BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/2013

ChannelAdvisor Corporation (Headquarters)

Phone: (866) 264-8594Fax: (866) 225-3085

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service14
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
12/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told one thing and they did another. I cancelled account and they continue to bill my credit card with false information.
I do not have an active account with Channel Adviser, I cancelled it months ago. But they refused to acknoledge the cancellation and claim they had the right to sign me up automically for another year of service.

I offered to let them have $2500, event hough they provided no services just to end the discussion and harassment. They kept the money and continue to harass me.

I explicitly told them that i do not wish to do business with their company and they should cancel any accounts. tod date they claim my account in active and that i have no right to cancel it.

Further, after they took the $2500, I blocked their account from charging my AmEx card. So they submitted a charge from another merchant ID claiming the charge was for "employment services" This is intentionally deceptive practice and is without a doubt illegal. Bt with this trick, they managed to charge my card another $2500.

They told me one thing when I signed up, then tried to go back on your word with fine print in a user agreement that is highly unethical.

The service itself was unreliable and difficult to navigate. The customer support was poor, usually consisting of a form letter that didn't even address problems that arose with their software.

I regret that I did not do more homework and discover the many other customers that have also had horrible experiences dealing with Channel Adviser.

Using Channel Adviser was one of the worst business mistakes I ever made. Their conduct is unethical, illegal, and seeks to destroy small businesses they pretend to want to help. This company is bad news.

Desired Settlement
I want them to refund the $2500 i gave them that they did nothing to earn. Their is another $2500 that is in limbo that they told AmEx was for employment services. I want them to withdraw attempts to process that payment. I want them to stop trying to charge my credit cards in the future. And i want them to stop harassing me.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
Our software does require initial investment in time to upload and create a seamless experience. This is a common experience for all customers, requiring time and effort. This was disclosed in the sales process, the contract, and is why we offer clients the option (and encourage them) to enable the software with assistance from a Launch Specialist.

The complainant was successfully launched per the terms of the contract and has been a customer since April 2012. We sign one-year agreements and invest our own resources to help customers through the implementation process, and this contract automatically renewed for the second time by its stated terms. We are working in good faith to reach a compromise with the complainant.

Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
The investment of set-up time and effort was compensated in the first year. The additional year that CA has tacked on required no set-up or effort on the part of CA as I had stopped using the product already.

As a compromise, I suggest CA keep the $2500 I've paid for nothing, and stop harassing me for more money that they have not earned. Absent a complete settlement under these terms, I will continue to pursue options to recover the $2500.

Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
We stand by the original offer we made to the complainant, and we hope to come to an amicable resolution soon.

11/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We asked the company to cancel our service as we have not used it and they refuse to. Then they charged us for another service that we did not reques
We had signed up for this service a year ago. It finally started the software a couple months ago on their end but we never used the software because our employee that was going to use it quit. We since told them to cancel the service our rep *** ***** said that would not be an issue. Then his boss said no they wont cancel the service and then decided to bill us again even though we wanted it cancelled. So they charged us another 9000 for a service we do not want or need. We want our money back as our rep *** ***** said it would be ok to cancel.

Desired Settlement
They have billed us over 150000 for a service we are not using and no longer will use then another 9000 after they said they would cancel the service and then did not. I want at least the 9000 dollars back right away and would like the 15000 dollars back but realize that they may not be possible.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
We've asked the complainant for documentation to support the aforementioned claims and have not received anything. The complainant signed a two-year agreement for services, and ChannelAdvisor performed under the Agreement. The contract signed by both parties outlines the situations in which the Agreement can be terminated, and an employee quitting is not outlined as a valid reason for termination.

Since we feel that this customer is able to be successful on our system, we are willing to go above and beyond to help this customer make the most of our platform. We have reached out to this customer directly to offer specific assistance to meet his needs.

