BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Next Best Thing

Find a Location

(252) 514-6857View Additional Phone Numbers2656 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd, New BernNC 28562-4238 Send email to Next Best Thinghttp://www.nextbestthingnc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Next Best Thing is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Next Best Thing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Next Best Thing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/31/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Next Best Thing in Jacksonville, NC took my $150 swing, sold it and did NOT provide my percentage (for the contracted 6 mos)& poor communication
I brought a swing to THE NEXT BEST THING in Jacksonville NC. The swing sold and I requested a check for my percentage of the sale. As contracted, I would be able to pickup check for up to 6 months. I went to pick up my check in FEB (at the Jacksonville location) and was told "we do not have your check, but we're under new management... I will have someone followup." I did NOT receive callback. I followed up a week later and was told "since the company is under new management perhaps you can get in touch with the old owners at the Havelock or New Bern location." So I called the Havelock number and left a message for the old (jacksonville) owner. Again, I left a message with an associate but I did not hear back. I called Havelock again (now March) and spoke with someone who said "I see a message here but the owner is out of town, I will try to reach her and call you back." I received a prompt callback from the associate stating "I was unable to reach the )old) owner but left a message and they will followup via email." I received an email response stating...

"I researched the consignor payout for the consignor. She did indeed have a check written for August 15,2013. There was no note on her account to mail the check, and since she lives locally she is required to come into the store to pick up the check by February 15, 2014. As stated in the consignor agreement that she signed, consignor checks that are issued are only valid for 6 months at which point they expire and the consignor loses their money. The new owner of the store may try to accommodate her, but the responsibility was placed on the consignor to pick up the check before it is expired. At this point there is nothing due to the consignor unless they brought in additional items that may have sold after that check date. Since the Havelock, New Bern and Jacksonville stores are all under new owners, if they choose to offer a discount it is under their discretion. There is nothing I can do for her at this point.
Sorry,
**********"

I am extremely displeased with the run-around. And unfortunately I still have items (for sale) at this consignment shop. The new owners won't take responsibility for the "PREVIOUS OWNERS" and the "OLD OWNERS" won't take responsibility for the (current) associates lack of knowledge in regards to the whereabouts of my check.

From my perspective, this company has poorly executed their change in management. I gave them property that I purchased for $150, and got nothing in return (except a headache). I expect to be compensated for the sale of MY ITEM. I expect a company to callback in a appropriate time frame, particularly if their 2 weeks of poor communication is their justification for no check. I feel they gave me the run around (wasting time for two weeks) so they could justify taking my percentage of the sale. It's shameful that a children's company would do this to a new mom.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of baby item OR check for percentage of sale as contracted

Business Response
Mrs. ****** requested a check on July 18,2013, for August 15, 2013 payout,when she came in and made a purchase. Her check was written and waiting for her at the store from August 15, 2013 until February 15,2014(6 months). She arrived in the Jacksonville store on February 26, 2014, and dropped a bin of items to consign.
The associate she talked to in the Jacksonville store on February 26, 2014, told her that her check had expired because it was past the 6 month window, but that she would see if she could find out anymore information. That associate did in fact try to contact the previous owner of the store, but the previous owner now lives in ****** and their response had not yet been received by the Jacksonville store. The current owner of the Jacksonville store on the 27th of February, had gone through the consigned items Mrs. ****** had left for consignment and contacted her to pick up anything she couldn't sell for her. At that time Mrs. ****** asked again about the check. The new owner advised her to contact the New Bern or Havelock store for more information because of the time frame the check was written in. She stated that she took over in December and did not write checks dated from August. The current owner of the Jacksonville store did not know the New Bern and Havelock store are now under new management.

On February 27, 2014, Mrs. ****** called the New Bern store,for the first time, and spoke with an associate about her check. The associate told her she would try to contact the old owner, because the New Bern and Havelock Store were also under new management. The New Bern store associate emailed the previous owner and this was their response.

from New Bern associate:
"On Feb. 27, 2014, a consignor from Jacksonville called stating that she didn't receive a check from her payout. Her name is *** ****** . Her payout was from Aug. 2013. Can you let me know what I need to do."

from Previous owner:
"I researched the consignor payout for the consignor. She did indeed have a check written for August 15,2013. There was no note on her account to mail the check, and since she lives locally she is required to come into the store to pick up the check by February 15, 2014. As stated in the consignor agreement that she signed, consignor checks that are issued are only valid for 6 months at which point they expire and the consignor loses their money. The new owner of the store may try to accommodate her, but the responsibility was placed on the consignor to pick up the check before it is expired. At this point there is nothing due to the consignor unless they brought in additional items that may have sold after that check date. Since the Havelock, New Bern and Jacksonville stores are all under new owners, if they choose to offer a discount it is under their discretion. There is nothing I can do for her at this point."

a copy of her consignor agreement was also sent as a reference in the email.

Mrs. ****** then sent an email to the New Bern Store email as listed below:

"I went to the Jacksonville location prior to feb 15 (and made purchases WITH receipt) at which point I was told my check was not available due to new ownership. At which point I kindly requested a follow up call from management. I called again several days later as a follow up to which I was told "sorry we cannot help as we do not have the check but perhaps the old owners would help. So, I was referred to the havelock and New Bern location. I've contacted jville, havelock and new bern in hopes of having this situation resolved. I have tried to be patient but at this point I will be calling BBB and additionally filing a complaint with small claims court. "

No phone call was ever made to the Havelock store, only to the New Bern Store. A second associate has spoke with her from the New Bern store in hopes of trying to resolve the situation. The Old owner is now living in ****** and the New Bern store has continued to address concerns with the consignor on behalf of the old owner.
The New Bern store has contacted the Jacksonville store and they have provided a record of when Mrs. ****** came into the store and when she inquired about her check. As stated above, the first time she came into inquire about her check was on Feb. 26, 2014, which was noted in her consignor account 11 days after her check expired. Mrs. ****** has had ample time to pick up her check and to make inquiries about her check from August 15, 2013- until February 15, 2014. At no point during that time did she do so. It is her responsibility to uphold her end of the agreement, and she did not do so. All consignors have the same agreement, and have the responsibility to pick up their check in a timely manner. Mrs. ****** failed to do so.
Mrs. ******'s check was the last check on old owner's books they were waiting to clear. On February 20, 2014, the old owners of the Jacksonville store closed out their books for the year. The company is no longer in business as of February 20, 2014.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Consignment Stores

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/2010Business started: 07/01/2010
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 2010, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Misti Anderson (President)Ms. Jeri Anderson (Secretary)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Consignment Stores

Products & Services

Next Best Thing offers resale of gently used children's clothing and toys and equipment.

Alternate Business Names
D Next Best Thing in New Bern, Inc., D Next Best Thing in Jacksonville, Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Next Best Thing

2656 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd

New Bern, NC 28562-4238

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 335 West Main St. 

    Havelock, NC 28532

  • 2656 Martin Luther King Jr Blvd 

    New Bern, NC 28562-4238(252) 514-6857
    (252) 444-1090

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Next Best Thing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (252) 444-1090
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Consignment Stores

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.