BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2007

Atlantic Construction, Inc.

Phone: (910) 938-9053Fax: (910) 347-07387 Doris Ave E, JacksonvilleNC 28540-5147 Send email to Atlantic Construction, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/27/2007

BBB has determined that Atlantic Construction, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Atlantic Construction, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Atlantic Construction, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/08/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Faulty cabinets, counter tops. Not properly installed. Not mounted properly to the wall.
I am the originaly owner of this property. I purchased this property from Atlantic Construction in early 2007. On 7/20/12 I purchased LG Vitara Quartz counter tops. During this process * has to request for an LG Vitara Representative to come to my home to make a template. When the LG Vitara representative came to my house on the scheduled date of 8/1/12, after doing the measurements he stated that the cabinets in my house were so messed up that LG Vitara could not make a quartz counter top properly that would fit. He stated that we had failed the template. He stated that the cabinets would have to be fixed before he could make a proper template that would work.

The existing cabinets and counter tops are the ones that came with the house from the original purchase. As stated above I am the original owner. To help put this in perspective, the cabinets look like a rainbow. They are suppose to be flush and straight. By rainbow I mean that the left side of the cabinets are flat against the wall and the right side of the cabinets are flat against the wall, the middle of the cabinets are bowed out. This is the way they came with the house. If you measure the exisiting, original counter top overhang, the left and right side overhang is equal to about 1 inch. The middle overhang is less than 1/4 of an inch.

The LG Vitara representative advised me to pull out our dishwasher to try to figure out why the middle of the cabinets are bowed out. As advised to do so, I pulled out the dishwasher. Upon inspection of the situation you can clearly see that one side of the cabinet is mounted to the wall and the other side is not. The side that is not mounted to the wall is the middle section of the cabinet that is bowed out. During this process I also noticed that another section of a seperate cabinet and counter top is also not mounted to the wall.

I contacted Atlantic Contruction on 8/2/12. I advised him nicely of the situation listed above. He basically told me that my 1 year warranty was expired. He then began to blame the situation on Onslow County Planning and **. He said that Onslow County Planning passed the cabinets for inspection during the building process. He also stated that ** was the company that Atlantic Construction had subcontracted to install the cabinets and counter tops. He told me to take it up with them.

On 8/2/12 I called Onslow County Planning. I spoke with an inspector for Onslow County. He told me that even a simple 4 legged structure that would simply mount to the sink would meet the basic requirements to pass a counter top and cabinet inspection.

On 8/2/12 around 9 a.m. as advised by Atlantic Construction, I contacted the owner of **. I explained the situation above to him. He then told me that later that day he would come out to my house to check the situation out. He never showed up, never called.

On 8/3/12 I attempted to contact the owner several times. The receptionist would tell me each time that he was "on the road." I left messages and a voicemail. He has yet to contact me.

Atlantic Contruction is the general contractor and original seller of my house. They sold me a house with faulty cabinets and counter tops. Since then I have upgraded the flooring from vinyl to tile. This will be a huge problem. This company claims to sell quality products. I don't believe that in this case they did. They claim to take care of their customers. I don't believe that in this case they are. What they are doing by putting the blame on the on professional subcontractor and Onslow County Planning is wrong. When they sold me the house and during the building process Atlantic Construction had a foreman who should have been responsible for quality assurance. This is were Atlantic Construction failed. Their foreman or quality assurance manager did not up hold standards

Desired Settlement
I would like Atlantic Construction to fix the cabinets and counter tops. I would also like the company to fix my tile if it is affected by the correction of the cabinets. I would like them to pay the $35 to have LG Vitara come back out to do another template. If the LG Vitara Counter Top price changes due to having the process put on hold, I would like Atlantic Construction to pay the difference. This is not unreasonable it is the right thing to do. If Atlantic Constructions, the general contractor and seller does the right thing, I hope they do it the right way as well.

Consumer's Final Response
The issue has been resolved.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Commercial Construction Companies, Real Estate Developers, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, General Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/08/2003Business started: 01/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Carolina Licensing Board of General Contractors
14460 New Falls of Neuse Ste 149
Raleigh, NC27614-6643
(919) 571-4183
http://www.nclbgc.org

BBB records show a license number of 37596 for this company, issued by North Carolina Licensing Board of General Contractors. Their web address is http://www.nclbgc.org.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1996, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Henderson (President)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Home Builders, Commercial Construction Companies, Real Estate Developers, Contractor - Remodel & Repair, General Contractors

Products & Services

Atlantic Construction, Inc. provides residential and commercial construction and development.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Atlantic Construction, Inc.

7 Doris Ave E

Jacksonville, NC 28540-5147

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7 Doris Ave E 

    Jacksonville, NC 28540-5147(910) 938-9053

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Atlantic Construction, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.