10/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Salesperson told me their software had all the data I needed and could communicate with the suppliers that I deal with for Ebay, turned out untrue.
I had been researching software companies to assist in listing items on Ebay, my main criteria was the software company needed to have the ability to communicate with my suppliers to obtain all the necessary data needed to list items. Without the data listing items is a lengthy time consuming task that usually requires a couple of employees full time to manage. The Channel Advisor salesman assured me that the data would not be an issue and I could focus my time on selling the products and not the listings. After paying Channel Advisor and signing their contract, going into the launch phase I quickly found out they didn't have all of the data like they said, only bits and pieces of it that has to be put on a spreadsheet and pieced together. Also I found out they do not communicate with the suppliers inventory levels, another software is needed to do that, and only 2 suppliers are compatible, the third and main one I use is not compatible. If I had been told all of this from the get go I would've never signed up with ChannelAdvisor, I would've went with the other company that has access to all of this data and doesn't require another third party company to do inventory levels. I want out of the contract and they are refusing to do so, billing me 1,000.00 every month and I'm not using their software.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund from Channel Advisor, and to cancel the contract.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
ChannelAdvisor successfully supports multiple automotive sellers on Amazon, eBay and other third-party marketplaces through its integrations with inventory suppliers and fulfillment alliances. Our platform is customized for automotive sellers through these strategic relationships, some of which require an additional outlay of capital on the part of our customers, which is communicated during the sales process.


Our software does require initial investment in time to upload and create a seamless experience. This is a common experience for all customers, requiring time and effort. This was also disclosed in the sales process, the contract, and is why we offer clients the option to enable the software with assistance from a Launch Specialist.

Since we feel that our system is able to help this customer, we are willing to go above and beyond to help get this customer get up and running on our platform. We have reached out to this customer directly to offer specific assistance to meet his needs.

Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
I was told data from the suppliers was available and data collection was not going to be an issue for ebay, during the first launch call I quickly found out this wasn't true by the launch specialist within the first 10 minutes on the phone. I have already switched to another software that has software and data like this company said they did. I have no interest in using Channel Advisors software, it does me no good, these big companies can't keep bullying small businesses. If they were 100 percent honest from the get go It would've been a clear and straightforward decision to not use their software, instead they lull you into thinking they have the end all be all of software and data mines. Not true.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
This situation has been resolved through direct communication with this customer.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

08/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive sales tactics' that intentionally misrepresent the services and value of Channel Advisor. False promises were made.
We intend to tell the truth about the deceptive sales tactics' that intentionally mislead the outcome of Channel Advisor Services. False promises were made that we would expect a lift in sales due to the value-added services provided from Channel Advisor. This is completely false, there were no meaningful sales generated. Promises were made that extra service fees would give us a dedicated service representative to set up the accounts. This is also completely false as our initial sales/implementation representative left their employment and we were left to fend for ourselves using help screens and email support from a different service provider. Promises were made that we would save time and create an ease of use to create multiple listings on multiple platforms, however this also is false as there was no significant time savings in product listings across platforms. In the end, there were no sales generated, no cost savings accrued and no support provided to achieve the promises made. We were sold a false bill of goods.

The decision to sign up with Channel Advisor was based on information that was, in fact, completely fabricated and fraudulent. The promise made to us to deliver performance was a deliberate deception. Their business practices are highly suspect and intentionally deceptive. Do you know the reason that Channel Advisor locks their customers into an annual contract without a way to exit? This deceptive practice helps them gain an unfair advantage and reinforces their misrepresentation of the facts to gain monies that are not earned. I made a promise to pay for the delivery of services and sales, neither of which was delivered and I therefore am not willing to pay any more money.
unless it is for a lawyer to sue their operations to correct their deceptive sales presentations. We canceled our contract early on as soon as we recognized their deceptive business methodology. They continued to help themselves to our money (that was not earned or due based on the services they were supposed to provide) via electronic fund transfers. Contracts are not binding when they involve fraud. This company sells a false bill of goods.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the monies paid for services not provided

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
We are internally investigating this complaint.

ChannelAdvisor is reaching out to communicate directly with this complainant. ChannelAdvisor helps thousands of customers worldwide process over $4.4 billion in GMV (or gross merchandise value) annually. While we regret that this customer is unsatisfied with its specific results, we do not consider this a reflection of a failing of the ChannelAdvisor platform.

