BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC

Find a Location

(919) 977-2001View Additional Phone Numbers4412 Hillsborough Rd, DurhamNC 27705-2340 Send email to Duke Energy Carolinas, LLChttp://www.dukepower.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is in the process of responding to complaint(s) previously closed with no response.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

87 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues50
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service32
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 87

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (87)
09/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Duke Energy has left a large power cable across my yard and driveway.
Someone from Duke Energy came to my house on Aug 30th and told me that they were going to run a cable across my yard and driveway in order to provide power for the adjacent house, which has an outage. I did not expect the cable to still be there. There was no note or other information about how long it would be there. I called customer service and was told that it could be weeks before they make the repair and remove the cable. This is unacceptable - the cable is unsightly and interferes with lawn care and use of my driveway.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the cable to be removed (or at least moved to the street) ASAP

Duke came today and removed the power cable, so you can close this as resolved.

06/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We attempted to disconnect our service on 21May2015 along with our rental via phone. The automated system said it would be done...it was not.
We attempted to disconnect our service on 21May2015 along with our rental via phone. The automated system said it would be done...it was not. We found this information out when we received an email stating we would be charged for the full month...and would continue to be charge until they could get out to read a meter on Monday. They are attempting to charge us for half of a month of power. This is a complete abuse of a military family. This should be amended to charge us for the days used and abide by the original shut off date. It is not our fault the automated system failed.

Desired Settlement
Amend our bill and charge us for what we used...not what your system is trying to charge. We haven't even been in the state since the 21st of May.

Business Response
We contacted the customer and addressed his concerns and the customer is now satisfied. Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Consumer Response
The company called and remedied the issue. All is well.

Final Consumer Response

03/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
2/19/15 $286.39 was deducted twice from my bank account. $572.78($286.39 x 2)was ALSO pending for 2/20/15. I discovered it at 2 pm when getting money from ***** ATM ,said no funds! Called Bank, said 2 duke progress deductions caused $1 balance. (I had just gotten paid Fri 2/18/15 from 2 jobs that I work)..***** said I had to wait til Monday to come into bank to straighten it out.. called Duke Progress CSR said she couldn't do anything, go to my bank...called DP Monday 2/22/15 7am, CSR said she couldn't do anything about bill , to call bank, so I requested a paper mailed bill from now on.. She said ok. Went to bank 2/22/15 they stopped payment on 3 E-BILL deductions. One bill of $286.39 bill was paid. 3/2/15 received 2 notices of returned fee charge of $4.84..Called DP said to call billing during regular hours, said she couldn't put paper bill in mail because E-bill pay was still active, asked her to close it , said she didn't know how. I called DP 3/6/15 to close e-bill account, said she could not ,I had to do it, I told her I didn't know how it would not let me and also wouldn't let me pay either. She said to call back Monday 3/9/15 and talk to online support.. Received in the mail today from DP stating..."Your bank has refused to honor your electric draft for $286.39 Draft authorization failure...At this time we will no longer accept checks or automated draft payments on your account.. apparently there was a glitch in DP system to charge me the bill 4 times.. If you look at my account on "Payment History" you will see I was charged 4 times $286.39 with 1 being paid.. I should only owe now $266.71 for Feb bill...
Product_Or_Service: electric service
Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement
I DONT KNOW! Can ya'll please fix this MESS!! start sending me a paper bill.. E-bill was convenient but not worth THIS. :(

duke progress called me and said they fixed the problem

02/10/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Disconnected service in error. Want us to pay another deposit
My husband received a letter from Progress Energy advising that we needed to pay another deposit otherwise we would lose our service. My husband called Progress Energy and was advised that someone else was looking to start service in our apartment. Our apt # is ****, and this person was moving into ****. He spoke with a supervisor, and was advised that it was an error on the part of Progress Energy, however, it is still our responsibility to provide another deposit of $198.00 or lose our service.

Please Help.
Thank You

Desired Settlement
I would like for the account to be credited as if another deposit was made, and to not lose our service

Business Response
Contact was made with the customer and explanation and resolution was provided. The customer was satisfied with the outcome of the conversation.

Consumer Response
My husband and I are very satisfied with the outcome with Duke Progress.

