BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

SCA Collections - Greenville, N.C., Inc.

Phone: (252) 355-5500Fax: (252) 355-6102

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

46 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues43
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints46

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (46)
06/13/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Violations ********* Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
Original creditor was paid directly, not through this agency.*** ****** Pathology labs stated this collection action would be "removed" not just reported paid, but removed, because I have never dealt with SCA Collections. Further, SCA Collection, Inc is not licensed in the***ate of ** as verified by ************* and the ** Secretary of***ate. This is required by Act 62-20-101, specifically 62-20-105, and 62-20-117. Reciprocity. Additionally, had*** ****** Pathology Labs verified I was receiving statements, they would have been paid earlier. I was not receiving statements in spite of their claim to have mailed and no registered or certified mail from them exists to show otherwise. I paid them immediately upon learning this was unpaid by my insurance company, which happened when I checked my credit report. It has been removed from TransUnion, is under dispute with Equifax, and remains without dispute as of today with Experian.

Desired Settlement
I want this account removed from all three reporting agencies immediately. Failure to do so by July 15th will result in legal action being taken against ** ****** Pathology Labs, SCA Collections, Inc, in small claims court in ********** *** and a compliant filed with ** Dept of Commerce and Insurance for violations of the ********* Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, and any other remedies legally at my disposal.

Business Response
This consumer has never contacted our office directly. If he had done so & explained his situation, the account would have been removed from his credit report. We are licensed in the State of ********** Our ** License number is **** We are submitting a request to all 3 credit bureaus to have this account deleted from his credit report today. The account will likely be deleted by credit bureaus in a few days; however, the credit bureaus do have up to 30 days to respond to our request.

Consumer Response
I contacted original creditor, that is correct. They assured me they were contacting SCA. I do not conduct business directly with collections agencies, out of principal. I've never had one treat me with respect or tell me the truth, frankly, the few of times in my life I've had the misfortune of dealing with them. I pay my bills to the original creditors.

That aside, SCA's customer Pathology Labs of St ****** and their billing department assures me they made this request and that it was up to SCA to remove the reporting.

As for ** licensing, a call back to Sec of State found me getting a different answer having the license number in hand. The person I spoke to said the other person who said they were not licensed was probably them thinking their had expired, when they are still licensed for two more weeks, expiring June 26th.

I am very pleased that SCA have responded so quickly here through BBB, and satisfied with the proposed outcome. I will monitor my reports, as I do monthly from all three bureaus and look for the removals. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response

10/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is violating FCRA and FDCPA
RE: #******* RE: #*******. I have repeatedly asked this company for debt validation twice sending certified mail return receipt requested. The company has not satisfied the request per FCRA and FDCPA. With this being said they are still continuing to report these alleged debts to the credit bureaus un validated. Also they sent me a letter stating they were going to "tell" several businesses, schools, retails stores, hospitals, banks etc that I refuse to pay and discuss this matter to the above mentioned which is also a violation of the federal law. I have this letter as well as the DVR letters I sent them along with my copies of receipts etc that I am also going to send to the CFPB when I file that complaint.

Desired Settlement
This company is still reporting these unvalidated debts to the CRA's (FCRA violation) and this company needs to contact the credit bureaus and have these alleged debts removed from my file immediately.

Business Response
Both accounts have been reviewed & we have canceled our collection efforts on both accounts. We are submitting a request to the credit bureaus to delete both accounts from her credit reports. The credit bureaus can take up to 30 days to process our request.

Consumer Response
The resolution from the collection company is acceptable

Final Consumer Response

07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to contact the company by phone and they do not to respond to emails left on their own contact page on their website.
I noticed on June 2nd of 2015 on my credit report that a company called SCA Collections in Greenville, NC had me delinquent for $155.00. I had never received a bill from them or anyone else for that amount. I immediately looked them up on hype internet and found their website. I've called their number constantly. It is a recorded message that asks you to press one if you live in North Carolina or a 3 if you live in another state. No matter which number you press it talks you back to the start of the message. There is no option to leave a message. I have filled out the contact information on their we page many times and no one has ever contacted me.

Desired Settlement
I would like this business to call me and state what the collection is for and to correct my credit report.

Business Response
We have reviewed this consumers account. She can phone us at 800-********. Hundreds of consumers do reach us each day. If she called at a time where we have high call volumes it can sometimes take a little time to reach a representative. We will write to her at the new address that she provided & have one of our representatives attempt to reach her by phone.

