BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Business-Supply.com, Inc.

Phone: (919) 465-9661Fax: (800) 620-4389View Additional Phone Numbers114 Mackenan Dr., Suite 300, CaryNC 27511-7903 Send email to Business-Supply.com, Inc.http://www.business-supply.com ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Business-Supply.com, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/23/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose complete pricing information

Complaint: BusinessSupply.com advertised item #LLRXXXXX at $100.11 with Free Shipping (with no disclaimers)on nextag.com. At checkout, BusinessSupply.com ads $89
I would like to place an order at the advertised price of $100.11 with free shipping.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@business-supply.com
Dear Shopper,
Thank you for your letter. We understand that there are many places on the web like Nextag that compare prices amongst sellers such as Business-Supply.
We provide product information to these sites but the final information on their pages is edited by their staff, not Business-Supply.
Business-Supply is not responsible for any errors you see on other web sites.

There is a place on our web pages where you can see our shipping policy. At the bottom of our home page and every web page there is a link named "Shipping Info". There you will see the statement "Orders shipping through UPS with a value of $70 or less ship for $7.95. Any order shipping through UPS with a value over $70 ships for free."

And the paragraph "Free shipping does not apply to Freight Orders. Orders with products that have to ship via a freight carrier are charged a flat $69.00 shipping charge for the first item and then $20 per each additional freight item with a maximum freight shipping charge of $350.00. "

This information is available to any shopper who navigates our web pages.

Also we provide a link ,"Contact us" where you will find customer service contact information such as "X-XXX-XXX-XXXX between 9:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. (EST), Mondays through Fridays (except established holidays)".
There are email links as well so customers have access to information before and after they place an order.

We invite all customers who have product or shipping questions to contact us so we may assist them
before they make a purchase on Business-Supply.

Regards,
***** **********
Supervisor
Business-Supply
Customer Service Call Center

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/27/2011Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: This company/personnel refused to give me a full refund for shipping me the wrong items.
I ordered some binders, dividers and sheet protectors from this site. First of all, they were shipped in separate orders/shipments, and the dividers took a week or even longer to arrive than the first order/shipping. And when they came, I saw that they were not the right dividers that I had ordered. I had put in my shopping cart and checked out with the A-Z divider tabs, but was shipped the Z-only tabs. I contacted them through email for a full refund, but was told by B**** that because the items weren't damaged or anything, they can only give me a partial refund, after 20% or $20 restocking fee and shipping cost. I paid them for $26.16, and that means they would only refund me $6.16. When I replied back trying to clarify that they shipped me the wrong items from what I put in the shopping cart, they never responded back again. with any sort of resolution. It's 3 days and counting since I need a response from them again.

Business' Initial Response
In response to complaint case 1****
The customer contacted Customer Service 2 weeks after receiving a product that she ordered incorrectly. Our posted return policy explains that in cases like this the customer is responsible for shipping the return AND for being debited with a restocking fee. Upon receiving this information the customer did not respond to the customer service agent as to whether a return would be necessary. As earlier noted, Business-Supply's return policy is stated on our website so customers may read it before ordering their products. Business-Supply is responsible for damaged items,defective items and items that WE send incorrectly. We take that responsibility very seriously and we indemnify customers who have a valid complaint in a reasonable,timely fashion.This is a case where the customer ordered incorrectly. Although we offer a Standard mechanism to handle this type of return,unfortunately Business-Supply cannot be held responsible for customers who order incorrectly.

Consumer's Final Response
I did NOT order incorrectly. What I placed in my cart was correct, but you guys sent the wrong items. It's not my fault that your S&H department or website whatever didn't do a proper job. It's only $27 and I can spare this amount, but you guys did a really poor job of handling the situation, especially the customer representative I was in contact with. Very rude email pointing fingers at me and then asking, so you still want the refund or not?

Thanks for replying to the complaint, BS. I'll make sure to give you the appropriate reviews on the Internet.

Have a great day.