Thank you

Final Consumer Response

12/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service turned off with absolutely NO WARNING, and now I am getting charged a reconnection fee.
I just purchased a house... service was turned on November 11, 2014. On December 2, 2014, service was completely turned off with no warning, phone call, email, or statement/letter in the mail. I called and spoke to a representative and a supervisor, who BOTH told me that Duke Energy does NOT bill for deposits, and if they do not receive the deposit, they turn off service with NO warning. They both said I was told this at SIGN UP, which I do not recall.... but again, with buying a new house comes a lot of new company bills and setups, that it is easy to forget it you owe money. So someone came to the house today, WITH NO WARNING, and turned off service. My husband is stuck home (car in the garage) with 4 dogs, with weather in the 40s. Not only did they turn the power off with no warning, but they are charging me a reconnection fee. If they had only called, emailed, or sent me a statement in the mail, I would have paid it... no one would have disconnected the power, and I wouldn't be charged any additional fees. They also cannot give me any kind of a time window for when the power will be turned back on.

This is my FIRST experience with Duke Energy. They should bill for deposits just like they would bill for a monthly statement. My bill hasn't even cycled 30 days yet. This is a HORRIBLE system. The supervisor refused to waive the reconnection fee, since they have to send someone to turn the power back on. It's not like I can go to another power company because they are the only ones that service my area... so basically, if I want power, I have to do and pay whatever they tell me I have to.

Let me be VERY clear... I have been with ***************** and ************* for almost 4 years, and I have NEVER had issues with those companies. If I could, I would drop Duke Energy right now. Horrible service. Horrible customer service.

Desired Settlement
I want the $25 reconnection fee waived. I want Duke Energy to put something in place to send customers warnings about ANY disconnection, regardless of it is from a nonpayment from a deposit or a bill. There should ALWAYS be a warning!!!!!!

Business Response
Spoke to Consumer - have waived reconnection charge and power should be restored within next hour. Advised customer there is a process change in the system to notify customer by text or call when deposit not paid - fix should go in first quarter of 2015 - customer satisfied.

Consumer Response
****** from Duke Energy contacted me shortly after I submitted my complaint on BBB. She said she totally agreed with me, and that she has been trying her hardest to change this process. She hopes this change will take place the beginning of next year. I feel like someone actually heard my concerns. She also waived the reconnection fee and personally called someone to come reconnect my power. She went above and beyond what I was expecting. I honestly wasn't sure if I would get feedback from posting a complaint on here, and I have very happily been proven otherwise. Thank you ****** for hearing me!

Page 1 of 3
07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This monopoly seems to think its fair to treat customers unfairly they have denied me automatic draft payments refused my checks.
I feel taken advantage of by my electric service first of all I've been with ******** energy since 06 or 07 and I closed my bank account in 2013 before then I hadn't even look at a bill I didn't recall my ******** energy account attached to that bank so I err but they viewed it as grounds to disregard all the on time payments over 6 or 7yrs and made me pay another deposit stopped my automatic draft payments and told me that I could only pay at payment stations the customer service reps we're rude and unsympathetic to a simple mistake like (where are you gonna go take it or leave it) Then when I tried to send in checks the took them for a couple of months and decided to deny those, too if they had competitors I would have went somewhere else. In march the sent me a letter saying that they do not accept checks for my account so I proceeded to get a money order for the check that I had written for 402.70 but when I checked my statement the check had been cashed and cleared. so I contacted customer service again explained what happened and they asked me to send in a copy of the check I send in a copy of the check from my statement and the research dept claims the can't read the numbers on the check then they asked to see a copy of my statement where the check cleared on my account I send that in and they say that they can't tell who the check went to which they have the copy of the check now they want me to contact my bank to have the bank verify the check which is not that difficult but seems to be a bit much to prove that they took 402.70 from me and this could have been remedied if they would have valued their customers and recognized human error which they made and which cost me 402.70 but when I err they made it harder to pay a basic necessity and made me pay another deposit where are the checks and balances they make mistakes and the consumer has to bare the burden we make mistakes and the penalize us even take you money and tell you to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that they stole it as if they don't do accounting if I had not paid they would have surely just turned off my lights but vice versa I can only do what i'm told to prove that I made that payment at the same time they can protect themselves with penalties what can we the consumer do sit in the dark until we give them the info that suits them not fair and something needs to be done about these monopolies Now they have dropped my equal pay so I have to pay $853 more dollars or they are disconnecting my service with 400 plus 200 deposit that's almost 1500 what working people have that type of money to be throwing around until things get sorted out.

