BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/02/2004

StandsandMounts.com

Phone: (800) 807-1477Fax: (919) 552-7622View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 145, Fuquay VarinaNC 27526-0145 Send email to StandsandMounts.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/02/2004

BBB has determined that StandsandMounts.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised StandsandMounts.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Paid for a desk on 11-16-2014...still do not have what I ordered and want refund
Ordered a black glass desk on 11-15-2016. Charge against my credit card was applied 11-16-2014. I was initially shipped wrong color item (clear). I packaged item and shipped back. Finally received replacement shipment. On January 26th I notified company that of the 3 boxes received 2 had broken pieces (didn't open 3rd box) Stated that after waiting over 2 months for delivery of defective product I wanted a refund. Per stands and mounts' request, I emailed photos on 1-27-14. Still have damaged boxes sitting in living room and have not received refund or any follow up communication.

Initial Business Response
This customer was refunded in full 2/11/2014. FedEx has been contacted on the damaged item. A damage claim has been filed and FedEx will contact them on pick up or ask them to discard. If FedEx has not contacted the customer by 2/18 he may discard of the item.

Final Consumer Response
company's response is acceptable

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Received defective stand. Told that it would be picked up within seven days and a full refund would be processed at that time. Company not honoring.
It is unfortunate that consumers have to go to this length to resolve an issue with a business. On August 21st. 2013 we purchased a ********* 65in. TV Stand from StandsandMounts.com which arrived on Friday, August 30th. The order number was XXXXXX cost of the stand was $279.95 and was paid with a Visa check card. Upon opening the package on Saturday, August 31st, we were shocked to discover that the primary support pole for the stand was rusted inside and out (with what appears to be an obvious attempt at camouflage), corroded and not welded properly. As it was the Labor Day Holiday weekend, I was not able to make contact with StandsandMounts until Tuesday, September 3rd. On that day I spoke to ******* and advised her of the issue and that we were not comfortable with the manufacturer's Quality Assurance process and that we did not want to risk our new flat screen by detrimentally relying on any product that this manufacturer produced. It was sad that the manufacturer would allow an obviously defective product to leave their warehouse, but what is even more troubling is that it is clear that someone attempted to camouflage the issue. ******* advised me to send her an email stating that the product was damaged and to send pictures. On Wednesday, September 4th, I did as requested and drafted and email stating the issue and that we expected a full refund as we did not have confidence in the product or the manufacturer due to the condition of the first stand.
I was concerned when I had not received a response from ******* by Friday, September 6th, so I called her back on Monday, September 9th and she informed me that she had not received my email with the pictures. I did not receive an error message stating that the email had not been delivered but I conceded that due to the size of the file that it may not have reached her so I resent the pictures in three separate emails. Again I requested a full refund. At 3:15p.m. we received verification of receipt by ***** ***** On Monday, September 9th, we received a confirmation email from *******. She advised us to repack the product and that the carrier would pick it up within the next 7 days. If that did not occur, to contact her and they would reinitiate the claim. As soon as the item had been picked up a refund would be issued. I then sent an email on Thursday, September 12th asking how we would know when the carrier was coming and spoke to ***** on Friday, September 13th and he assured me that all was in order and that there was no RTS process and that the carrier would leave a note on the door if we were not home.
On Tuesday, September 17th, we received and email from ******* stating that the manufacturer has offered to send us the parts that we need to make the purchase work and if we wished to return the item that the "normal" return policy will be in effect.
It is clear to me that StandsandMounts is a business that operates without integrity. They promised that the defective product would be picked up in a reasonable amount of time and that a refund would be issued and now they are balking on their promise. We did not seek to purchase a defective product nor did we seek to be put in a position where we are not given any remedy for a situation that is in no way our fault. We do not have confidence in the manufacturer and should not be financially penalized due to their incompetence and inability to manufacture a safe and stable TV stand. Requiring that we utilize this company or penalizing us a large percentage of our money is extortion.

Initial Business Response
This customer's claims about the integrity of the item he purchased as well as the customer service he has received is unfounded. He has already been refunded in full for the return of this item. Before pick up for return, he was told that the refund would be processed as soon as the item had returned to the warehouse and had completed inspection. Nevertheless, he requested a refund before the item was returned. He was sent return shipment tracking information, which clearly indicated that the item had not yet returned to the warehouse. When the item was returned and inspected the refund was processed just as we had promised.