ChannelAdvisor's business practices do not involve deception because we are confident in the proven performance of our software. We sign one-year agreements and invest our own resources to help customers through the implementation process, and the complainant was successfully launched on a major marketplace per the terms of the contract.

Consumer Rebuttal:
The reply is two sentences - filled with marketing jargon? Really? The issue is not addressed in this two sentence reply. The reply did not address the issue at hand. In addition, we did not received their contact attempts. Please email our company President at:

Final Business Response:
The complainant was successfully launched on a major marketplace per the terms of the contract. Further, the complainant purchased the software on a self-service basis and was therefore expected to take over management of the account after launch. Once launched, it was reported that the complainant did not continue to optimize its integration with the marketplace in order to reach the desired results.

We sign one-year agreements and invest our own resources to help customers through the implementation process. We are not willing to offer a full refund because ChannelAdvisor met the terms of its contract. We are working with the complainant to find a resolution for the outstanding balance that the complainant owes our company. The details of this resolution are confidential, but all parties are working in good faith to reach a compromise.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lied to during sells calls, can not provide services that they advertise. Paid 13k so far and I am not up and running yet. Poor customer service.
Last April I spoke to a sales person with CA. After given him the information of services I need he check with my suppliers I.T. person al and advised that there soft wear was a perfect match with CA's. He advised that if I paid for CA to set up my eBay and Amazon feed I would be up and running in 3-6 weeks. I advised him of my low knowledge of I.T. and he advised that CA would do everything for me. It has now been 12 months and 13K latter and I am still not up and running. I have been trying since December, 2013 to find out about my contract and the false information I was given by the sales person. I keep getting the run around and it's now mid May, 2014 and I still have no answers. CA promised services that they can not provide and lied to me to get me to enter a contract. I would not recommend CA's services to anyone and would like some help to get this resolved.

Desired Settlement
I have paid for a service for over 12 months that I have not been receiving. I would like to get a full refund. I was lied to on several occasions by the sales rep and non of the services that I have paid for have been received.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
We are internally investigating this complaint.

Final Business Response/
ChannelAdvisor is still working with this complainant to achieve the desired results. We are in the negotiation process to continue this contract.

Our software does require initial investment in time to upload and create a seamless experience. This is a common experience for all customers, requiring time and effort. In this case specifically, the delays in launch were out of ChannelAdvisor's control. As mentioned, we are currently working with this client to rectify this situation.

Page 1 of 4
01/19/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deceptive sales tactics' that intentionally misrepresent the services and value of Channel Advisor. False promises were made that we would expect a lift in sales due to the value-added services provided from Channel Advisor. Initial Salesman was **** ******* E-Commerce Specialist XXX-XXX-XXXX - office **** ****** ****** ******* Morrisville NC XXXXX and he assured us and we were sold on using CA to control our online inventory in real time across the platforms of OS, Amazon, EBay, Rakuten, and our own Magento store we are developing now, based on what we were told. Of course once we questioned about use with OS and Magento this salesman is "no longer with us" according to a response by ***** ***** When we explained what we were lead to believe and that we wanted to cancel he stopped responding and then a **** ******* took over and basically said refer to you contract you cannot cancel.
This is completely false, there were no meaningful sales generated. Promises were made that we would save time and create an ease of use to create multiple listings on multiple platforms, however this also is false as there was no significant time savings in product listings across platforms. The CA web site even alludes to using with OS and Magento. But once you get signed up then you get passed ** others, in our case the China office using ****** *** to help with the set up of Amazon which we paid an additional $750 for. Basically the CA system is just a repeat of our own in house CSV's we were using to update all the sales channels. We were assured they could easily be generated from CA and tracked to increase sales and have a single real time inventory management. Now they admit they do not support OS, after saying they had a work around when put on the spot about using CA for OS. There were no sales generated, no cost savings accrued and no support provided to achieve the promises made. We were sold a false bill of goods. The decision to sign up with Channel Advisor was based on information that was, in fact, completely fabricated and fraudulent. The promise made to us to deliver performance was a deliberate deception. Their business practices are highly suspect and intentionally deceptive. Do you know the reason that Channel Advisor locks their customers into an annual contract without a way to exit? This deceptive practice helps them gain an unfair advantage and reinforces their misrepresentation of the facts to gain monies that are not earned. I made a promise to pay for the delivery of services and sales, neither of which was delivered and I therefore am not willing to pay any more money. We canceled our contract early on as soon as we recognized their deceptive business methodology. - See more at: http://www.bbb.org/raleigh-durham/business-reviews/internet-service-providers/channeladvisor-corporation-in-morrisville-nc-XXXXXXX/complaints#breakdown

Desired Settlement
Termination Reason: To elaborate we feel we were misled completely, actually lied to, about CA being able to integrate with OS and with a Magento based store to control inventory across channels real time.

