractors

Home Remodeling Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.