Final Consumer Response
The integrity of the item is documented in pictures and the response to this complaint is clear evidence of the company's. Per the companies email dated September 18th, and I quote, "As soon as the item has been picked up, please let us know by sending an email to *******@standsandmounts.com. Your refund will be issued at that time." We notified them as soon as the item was picked up (September 19th)and waited for a response which did not come. The company did not reply until after we inquired again on September 25th at which time they again changed the promise to a refund upon inspection by the vendor. Again, as you can see, the original promise was that the refund would be issued when the package was picked up. This company should be ashamed of themselves for making the customer the guilty party when the evidence is clear that they did not do what they committed to do. We have NOT received the refund as they have stated in response to this inquiry.

Final Business Response
We have kept all of our promises to this customer. She was refunded. She was sent a copy of transaction, twice now. She has called and emailed us repeatedly and has been given the same answers over and over. The last time she called us she was encouraged to contact her credit card company to confirm that the refund was processed. It is up the the credit card to apply the refund that we processed. The delay is as result of their processing timeline, not ours. We can do nothing more for this customer. Her order was shipped, damaged, recalled and refunded.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Product was reassured compatable for my needs. It was never made clear, if it wasn't I would lose a vast amount of money for the product.
I asked this company which T.V Mount Stand I needed for my television. I provided them with a model number and they came back to me with a product that was not meant for my size T.V (75") I repeatedly asked are you sure it will work and if not will I be able to recieve a refund. He reassured me there is no way it's not compaible because it's based on weight. I hired a professional from Best Buy Geek Squad to install the t.v and immediately they showed me that the product I was given in a size too small would actually completely damage my t.v and they could not move forward. This company then argued that theres no reason it should not fit but IF they give a refund it will be after deducting shipping, restocking and my shipping- leaving it at a fraction of the cost for my mistake of taking their professional advice. Never was I warned when asking about refunds that I would not be able to get not only all of my money, but even some of my money back. There was no honesty and they are clearly taking advantage of people who rely on the fact they specialize in something they do not know enough about to do so.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@standsandmounts.com
This customer told us that she needed a TV mount for a SAMSUNG - UN75F6400. We suggest the Chief Mount model ******** The TV that she said she was going to use with the mount will work with the mount ********* that she ordered. If she is trying to use a different TV, it may not work.
Our sales staff is certified experts in mounting solutions, and have been pointing customers to the correct mounts for their TV for 10 years. This customer is choosing to accept the advice of a 3rd party person from Geek Squad. She says they "showed me that the product I was given in a size too small would actually completely damage my t.v and they could not move forward." If the customer is trying to use the mount that we suggested with the television that she told us she was going to mount, the item she purchased from us will work and is not a danger of damaging her TV.
Our recommendation to this customer on which mount to buy can be verified as accurate at the following link to the manufacturer's website.
This is the product that we suggested: http://www.chiefmfg.com/Products/TS525TU . She told us she would be using a Samsung UN75F6400 model TV. If you visit the product page for the Chief S525TU, click on the Compatibility tab, then scroll to Samsung, you will see that the Samsung UN75F6400 is listed 3rd from the bottom. We have contacted the manufacturer on the claims that this customer has made, and they have assured us that the TV and Mount combination is correct. I have attached a screen shot of the compatibility assurance as a pdf file.
We feel we provided this customer with expert advice. She has a mount that will work, but is afraid to use it given the inaccurate advice given to her by a third party. We suggest she contact Geek Squad for an explanation as to why they did not install the mount given the confirmed compatibility with our experts as well as the manufacturer of the mount.
If she still wants to return the item, we will accept it for return per the return policy that is posted on our website. This information has already been provided to the customer.

Consumer's Final Response
The mount I was suggested clearly states on the box and in the instructions it is compatible for up to 57". My television as I stated from day one is 75", I would appreciate if this company would stop making accusations such as I switched my television and that the professional present was not giving adequate advice (geek squad). I saw when they attached the mount to my 75" t.v that the 57" TV Stand was bending into the back of my television. I am willing to move forward and put the t.v up with the stand that does not work but I want it in writing that mountsandstands.com will pay for the broken $5,000 Television afterward. Take responsibility for your errors, there is a reason you've had so many claims placed on your company.

