BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

East Carolina Moving, LLC

(252) 341-6664View Additional Phone Numbers2025 Eastgate Dr Ste D, GreenvilleNC 27858-4154 Send email to East Carolina Moving, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

East Carolina Moving, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on East Carolina Moving, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The owner was unable to deliver what was quoted to me in writing so he offered me a refund over the phone and has since ignored my follow up email.
On February 4, 2014, after a brief text message exchange, I received a service estimate in my email from owner **** ******* for 2 men to help load a 26' moving truck on Saturday, February 8, 2014. In the quote, a number of services were listed that were very misleading, as **** later explained to me that they don't actually provide the services outlined as such. The movers were very late, not in uniform as described in the quote, were not prepared at all as they explained that some confusion at the office reassigned them to my project at the last minute. They honestly did a poor job overall, but I tipped $20 bucks each as they were pleasant college students just doing their Saturday morning job. My family members arrived and ended up repacking the truck after the movers left, costing me a great deal of travel time, but it was worth it to have my items intact after an 850 mile trip. When I spoke to **** that Saturday afternoon, he explained the confusion was in part due to some scheduling problems with having too many projects that morning. After I suggested he adjust his scheduling, he was combative and literally yelled at me about speaking to his lawyer, which I found completely out of line. He said he was calling to offer a refund because the business was popularized by good reviews and word-of-mouth advertising. I accepted the refund offer, as I thought it fair, and **** has not delivered. In addition, a red flag was raised when he changed the amount of the refund from $110 at the start of the conversation to $100 at the end, I suspected he had no intention of following through. Many promises, none delivered. Furthermore, **** explained to me that he relies heavily on elite customer's business, specifically, "doctors and lawyers." While I am not a doctor or a lawyer, I am a paying customer. I expect resolution in this case to be a 100% refund for $185 base (does not include the $40 I tipped the movers.) I am actually in business and I know what bad business looks like and this is pretty text book. All customers and clients are a priority. Some days are better than others, but rule #1, never beat up on your clientele. I've since emailed **** my mailing address for the refund, but have been ignored. Incidentally, when I arrived at my destination, the hired off-loaders were better in every possible aspect, (delivered as promised, prompt, in uniform, tools in hand, etc) further elucidating what terrible customer service I'd received in Greenville.

Desired Settlement
The shrink wrap and moving blankets, among additional line items listed in the quote, were apparently not included. The refund offer was not genuine. It's clear that without BBB intervention, I'll not receive any refund. I would prefer a full refund of the base cost, $185, since the services were essentially negated by the necessity in repacking the moving truck.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Contact Name and Title: ****, owner
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ******************
We performed a service for **** ***** on 2/8/14. The gentlemen working the job both have business degrees from East Carolina Moving University two years ago. They now have management positions with East Carolina Moving and are paid on salary.

The refund we agreed on was for $100 and was mailed on Monday, February 24th, 2014.

We civilly resolved the customer's issues through a phone conversation. There was a miscommunication on what the service included. Furniture blankets range in price, depending on quality and size, from $12 to $20/ blanket. The $185, which is a fair and a "going" rate in the moving labor services industry, covers two movers for two hours. Their responisbilities are to conduct only services within the scope of a moving service. The movers worked hard and the customer acknowledged this.

With regards to the miscommunication, East Carolina Moving agreed to refund the customer $100 for the inconvenience. The $100 has already been mailed, Monday, February 24th, 2014 to the customer's new address as indicated in the email.

The $100 was agreed to be fair by Miss **** ***** and East Carolina Moving. With any business, there are billing cycles, typically 3 weeks. Miss ***** will have received her check within that billing cycle (3 weeks or 21 days); a very fair approach to offering refunds.

Furthermore, Miss ***** mentioned a $110 refund that was reduced to $100 during a phone conversation. East Carolina Moving will be glad to mail an additional check for $10 to further clear up any miscommunication.