This without buying or subscribing to any other 3rd party programs or monthly fees - all was supposed to be completely available within CA. Not to mention the increase in sales we were led to believe would come from CA.

We were sold on using CA to control our online inventory in real time across the platforms of OS, Amazon, EBay, Rakuten, and our own Magento store we are developing now, based on what we were told.

Once we got into development was where it started to fall apart. What is on the CA site and what was told to us are different in regards to Magento and OS. Then we were told there is a work around for OS but that seems to be a mystery when we ask how. Magento turns out to need 3rd party apps bought and additional costs.

Suffice to say we have realized our mistake and we stopped using CA after paying to launch the Amazon module, another cost.
We just find our previous set up to be more efficient just using individual feeds manually daily. We may not be live but it is a lot easier and can do what we want.
Also as we develop the Magento based site we find it will serve our purposes for now.

So I wish for CA in good faith, I know the salesman is gone that sold us, to cancel the balance of our service ASAP.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
We are internally investigating this complaint.

Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their whole response is "We are internally investigating this complaint" which means what? This is just buying time. The case is clear cut. Their system cannot perform as we were told it could and simply cancel the remaining contract. They already received too much money for what we consider fraud.

Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
The complainant signed a one-year agreement that outlines specifically the terms and capabilities of our software. It was made clear during the sales process that additional work is involved in setting up the sales channels specifically referenced in the complaint. We have reached out to this customer to attempt to meet his expectations, but the outcomes desired require additional time and resources on the customer's part. Our solution does require an initial investment in time to launch, and we feel that this customer has not given our software an opportunity to perform as outlined in the sales process. For this reason, we are unable to release this customer from his contractual obligation, but are happy to assist him in any way possible to help achieve optimal results.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Flat out they are not addressing that their salesman, who is no longer there coincidently, told us their program could integrate with Overstock.com without any third party software. Also that CA could integrate with Magento based stores without any third party software. This is not the case.
What they offered by **** ******* is (and love the end note he is out of office! after making the offer):

I did receive an email from CA which I absolutely reject. Now they are trying to sell me something to do what they stated it could perform in the first place and the old sales trick of add in "potentially" something else along with pay us more!:

Hey ****,
I hope you are well! I just wanted to follow up on the termination request you recently placed with us, and address some of the frustrations you have previously addressed around the Magento functionality.
I would like to propose - pending getting current on your billing - a credit for up to two months, in exchange for an Amendment to extend your contract for two months to allow you time for a Magento connector to be developed. I can provide some suggested providers as well, if you'd like. In addition, I would like to offer you some additional assistance with a member of my team to audit your current setup, and provide feedback accordingly, including best practices and possible optimization techniques. Or, if you'd prefer, I could have a member of my team work with you on a Flex Feed setup so that you could send a feed to Overstock. This would be free of charge as a goodwill offering.
Again, this would be contingent on paying the balance currently owed.
Please let me know your thoughts or concerns either way, and we can move forward from there.
Thanks again, ****, and I look forward to hearing back from you!

PLEASE NOTE: I will be out of the office on Friday, September 5th, and also on Friday, September 12th and Monday, September 15th.

Getting in touch with CA is a circular route of denial and obfuscation - only once BBB entered are they trying to sound nice and claim they want to resolve what to me was a flat out lie and misleading concerning OS and Magento integration as a stock function. I do not want to continue with something we discovered did not do what we were told it could do and we do not even use it anymore as it is a complete waste of time.