Business' Final Response
The TS525TU mount that this customer bought works with the customer's TV. The reference to 57" on the box is only a guideline in terms of the mounting pattern on the back of the TV (where the holes for the mounting screws are located) and the weight limit of the mount. The TV that the customer has fits within the mounting pattern and the weight limits of the mount. The box for the mount indicates that it works with TVs with a mounting pattern 100 x 100mm - 800 x 400mm and that it holds TVs up to 125 lbs. The TV that this customer has, SAMSUNG UN75F6, has a 400mm x 400mm mounting pattern and a weight of 62.4 lbs. It is well within the mounting pattern and weight limits of the mount that she purchased.

We have not accused this customer of switching televisions. That has not been an issue in this complaint. She mentions that when the installer attached the mount to her TV, that the "TV Stand was bending into the back of her television." I'm assuming she means the TV mount, not stand, since a stand does not come with this mount. The mount she purchased is adjustable, with a Lateral Shift: 16" (406.4mm), Maximum Extension of 25" (635mm) and Tilt: + ° , - 15°. The mount itself should not be bending at all since the weight of her TV is only half of the weight limit of the mount. If the mount is not screwed into a stud on the wall that could cause the entire mount to tilt forward. Or perhaps the up-down tilt feature of the mounting bracket is causing some confusion. The mount can be adjusted left-right and up-down to get a desired viewing angle. Or the mount could be attached to the wall upside down. If the customer will send me a photo of the problem I will be happy to advise.

The mount that this customer purchased is UL listed, meaning that the product meets public safety requirements as designated by the Underwriters Laboratories. The item is also covered by the manufacturers 10 Year Warranty. We are certain that the mount is safe to use with her TV if it is installed correctly.

We don't understand why the customer would remark that we are not taking "responsibility for our errors", and that "there is the reason we have had so many claims placed on our company," We have an A+ rating at BBB and we have always corrected our mistakes. In this case, we feel that the customer has either been scared into believing that the mount will not work with her TV or that the mount has been installed incorrectly and is causing concern. The mount she purchased is a perfect mount for her TV if it is installed correctly.

If the customer has already installed a different mount and no longer needs the one that she purchased from us, please have her contact me directly at ******@standsandmounts.com. I will send her an RMA for return to the manufacturer. In light of her concerns, we will forgive the restocking fee.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: I ordered baskets for $103.54 with no shipping charges.The baskets are inferior quality and I wish to return. They tell me I can only get $43.09 back.
I ordered 2 sets of Winsome Wood Leo Rattan Baskets (2 Large, 4 Small) XXXXX from Stands and Mounts. I paid a total of $103.54 with free shipping. The baskets are inferior quality and I emailed asking how to return...here is the email:
Sent:
Thursday, March 14, XXXX X:55 PM
To: Your Order from StandsandMounts.com
Subject: Re: Order #XXXXXX - Shipped

Hello,
I received the baskets I ordered and am extremely disappointed in the quality.
I need to return them. Please let me know how to go about doing so.
There was no invoice or instructions in the box I opened. The second box was not even opened once I saw that the baskets in the first box were not what I expected.
Could you please send me shipping instructions so that I can return these in a timely manner?
Thank you.
****** ******

I received the following email:
From: "Sales - Stands and Mounts" <*****@standsandmounts.com>
To: *****@comcast.net
Sent: Friday, March 15, XXXX XX:09:44 AM
Subject: RE: Order #XXXXXX - Shipped

We're sorry the item(s) you ordered do not meet your needs. Before returning your order, please take a moment to read through the StandsandMounts.com return policy. Our policy can be found at http://www.standsandmounts.com/return-policy.aspx

Please read this reply and return this email to acknowledge acceptance of our return policy.

Returns are accepted in their original box and must be in new, unassembled, uninstalled condition. Items that have been assembled or installed cannot be returned for a refund. Returns found to have been used will be refused and returned to the shipper at their expense. If upon inspection the product is found to have been used, assembled or installed, the product will be returned to you at your expense and no refund will be issued.

We do not send return shipping labels. Please return your item to us via UPS or FedEx. As the shipper, you are responsible to insure the package against damage. No refunds are issued for return shipping costs.