Consumer Response
The company did call me to resolve this issue. Thank you so much for your help.

Final Consumer Response

07/14/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bill has been paid for years but needs to be reported as paid to credit agencies.
Report to credit agency bill is paid

Desired Settlement
Report to credit agency that bill is paid.

Business Response
This is duplicate of her complaint on June 14, 2014. We have reported the accounts as paid to the credit bureaus. If the credit bureaus are not reporting it correctly, she should dispute it directly with the credit bureaus.

Consumer Response
Accepted response.

Final Consumer Response

08/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor business practices in regards to credit reporting
On July 28, 2014 I paid in full two collections accounts with SCA Collections. The first account was XXXXXXX and the second account was XXXXXXX. Following payment I sent a "Goodwill Letter" and waited for SCA to update my credit report. They did update both collection accounts on August 7, 2014 with a status of OK and Paid. However, apparently following the reception of my goodwill letter SCA Collections removed my OK status and replaced it with a "Failure to Pay" on both accounts. Apparently each time they receive a letter from a customer they update their credit report with a "Failure to Pay". I do not make this statement as an assumption. I submitted a validation letter in October of 2012 and they update my account at that time with a "Failure to Pay" for two months. I do understand that hospital bills went into collections and that is my fault. However, my submission of a Goodwill letter was trying to explain that I had cancer and didn't realize it would cause me to receive another black mark after trying to do the right thing with my bills. I do have copies of both the August 7th and August 8th Credit reports if necessary for review.

Desired Settlement
I would like for SCA Collections at the very least to return my trade lines back to the original OK status. I would also like for them to consider the removal of both account trade lines being that I had to deal with this headache.

Business Response
We reported the accounts to the credit bureaus after they were turned over to us as unpaid collection accounts. Once he paid, we reported to the credit bureaus that they were paid. We only report the information to the credit bureaus. We have no control over how they report it on the credit report. If the consumer feels that the credit bureaus are not reporting it accurately, he should dispute it directly to the credit bureaus.

Consumer Response
Thank you for your response. I do see that it is now reporting as paid.

05/10/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SCA collections recently appeared on my credit report. Would not validate medical debt. I requested copies and they did not send them.
I called last month to find out what a medical debt was on my credit report and they first stated they would mail it. Yesterday I called and they stated what they could do to me if not paid. They provided nothing as to who this debt was. Threaten me about my landlord and what else they have power to do. What kind of company does this. I offered to pay it not knowing what it was if they removed it and they stated I just need to pay it now. This I have found out through my employer is a medical debt that was covered in-house medical expense and should not have been billed.

Desired Settlement
Remove this debt from my report or send me the evidence of this medical procedure so I can contact insurance. Do not talk that way to me over the phone.

Business Response
This consumer contacted us by telephone on August 18,2016. This was the first telephone conversation that we have ever had with her or her husband. They have called us several times, we have never called them. We have reviewed the conversations that they had with our staff & our staff has not threatened them. They requested validation of the debts from us during the April 18, 2016 conversations. We have discussed her accounts with the original creditor. They have advised us that these balances are her co-insurance and deductible amounts. They have provided itemized statements for all 3 accounts. We mailed those statements to her on April 21, 2016. These accounts remain unpaid and past due.

Consumer Response
Considering you reported the debt in October 2015 and insurance paid in November I find it difficult to believe any statement was even mailed as per law. Second I highly doubt I contacted you on August 18th per your statement above. It just shows the ineptness of your response. As far as what you mailed it is only a brief summery of the billing statement. I cannot match those items with ***** nor can they. You stated to contact the company directly which I have. They also will not provide any detailed bill for these medical procedures and state they have to come from you. You are not complying with the law, these need to be produced so they can be verified and you have not done so. You really should check your phone logs better because August contact I do not believe and suspect errors in your system. Please provide any evidence of such contact.


Final Business Response
These accounts have been validated by the original & a copy of that validation has been provided to this consumer. The 3 debts have not been paid. They remain past due. This has been confirmed by the original creditor.

03/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Account Number XXXXXXX****
I previously sent you a letter requesting that the collection that you are erroneously reporting against me be validated or removed from my credit report. I received your response and it is not acceptable, it is vague and does not constitute any form of validation according to the FDCPA or verification according the FCRA.