Desired Settlement
I want them to adjust my account for the monies that they have already received(stolen) and reinstate my automatic draft basically rectify the situation and acknowledge their fault

Business Response
Had investigated and attempted to contact Mr. ****** on June 18 he did not call me back. Mr. ****** check was returned to him for $402.70. He acknowledged that he had received the check back. His bank statement showed that after the check was in his possession, it was cashed. Could not have been cashed by Duke Energy Progress. The consumer must have discovered what happened because he paid in full on June 26, 2014 , and we consider the matter closed.

Consumer Response
Totally untrue and proves my point by the response. I did receive a call from duke energy and returned the call with no answer, left a message and no one returned my phone call. To answer why I paid my bill was because there is no other company to get power from and they threatened to turn my power off I find the response from duke energy very disturbing because it situates that I lied I never received a check back only a letter and it was clear to them through statements that they cashed my check that was written to duke energy why would I cash the check. That is a very ignorant response. I wonder if they will a least have the decency to apologize for the they way that they deal with their customers if got that same care less attitude from most of their representatives.which is sad if they had competition they probably would be a little more respectful.

04/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trying to charge me 150.00 deposit stating I have been late on payments. Want to transfer lights from deceased Dads house to me.
I called and let them know my Dad had passed a way a little while ago and what I would have to do. I have been making his light payment. Everything is cut off except 2 lights at his home(60 watt). After they told me what I would have to pay I couldn't at the moment. They contacted his number which is my cell now so I can keep up with things(executor also). Called them back today to find out whay they called and stated to me I needed to change name on account. I asked how much I was looking at 17.00 transfer fee. I have no credit our lights are in husbands name *****. I said lets put it in his name since these are at our house. She ran it and said it may show up as I would have to make downpayment 150.00. I didn't see any reason why it would do that, never late. I have gotten extentions BEFORE due date and paid BEFORE due date. I was told I was wrong. If I got an extention on 127.00, for example, even though I paid it by the due date, that I didn't pay it before the next bill came out. Well, that wasn't due before the 3rd of the next month. Why would I have to pay both if both were not due. ******* at Duke Energy told me that I had to pay the full amount. But I did pay what I was suppose to pay before the due dates. I was not late. It does state that if you get an extention you will still get charged a late fee but an extention is not considered late if you pay before date they grant you. Of course I asked why would ***** have to pay this and this is what I was told. I have always paid my bill on time even with the extention. I did get help with my **** bill from *** but only after I paid the 157.00(?) first. They sent out checks to Duke Energy and they were contacted by ** supervisor wanting to know where the check was that was to go on my account. They were holding it. Just so happened I called to check on this and found this out and they did post it to our account on that day, which it was due. I'm glad I called and got ** to call also, or it would have been late, got letter stating they were going to cut off my lights, when they got pledge from ** a month before. I have the dates and paperwork on this. We have been with them since 2004 and we have always had good standing with them. I have not been late on payments. Something is wrong on there end and I do not feel I should have to pay 150.00 deposit, we have already made one at our home in 2004. This is not a new account. ******* also told me after I ask her why I didn't get a letter telling me they were going to cut lights off 3/3/2014(found this out when I spoke to her). She said they sent out a letter. I let her know I got his mail coming to my house now even his light bill, and he has not gotten a letter of any kind like that but I have gotten his light bills and paid them. Its odd how I didn't get that letter but I get all the rest. I do not feel they are treating us fairly, especially as good of customers that we have been. I also find it a little expensive over 20.00 for 1-2 60 watt bulbs burning in a house. And that is not all month, they burn out and I have to replace. There is nothing else on, cut off at circuit, and water cut off.

Desired Settlement
I want this so called late off of our record(***** ********). I should not have to pay 150.00 deposit on lights at my Dads home.

Business Response 03/0*) */
Ms. ******** will need to make an Application for Service to determine if a deposit is required to establish new service with Duke Energy Progress. Each account holder's credit history is specific to the customer. A part of the application does involve a credit check to positively identify the customer and determine credit worthiness. If a deposit is required, the customer can pay it in cash or get a co-signer, a current DEP customer with a minimum of one year of service not exceeding two late payments.

In addition, she has indicated that the account at *** ******** ****** **** ************ NC is in the name of her deceased father. This service will need to be transferred from the deceased account holder's name as soon as possible. A letter will be mailed to that address advising the resident to apply for service or termination in the current name will follow.


