BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1996

Armstrong Relocation Co., Inc

Find a Location

Phone: (919) 425-9853Fax: (919) 425-3515View Additional Phone Numbers4227 Surles Ct Ste 110, DurhamNC 27703-9418 Send email to Armstrong Relocation Co., Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1996

BBB has determined that Armstrong Relocation Co., Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Armstrong Relocation Co., Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Armstrong Relocation Co., Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We recently moved from North Carolina to Louisiana. During the move, at least one box was misplaced and did not arrive. We do not know exactly because the driver never gave us a copy of the loading in voice until everything was in the new apartment, at which time it did not mean a thing. In addition, he was late because he was unable to find a smaller truck to rent to offload so he could get in the complex. He finally ended up borrowing a truck from the firm we hired to set us up. This necessitated them returning the next day to finish the job.They also broke a headboard and we found out later, they also lost one of the plugs that hold the frame together. They chose not to inform us of either.We contacted Armstrong. The driver said "the truck was empty. Don't blame me." I was told that I would be contacted by a claims specialist who would assist me in both the repairs and the lost carton. We finally heard from the claims person who said she had contacted a company who would call us. So far nothing. I also asked her about the missing box. She said she knew nothing about it. I chose this company because of their rating by BBB. It seems as if now that they have been paid, tghey really do not care.
Account_Number: UXXXX-XXXXX-X

Desired Settlement
I would like the head board fixed.I would like the missing box located even though that is unlikely.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Claims mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@goarmstrong.com
We at Armstrong were aware of the missing box early during dleivery I believe. We ciontacted the company that the ******** hired to help them settle in (unopacking, etc), and they did a picture in the unpacking debris, but no luck with the missing box so far. We are performing a trace to see if we can locate the said box.
The Brugger claim form was received here at our office on 4/10/14, since that time I have been attempting to get it assigned to a repair firm in their area. There are only certain companies we are authorized to use, ones that have been back ground checked and authorized by United for us to use. This is for the safety and security of our customers. The gentle man/repair firm in their area has been hard to reach, and resulted in phone tag - I will continue to work to get it assigned and inspected as soon as possible. We will see if the headboard is repairable or not.
I have spoken with Mr. ******* (4/10, 4/14, 4/21), and felt he understood where we are with his claim at this point.
We will continue to try and locate the missing box, and see what needs to be done to take care of the headboard.
Sincerely,
**** *******
Armstrong Relocation

10/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Armstrong Relocation packed and moveed our household from Charlotte NC to Va Beach. The packing was awful causing damages. Company is unresponsive.
The packers failed to pack our goods in a professional and workmanlike manner. As a result, unpacking took an enormous amount of time as boxes were not properly labeled, rooms were mixed together, things were literally thrown in boxes, wardrobe boxes were filled with goods and then hangups placed on top requiring drycleaning of most hang up items, many items were damaged,and a few were lost/stolen like an IPAD. The packers were amused when they finished packing us that the estimator had required 36 packs of paper and they had used less than 10 and were carrying out many unused boxes. The excess supplies were an indication of them not using the proper supplies and techiniques to complete the job. Additionally, the moving crew failed to properly protect our home including placing their metal ramp directly on brick steps causing chips and were not forthcoming about the timing of their arrival both days causing unnecessary lost work time for my husband and I. While the claims and customer service reps at Armstrong have been very polite and shared our disappointment in the services, they have yet to act on our request for a reduction in the cost which was almost $15,000 and have not addressed our claims regarding damaged items. We used this same company four years ago when we moved to Charlotte and had a fantastic experience so we understand what a proper packing and moving job should look like and that is why we hired them again. We started our communications about our concerns on June 23rd and have provided them with more than 100 pictures documenting the issues. We have had numerous conversations with ******* *******, ***** ******** **** ******* and ******* We have completed and submitted their required claim forms. Due to their lack of action we have disputed the payment with our credit card company in an attempt to get the matter resolved. Armstrong is refusing to even address our concerns until we have removed the dispute.

Desired Settlement
We are requeting that they waive the packing costs and reimburse us for the cost to repair/replace the damaged and missing items.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Contact Name and Title: **** sepelak / Claims Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@goarmstrong.com
The ******'s move was an interstate move from Charlotte NC to VA Bch VA at a guarantted price as per the signed agreement between the ******'s and United Van Lines, and unfortunately damages did occur.
I personally have spoken with Mrs. ****** numerous times since receiving her claim at our office on 7/15/13. I have been working with Mrs. ****** to try and resolve the matter.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Armstrong became aware of the service issues on June 23rd. We formally submitted our claim documenting all losses on July 15th. Since that time they have taken no action to verify or examine our damages other than to make one low ball offer of $2,000 for our claim that exceeds $9,000. Now, after sitting on our claim, they have decided to send it to their corporate office even though the issues are the same as they have been since the claim has been filed. It appears to be just another delay tactic designed to wear down their customer.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Since we have been unable to come to an agreeable settlement with Mrs. ****** at the agency level, we have forwarded her claim to United Head Quarters for further handling.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Relocation Companies, Movers, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1995Business started: 04/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Carolina Utilities Commission
4326 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4326
(919) 733-9277
http://www.ncuc.net

BBB records show a license number of T-4143 for this company, issued by North Carolina Utilities Commission. Their web address is http://www.ncuc.net.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1995, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. F. Todd Lamar (President)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Relocation Companies, Movers, Moving & Storage Company

Products & Services

Armstrong Relocation Co., Inc offers full domestic and international relocation and moving services for commercial or residential customers.

Industry Tips
Moving In North Carolina

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Armstrong Relocation Co., Inc

4227 Surles Ct Ste 110

Durham, NC 27703-9418

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 4227 Surles Ct Ste 110 

    Durham, NC 27703-9418(919) 425-9853

  • PO Box 210 

    Morrisville, NC 27560-0210

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Armstrong Relocation Co., Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 473-9869
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Relocation Companies

Moving In North Carolina
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.