Before returning your order, please take a moment to read through the StandsandMounts.com return policy. All non-defective returns will be refunded at the purchase price minus our shipping cost of $39.74 (the cost StandsandMounts.com actually incurred in shipping the item to you) and a restocking fee of $20.71 for a net refund from us of $43.09.

You will need to deduct your out of pocket shipping costs to determine your net refund.

This quote is for the return of (2) Winsome XXXXX
Your return must be made within 15 days.
Please respond to this email indicating you accept the conditions of our return policy. After receiving your reply, we will send an RMA and return instructions.

Thank you, we appreciate your business!

****** M. / ~ Sales Manager ~ /
Tel:

www.StandsandMounts.com

www.PremierMountsStore.com

www.ModernStands.com

I realize this company is probably safe from any legal actions as they have a posted return policy. I reviewed it when I received this email...I honestly did not see this policy prior to ordering or I WOULD NEVER have even bothered doing business with this company.
They are STEALING money from hard working Americans!

My email reply is here:
******,
This is ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!
How would you EVER expect that I would agree to a refund of less than half of what I paid for these inferior baskets?!
I will NOT be throwing my money away and sending the boxes back to you.
I WILL be making sure that ALL of my friends and family know to NEVER, EVER, EVER shop at Stands and Mounts.
****** ******


I wanted to be sure that the BBB realizes that there are shams and scams happening to innocent consumers like me. I appreciate anything you can do to stop these poor business practices.

Thank you.
Sincerely,
****** ******

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@standsandmounts.com
We're sorry this customer doesn't agree with our return policy. The reason the return policy is posted on every page of our website is to make shoppers aware that we will not be responsible for paying charges on items that they order and then want to return because they've changed their minds or no longer want them. All online resellers charge for return shipping, and many also charge restocking fees. Online retailers don't make a profit on returned orders. The items cannot be sold again and must be returned to the manufacturer for repackaging or disposal. If an item is damaged or defective we do not charge shipping or restocking fees, but when a customer simply doesn't like an item and returns it, we have to incur charges for the return. We cover those charges by expecting the customer to accept that they are costing us money by having to return a perfectly good item that they do not like. The item that this customer purchased is appropriately reflected in the cost of the item. She got 3 baskets for $51 and free shipping. We feel that is a fair price for a fair item. I hope the customer will consider that it is not a "sham or a scam" when a customer is given the details of a return policy and then decides to purchase an item and return it. We post the policy to avoid situations exactly like this one. We don't want customers to make a purchase unless they are sure that they will enjoy the item.
If the customer will contact me directly at *****@standsandmounts.com, I will send her new instructions for return and will forgive the shipping and restocking fees in this instance only. She will need to pay for return shipping costs to get the item back to our warehouse. We hope this gesture will be accepted as a token of good will. We want all of our customers to be happy with their purchases.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/30/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: I purchased an American Quality Furniture TV Stand for nearly $2,000. and it severly bowed in the middle within a month. Terrible design.

American Quality Furniture 70 in. Artisan Flat Screen Tv Cabinet. Purchase date was 5-2-2012 although it wasn't delivered until 2 weeks later.
The cabinet began showing signs of bowing almost immediately.By July, it was so bad the doors in the cabinet were difficult to open. My first complaint to Stands and Mounts (http://www.standsandmounts.com) was the beginning of July. Working with customer service rep , the manufacturer sent me a support leg to attach which has not resolved the issue.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title:
Contact Phone:
Contact Email:
This customer's concerns were confirmed and her stand was determined to be defective. She was refunded in full.

Consumer's Final Response
Thank you. The matter has been very quickly resolved with your involvement. I am 57 years old and have never felt compelled to file a complaint like this. After numerous conversations with the company with no satisfactory resolution I filed the complaint. The matter was resolved within days. Thank you again.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture Retailers, Online Shopping Sites

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/02/2004Business started: 03/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2003, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Caroline Moretto (President)Customer Contact: Mr. David Moretto (Vice President)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Furniture Retailers, Online Shopping Sites

Products & Services

StandsandMounts.com sells video and audio furniture and accessories.

Alternate Business Names
Caro-line Holding Company, Inc.
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 145 

    Fuquay Varina, NC 27526-0145(800) 807-1477
    (919) 552-8102

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*StandsandMounts.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 552-8102
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture Retailers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.