BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/2003

Allgard Home Improvement, Inc.

Phone: (919) 876-4759Fax: (919) 876-3776View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 58265, RaleighNC 27658-8265 Send email to Allgard Home Improvement, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/2003

BBB has determined that Allgard Home Improvement, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Allgard Home Improvement, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/24/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repeated phone calls and emails were ignored causing a significant delay in completion of renovation. Unable to settle invoice - no responses.
Written contract (Dec 2011) reflected renovation work to be done and timetable. No response to requests to complete work on preset times. Much of contracted work was not performed by the contractor. Weeks went by with tasks left uncompleted. Current issue is no willingness to discuss invoice which reflects work not performed by the contractor and no willingness to sign bank release to trigger even a partial payment to begin a resolution process.

Desired Settlement
Resolution to invoice in order to trigger release of renovation funds from mortgagor. Resolution to invoice based on work actually performed rather than work billed.

Business' Initial Response
Communication has been established with customer. Customer is happy with us and issue has been resolved.

09/18/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company had continually placed our repair needs for which they are responsible on the back burner. It has been very difficult to have the repairs made
Our home had an addition repair done in July 2011 with said company. Company was slow to have repairs made (company was in my house for 1 month when job should have taken a week max). Once the repairs were completed our roof began to leak when we had hard rain. It was difficult to have someone repair the leak in a timely manner. It actually took 3 different occasions for the repair to completed. Now the interior work needs to be completed. I have communicated with Bill through text message for nearly 4 months in regards to scheduling a date/time for interior work to be completed. Sometimes I will not even hear back from him, other times he asks when I'm available and then doesn't respond. I called the company office and spoke with Anne Marie who scheduled for Bill to come out. He came to my house 9/6/12 and caulked around the door frame where the leak was. He didn't have the paint to complete the job, said that they left the paint here over a year ago. I told him the said paint has since been disposed of. He said he would get back to me once he purchased some more paint. On 9/10/12 after not hearing anything back about the paint I contacted Bill through text message again asking if paint was purchased, he said it had and asked when my availabilty was and I explained that 9/12/12 was my only available day this week. He contacted me today to say he won't be able to make it but for me to give him a date next week and he will be here. I am extremely disappointed in the integrity of this company. Since the initial start date of the project it has been nothing but a headache when trying to have things completed.

Desired Settlement
I just want the work completed, it has been over a year that we have waited patiently for work to be completed.

Consumer's Final Response

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.