I have been more than fair and more than patient regarding this matter. This is my last attempt for you to make right regarding this collection that you wrongfully placed on my credit report. I have started the draft of my complaint to the CFPB with complaints for not notifying me of the collection you placed on my credit report, giving me the right to dispute this debt, not responding to my request (FDCPA Section 809. Validation of debts 15 USC 1692g), as well as the list of damages this has caused me personally and financially.

Desired Settlement
You have 30 days to remove the information from my credit report and send me proof in writing that this has happened before I move forward with filing my complaints or seek legal actions.

Business Response
We have contacted the original creditor about this account & the original creditor provided us with an itemized bill to validate the charge. We mailed that validation to the consumer on May 20, 2015. This consumer was provided the name & contact information for the original creditor with that validation. This consumer has the option to contact the original creditor directly. This account remains unpaid & past due.

Consumer Response
I am legally able to ask for validation again. Send me the letter you sent me on may 20, 2015 and I disputing this debt and am asking for validation again. Simply telling me the name and contact information is not validation. Since you own the debt and are reporting it, I want you to provide me with 100% legal proof that I owe this debt. Not doing so is a violation of the FDCPA.

Final Business Response
We are mailing her a copy of our original response to her request for validation.

03/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Collection account paid in full and still showing on all three credit Reports.
I was unaware of this account until early 2015, when my husband pulled my credit so we could purchase a new vehicle, My husband and me contacted the Company, Found out they have been reporting since early 2013, My husband again got in contact with them and paid the full balance. This account is the only collection or negative account that I have, We are in the process of trying to purchase our first home and this is hindering our purchase severely. All I am asking is that SCA removes this PAID IN FULL account from my credit reports. I have a lawyer on stand by, if this is not handled in the next 30 days. There is no need for them to keep reporting this account.

Desired Settlement
All I would like is for this account to be removed from my Equifax, Transunion, and Experian credit files Immediately

Business Response
Our company is no longer collecting for the original creditor of this account. We have submitted a request to all three credit bureaus to have this account deleted from her credit report.

03/16/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i sent this company Three letters asking them for Verification of there Claim all by Certified Mail and i have not received any Correspondence back !
i sent this company Three letters asking them for Verification of there Claim all by Certified Mail and i have not received any Correspondence back ! the dates are 2/11/2016 mail#XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX on 2/20/2016 mail# XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX on 3/3/2016 mail#XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
i would like them to remove any negative remarks on my credit report

Business Response
We have discussed this consumer's account with the original creditor. The original creditor has provided us with an itemized bill to validate their charge. That validation was mailed to this consumer on 02/17/2016. This consumer was also provided the name & contact information for the original creditor. This account remains unpaid & past due.

Consumer Response
i have not received any legal Validation from this company a photocopy of a photocopy is not legal Validation of debt can they please supply me with the legal documentation as ask for in all three letter sent to them

Final Business Response
This consumer has been provided the documentation that is required. He may not find it acceptable, but it meets the requirements. He always has the option to contact the original creditor directly for more information.

02/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
multiple attempts to reach payment agreement on a collection account.
I have reached out to this company multiple times via snail mail, with no reply in regards to payment in full for deletion. I faxed said company again with same agreement, again no acknowledgement. Today I called them and asked to speak with a collections manager, only to be told one was not available. The person on the phone asked how she could help, I proceeded to tell her that I wanted to make a payment for deletion, she stated that they did not do that, I stated that I have never heard of that before, as they are the furnisher of the debt to the credit bureaus, then they in turn could delete it. I asked to speak to a collections manager again, I was only put through to a voice mail. I have been working diligently on my credit for 2 years now. I only have 2 collection accounts left, both with SCA. I would like to pay them both in full for deletion. I feel like that isn't asking a lot.

Desired Settlement
Payment in full amount for deletion.

Business Response
This consumer has contacted us several times & offered to pay the account if we deleted it from the credit bureaus. The contract that we have with the credit bureaus requires us to report accurate information. It requires that we mark a collection account as "Paid" once it is paid in full. They do not allow us to delete an account for payment.

Consumer Response
I have had multiple contact with not only this company but multiple collection companies. It's is their option as the furnisher of the information. I have had multiple items deleted from my report for payment. I know that it is up to the furnisher and not the bureau. It's sad that I have attempted to correct this error in judgment and can't get a simple deed of good will in return. I will be contacting a credit lawyer to proceed further.

Final Business Response
We are aware that there are companies that will delete an item from a credit report for payment. That is against the rules that are published by the credit bureaus. Our policy is to comply with the rules of the credit reporting agreement that we have with the bureaus.

Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.