Miss ***** has been contacted; she has been notified that we are happy to send another check for $10.

07/29/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

East Carolina Movers, LLC did not show up for a scheduled job, nor did they return any of my 7 phone calls and 4 messages I left them.
I went on ************** (I do not recommend this site because it is an internet only site that is not open for customer issues after 1:00 pm EST on Saturdays, and closed on Sundays...the two busiest moving days of the week and there is NEVER a phone number you can call to get help anytime for any reason. They refuse to give a phone number out!) and found East Carolina Moving and purchased their service to unload my ***** truck full of furniture. I called them a few days later to confirm my move date and to make sure they were indeed available for that date/time. The person that answered their publicly advertised phone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX was obviously asleep and did not answer the phone as if it was a business. He groggily said he would call me back the next day with confirmation of the date/time. The next day passed (Friday) and the day after that (Saturday) I called yet another phone number for them that I found on the internet (XXX) XXX-XXXX, and the male that answered the number said his name was **** and that he owned the company and if I had any questions or concerns to call his number first.

I got a confirmation text message the day before the move. The day of the move they were a no-show. Their fees had already been taken out of my bank account and were in a "hold" status waiting for me to release the funds when the job was completed. East Carolina did not call me before my scheduled time to say they were running late. They did not call me at the scheduled time to tell me anything. They did not call me back the SEVEN times I called them, after the scheduled job time of 5:30pm had passed. They did not call me back the NEXT DAY to apologize.

In essence, they left me totally hanging. I then had a 26 ft truck full of VERY heavy furniture, and the truck due back the next day, and in a city where I had no friends or family to come help me out!

East Carolina Moving is an extremely unprofessional, rude company that does not care at all about their customers and here is the rub, because you booked them with ******************* a company that works with ***** and is offered when you go online and rent a moving truck from ****** East Carolina Movers KNOW that you CAN NOT leave them a bad review if the job you booked them for is not completed and you are refunded your money! ************** has their site set up so if you get totally dumped by your scheduled movers, there is NO WAY you can leave the said movers a bad review because technically you did not pay the movers for services rendered...because they didn't show up or give services! It is a total SCAM! All that you see on the ************** site is great reviews because the people that are duped and stood up by their movers are not allowed to leave a review!

To summarize, do not use East Carolina Movers, LLC or ************** because both are extremely unprofessional and are NOT customer service based like all of their various advertisements and websites, Facebook, etc. tout that they are. EC Movers have all these pictures on their website and Facebook page of certificates of the NC Movers Association for 2014 and such, yet they don't show up for jobs AND do not bother to call their customers back that leave seven messages on two phone numbers. Their attitude is, since you cannot leave them a bad review, they just act like you don't exist and do not even bother the common courtesy of calling a scheduled customer to apologize for their unprofessional behavior and rudeness.

They need to learn what customer service means, and learn some manners. These are young boys (I found out by their facebook page after they threw me and my job under the bus) who have obviously not been taught common courtesy or manners. These are not the people you want in your home! They cannot be trusted AT ALL.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking is for the public in general to know that this company is not what it touts to be in advertisements. They answer their professional phone lines like they are hungover, they don't return promised phone calls to confirm, they don't bother calling you to confirm at all, and then when they fail to show up to do the job you have already paid them for, they have the unmitigated gall to not answer their phone lines (I tried two of their numbers of which I spoke to the owner of the company and a worker before) OR the common courtesy to return your calls after I left them four messages out of my seven calls to them!!

I know exactly why I got no call back, even three days after the no-show. Because they knew I could not leave them a bad review because they didn't complete the job. So their practice is, when they screw up or just don't feel like working, they just ignore the customer because they know there will be no consequences other than not getting paid for the job. What a rotten to the core company practice! No honor at all.

This company disgusts me and I want nothing from them other than to warn others of their unprofessional, rude behavior so other innocent people will not be stuck on move day with a truck full of furniture and no movers in sight. Then no money to go hire other movers because your funds are on "hold" with ************** and do not get released for possible weeks.

