BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Etix

Phone: (919) 653-0444Fax: (919) 653-0580

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service19
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints25

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (25)
02/01/2016Problems with Product / Service
08/03/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged for two tickets to a concert, when I only bought one. I contacted them to refund the extra ticket, and they refused.
I purchased my ticket on their mobile website on 7/22/16, but only for one ticket. When I got to the event on 7/22/16, the will call person handed me two. I denied that I had bought two, she said to contact the seller. I contacted them the next morning on 7/23/16, through their email contact and was denied a refund of the over-charge, saying that tickets are non-refundable. The order number for the tickets was XXXXXXXX. The concert was for "****** ******* in the ************ at the ********* in ******************.

Desired Settlement
I would like the additional $36.90 I was charged to be refunded. I don't expect the ticket I used to be refunded.

Business Response
Etix is a contracted ticketing company that must abide by the rules and regulations set forth by the venue or the promoter of the event. It is the expressed policy of our client that all sales are final. When purchasing the tickets the customer is asked to confirm the terms and agreements set forth by the venue and or the promoter. The patron purchased these tickets online and was asked explicitly if she understood the terms and conditions. By checking the box she agreed to the no refunds policy. The customer is requesting a refund after the performance has taken place and as a contracted ticketing company we spoke with the promoter in reference to this request, and she was denied a refund. We apologize for the inconvenience, but we followed protocol as it pertains to the terms and conditions stated on the Etix website.

07/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
etix failed to provide purchased tickets prior to event.
After purchase, tickets never arrived. I had specifically selected "home delivery" as the method of delivery. I contacted etix via email several days before the event to inquire where the tickets were and was told to contact them the day prior to the event if the tickets had not arrived. I did so and was told by etix employee that the tickets had not gone out in time and that several complaints had already come in. The employee told me I could get a refund.
The tickets never arrived. I contacted customer support for a refund. They denied it. The tickets were a gift for a friend and could not be picked up at will call unless I was there with the credit card that paid for them. This was not possible, which is why I selected "home delivery" form the beginning.
During the whole process I was diligent in contacting them, respectful and followed their directions exactly. In turn they were dishonest, intentionally misleading and ultimately stole my money.

Desired Settlement
Simply to refund my money. They were unable or unwilling to provide the service I paid money for. The failure of this intended gift was an emotional disaster for myself and my friend, and additional money and time were wasted in this special event falling through.

Business Response
Etix is a contracted ticketing company that must abide by the rules and regulations set forth by the venue or the promoter of the event. It is the expressed policy of our client that all sales are final. When purchasing the tickets the customer is asked to confirm the terms and agreements set forth by the venue and or the promoter. Your tickets were shipped via USPS and as such we can not control if they happen to lose them in the mail. You called in the day before the show and we could have changed the delivery method to Print at Home but you insisted on a refund, which was denied by the venue. As a contracted ticketing company, we have to request approval for all refunds, we cannot automatically issue them.It is stated on the site before a purchase can be completed, "This purchase is non-refundable and non-exchangeable." As a contracted ticket company we have to abide by the rules and policies set in place by all venues and therefore are unable to refund your tickets.

06/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Made online purchase within 15 minutes realized i purchased ticlets at the wrong venue. Asked for a refund immediaty. They refused.
Purchased tickets to ******* concert for june 25th, but chose the wrong venue. Within 15 minutes i contacted etix and requested a refund. Eight minutes later etix responded that they asked the venue and the venue declined my request. They wont refund my money. They said the venue refuses. I contacted the venue this morning and they said that ******* concert has been sold out for weeks and that i purchased tickets through a third party ticket sales agency and i would have to get my refund through them, etix. I contacted etix again and confronted them about lying regarding the venue declining my refund. The are still stating it was the venue that denied my refund even though the vemue says they have no affiliation with third party ticket agents.

Desired Settlement
Refund. I dont want to be involved any further with this company.i can forward email interaction if you would like to see the timeline.

