BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Intrex Computers

Find a Location

Phone: (919) 468-1903Fax: (919) 212-2125View Additional Phone Numbers1279 NW Maynard Rd, CaryNC 27513-8726http://www.intrex.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Intrex Computers is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Intrex Computers' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Terrible Accountability and Practices - SOLD MY LAPTOP AND HARD-DRIVE!
I brought a 13-month old, $1,700 *** laptop in to be repaired in June 2012. Shortly thereafter I was told it was going to need $600 in work, to which I chose to just forego that idea and brought in a new external hard-drive so that Intrex could transfer my pictures. I never heard from them again until August 4th, when *** from Intrex left me a voicemail to pick up my items and to call if I had any questions. I had been traveling and it was Sept 6th by the time I made it back to the store - to which I was told they had SOLD my items as they were deemed "abandoned." There is no signage in the store, only some fine print on some form he showed me. They sold my external hard-drive as well, which contained thousands of pictures that are priceless to me and my family! I now have NO pictures of my 3 kids from when they were babies b/c of this store's ridiculous policies that are practically invisible top the consumer. I was told that they called 3 times, and that's a lie! I never erase the voicemails on my cell phone and I have exactly ONE call on August 4th and never did *** say that they would be abandoning or selling my equipment! This is such an incredible outrage and the manager at the store was callous and matter of fact. These are precious pictures of my kids that I will NEVER be able to regain!

Business' Initial Response
Our policies are neither terrible nor unreasonable and we stand behind them. We have been doing this for over 23 years without compromising our high level of customer service. The date Mr. *** mentions he brought the PC in for repair is false. It was not June 2012, it was precisely April 7, 2012 and we have the documentation and Mr. ***'s signature to prove it. We also have all the documentation in our system to prove the following:
1) On that same day April 7, 2012 our technician diligently worked on Mr. ***'s laptop, discovered that the motherboard was bad and informed him - that same day - that it was going to need a motherboard replacement. Mr. *** wisely decided not to have us fix it because the motherboard was too expensive and it would be better to buy a new computer. He did however want his data recovered from the laptop. He said he will bring in an external drive.
2) Exactly six days later on April 13, 2012 Mr. *** dropped off his external drive. On that same day our technicians transferred the data from the laptop to the external drive. They called Mr. *** and told him it was ready.
3) We never heard back from Mr. *** despite calling him several times.
We do have an abandonment policy in place, which is clearly mentioned on the service order, right next to the signature of Mr. ***. Any system not picked up within 60 days after customer is notified that it is ready will be disposed of as seen fit. We take in many repairs each day into each of our stores. It could be 10 repairs or even up to 20 or 30 per day. While most people come and pick up their machines, some elect not to. Their computers may need an expensive part and they decide it is not worth even paying the bill owed to us for diagnosing it. Mr. *** owed us $200. We cannot accumulate dead computers and hold on to them in case the owners decide to come back 6 months later and claim them. We have no room. If we are lucky, we may be able to salvage a part and sell it on clearance to make up for the labor charges owed to us. But most of the time the hardware is sent away for recycling and we are on the losing side.
Mr. *** owed us $200 in labor and he did not come back to the store until the beginning of this week, September 2012, which would make it exactly 5 months, or 150 days, which is WAY over the 60 days we normally wait. In those 5 months, we did call several times. BUT, whether we called Mr. *** every day, once a week, or once a month, why did he never care to check on his order? Why is he claiming he brought it in in June when we have proof it was April? We even called on August 4th, which means we went way beyond the deadline to abandon the machine. We did NOT have to do that.
We are not a callous and insensitive company. Despite Mr. ***'s false claim, our technicians feel empathy for Mr. ***. They are currently trying to see if his data can be recovered from our server. When we have to work on disassembling a laptop and/or any work relating to data, we back up the drive to a server for extra safety. Chances are it has been overwritten by other data, but we are willing to try to spend the time to do a data recovery to see if we can salvage his data. We are going to contact him if we are successful. We do not have to do anything at all, but we are doing it as a courtesy. As for his equipment, our best guess is that the dead laptop was recycled and the external drive was sold off on clearance as a used part and surely for less money than owed to us by Mr. ***. The only thing that is unreasonable here is Mr. ***'s request for $1500. A defective laptop that was sent to recycling is not worth anything. His drive was a simple 500 GB external backup drive which, brand new, costs $60. The labor charges come out to $200. If anything he owes $160. The only thing we will do, and again this would be nothing more than a courtesy, is to see if we can recover his data for him.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computer Repair Stores, Computer Part Suppliers, Computer Stores

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1993Business started: 11/01/1988
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1988, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ramzi Ziade (Operations Manager)
Number of Employees

66

Business Category

Computer Repair Stores, Computer Part Suppliers, Computer Stores

Products & Services

Intrex Computers offers computer sales and service.

Alternate Business Names
Intrex, Inc.
Industry Tips
Has Your Computer Modem Been Hijacked?
PC Technical Support: Great When You Need It, But At What Cost?
Picking a Computer for Your College-Bound Student

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Intrex Computers

1279 NW Maynard Rd

Cary, NC 27513-8726

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Intrex Computers is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (919) 969-8488
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.