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Channel Advisor customer service is not helpful, we have been customer for 7 years and they say we cannot cancel the service because we have binding
Channel Advisor customer service is not helpful, we have been customer for 7 years and they say we cannot cancel the service because we have binding contract., we want to cancel service and have provided written notice, also have explained that it is illegal in KY to not allow customer out of contract with prior notice which was given. The person that put in charge to speak with us has only been with the company for 1 year.. we have been customer for 7 years.. we simply cannot afford to pay them anymore, instead to insist they cannot cancel service.

Desired Settlement
To cancel our service.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
As most SaaS businesses, we require our customers to sign 12 month agreements that are binding upon both parties unless certain terms and conditions are broken by either party. In this case, no terms have been broken. ChannelAdvisor has provided all services and functionality included in the contract that have enabled the customer to be successful on the platform. We have made several attempts to work with this customer and he has refused all efforts and suggestions we've made. Under these circumstances we are not able to terminate the contract early.


Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
There is KY law that prohibits companies from binding contracts, 30 days after cancellation.
I will pursue this with Federal Trade Commission and post my concerns with Rip off report online, and other forums letting others know how you treat your senior customers.. that have been with you for 7 years.

I asked to speak with the ***** ***** the owner of the company to discuss my concerns he has not called ..
We want out Channel Advisor overcharges for services and donot offer phone tech help. you must submit tickets., potential customers beware.

I trust you will do the right thing, the only thing your doing is feeding the fire..


Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ok if this is how you feel, I will pursue may case with others including Amazon, Ebay, etc. They need to know how your treating your good customers.
All I asked was to not charge me for any future services and to terminate account. Your fees have become very high and since increased competition in the marketplace our margins had to drop basically causing us to lose money on sales thru channel advisor . Also the money we lose when customer cancels orders.. I will make sure to file claim with FTC on the money you owe use for the 7 years for cancelled orders.

Its sad that the owner of the company ***** ***** has sold his self out. This is not the ***** ***** I thought I knew from his book. I donot want to be any part of company with a boss that hides himself behind new employees, sure the turnover rate if very high.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
The contract is not governed by Kentucky law; the agreement, which was signed by both parties, is governed by North Carolina law. This business has been a long-time customer with minimal issues using ChannelAdvisor products and/or services. The customer missed the window of time within which to terminate the current contract, yet we've gone above and beyond to offer multiple possible solutions to this situation. The customer is not amenable to any of the options we've presented and we deem his request unreasonable.

02/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Channel Advisor Rep promised that they will get me something they don't, they charge fees they are not permitted and against the contract.
In Oct. 22 2013, I contacted the sales rep at channel advisor "*** ********* and explained him the problems what I have been going through on amazon, he promised that channel advisor can give me some insights such as why other sellers who sell the same kind of items, are getting certain placements on amazon or google and much more. The reason why I was not sure if CA is my solution is because the nature of my business is different from other sellers on amazon, as we have our unique line of items and we dont have any competition on our listings.
After his promise that CA can be helpful in my situation, I decided to signup.
On 10/29/2013 they charged my AMEX credit card for the amount of XXXXX. In the agreement they added that if I have more than 45k in sales per month I will be charged additional 2.2%.
the setup took a long time, and finally I got the ability to realize that their program does not have any abilities to give me any insights, and they just lied to me on what they can do.
Then I got in to the second issue which was as follows, I had a promotion running on amazon I gave out free items for people to test my item, the items I gave out was totally free to the customer, while CA was counting that as real sales I gave items in worth of 35k so they considered it as 35k in sales in order to charge me 2.2% of having more than 45k in sales.
I contacted "******* ****** and asked him if I will be charged for the free stuff as real sales, Hers the email I gotfrom him;
Hi ***,

After speaking with our team, our system counts all sales towards your GMV tier and there is no way to tell what is real and what is fake therefore you are looking at being charged the 2.2% on the amount over $45k.

If fake sales are going to be part of your strategy I would suggest upgrading to a higher tier to save money.