Business Response
We have completed sev**al hundred jobs ************** and have great reviews from those custom**s.

To whom it conc**ns, h**e is the link that proves our validity and the great work we provide.

284 jobs completed on*********** and 156 custom**s left reviews.


East Carolina Moving, LLC also maintains a great rapport with many leasing offices, retirement communities, realty offices and businesses throughout the state.

More info received from the business 2014-07-08
I have downloaded ***** statement and have already passed this information along to my attorney for sland**ous remarks.

I do have all of h** information and if this is not resolved prop**ly, I will pursue legal action.

IN ADDITION, the company (***********) released a statement via email.

On July 3rd, 2014 @ 4:03 pm, *********** released this email:

Attention All **************,

We have been exp**iencing some fraudulent activity in many states recently. We want you to all be aware and on the lookout.

Be v**y careful with ord**s that may seem suspicious or shady, you don't want to end up completing work that you will not be paid for. These transactions end up as fraudulent chargebacks and funds for these transactions will be returned to the rightful own** of the credit card at your expense. Please ref** to section 13 of the ************* Agreement regarding charge backs. We work v**y hard to prevent fraud but we need your help too. Please be on the lookout!

Rememb**, if something seems too good to be true, it usually IS.

The Scam:

Someone is placing ord**s to many ************* accounts using stolen credit cards.

Aft** reviewing the ord**s that we have found to be fraudulent and help from the oth** *************s the trends noticed are:

Usually the ord** is same-day or next-day

The p**son placing the ord** has used fake information (i.e.; name, address, phone #, email)

Sometimes they will simply ask you to process a stolen card or Gift C**tificate for them and split the profits, You will lose because we take it ALL back from you in the chargeback process.

The name on the ord** is not the name of the "Custom**" you will meet

Initial Consum** Rebuttal
As you will notice from the company's response, not once did they acknowledge that they left me high and dry with no way to move my furniture and my funds w**e not available to me to use towards oth** mov**s until the work week started (2 days away from move date).

Nor did the company apologize for their misconduct and rudeness of not showing up for the job that I got confirmation emails, texts, and v**bal confirmation ov** the phone for.

In their response they dance around the whole subject of the wrong they did and went straight to trying to show their good reviews. Well, as for that, all of the custom**s like me who get duped, stood up, and treated rudely ARE NOT ALLOWED to leave them a negative review because the websites they work with do not allow a custom** to leave a review who doesn't technically use their s**vice, and because they totally stood me up and refused to even acknowledge me with a courtesy phone call I was barred from contributing to the review process. Th**efore, sure the people who they actually show up for work for can leave a review, but what about the hundreds of oth** custom**s that get thrown und** the bus like my family did? They don't get to post any reviews to warn oth**s about this company. The BBB and ******* **** are two ways that I can leave HONEST reviews, and since this incident was such a huge deal (you don't leave people high and dry with a 26 ft truck of full of furniture and a deadline for the truck to be back) I believe the public in gen**al would benefit from knowing of the work ethics this company has to it's custom**s whom they have confirmed s**vice with. Just to be well-informed about who you are allowing in your home and how you yourself could be their short stick of the day.

The whole incident has changed how I will do business with any company from h**e on out, a lesson that was taught by trusting a company who did not des**ve to be trusted...and a contributing factor to the trust w**e the good reviews.

So be careful consum**s! Don't chose a company solely off "good reviews" because the hard truth is that ONLY good reviews can be left because these companies have a loophole that they use regularly. If they don't go through with your job then you can't leave them ANY review. So when they are ov**booked, or want to sleep late, or have done all the work they wanted to do that day (like my 5:30 pm appointment was at the end of the day, easi** for them to dismiss than an early morning time slot), don't have enough work**s show up for work that day, or just are plain lazy, they can just cross your job off their docket and go about their m**ry way. Totally disregarding the trouble, expense and stress they caused the custom** that booked the job with them and trusted them.

