BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Crystal Coast Mattress RX Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (252) 636-1055Fax: (252) 636-10662739 Highway 70 E, New BernNC 28560-6789 Send email to Crystal Coast Mattress RX Inc. ! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Crystal Coast Mattress RX Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Crystal Coast Mattress RX Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Crystal Coast Mattress RX Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/25/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased Simmons Carter-Lane Mattress 08/18/2012, $1409.00. 10 year warranty. Defective. Company will not respond to complaints.

Purchased Simmons Carter Lane Mattress on 08/18/2012 for $1409.00, Invoice #XXXXX. Numbers on the tag: ****XXXX**, ******* ** XXXXXXXX, warranty code *. 10 year warranty.

After 12 months, the mattress developed a "ridge"of fabric/filler down the middle, it is is sagging on both sides, and it is lumpy.

We have been trying to get warranty service since October 2013. We have sent e-mails with photo's, and made phone calls. They make promises to get back to us, but nothing has happened.

Desired Settlement
A replacement mattress.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
trying to pay on layaway but stores are closed
March 2013 I put mattresses on layaway at Goldsboro store.They closed w/o my knowledge so I started making payments in Kinston N.C.Well now all locations are closed & now I'm out of almost $1500 & no mattresses.It's taken me awhile b/c I had unexpected ********** but ***** & **** both promised & reassured me that as long as I paid on them it was fine.I could still get my mattresses.Therefore I'm at a stand still now & don't know what to do but pray that something can be done.




Desired Settlement
i would like my money back or arrange for me to still get the new set of mattresses I was paying on

08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After purchasing a mattress at the Greenville NC, store, and not been satisfied with the product after the second time I decided to ask for a refund of the product which is $900, and it has been over two weeks and the money has not been credited back to my account. I have talk to both of the owners and ****, keep going around without resolving the matter.Can you contact this people and request what it is due to me?I would appreciate if they could be serious about it and solve this thing immediately.This is ridiculous that I have to go this far to get what it is mine.Thank you very much for your assistance it is very appreciated.
Product_Or_Service: Mattress

Desired Settlement
Return of the full amount due, which is the total of the original purchase....$900

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattress Retailers, Bed Retailers, Bedding Companies

Additional Information

top

On August 20, 2013, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 13-05243.

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to North Carolina Eastern Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, PO Box 1441, Raleigh, NC, 27602 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

BBB file opened: 08/12/2008Business started: 03/01/2007
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2007, NC

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Christopher Shankle (President)
Contact Information
Mr. Rick Carter (Manager- Kinston)Mr. Brent Eberly (Manager- Jacksonville)Mr, Mike Zarr (Manager- New Bern)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Mattress Retailers, Bed Retailers, Bedding Companies

Alternate Business Names
Mattress RX

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Crystal Coast Mattress RX Inc.

2739 Highway 70 E

New Bern, NC 28560-6789

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crystal Coast Mattress RX Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mattress Retailers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On August 20, 2013, the company filed for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the federal Bankruptcy Act, case number 13-05243.

This permits the company to continue to operate with court supervision while developing a plan of reorganization.

Those with monetary claims against the company are advised to obtain a Proof of Claim form by writing to North Carolina Eastern Bankruptcy Court CM/ECF, PO Box 1441, Raleigh, NC, 27602 for resubmission to that court.

The case number should be entered on the form.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.