Consumer Response 03/15) */
The address I was speaking of transferring lights over was at * ****** ****** *********** NC. The lights were in ****** ***** name account number XXXXXXXXXX. He has passed away and needed to take lights out of his name and transfer them to either my name ***** or Husband *****. They asked us to make a deposit 150.00 in order to do this. I didn't feel this was right because we have lived at our residence for 10 years and always paid our bill, good standing.(after I asked) ****** stated they sent a letter out to ******* address stating they were going to cut lights off that day on March 3rd. Like I told ******* no letter was ever gotten. I had ******* mail forwarded to my address because I am his executor and daughter. And it was not mailed out. Come to find out they were due to cut off that day, day I spoke with ****** on the phone, I had no idea. I asked her should I have not gotten a letter and she told me it was mailed out. I got my mail today at my home, addressed to ***** and our address *** ******* ****** ***** a letter from Duke Energy Revenue Specialist stating our home on *** ******* account XXX-XXX-XXXX, their records indicate the account located at *** ******* ****** is currently in name of ***** we regretfully can no longer continue to provide service to that address under his name. The current resident or responsible party must contact our customer service center no later than March 27,201* to establish a new account to avoid disconnection. This update will insure that the account will accurately reflect the name of the proper account holder. What is going on here. Why are we having to do this at our residence on ******* ******* ***** has nt passed away. The lights were on in ****** ***** name on * ************* and wanted to get them transferred over because ****** has passed away. This is my dad. And his lights have been shut off. Why are our lights going to be cut off? What does this have to do with our lights, account number XXX-XXX-XXXX)? We are in good standing at our home. This letter they mailed to ***** is dated March 11, 201*, just recieved today Saturday March 15, 201*.There must be some confusion somewhere. I can be contacted by phone XXX-XXX-XXXX or cell XXX-XXX-XXXX. Have my home number already. Trying to figure out if this is a mistake or retaliation for my letter sent to BBB. Odd get this letter after letter to BBB to complain when ******* was no help to me on the phone. ***** is alive, ****** is the one whom passed at * ****** ****** *********** NC. NOT *** ******* ****** **** ***********

08/09/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charging us after we requested to stop service. Customer service won't help us.
My husband and I called to stop our service at our apartment a week in advance of moving out. Our lease ended on May 18th. I called Duke and I REMEMBER CALLING THEM to disconnect our service on May 18th. We also set up our new service at our house the same week. On July 19th we discovered they charged us for both places and never stopped our service at our apartment. We have now been charged $122 for power service we have never used. I spoke to Customer Service and the representative implied I was lying by saying we set up our account at our new address online so that somehow proved to her that we never called. I asked to speak to her supervisor and he showed no compassion to help us. He told us our only option was to call our apartment complex and ask them to assume responsibility of the bill from the time we moved out. I asked several questions about the nature of this and he ensured me it was in my hands to get them to take on the bill otherwise I would have to pay the bill myself. It's totally unacceptable for a company to treat their customers who always pay on time and have been good customers for years. Just because you're a monopoly, doesn't mean you have to treat customers like so. I can't afford to pay someone else's bill and I won't. I am going to do what I have to do to ensure I'm not paying this bill. I do not lie to companies ever, I always play by the rules and for them to treat me as if it's my fault and not once explore the avenue they made the error and not even attempt to help me is outrageous and unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
I want to bill of $122 removed from our account. We have not used this service, Duke knew we wanted to stop service, and is holding us accountable for their error.

Business Response
Reviewed phone call from 7-18-16 and male caller unable to verify authorized name listed on the account. Spoke with the customer of record who gave permission to speak with the caller. Male caller stated that he thought a request was made to disconnect the service. The request for new service connection was made via the web. The customer didn't speak with a representative to complete the work request. The account closed 7-6-16 because a new tenant applied for service at the location. The charges are valid

05/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On April 07, 2016 a a dry rotted duke energy pole fell in my yard and ripped the meter box from my house and the Ground wire, phone and computer lines
They gave me the number to their claim department and told me to call right away. I had to pay $731.00 that same day out of pocket to get an electrician to hook the meter box back up. This caused my home to have an indoor fireworks display destroying my personal property. The company they assigned our claim to still has yet to pay for our items or reimburse our cost even after submitting all the proff. They instructed us to take each item to a repair specialist and they will reimburse the fees. This is getting really expensive and time consuming for something I had know control over. All of this could have been avoided if they just replaced this pole over a year ago when we reported that is was leaning. This almost kilkilled me and my kids we were doing electricity shooting at us. Now all I want is the money that I had to pay and my things replaced. The claim company they have are rude and unprofessional they told us to go buy it and also said they did not care which in talking to them that is the feeling you get and they used profanity. The company is Called ******** and the claim rep is **************. This is the company Duke has chosen to represent them. They are treating me lime I did something wrong. Please replace my stuff that was destroyed by your negligence.

