BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1994

Clegg's Termite & Pest Control, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (919) 477-2134Fax: (919) 477-5722View Additional Phone Numbers2401 Reichard St, DurhamNC 27705-2642 Send email to Clegg's Termite & Pest Control, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1994

BBB has determined that Clegg's Termite & Pest Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Clegg's Termite & Pest Control, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Clegg's Termite & Pest Control, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales representative did not disclose that an annual renewal was necessary for warranty. He said that the $500 price covered everything for 5 years.
On or about 29Mar2013, I contacted Clegg Termite and Pest Control (CTPC) in regards to monthly pest treatment as well as ************ Termite Treatment at a rental property I own at ***** ***** ***** in Greenville, NC XXXXX. I talked to one of their salesman, I believe his name was John. He told me that a 5-year Preventative Termite Treatment was $500. I reiterated saying "So for $500 dollars, y'all come out and spray, and then if anytime in five years I see signs of termites, y'all come and treat?" He responded with a simple yes. He never mentioned that the $500 dollars was for the initial spray, and then it would be an additional $100 per year for years 2-5 to keep the five year warranty.

We did not set a time up for CTPC to treat the property, so on 05June2013, '****' again contacted me, and we had an identical conversation to the one in March. I asked him the exact same question pertaining to the warranty and payments involved. He never mentioned that the $500 was for the initial spray, and then it would be an additional $100 annual fee for years 2-5 to keep the five year warranty. All he said was that the $500 included service and a 5 year warranty. I never signed any documentation; all communication was by word of mouth. I authorized a $500 treatment for a Preventative Termite Treatment with a 5-year warranty included on 05June2013. This conversation lasted under 1 minute. I have my call records to prove if necessary. I now realize that he did not explain the full details of the service agreement.

On 24June2013, I contacted the Greenville office with a question regarding the bill I had received the week prior. The bill was a $500 charge with a 1-year warranty. This was different than the 5-year warranty that had been described on the phone. The receptionist then informed me (for the first time I had heard of it) that there was a $100 annual renewal fee to get the 5-year warranty. I told her that I was never informed of the annual renewal fee. I told her that I believed the salesman I talked to was ****. I also stated that I was not going to pay the bill until I was reached and I could talk to the salesperson that misinformed me, whether intentional or unintentionally, that there was an annual fee. I have yet to hear back from CTPC as of 30June2013, and will call them tomorrow in a second attempt to settle this matter out of court.

On 25June2013 I received the contract in the mail (it was mailed 21June2013) detailing the information that the receptionist first informed me of the day before. The contract is not signed by me. The first time I saw the contract in full was when I received it in the mail on 25June2013. Legally, they should have read me the whole contract and explained all charges in full before doing any work on my property.

I do not plan on paying this bill in full until this matter is resolved. I believe 100% in paying for services rendered, and am not trying to rip anyone off. I plan on taking this issue to court if not resolved. Although I will likely pay more for a lawyer and court costs as compared to just paying the annual fee, I feel if no one stands up to this type of business practice it will continue.

Lastly, I am a physician in the US military, so I hope when it comes down to my word against theirs I will have some credibility due to the oaths I've taken and the role I play in our country.

Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement
Because the original agreement that they gave me on the phone was $500 for 5 years, this comes down to $100/year. Therefore, I am willing to pay $100 for the treatment Clegg's in Greenville has already done on my property (at ***** ***** ****** Greenville XXXXX) with a 1 year warranty. The reason I am not seeking the 5 year warranty anymore is because I have received dishonest service and would like to give my business to another company when this year is up.

Consumer's Final Response /* ****** *** *********** */
***** from Clegg's has contacted us and has agreed to do the service on our house that was originally discussed --$500 for 5 years of warranty service with no renewal fee each year. We appreciate his cooperation and customer service driven response to us in regards to this miscommunication. This issue that we had with Clegg's Pest Control of Greenville has been resolved.

08/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/08/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Companies, Termite Exterminators

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/01/1983Business started: 07/01/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services
1001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC27699-1001
(919) 733-7125
http://www.ncagr.com

BBB records show a license number of 411PW for this company, issued by North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. Their web address is http://www.ncagr.com.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1965, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phillip G. Clegg (President)
Number of Employees

75

Business Category

Pest Control Companies, Termite Exterminators

Products & Services

Clegg's Termite & Pest Control, Inc. provides pest control and exterminating services using environmentally responsible methods.

Alternate Business Names
Clegg's Pest Control

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Clegg's Termite & Pest Control, Inc.

2401 Reichard St

Durham, NC 27705-2642

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Clegg's Termite & Pest Control, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 968-8304
  • (800) 833-4511
  • (919) 469-9975
  • (252) 752-5175
  • (252) 636-2345
  • (252) 726-1119
  • (800) 763-0378
  • (800) 833-1648
  • (336) 229-5024
  • (910) 592-2258
  • (910) 371-2274
  • (910) 425-1234
  • (919) 934-0229
  • (252) 726-1781
  • (252) 244-2345
  • (910) 484-8383
  • (800) 689-7805
  • (800) 964-4942
  • (800) 965-5851
  • (800) 964-5685
  • (336) 299-1900
  • (919) 772-7194

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (919) 934-1388
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.