Re-read the company's response above. Do you see any conc**n from them about the trouble they caused their custom**? Did they apologize at all to me? Did they acknowledge their wrongdoing? No! All they did was try to give you a link to go read all of their good (and skewed) reviews and try to brag on themselves. The response they wrote should be a red flag to consum**s that they truly do not care about the custom** or what havoc they cause with their rudeness and inconsid**ate behavior. I appreciate people with integrity and who at least acknowledge their wrongdoing and apologize. You can totally see those qualities you want in a p**son, much less a business, lacking in the company's response. Read between the lines. Don't be gullible like me and go off of reviews only! Do your homework! Little did I know that the company that I used to book this company didn't work on WEEKENDS (busiest moving days of the week) and the site (**************) refuses to post a custom** s**vice phone numb**! Even their affiliate ***** refused to give me a phone numb** for ************** (so that I could call and get my funds back so I could get oth** mov**s to get the v**y heavy furniture off the rental truck). Go look on **************'s website, but do so on a Saturday aft** 1pm or a Sunday. No phone numb** AT ALL is posted on their site, no way of reaching them AT ALL! They have a "live chat" option the oth** days of the week, but not on Sat. aft** 1pm or Sundays (I repeat, ON THE TWO BUSIEST MOVING DAYS OF THE WEEK!) Do you want to get stuck on a weekend with no way to get in touch with the company who is holding your funds hostage?! I don't! And ************** is the site that only allows you to leave reviews if you PAID FOR THE JOB and it was completed, not one review is allowed if you got stood up by their associate moving businesses. This is just wrong on so many levels!

Read custom** reviews KNOWING that they are skewed and one-sided because the people they dupe cannot leave a review. Ask the company wh**e the review is posted if custom**s who are totally left high-and-dry by the business and who the custom** doesn't approve payment of can leave reviews also, to make sure you have both sides of the coin cov**ed. I have spoken with a new friend in the area, an ***************************, who said she used them and they did a v**y similar thing to h**, and she despises them also. So this is not a one-time incident. They regularly do this to custom**s and get away with it. Be forewarned and always check the BBB and ************ for REAL REVIEWS of a company! This is your home you are letting these men into. Be careful and be pro-active about who you chose! Chose companies with integrity and honor proven by a non-biased review process like BBB and ************. And you can find great deals online for low cost memb**ships to ************ for as low as $12 a year, which is well worth the price for the honesty you get. If you don't find the company on ************ definitely check with the BBB. The moving company wasn't on ************ when I was looking for a mov** (I checked) so I assumed good things, which was a big mistake on my part. Lesson learned.

Thank you BBB.

More info received from the consumer 2014-07-09
My roommate is a********* with the ************** Department (for 16 years) who was present the entire move day, and witnessed all of my phone calls and messages to East Coast Movers, and can attest to the stress and magnitude of the incident. If ECM cannot take the bad reviews, then they should conduct business in a manner that includes integrity and honesty with every customer. ECM went from trying to overlook the incident with posting a link to their "good" reviews, then to threatening me with a lawsuit for posting my experience with them and my opinions of a business that so obviously wasn't kind nor considerate with their paying customer (Of which I have now gotten a refund for... five days later), but at no time in either response do they EVER apologize or acknowledge what they did, which in and of itself says volumes.

Receive Business Response 2014-07-25
We are a third party company to ***********. They submit job orders and we may either accept or decline the jobs. East Carolina Moving, LLC is an incorporated company that is licensed and insured to operate full-service moves in North Carolina.

When orders are placed DIRECTLY through East Carolina Moving, LLC, i.e. email submissions, phone inquires and personal meetings, then we operate and carry out the order placed. This process is listed below...

We operate with a series of forms:

1) Issue a list of the customer's rights in "Moving 101- A North Carolina Consumer's Guide."