Desired Settlement
I would like my things replaced immediately including this electrician bill, estimates I had to cover out of pocket.

Business Response
We have contacted the customer and confirmed that the issue has been resolved.

04/11/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Duke Energy charged a deposit and then keeps deposit if 2 payments were late in a 12 period. Now, Duke wants additional deposit when we moved.
We moved to Raleigh, NC from NYS March of 2015. When we contacted Duke Energy (acct #XXXXXXXXXX) to add new service, we were informed we would be charged a deposit of $150 and told at that time the money would be refunded after 12 months. In December of 2015, my wife, ****** called Duke Energy to have service moved to **** ******** ******* ****** Raleigh (acct#XXXXXXXXXX) because we purchased a home and would be moving on December 30, 2015. When we received the first bill, since moving, in Jan. 2016, another deposit fee of $188 was assessed. My wife called Duke Energy asking why; she was told because we moved Duke looks at past bills at the new address and determined usage was running higher than the last address, hence, the increase in deposit. My wife made comments on Twitter in dissatisfaction with DE and was told to contact them so they could look into this matter. My wife tried writing Duke Energy, several times, since January (through their website) with no reply. Yesterday, March 8, my wife replied to a "tweet" from Duke Energy and followed direction from them in how to send a direct message to them in Twitter. In doing so, my wife explained how we felt it unnecessary to charge an additional fee of $188 on top of the deposit fee of $150 we paid last year; that we have good credit and this additional deposit fee was unnecessary and unjustified.
9DE's policy (dukeenergy.com) states "All residential customer must establish credit prior to the connection of electrical service. Customers with existing Duke Energy services who have no more than two late payments in the last 12 months and no previously charged off accounts are not required to pay a security deposit. For new customers, Duke Energy runs a credit check at time of application to determine whether a security deposit will be required. Customers can satisfy the residential security deposit by Monetary Deposit or Guarantor (Co-Signer).")
Duke Energy reply stated, deposits are based on 2x the average monthly bill per location which is approximately $169 and the reason our deposit is now $388.
A couple things here, when original service was requested, my credit check should have more than passed with a "no deposit required" status, however, it did not, per DE.
We have also since learned, IF payments were made on time during the 12 months, DE would refund our money plus 8% interest, however, if payments were late at least two times in the 12 month period, DE keeps our monetary deposit. I'm sorry, but how is that legal?? We are not in collection, have been in collection, delinquent or had power shut off, yet they can keep our original deposit and then charge an additional deposit of $188 since moving?? This company has now stated to my wife through Twitter, our accounts are showing FOUR late payments at the old address and TWO at the current. That is not at all true, moreover, they can collect $388 from us as a "deposit" which will ultimately be NONREFUNDABLE?? Furthermore, even if it is true, we paid our bill... and they want $188 more. Again, how is this legal?
Just to add more to our complaint...
-Our service will be turned off if deposit is not paid.
-Our statements show they will charge a "1% month late payment charge" if payment is late (on top of demanding a deposit?).
-They automatically enroll you in paperless billing (if paying online) without your knowledge.
We are honest, hardworking people who make every effort to pay our bills on time and retain good credit and we HAVE good credit! NEVER has a company we've ever dealt with bullied or scammed us out of our money this way.
We have never been required to pay a deposit since we were young and without credit.
We do business with many companies but none of them have treated us the way Duke Energy has...unethical, unreasonable, unfriendly, deceptive and frankly, only interested in lining their own pockets by thievery.
They are the worst.

Desired Settlement
We would like Duke Energy to remove the current deposit fee of $188 from our account.

Business Response
We reached out to the customer and tried to explain our deposit policy and how it is refunded after one year of good service. However, the customer stated no explanation of why a deposit was needed would satisfy him and he disconnected the call.