Business Response
Etix is a contracted ticketing company that must abide by the rules and regulations set forth by the venue or the promoter of the event. It is the expressed policy of our client that all sales are final. When purchasing the tickets the customer is asked to confirm the terms and agreements set forth by the venue and or the promoter. The patron purchased these tickets online and was asked explicitly if she understood the terms and conditions, by checking the box she agreed to the no refunds policy. The customer purchased tickets for a show in **********, ***** Island and then called the original venue she meant to purchase tickets for and they gave her the incorrect information about Etix being a third party website and told her that the show at their venue was sold out. The venue has a capacity of over 1000 and there were only about 500 tickets sold. We as a contracted ticketing company spoke with the promoter in reference to this request, and he was denied a refund. We apologize for the inconvenience, but we followed protocol as it pertains to the terms and conditions stated on the Etix website.

11/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In July, 2015, I purchased 2 tickets to a show on October 23, 2015 in Richmond, VA. I went to the theater on that evening; the show had been canceled.
In mid July, 2015, I purchased 2 tickets to a show scheduled for October 23, 2015 ($92). On October 23, I went to the theater and parked in the adjoining parking lot ($7). The theater doors were locked. The security person said no performance was scheduled for that evening. Etix had my address, email address and credit card information, but it did not contact me about the show being canceled. This ruined my plans for my wife's birthday and cost me the expense of going to the theater, parking and the tickets. I asked for reimbursement of the ticket costs and parking; they say they will post a credit to my credit card for the tickets, but will not reimburse me for the parking, which was cause entirely by their negligence.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the cost of tickets ($94) and parking ($7), for a total of $101.

Business Response
On 10/15/15 at 10:50 am EST, this patron was notified via email of the postponement of his event. The email was sent to the email provided on his order at the time of purchase. The email indicated the patrons could either receive a full refund or exchange their tickets for the new date scheduled in February. This patron has been refunded $95.50; the total cost of tickets including fee. The parking that this patron purchased was not made through Etix. The patron parked in the public lot owned by the city. Because we did not receive any money for parking, we are unable to offer a refund.

Consumer Response
I appreciate your rapid handling of my concern.



By email sent to me today at 10:15 am, Etix informed me that it is refunding $95.50, which is the price of 2 tickets at $37, the $9 fee for each ticket and a $3.50 handling fee. Notwithstanding my initial complaint, that $95.50 is what I paid according to my credit card statement. I appreciate Etix properly acknowledging the amount I paid to it, even though I misstated it in my complaint.



Unfortunately though, Etix's claim in its explanation to you is not true. It did not notify me by email of the performance's "postponement" on October 15, 2015, or at any other time. I have looked at all emails received, including emails deleted, on and around October 15, and none was received from Etix or anyone else informing me of the postponement. I would not have gone downtown and parked in the lot had I known the performance was not happening.



Etix was negligent by not informing me that the performance was not going to happen, that it's negligence was the direct and sole reason why I had to pay to park and that it owes me the $95.50 plus the $7 for parking.



$7 is a small amount, but honesty and integrity requires full payment of the amount of direct and quantifiable expenses incurred, so I respectfully insist on the additional reimbursement of $7 in order to consider this matter properly concluded.



Thank you very much for your attention.

Final Business Response
All patrons were notified via email of the postponement. No other patrons on the guest list have expressed any issued with not receiving their email. Etix cannot be held responsible for emails that have not been received. Again, we are happy to refund the cost of tickets, purchased through Etix, but are unable to refund money that was not paid directly to us. We apologize for the inconvenience.

10/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased tickets months in advanced, they oversold the show and I wasn't even able to get into the main room where the show took place.
Purchased tickets for $66.68 on June 30th for a show on October 20th. The company oversold the show and produced a serious fire hazard in the venue where you were unable to move. I was stuck on the bar side and couldn't even get into the main venue area to even see the stage. This is poor business practice and I believe to be a legitimate claim for a refund. The business however replied telling me they do not issue refunds. I don't understand how I can have confidence in purchasing tickets months in advance, only to not be able to enjoy or see the show because they sold over the capacity of the venue itself.