2) Issue an Estimated Cost of Service that is signed by both the customer and mover (East Carolina Moving, LLC)

3) Issue a Bill of Lading that lists the services actually performed. The Bill of Lading reflects the exact charges listed on the original Estimated Cost of Service.

*********** does not operate in the aforementioned fashion.

We apologize as their was much confusion and miscommunication through no fault of our own.

We operate under normal business hours and we work on weekends. We do accommodate after hour moves upon special request of the customer.

We are not responsible for ***********'s decision to not disclose our phone number. Just as the customer was unable to reach out and obtain info regarding her job, we were unable to contact anyone as well regarding the job order placed. Again, a job order that was not placed directly through East Carolina Moving, LLC. Our phone number, ************, is listed on multiple sites and everyone in the world has full access to our web page, www.**********************.

just as a service call is made to a plumber, roofer and many other service professionals, the same practice applies to us.

Had we known about this job (as it was placed after hours) or had we been contacted directly, we certainly would have accommodated and met the customer's request.

I'm willing to resolve this matter with the customer in any way possible. However, we are not responsible for this communication error. We abide by strict regulations under the North Carolina Utilities Commission. These regulations include:

1. FBI background checks
2. Certificates of Insurance policies including,
general liability insurance
cargo insurance
auto insurance
3. Licensed movers (East Carolina Moving, LLC) pay regulatory fees, report to the NCUC regarding any concerns, compliments, disputes, etc.
4. Offer and supply equipment necessary to household moves.

As we have a great rapport with many property management companies, retirement communities, local charities and churches, we will do what is necessary to make peace with the customer.

I cannot offer a refund because no work was ever completed. On our behalf, I would be happy to furnish references and testimonial support from the 1,000+ customers we have served.

Our certificate number is ****.

On page 5 of the NCUC Max Rate Tariff, Intrastate Rates & Charges applying on household goods, which is made public, you will see our moving company listed as a licensed mover.

Here is the link:

We are NOT ***********. We are simply listed on their site but do NOT have access to these reviews nor the scheduling.

*********** discloses "unedited customer reviews." That is not our policy nor do we have any access to their system or their information.

We report directly to the North Carolina Utilities Commission. A simple ****** search and a phone call to the NCUC's transportation and rates division will prove that we are our own entity and serve customers as they inquire DIRECTLY through us.

Again we apologize for any miscommunication. I do recommend that any time you (or anyone) is in need of a service, e.g. moving, plumbing, etc. that you please contact the company directly.

Lastly, we would have been more than happy and willing to provide the service for the customer. We simply DID NOT have the information and still DO NOT have the information regarding this job.

We will be of assistance in any way we can.

East Carolina Moving, LLC

Final Consum** Response
I confirmed my appointment with you, ****, ov** the phone two weeks before the move. I got confirmation sent to me the day before the move. I called you on the exact same numb** you have posted as your numb** and left messages on that and the oth** company line aft** I was stood up on my move date. You can deny having my information, but I spoke to YOU on the phone. I am OCD about confirming and making sure ev**ything is lined up and taken care of, so implying I am not accurate about the whole incident and didn't speak directly to you on the phone isn't helping me to have any sort of empathy for you. Blaming ********** for "miscommunication" and taking no responsibility with your statement of "through no fault of our own" when I spoke directly to you does not make what you did right. Had I NOT spoken to you directly, and you given me your name specifically, then you could claim it was ************ fault, but that didn't happen. I spoke to you. My move was confirmed by you.

You did not both** to text me, call me, or email me regarding my many frantic voice messages I left you that day. Even if you did not have my "info" as you claim, aft** hearing my frantic messages you couldn't have the common courtesy to call a p**son and tell them you didn't have them down for a move that day? Just nothing....That is what you made me feel like I was worth to you that day.