03/21/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to immediately refund payments that should have never been made due to poor billing reporting
Duke Energy Progress is refusing to immediately refund payments made as a result of their poor billing and accounts management. They are claiming a 30 day holding period for any refunds, when payments were made after the account termination date. The account was showing active for 2 weeks afterwards (February 19th was the termination date), well after it was terminated. I also received billing correspondance well after the 19th, both postmarked and dated after Feb. 19 to this affect. The account did not show as inactive until March 3rd after 11PM.

Desired Settlement
Immediate refund of payments that never should have been made, as well as payment service charges that never should have been paid due to the fact that the payments never should have been made in the first place.

Business Response
The customer was advised that his refund check was released on 3/9/16. He will contact us if the check is not received within a reasonable amount of time.

02/23/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a complaint against Duke Energy Progress Located in Raleigh, Nc 27601- 411 Fayetteville St

I mailed a check for $16.00 to Duke Energy Progress in order to pay my electric bill. Duke Energy Progress processed the check as $160.00 instead of $16.00. They have taken out $144.00 more from my checking account that they were not authorized to do so. I have called two days in a row to try to resolve this issue. At first I was told there is no way possible that they can pull a copy of my check from their records and simply correct the error. I told them that was not acceptable and they need to return my money to my account. By the end of they day, I checked my checking account and no change had been made. I made a second call. When I called today, the notes on my account were read to me, which acknowledged the company's error. The representative told me she could contact another member of their organization and have them pull a scanned copy of the check. She attempted to contact that person while she placed me on hold. When she returned on the phone, she said that person was on vacation. Again, I told them that was not acceptable to me and I need my money returned to my account immediately. I was left a message later on implying that they didn't intend to do anything else at this time, which is why I am filing a complaint.

Desired Settlement
I would like Duke Energy to do their job and pull a copy of my check from their system and correct their error immediately so they can return the $144.00 back to my account.

Business Response
Spoke with consumer on 2-12-16 and advised that a check was issued 2-11-16 in the amount of $99.82. Consumer was satisfied with the resolution.

Page 1 of 14
04/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Reference **** Case: #XXXXXX-XXXXXX
Consumer / Duke Energy Account #: XXXXXXXXXX
Service Address: *** **** **** ****** Unit ****



I ****** ****** ******* have never entered into an agreement creating debt with Duke Energy, this includes no Installment loan(s) and no Revolving credit account(s), etc Nothing- E*V*E*R.

(Bullet #1) I was a customer/consumer of DUKE Energy from 01/2010 to 10/2011, with 20 (+) consecutive and successful utility payments made with the DUKE automated bill pay process - I was NEVER late, the 1 and only outstanding bill was a direct result of a relocation that required a 'Stop Service' request that resulted from a weak/broken DUKE Internal billing notification policy/process.

(Bullet #2) Whilst DUKE Energy has chosen to ignore their sole contribution to the cause of Customers/Consumers being unaware of 'final payments' due to 'Stop Service' requests; DUKE Energy further continues to place the blame and burden of proof on customers/consumers to be responsible for 'uncollectible' debt and in many cases have written these 'final payments' off as 'consumer debt' and classified the with the IRS as 'Charge-Offs' whilst (in my case) accepting 'Full Payment' and not deleting fraudulent and abusive Credit Bureau reporting due to the circumstances that are out of the control of customers/consumers and refuses to resolve billing/reporting errors.

(Bullet #3) DUKE 's lacks the ability to identify and control fraudulent and abusive billing practices, that clearly has high risk of recurrence. Specifically regarding, 'Stop Service' requests that are a direct trigger for disabling a pre-established Automated Billing Process that includes billing notifications that customers were aware of and dependent upon.

(Bullet #4) Granted, the FDCPA does not apply to original creditors, but the NC Debt Collection Act applies to any person engaged in debt collection from a consumer, and regardless of DUKE Energy not taking responsibility to protect customers/consumers, they have not billed me and a multitude of other previous customers/consumers properly and cannot provide a traceable delivery method, such as a courier or certified mail, to support their claim/response that a 'final bill' was provide; thus, placing the burden of proof on us, the consumers.

(Bullet #5) RECOMMENDATIONS: DUKE Energy should place an effort on reviewing the policies and standards that are causing 'uncollectible' debt and an increase in 'Charge-Off' claims to identify the end-to-end process requirements and weaknesses.

