BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1997

Comfort Homes, Inc.

Phone: (919) 553-3242Fax: (919) 550-9017

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The roof on my new home which is still under warranty is improperly installed and the builder refuses to accept responsibility and replace my roof.
December 6, 2012 was the date of purchase of my home. Thus far into my home warranty I have contacted the builder many times due to missing shingles from my roof in which they would then come and replace the missing shingle. On my last call of complaint I was told that I need to do a claim with the manufacturer CertainTeed.

After obtaining the forms required for the claim, On Tops Roofing was hired on 8/27/13 to do an inspection of the roof and to remove shingle samples. Inspector ******** ********** reported, "Roof has general damage to shingles on front of home due to loss of seal under shingles. Most roofs this age do not have the amount of seal failure as is on this home".

On 9/3/13 I sent the paperwork, shingle samples and pictures required by CertainTeed to process a claim. After testing claim #CXXXXXXX the results found there was no manufacturing defects and the problem is a result of the application of the shingles.

After submission of this paperwork to the builder on 10/4/13 the builder set up a meeting at my home with the roof insulator, CertainTeed representative, and inspector *** ******** from ***** ******** to inspect my roof. *** ******** found that the builder used the wrong size nails and there was improper nail placement in the shingles.

On 10/10/13 the builder brought their own inspector to my home in which he stated the roof the was up to code, but yet also stated the shingles were not in the best condition in which the builder could go put sealant under them. The builder stated this fix is what CertainTeed recommends if sealing issues occur. Looking at the form they provided it states "If any shingles have not sealed after a reasonable time period, hand sealing may be necessary. Keep in mind the house was built in 2010 which is well beyond the "reasonable time period" and these instructions are set for the time of application.

After this conversation I contacted CertainTeed and I was told because Comfort Homes failed to follow their guidelines of application my and because my shingles were improperly installed, hand sealing would be a temporary fix to my problem. The shingles were nailed too high and if nails are placed too high over time wind will cause the sealant to separate again.

The Roof insulator has confirmed prior to my home purchase there has been many occasions they had to come and replace missing shingles and accepts responsibility that the men did the work incorrectly, but they are also putting the blame on CertainTeed. CertainTeed reports the shingles meet their rigorous quality standards and surpassed ***** published by ASTM and Underwriters Laboratories.

CertainTeed provided Comfort home with insulation guidelines which they chose to ignore. As a result I continue to experience missing shingles.

Desired Settlement
Based on inspection results a temporary fix is not acceptable and seek long term solution in a new roof.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
As the builder, several measures have been taken to ensure the roofing problem is dealt with properly. On October 4, 2013, a meeting was held with the representative from CertainTeed, the gentleman that was hired from ***** ********* Comfort Homes, and the homeowner. CertainTeed and ***** stated that the use of wrong sized nails and improper nail placement were the only issues of concern. On October 10, 2013, Comfort Homes and the roofing subcontractor called upon a Johnston County inspector to examine the roof. The county inspector found that the shingles were nailed properly and up to code; but the ridge vent was installed using 1 1/4" size nails (3" nails are required). The county inspector also noted that the sealant was not functioning properly. At the homeowner's convenience, Comfort Homes and their subcontractor will reseal the roof and install new ridge vents using proper nails. The use of the sealant is the recommendation suggested by CertainTeed. Comfort Homes stands behind their work and will ensure that the ridge vents and sealant are installed properly.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
The builder continues to say that the use of sealant is the recommendation by CertainTeed which is not true.

CertainTeed states the use of sealant is not recommended for my roof because the shingles were not applied according to their application instructions.

The fasteners that were used to apply the shingles to the roof deck were placed above the required instructions which are printed on the back of all shingle bundles. Any higher placement of these fasteners allow an excessive free area of the shingles to be lifted and blown off by the wind.

Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
As the builder, several measures have been taken to ensure the roofing problem is dealt with properly. On October 4, 2013, a meeting was held with the representative from CertainTeed, the gentleman that was hired from ***** ********* Comfort Homes, and the homeowner. CertainTeed and ***** stated that the use of wrong sized nails and improper nail placement were the only issues of concern. On October 10, 2013, Comfort Homes and the roofing subcontractor called upon a Johnston County inspector to examine the roof. The county inspector found that the shingles were nailed properly and up to code, but the ridge vent was installed using 1 1/4" size nails (3" nails are required). The county inspector also noted that the sealant was not functioning properly. At the homeowner's convenience, Comfort Homes and their subcontractor will reseal the roof and install new ridge vents using proper nails. The use of the the sealant is the recommendation suggested by CertainTeed. Comfort Homes stands behind their work and will ensure that the ridge vents and sealant are installed properly.

01/04/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Commercial Construction Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.