************** had their part in this. They w**e closed on the peak days of the week with no posted phone numb** to contact anyone at their business, nor any way to get my funds returned to me so that I could arrange oth** mov**s to get my furniture off the truck. That was their part. Your company numb** is posted ev**ywh**e, I had no issue with your phone numb**, only theirs. Your part was that you stood me up aft** v**bally confirming with me p**sonally on the phone that you had my job and that the time of 5:30 pm was fine, then didn't have the courtesy to call a frantic custom** aft** repeated messages left on your voicemail and the numb** of an employee at ECM.

My phone numb**s for ECM w**e correct. My confirmation with you was valid. You failed to show up for my job, then you failed to even attempt to apologize to me for what happened that day. Now it seems as though you are trying to put all the blame on ************** instead of taking responsibility for your behavior and lack of consid**ation for someone. Even if they w**e not your "client" as you claim, they des**ve a return phone call to explain what happened because it was obvious by the num**ous messages I left you on two diff**ent phone lines (one being the one that I p**sonally spoke to you on and the oth** being the one that is adv**tised ev**ywh**e as you said) that I was und** the impression that we had a contracted agreement for that day.

Please stop texting me about this matt**, as I'm sure your attorney has informed you to not contact me whatsoev** for any reason. Through your text messages and responses, it is obvious to me that you are not going to take responsibility for your mistake. In ord** to be a genuinely caring, thoughtful company one must keep their word no matt** what. If you had too much work that day, I des**ved to be called and given an explanation, an apology, a discounted rate for the move, etc. I would have been fine with you coming first thing the next morning to unload my truck, but you did absolutely nothing. I felt like gum on the bottom of your shoe and it was fine by you...until I filed this complaint with the BBB. My hope is that you learn from this, take responsibility, and don't do this to oth**s as I have seen posted ov** the int**net on sites such as *************** (Examples: ************ posted on 7/28/13)***************************************************************************************************************) and such. Based on those oth** reviews, it seems I'm not the only one to complain about your s**vices...and the complaints are all extremely similar. If you need to hire more employees to make sure all your custom**s get s**vice, get prop** call backs, etc., then hire more employees, but don't blame oth**s for your misconduct and claim it is not your fault when it is precisely your fault. These complaints will keep being filed by your custom**s until you change your business ethic. You can't deny all of them. Do the right thing and do not stand up your custom**s anymore at least, if you aren't going to admit fault.

What I think you should have done? Return my calls would've been #1. But, aft** no response for days and my complaint was filed with BBB, you should have just admitted your wrongdoing right off the bat instead of this whole litany of denials ov** and ov**. Ev**yone makes mistakes, but what a p**son does about the mistake shows their charact**. I hope your company changes and that you nev** stand up any custom** again, or not contact your custom** when you know you can't make the job on time or something comes up. In my opinion, this was not professional in any mann** from the beginning and I learned many mistakes I made in this debacle also. I see it as a lesson and a mistake that I won't make again. Red flags w**e th**e and I didn't heed them. I should have cancelled the job with your company aft** you didn't confirm my job within a day or two like the oth** mov**s I've used through ************** always had done in the past. The mov**s I used to move from my previous location did contact me to confirm and showed up for the job. I had to track you down and call you in ord** to get my confirmation. I should have chosen anoth** company right then, my bad. You stiffing me and not responding to my messages, your bad.

Final Business Response
We are pursuing legal action against this p**son's defamatory remarks and harassment; we have no furth** reply.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/31/2013Business started: 09/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Carolina Utilities Commission
4326 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4326
(919) 733-9277

BBB records show a license number of T4486 for this company, issued by North Carolina Utilities Commission. Their web address is

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Dane Hardee (Director of Operations)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Gerhart (Managing Member)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Movers, Moving & Storage Company

Industry Tips
Moving In North Carolina

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for East Carolina Moving, LLC

2025 Eastgate Dr Ste D

Greenville, NC 27858-4154

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2025 Eastgate Dr Ste D 

    Greenville, NC 27858-4154(252) 341-6664

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*East Carolina Moving, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 673-6123

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Movers

Moving In North Carolina

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.