According to the contract I only need to pay the 2.2% if I have sales in that amount, and now they just charged me 395.62 just because their system cannot calculate it.
After getting this Email I was so frustrated, and asked them for an account termination for the above two reasons,
1)All the promises were fake and there is no insights,
2)They are charging me more then they are allowed to.
I got the following email from "******* ****** on 12/09 Hi ***,

Here is a link to create a termination request. http://ssc/support/common-requests/request-account-termination

I am also emailing a Customer Success Manager to get involved to see if they can provide further "insight" to increase Amazon sales and eBay as well.

After asking for an account termination and a refund, I got no response. I called again and this time ******* created a case again and look how hypocritical they are. I got an email from ***** ****** saying that 1) I cannot terminate the account, till a year from now
2) in regards to the issue with the free orders, there are issues with your promotional codes, and you need to correct it, "but you will not get refunded".

I have all the emails to show proof and this is just a scam, I need back the 10.5k plus the 395.62.

Just to wrap it up;
a) The promise that they have insights of amazon, they don't have the ability to provide any insight information more then I can see myself. (And as ******* mentioned in his Email, that he will get me someone for the "insight" never happened)
b)They charged my card claiming that they consider free giveaways as real sales, while after they charged the money they claimed it is my fault, and I can do something to prevent AND they will not refund even if I fix the problem with the codes.
At this point because of my frustration they closed my account without a refund.
Summery; account closed, no refund, full of lies, no honesty.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund for the XXXXX, because I was promised that CA can do something that they cannot, and there is no point for me to have this account.
Full refund for the amount of 395.62 that was stolen from me last month.

Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
ChannelAdvisor helps thousands of customers worldwide process over $3.5 billion in GMV (or gross merchandise value) annually. While we regret that this customer is unsatisfied, we do not consider this a reflection of a failing of the ChannelAdvisor platform.

The complainant was successfully launched on a major marketplace per the terms of the contract. Further, the complainant purchased the software on a self-service basis and was therefore expected to take over management of the account after launch. We do offer fully managed accounts for customers who wish to allow our expert teams to completely manage their e-commerce presence.

The software immediately indicated that there were errors with the listings provided to ChannelAdvisor by the complainant. Further, our contract indicates that we bill as a percentage of GMV that is run through our system, as regardless of the cost of the item our software still conducts the work to process the order. While we do support promotion codes, giving away items for free is not currently supported through ChannelAdvisor.

Finally, ChannelAdvisor shows no record that the complainant ever filed a support case indicating there was an issue with the services. The customer was launched successfully per the terms outlined in the sales process and the contract; therefore we would retain fees accordingly.


Final Consumer Response
First of all, according to the contract the CA does not have the right to charge GMV on free product even if the software does not support it.
2) When I have in writing where CA told me that they will charge and a case was made for that purpose, and the answer was not that there is an error with code, only after I replied that it is against the contract this was the reply which was a lie, cause even if I would fix this error I would also be charged.
3) After I submitted a complaint Channel Advisor took away my access from the program and this is against the contract.

In the end; my Channel advisor account was taken away by channel advisor just because I made a complaint, this is against the contract, and my money must be reimbursed.

And this is for people who read this. Once I made a complaint with Channel Advisor my account was suspended without a refund just in the first week, Channel advisor was still charging my account monthly without my permission.

Again once I made a complaint My account was suspended and no refund.

Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
To address the complainant's claim regarding ChannelAdvisor's contract, we'll reiterate that our contract clearly indicates that we bill as a percentage of Gross Merchandise Value (GMV) that is run through our system, as regardless of the cost of the item our software still conducts the work to process the order. While we do support promotion codes, giving away items for free is not currently supported through ChannelAdvisor.

With regard to the complainant's second claim, that ChannelAdvisor revoked his access, that is not the case. In digging deeper, it appears that the customer edited his user groups/modules, causing his login to become "orphaned" from his posting account, which made his access appear to have been revoked. This issue has been rectified and his access has been restored, and this fact has been communicated to the customer.

ChannelAdvisor would never disable a customer's account access simply for filing a complaint. Account access is only revoked if a customer ceases paying for the software, as outlined in the contract.

