BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/17/2012

Smith Exterminating Company, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (919) 851-0220Fax: (919) 934-2156View Additional Phone Numbers5507 Hillsborough St, RaleighNC 27606-1535 Send email to Smith Exterminating Company, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/17/2012

BBB has determined that Smith Exterminating Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Smith Exterminating Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Smith Exterminating Company, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company refuses to replace our bedroom furniture that was damaged by the services rendered.
It started on 04/22/13 when my husband and I noticed a bed bug. We contacted our apartment manager immediately. She stated to us, that we were required to have our apartment inspected for bed bugs. We placed the specimen in a plastic bag until the day of the inspection, which occurred on 04/25/13. On 04/25/13, we left the plastic bag containing the specimen along with a note to the inspector stating what we found. After the inspection took place, we found a reply to the note we left from the inspector, stating that it was indeed a bed bug and that he was unable to find any visible evidence of an infestation. We were bombarded with documents from the property manager and exterminating company stating that we would be required to have our apartment heat treated on 05/02/13- listing requirements that must be met by the date of the treatment. When we returned to our apartment, after the heat treatment, we noticed that our furniture was severely damaged. Pieces of the bedroom suit material had come off, and one of the bedroom nightstands was swollen. The nightstands to our bedroom suit are designed to fit underneath the headboard. One of the nightstands no longer fit underneath the headboard. The exterminating company was aware of the damage and notified the property manager on the day of the heat treatment. The exterminating company stated that they would attempt to repair the bedroom furniture, and we agreed to it. On 05/03/13 the inspector attempted to repair the pieces of the bedroom suit material that had come off during the heat treatment. Some parts of the furniture could not be repaired due to irreversible damage. Some pieces were glued back on, some of which are lifting back up now. The nightstand was not- and cannot be repaired but needs to be replaced because it has irreversible damage. We notified the property manager in writing regarding the repair service we received from the exterminating company, which was unsatisfactory. In summary, the letter stated that at this point we would like our bedroom furniture to be replaced. Our property manager contacted the inspector regarding our letter. The inspector contacted me and we set an appointment for 06/01/13. When meeting with the inspector, he apologized about the damaged furniture and stated that he didn't know how this could happen. The inspector offered to repair the furniture again, and I stated to him that at this point we would like our bedroom furniture to be replaced. The inspector stated that he would contact his supervisor and contact us as soon as possible. A week passed and we hadn't received a response from the inspector or his supervisor. We contacted the inspector to request his supervisor's contact information. Another week passed, and he gave us his supervisor's contact information. We also contacted the property manager to let her know that the gentlemen had not contacted us and we were getting a bit frustrated. More time passed, and we emailed the inspector and supervisor and finally received a phone call from the supervisor. I briefed the supervisor about what happened and stated to him that we would like our bedroom furniture to be replaced. He stated that they were not going to replace our bedroom furniture and he didn't know how wood could swell from a heat treatment. I told him that I didn't know how that could happen either and that it is not in my profession to be able to explain how something like that could happen. The supervisor offered repairs to the bedroom furniture and I stated to him that there had already been an attempt to repair the furniture and that we would like our bedroom furniture to be replaced. He stated to me, oh so you're a furniture expert now? The supervisor was very rude and sarcastic to me, and never once apologized about what happened. I stated to him that I did not appreciate his sarcasm and that we have been very respectful, cooperative and patient while dealing with this matter.

Desired Settlement
We ask that we be compensated for our bedroom furniture.

Business' Initial Response
Smith Exterminating Company was contracted by the complex management at Mrs. ******'s complex to treat her unit for bed bugs using our heat treatment.

During the treatment, some laminate trim became unglued. We monitored the situation to make sure no further damage was done and completed the treatment.

One of our managers, *** *********** attempted to fix the problem with the trim and glued the pieces back on.

We recieved notice from the tenant that there was more damage. *** responded to the site and informed Mrs. ****** that we would be glad to repair the other trim they found which had become loose. She said it could not be repaired and wanted all the furniture replaced. She complained that the furniture had swollen somehow. This is not something we have seen before or ever heard of happening.

Again we offered to repair the furniture but she said it just needed to be replaced.
We informed our liability insurance carrier on June 27th of the claim so that they could contact Ms. ****** and remedy the situation.

Unfortunately, the insurance company did not contact Ms ****** until July 3rd, a couple days after I had committed to contact her.

To clarify, we want Ms ****** to have satisfaction that her concerns are being handled. I am not a furniture expert and it is currently in the hands of our insurance carrier. I have confirmed that the wheels are turning and that Ms ****** is being kept up to date.

It is not the company's position to refuse to make this right. We want this to be handled.

We would like to apoligize for this incident and through our insurance company, we look forward to Ms ****** being satisfied.

I personally would like to apoligize to Ms ****** for giving her the impression that I was being curt. I am genuinely concerened about her not living with bed bugs and that her belongings are handled properly. I would also like to apologize for the delay in contact from the insurance company. I should have followed up personally to insure timely response.

Our insurance company has not yet settled the claim with Ms ****** however, the lines of communication are open and we look forward to a positive outcome for everybody.

JL

Consumer's Final Response
We are currently waiting to here from the Insurance Agent for the Exterminating company upon the completion of the investigation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Companies, Termite Exterminators

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1988Business started: 07/01/1968
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC27699-1001
(919) 733-7125
http://www.ncagr.com

BBB records show a license number of 466PW for this company, issued by North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.ncagr.com.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1971, NC

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Josh Langdon (Vice President)Mr. Perry Holland (Vice President)Ms. Connie Pearce (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Pest Control Companies, Termite Exterminators

Products & Services

Smith Exterminating Company, Inc. offers residential & commercial pest control services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Smith Exterminating Company, Inc.

5507 Hillsborough St

Raleigh, NC 27606-1535

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 5507 Hillsborough St 

    Raleigh, NC 27606-1535(919) 493-6800
    (919) 851-0220
    (919) 256-8874
    (919) 636-3425
    (919) 899-9464
    (919) 278-7789
    (919) 635-5520

  • PO Box 33703 

    Raleigh, NC 27636-3703

  • PO Box 208 

    Smithfield, NC 27577-0208

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Smith Exterminating Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 493-6800
  • (919) 256-8874
  • (919) 636-3425
  • (919) 899-9464
  • (919) 278-7789
  • (919) 635-5520
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.