(Bullet #6) Social media, (bbb.org, boards, etc) provides evidence of 30 (+) similar Consumer Complaints that meet this exact criteria.

(Bullet #7) The Duke Energy entry on my credit report has absolutely zero to do with a 'consumer debt' from an agreement loan, etc. This is Duke Energy's was of shifting the burden to unsuspecting customers who were never provided proper billing notifications. Regardless of how many times Duke Energy states they did provide customers proper billing notifications, will not make the fact that they 'did not provide proper billing notification' any less true.

Desired Settlement
#1) Delete the Duke Energy entry from my Credit report from all Credit Bureaus immediately.
#2) For 3 Years, Duke Energy has reported a false and misleading report that is not a consumer credit debt, they have failed to provide debt validation and continue to 'Confirm' this account reported on my credit report is 'Confirmed' as accurate. I have requested (and not recieved) the basic North Carolina Statues: Section 1-104. Requirements for Debt Collection:
(1) Complete, authenticated documentation that the person attempting collection is the owner of the specific debt instrument or account at issue; and
(2) Reasonable verification of the debtor's liability and the amount of the debt allegedly owed by the debtor. For purposes of this subparagraph, reasonable verification shall include:
(i) documentation of the name of the original creditor;
(ii) the name, last address, date of birth and last four digits of the Social Security Number of the debtor as it appeared on the original creditor's records;
(iii) the debtor's last account number with the original creditor;
(iv) the date that the debt was incurred, and the date and amount of the last payment by the consumer toward the debt; in the case of credit, the date that the debt was incurred shall be the last extension made for the purchase of goods or services, for the lease of goods, or as a loan of money;
(v) a copy of the signed contract, signed application, or other documents that provide evidence of the consumer's liability and the terms thereof; and Model Family Financial Protection Act 14
(vi) an itemized accounting of the amount claimed to be owed, including the amount of the principal; the amount of any interest, fees or charges; and whether the charges were imposed by the original creditor, a debt collector, or a subsequent owner of the debt. If the debt arises from a credit card, the account shall include copies of the last twenty-four periodic statements required by the Truth in Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. ยง 1637(b), that evidence the transactions, purchases, fees and charges that comprise the debt.
Copies of actual business records.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

Additional Information

top

This firm is headquartered at 526 South Church Street in Charlotte, NC 28202.

BBB file opened: 07/01/1974Business started: 04/30/1904
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Carolina Utilities Commission
4326 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-4326
(919) 733-9277
http://www.ncuc.net

BBB records show a license number of E-7 for this company, issued by North Carolina Utilities Commission. Their web address is http://www.ncuc.net.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Heather Minter Mr. Ted Allen (Exec. Staff Asst.)Mr. Felix Delarosario Ms. Brenda Duke (Billing)Mr. Davis Montgomery (Customer Relations)
Number of Employees

250

Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

A part of top US power firm Duke Energy, the regulated utility provides electricity services to about 2.4 million customers in North and South Carolina. Operating in a 24,000-square mile service territory, Duke Energy Carolinas has 101,400 miles of distribution cable. Its transmission system spans 13,100 miles. The utility has a net generating capacity of about 19,200 MW from interests in fossil-fueled, nuclear, and hydroelectric power plants. Duke Energy Carolinas also sells power to wholesale customers.

Alternate Business Names
Carolina Power & Light, Progress Energy, Duke Power Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC

4412 Hillsborough Rd

Durham, NC 27705-2340

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 410 W Chapel Hill St 

    Durham, NC 27701-3617

  • 4412 Hillsborough Rd 

    Durham, NC 27705-2340(800) 777-9898
    (919) 382-3200

  • PO Box 1551 

    Raleigh, NC 27602-1551

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 382-3200 (Disconnected)
  • (800) 777-9898
  • (800) 755-3853
  • (800) 653-5307
  • (800) 726-6736
  • (800) 488-3853
  • (800) 653-5305
  • (800) 632-4949
  • (877) 385-3722
  • (919) 878-5300
  • (919) 546-7371
  • (919) 546-7296
  • (877) 641-6397
  • (919) 546-6189
  • (800) 524-9002
  • (919) 362-3261
  • (800) 419-6356
  • (800) 452-2777
  • (919) 508-5400
  • (910) 892-9400
  • (919) 783-5400
  • (919) 546-6111
  • (919) 269-2510

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (919) 968-2413
  • (919) 687-3219
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.duke-energy.com
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.