10/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
charging my credit card without any service, requested multiple times to terminate contract as i am unable to receive their service but they denied
I signed a contract with a company named as channeladvisor.com on aug 13-2013. i was supposed tobe introdueced by their service on aug15 in a phone call. within 2 minutes of this phone call i realized that their service is not going to help me as i was misrepresented over the phone about this service and i depended on the phone conversation with sales rep which i had before siging the contract. also, there were never any demo of there service given to me before signing the contract. immediately i gave them notice to terminate the contract.
the main reason i signed the contract was that the person i spoke over the phone told me they can help me on my small online business at amazon.com by automation service of my orders with my vendors. after i signed the contract and got access to their web , within few minutes i realized what i was offered(phone) is not the service they are providing. they are only doing automation for the inventory not on the ordering process. immediately i wanted to terminate the contract and said i have not started receiving anything and my account setup also was never done. on sept 5 amazon.com suspended my account , i informed them that as my business was with amazon and i signed the contract to automate the process of my business with amazon, now it is suspended , therefore even if i want to continue i am unable to proceed. moreover there service is not what i was looking for.
, they are charging every month 900 dollars and 750 for setup fee although no setup was done ad no service was given. I requested multiple times to terminate the contract as i am unable to use there service for 2 reasons, first the service they are offering is not going to help me which i realized when i first got access to their web during a introductory meeting.
second, my account with amazon was suspended after signing the contract and i informed them that my account was opened to use on my amazon business but that is suspended. they proposed that i use different marketplace where at some point i showed interest because i thought it is better to get something than nothing as i have to pay no matter i receive the service or not. but then i realized it is just waste of time because i do not have a significant business on other market place (sears.com, they proposed ). On ********* i sold less than 500 dollars in last 8 months total. it does not make any sense to pay 900 dollars a month on this. initially i closed my credit card then they said it will go to collection no matter i receive their service or not. i was afraid and i uplodaded the card again but requested them to cancel the contract as i am not receiving anything from them. but they keep charging my card and saying they will continue no matter i receive their service or not as i have signed the contract.
i really do not need their service as i found it is useless to me .and i do not want to pay 900 dollars per moth without receiving anything.

I also, told them that it may be they misrepresented to me their service or may be i misunderstood but the point is the service they are offering is not useful to me and i am unable to receive their service. but they continue to threatened me that if i do not pay it will go to collection. because of this i am not closing my credit card.
the conversation date with sales rep before signing the contract are kept, i may get the recorded tape from my cell phone service provider AT&T which i requested if needed for lawsuit.
first talk with sales rep on their product:
Fri Jun 28, 2013 9am - 10am Pacific Time
in this meeting and few more phone calls , i explained him that i am looking for order processing and he was saying this is what they do.
after signing the contract when i first raised the concern they said they will use a third party to offer me what i want. then i asked more explanation, then they said only they can give information of third party who can do this and i have to make all arrangement.

Desired Settlement
i am just asking a simple thing. the service they are offering is not going to help me at all. therefore no service and not payment and no collection. they told me they will go to collection just because i signed the contract and i am unable to receive their service . so even i do not accept their service they will continue charging me money monthly 900 dollars and already charged set up fee of 750 and 900 dollars for first month. also first month was sopposed to be free according to the contract and most importantly i have never received any service from them as from the first day i told them it is useless for me.

so , i want my money back and stop paying money and terminate the contract.

also, i offered them initially that we can terinate the contract with mutual agreement but they denied and said it is a buyout of the contract which they are not willing to do.

Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
We are looking into this case with several internal parties and will respond shortly.




Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
The complainant signed an agreement that outlines specifically the terms and capabilities of our software. The complainant mistakenly thought that we provided order process management with drop shippers. We do have order management capabilities, but we do not automate order process management with drop shippers internally, nor have we claimed that we can do so. We do have partners that we work with to enable this functionality for other customers, so we arranged a meeting with one of those partners but the complainant was not interested and refused to answer phone calls to discuss further.

We sign one-year agreements and invested our own time and energy into the success of this account, going above and beyond to offer multiple solutions to help the customer launch on marketplaces, though the complainant refused to return the changed contract.