Desired Settlement
I wish to be refunded the amount paid for the tickets and service fees the company charged me.

Business Response
Etix is a contracted ticketing company that must abide by the rules and regulations set forth by the venue or the promoter of the event. It is the expressed policy of our client that all sales are final. When purchasing the tickets the customer is asked to confirm the terms and agreements set forth by the venue and or the promoter. The patron purchased these tickets online and was asked explicitly if he understood the terms and conditions. By checking the box he agreed to the no refunds policy. The venue has a capacity of 900 and there were only 781 tickets sold. The customer is requesting a refund after the performance has taken place. We as a contracted ticketing company spoke with the promoter in reference to this request, and he was denied a refund. We apologize for the inconvenience, but we followed protocol as it pertains to the terms and conditions stated on the Etix website.

Consumer Response
The venue may hold a capacity of 900, however that is including its bar area which is only connected by a hallway. Their main stage and viewing area has maybe a capacity of 500. I will never buy from Etix or attend ************************* and will advise everyone to stay away from this poor excuse of a business. Of course I contacted for a refund after the event took place because that is how I found out you were unable to even view the stage. I am completely angered by these two businesses for their lack of understanding and how they treat buyers. Again, I will highly encourage all to stay away from these two.

Final Business Response
Unfortunately we are bound by our client's request. Per our terms of service agreed to at the time of purchase all sales are final.

Page 1 of 5
08/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a ticket/merchandise package not all items received or given instructions on how to receive
I purchased a deluxe ticket package for a concert ( ***********) on Aug 26th through etix. the ticket merchandise package was $200 per ticket and is supposed to include 1. the ticket into the concert 2. entrance into the state fair 3. a concert merchandise package to include a t shirt a cd and a laminate. I purchased a total of 4 tickets for $800 plus shipping. I received the tickets into the concert but nothing else and no instructions on how to obtain the other items. I have written etix customer support twice now and have received no response . Had i known that etix was not going to follow through with the promise of the package items i would have just purchased regular tickets ( valued at about 80$ per ticket at time of purchase)I specifically ordered the deluxe package tickets for the extra items. I would like to be contacted on how to receive the addition items that I have paid for
Tickets purchased thru etix on March 7th total payment with my **** check card for $803.50 confirmation number XXXXXXXX
Thank you for your time,
****** ********

Desired Settlement
I would like to be contacted on how to receive the rest of the items I have paid for . If they cannot provide the items or provide instructions on how to obtain the items I would like to be refunded for the items owed to me.

07/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I Purchased Multiple shows on the Etix.com website. they did not Provide Delivery as stated upon.
I made Multiple purchases on the Etix.com website. they offered an accepted orders for tickets based on U.S.mail delivery to me .some tickets were delivered and were not.the tickets they did send me are not valid.they basically sent me fraudulent tickets I was informed via email all ticket bar codes are void and I must pick up at each venue. I did not buy these for me personally to use and they are not allowing my designated person to pick up. A request for a refund based on non deliverable goods was denied by Etix.com. at this point i am requesting a refund as travel plans have been cancelled and they can not be trusted.

Desired Settlement
at this time i am seeking a refund.

07/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told by a ticket agent that I could call in for tickets. I called it the day they went on sale I was told that this was on "on-line sale only".
I was told by a ticket agent that I could call in for tickets on May 1st. When I called it the day they went on sale, I was told that this was on "on line sale only" by another agent. I was then told that the pre-sale was sold out. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was transferred to someone's voice mail (I couldn't understand the person's name). I left a message with my contact information but never heard back. I then emailed *** ********* on 5-12-14, he said he would look into it and again emailed on 5-19-14 but never heard back from him.

Desired Settlement
An explanation why no one has called me back, assurance that their ticket agents don't scalp tickets, and how they keep ticket "brokers" from buying more than 4 tickets at a time (the limit for this show).

Industry Comparison| Chart

Event Ticket Sellers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.