Business' Final Response
09-22-11.Today I emailed the customer and told her that I will refund her the money she claims we owe her for the product she ordered incorrectly. I am doing this because it is very little money compared to the resources we use in explaining our case and our policy over and over again.Please contact me when this action is rescinded.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/14/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: I placed an order and they charged me overpriced shipping and they don't want cancel my order.
I placed an order on may 17th around 10pm with this company the order was still in your warehouse, it by the records was shipped 2 days later. Your checkout service was not showing up the correct amount, as said, during checkout I thought I will not have to pay for the shipping, each of your items doesn't say on which carrier they will use. On the site they say very clear that order above 60.00 the shipping is free, and we see this only after checkout. I called the company on the next morning and they said that the order was already shipped but they could not give me the tracking number. After 2 days I received the tracking number. I called them and they told me that I can't cancel the order and I can't return the product.

Business' Initial Response
I have answered this customer with the details of his order since they first called on May 18th. I have explained the time line for the order. How it was processed and why it was too late to cancel the order by the time his office called on the afternoon of May 18th . The customer had 2 opportunities to see the shipping charge on his order BEFORE placing it. He could have aborted the order at anytime. The error is the customer's fault. Here is the letter I wrote to the customer on May 22,2012.Thank you for writing to customer service. I remember talking with a young lady in your office the afternoon of May 18th. By the time she called, as I explained to her, your order placed at 8:54:54 PM on 5/17/2012 was already shrink wrapped and shipping out so it was too late to stop the order.

Your request to stop this order was just physically too late for us to do.

The woman on the telephone said that you had not noticed the freight charge for the paper until after the order was place. That information was displayed on your shopping cart page and check out page so you could make the decision effectively.

We itemize every order so our customers can see all the charges before they actually place the order.

The shipping charge was $ 69.00 freight for the paper. As I explained to the young woman who called we would be happy to refund you $10.00 of the shipping charge. The freight charges we absorbed on this , unfortunately would not allow us to do more than that.

Please let me know if I can refund you the $10.00 shipping. I would be happy to take care of it for you.



Business-Supply
Customer Service

And my last letter to the customer on May 23 2012
Thanks for your reply.
As for the shipping charge. It was clearly itemized twice on your order form On-Line.

Unfortunately you did not see it on both the shopping cart page and the secure checkout page. That is not a Business-Supply error.
We supply each customer with ample shipping knowledge on every order.

Your secretary called the afternoon of May 18th as discussed earlier.

UPS Package shows it was packed for shipping on the afternoon of May 18th. ( As explained to her then)

UPS records the shipment at their facility that evening ----Jacksonville, FL, United States 05/18/2012 8:15 P.M. Origin Scan

UPS Package shows it was packed for shipping on the afternoon of May 18th.

UPS records the shipment at their facility that evening Atlanta, GA, United States 5/18/2012 9:25 P.M . Origin Scan

The Freight order ( Common Carrier ) which charged you the $69.00 charge. Our manifest shows the ship date as May 18th 2012. It was received by Volpe Express ( Common Carrier ) on May 18th. Delivery was made on May 21st.

Clearly ,as I have stated from the outset, it was too late to cancel your order or stop it from shipping when your secretary 1st called on the afternoon of May 18th.
Business-Supply is still offering a refund of $10.00 to you.



Supervisor
Customer Service Call Center


Business-Supply

Consumer's Final Response
This is a rip off, they show "order above 60 it will be free shipping" and its not. They give you clear instruction to do the checkout and when you done, you end up with shipping costs more that you expected, and we can't cancel or return the product.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Office Supplies, Retail Office Furniture Suppliers, Cleaning Product Suppliers, Business Form Suppliers, Office Supply Stores

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/25/2004Business started: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1999, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brad Justus (General Manager)Mr. Brad King (President)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Office Supplies, Retail Office Furniture Suppliers, Cleaning Product Suppliers, Business Form Suppliers, Office Supply Stores

Products & Services

Business-Supply.com, Inc. offers discount office supplies, office chairs and breakroom supplies.

Alternate Business Names
Business Supply, Sunbelt Office Products
Industry Tips
Credit Forms in Plain-English
Know How to Protect Your Business from Schemes and Scams
Office Supply Scams Rely on Unsuspecting Employees
Schemes Against Business
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 114 Mackenan Dr.
    Suite 300 

    Cary, NC 27511-7903(919) 465-9661
    (800) 676-0180
    (919) 459-8214
    (800) 465-9661

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Business-Supply.com, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 676-0180
  • (919) 459-8214
  • (800) 465-9661
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.