Though our preference is to find a solution to this issue, the complainant has chosen to exercise his termination rights via the 6-month termination clause in the contract, which will we happily honor per the terms of the contract.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
this is a lie and distortion of their own word.
surprised to see how big companies can lie like this.
they never offered third party solution but they said they will provide information about third party which i need to make all the arrangement with third party which did not make any sense because i have lots of third party information why would i pay them just for an information and why would i pay them if i work with third party ?
they did offer order management through phone and contract but they distorted their word and just playing with words saying that i misunderstood.
even if i assume for argument that i misunderstood
still they should have consider the fact that i am not receiving their service and it is not helping me all but instead they asked me to go with alternate market place where i did not have any significant presence but they just want to sell their product no matter it helps or not.

moreover i asked them that i wanted to talk to their senior excecutives but they denied multiple times.

I have not accepted any offer from them . they are continuously telling lies. this is 100% fraud company

05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After paying Channel Advisor $2,350 in set-up fees/ training fees for Premium Stores it is reasonable to expect we would receive a set-up service which we did not. Since we did not receive this set up service in a timely manner or at all, it is reasonable to expect we would have all, if not part, of those monthly frees refunded also. **Please note that this dispute is not to be confused with the Premium Marketplace a service that we did receive and also cancelled after 12 months. They already had all or our product files in their system through the Premium Marketplace service for which we paid more than $2,000 per month.Channel Advisor owes us a refund for the $2,350 start-up/training fees and for charging $350/month over a 12 month period for Premium Stores service they never provided. They owe us a full refund of the $350/month space rent fees that we could not access because the space was not set up as they agreed. A few brief phone calls or emails offering to answer our questions months after our agreement was executed on and paid for in full 9/30/10 do not constitute providing a set-up service. I know the difference -- their competitors Kyozo have subsequently done this for us for a fair fee of $700. Since they cannot produce the set-up work that they charged us $2,000 to execute on 9/30/10, I don't see how they can allow this charge, or any of the monthly space rent fees we paid for the following 12 months.I find many similar complaints from other businesses filed with the Better Business Bureau. You will see a common theme: Channel Advisor does not deliver on their promises, misrepresents their capabilities, and provides inadequate technical support.Furthermore, their explanation that our appointment in April 2011 with their technical representative (which he didn't keep) wasn't a real appointment because it was an agreement to meet at their annual conference in Raleigh, NC, rather than in their corporate office, only illustrates just how flaky they are.
Product_Or_Service: Online Store
Account_Number: BJJ Enterprises dba

Desired Settlement
Channel Advisor owes us a refund for the $2,350 start-up/training fees we paid 9/30/10 and for charging $350 a month over the following 12 month period for a Premium Stores service they never provided. They owe us a full refund of the $350/month space rent fees that we could not access because the space was not set up as they agreed. The amount is $6,200 less the $669.94 partial refund awarded to us 4/17/11. Balance due $5,530.06.

Business' Initial Response
We've reviewed Ms. Vinson's case and she received a credit in 2010 for the start-up fee for the Premium Webstore as no start-up services were delivered. Customer maintained access to the Premium Webstore software on a self-service level, and therefore was charged accordingly.

Consumer's Final Response
I am reading my signed agreement with Channel Advisor. It is dated 9/24/10 (not June as their response incorrectly asserts) My first invoice from them was dated 9/30/10 -- weeks before we assumed control of the business. If you provide me with a place to upload it, I can do so. Channel Advisor clearly does not have the factgs straight.

Business' Final Response
This complainant signed up for a solution of ours in June 2010, on behalf of a company that she did not yet own. The company was already a customer of ours using other solutions, so they were invoiced for additional services requested by the complainant and not the company. Because the complainant was not yet the owner of said company, ChannelAdvisor issued a credit memo to the company, which is the aforementioned "refund." Whereupon the company ownership was transferred to the complainant in October 2010, complainant signed another contract for the services in question.

As we mentioned previously, our software does require an initial investment in time to implement, and that is why we have clients enable the software with a Launch Specialist. We have documentation of multiple attempts by our implementation staff to reach out to the complainant to enable a successful launch; we also have documentation of the complainant's responses to these attempts, in which complainant acknowledges ChannelAdvisor's multiple e-mails and phone call attempts to launch and complainant's own lack of engagement.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Service Providers, Software Developers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.