BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wing, Hoof, and Paws

(919) 636-0839View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 1054, CarrboroNC 27510-1054http://www.winghoofandpaws.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Wing, Hoof, and Paws is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Wing, Hoof, and Paws' rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wing, Hoof, and Paws

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Owner was contracted for 6-overnight care. She did not stay the night, left my dog alone for 2 nights & cashed the check for services never provided.
After previous stays at my house earlier this year, I had sneaking suspicions that the owner of Wing, Hoof & Paws, Meredith Elkins, was not staying overnight at my home, as requested, agreed to and paid for. To prove my nagging feeling wrong, I purchased an in-home security camera, totally legal in the state of North Carolina.

From 8/5/15 - 8/12/15, Meredith had agreed to provide in-home care, including overnights, to my dog, as well as shuttle her back/forth to dog day care a few days during her stay. The total cost of service was for $190 paid via check when I left. You can imagine the shock as I watched for 2 nights (Wed. 8/5 & Thurs. 8/6) that she did not stay over night and provided minimal daytime care. My dog was ALONE with no one in the house for 2 nights! What's more, when I asked her how the dog was she would never answer directly - just provide a vague commentary. One time she said the dog was "Fine! Snoring," and at that VERY moment, I was looking at the apartment, and she weren't even there!

Even more shocking and disturbing, was when I watched Meredith on the morning of day 3 (after the 2nd night alone), as she walked in to my home, leashed up the dog and walked right out to day care - NEVER feeding or giving my dog her medication. Not only was she left alone overnight, she was not fed. Disgusting!

By this time, I had contacted my day care to have them board my dog for the reminder of my trip and have Meredith surrender her key. This was 4 days before I was supposed to come home.

The last punch in the face was the fact that Meredith then had the audacity to cash the check for the full amount of services - $190. Not only did she not provide safe, caring and truthful services and left my dog alone for 2 nights, and a morning without food (I'm not sure if more), but she took money for services she did not even provide (Sat-Tues) after dropping her off at dog day care on Friday morning.

To boot, I have ALL of this on film and photos.

I've requested $100 or the $190 back - again for services not provided. Based on the fact that she failed to care for my dog under our agreement and left her alone for two nights, I think I should get the FULL amount returned. Knowing her character, she will not. Not only did lose the $190, I also had to incur $270 in additional boarding costs since I had to come up with alternative care since she was not staying overnight and monitoring my dog's safety.

DO NOT PUT THE SAFETY AND SECURITY OF YOUR ANIMAL IN THIS WOMAN'S HANDS!!!! She is a cheater, thief and despicable caretaker.

Desired Settlement
I would like everyone to know that they should not put their animal in her care. She neglected and put the safety of my dog in jeopardy.

I'm also seeking at minimum $100 of the $190 for services not provided. Based on the fact that she failed to care for my dog under our agreement and left her alone for two nights, I think I should get the FULL amount returned based the fact that by not caring for my dog I was forced to find alternative care, she did not provide any services for the remaining 4 days. Yet she stole the money from me and paid herself. I think $100 is more than fair. Again, based on her treatment of animals and her character, I don't expect her do do the right thing and return the money.

02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The owner of the Wing Hoof and Paw (***************) still owes us $96 for uncompleted dog walks. She is not responding to emails or calls.
*************** owns the company "Wing Hoof and Paw" and was paid in advance to walk our two dogs. My wife,******, paid her in advance for walks while she went out of town and I was planning to take a trip. I returned home early and noticed that ******** did not walk the dogs on 24DEC14 when she agreed to walk them. When my wife asked her why she missed the walk, she stated she didn't have it on her calendar. I have never met ******** before, but on 26DEC14, ******** came to walk the dogs and I happened to be home and asked her how the walk went with the dogs. She was extremely rude when I asked the question and assumed that she was angry that I told my wife that she didn't come one day and caught her trying to cheat us. She began cussing me out and told me that her time was valuable as well as telling me things were better before I returned from my deployment to Afghanistan. Since she decided screaming and cussing at me which was completely unprofessional and frightening, I told her she was not allowed back on our property. She was acting mentally unstable very aggressive in her manner.

******** confirmed with my wife in her only response via email that she refused to pay the remaining balance because I "Banned" her from coming back to the house. She also threatened to call the Sheriff on my wife if she continued to email her for the refund claiming my wife was harassing her and I was lucky that she didn't call the Sheriff for "Verbally" threatening her on 26DEC14, which was completely false. I am sure that if I did actually threaten her in any way, she would have called the Sheriff to avoid paying any money back.

I emailed ******** on 13JAN15 stating that we were going to small claims court and make negative reviews based on the facts if she doesn't make an attempt to refund us the money she owes us by 26JAN15, we would start the process to get a refund.

I called ******** 22JAN15 at (919)********* and she answered. As soon as I stated who I was, she hung up.

We have asked for a check for the remaining balance for $96. (8 walks at $12 each)

Thank you.
*************
************

Desired Settlement
We have asked for a check for the remaining balance for $96. (8 walks at $12 each)

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Sitters, Animal Rescue Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/08/2005
Contact Information
Principal: Meredith Elkins (Owner)
Business Category

Pet Sitters, Animal Rescue Companies

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 1054 

    Carrboro, NC 27510-1054(919) 636-0839
    (919) 818-5013

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wing, Hoof, and Paws is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 818-5013
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pet Sitters

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.