BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tri-State Auto Brokers of North Carolina LLC

Phone: (919) 567-2881Fax: (919) 567-2822

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
08/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation not consistent with the written agreement

Complaint: Was late on my July 8 payment. Made payment on July 20 owner mark is refusing to turn GPS off. He has taken my payment in full.
**************** payment method credit card.. Payment of 253.00 brought the car march 6 2014.. **** is owner of tri state auto brokers. Have been on time with payments up until the month of July. Ask him to change payment dates so he could receive payment on time he refused to accept and is refusing to shut car back on

Initial Business Response
Good Afternoon

Yes she had a payment due August 8th she didnt call or make her payment so we did turn the car off she called august 20 and made the payment but she still owes a payment for august 22 she has done this before with not making her payment.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I purchased a car from TriState Auto Brokers and within two weeks of purchase; my 2001 Toyota Carola started having major issue leading to the engine.
My Mother and I purchased the car on 2/10/14 My mother, a senior citizen, paid my down payment of $1387. On 2/20/14 the engine and oil light came on. I put in oil, 4quarts, the following day to get to work then have it looked at. On the 22nd **** **** and both ** ********* engine system checkers revealed codes of the car having an engine problem. On this day I added more oil about 4quarts of oil, now realizing there indead was a leak. On the 24th I went to get one more look at the car from *** ****** *********** auto repair, spoke with a guy named ***, known for working for Toyota and his great engine repair work. **** reaction to the car was not good, he said the engine was in very bad shape, listening to the ticking noise as it ran. He recommended that I not drive the car, because it was unsafe. He also noticed that the oil was leaking, more like burning, coming out of the tail pipe. The following day I called Tri state to explain to them the problems I was having and that I was not happy with my purchase and wanted a refund. **** ******** the owner said I would not get my money back and to bring the car in to be looked at. On the 26th, my day off, I brought the car back to the dealership the owner unfortunately was not in. Therefore we were was unable to discuss any solutions to our problems. I still have yet to speak with the owner or any other of there representatives. I put 1387.84 down and signed a lease agreement of 30 payements of $142 bi weekly. The price of the 2001 Toyota Corolla was 3995.00 not including taxes and fees. The car was bought AS-IS NOT Guaranteed, but the car turned out to be unsafe, according to *** at the repair shop and my observation. Being that these problems began to occur within only two weeks of purchase I feel as though something has to be done. I am a ** older woman and my mother is even older so I do believe we were taken advantage of. I would like a refund. **** claims that a new engine was put in along with other under the hood work that was done. The other work like head gaskets were confirmed to be new by my inspectors, but the engine had a list of problems that would cost me more to fix than the price I am paying for the car.

Initial Business Response
All of our cars are sold as is with no warranties or gaurantees. This was explained to Ms. ******. The car passed state inspection without a problem. Ms. ****** was asked to come in when the owner was in the office and an appointment was set for her to come in so they could go to the repair shop have the car looked at. Ms ****** came in the next day late in the after noon, she was told she would have to come back in when the owner was in and her reply was that we could keep the keys she wasnt coming back.. At this point she left the car. We had not heard from her. I have tried to get in touch with the customer with no results.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: This business sells vehicles that are completely unsafe and should not be on the road.
My fiance (who is an automotive technician) and I went to look at a 1998 Dodge Durango that was being advertised by the company. **** told us the truck was "like brand new" and that it was newly inspected and his mechanic found no issues with it. After my fiance looked at it for a little over an hour and checked all fluids, ensuring that it did not have any leaks as we were getting rid of a vehicle that had a severe leak. He checked the transmission fluid, oil, etc. and everything checked out fine except for the serpentine belt, which **** said he would order. We wanted to leave a deposit on the vehicle so we left $300 and made arrangements to pick it up as soon as the duplicate title was in. We picked up the truck about 11 days later and paid the balance ($2800) in cash. I noticed that the transmission was hard to shift and brought this up to my fiance to look at it. He checked the transmission fluid and there was NONE, not a drop in it. We purchased some and put it in, and soon after, all of it leaked out of this, according to **** and his "mechanic", "like new" truck. At this point, the Durango is unable to be driven and we had to purchase and finance a new vehicle so that we are both able to get to work. We had to trade the Durango as a down payment and were given $1200 for it. My fiance believes that they drained most of the transmission fluid out when we looked at the truck (they were aware that we were coming to look at it) so that we would purchase it. We took a $1900 loss that could have been avoided if they would not have tried to cover up the leak in the first place.

Initial Business Response
In response to Case #XXXXXXXX
The Customer and her fiance spent more then two (2) hours inspecting the 1998 Dodge Durango. The Customer's finance is and has been an a self proclaimed "expert technician". We offered them, as we do all our customers to do a pre-sale inspection they declined to do that once again, stated that he was a mechanic and does this for a living. I can assure you that we do not tell any customer that our vehicles are like "brand new". The only problem that the customer's fiance found was a worn serpentine belt and agreed to purchase the vehicle if I would purchase a new one and I did. The vehicle remained here for some time as we could not deliver without a title. The customer had all the opportunity to further inspect this vehicle. From the beginning and thru the process, she understood and agreed to purchase the vehicle "As Is". There was absolutely no effort to hide any problems the vehicle might have had, and in fact the customer brought her own mechanic who thoroughly inspected the vehicle. In closing we are sorry for this unfortunate situation. If given the opportunity perhaps we could have traded for another vehicle.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/11/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: i bought a car from Tri state auto brokers and the car broke down after 2 days.they refuse to give me my money back

i bout a chevy adeo from Tri state auto brokers.after 2 days the transmission gave out. i put 1500 down and they refuse to give me my money back because of a no warranty policy.

Consumer's Final Response
Tri state auto brokers have resolved the issue.Please remove the posting

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/01/2012Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Dealer misrepresented car that they were selling
I contacted the seller on 9-19-12 inquring about a car that they were selling. The seller still had the vehicle and i asked a few questions about the car. I offered a deposit on the car and agreed to purchase it on a contingient bases...That it was as discribed. At no time during the phone conversation was i made aware that my deposit wouldnt be returned back to me. After seeing the car it was not as advertised and was 5 speed instead of an automatic. Also 2 of the wheels were different. After seeing that the car was not as advertised i made the seller aware that i didnt want the car and requested my refund to be returned. The seller would not return the refund and was very rude. I made my creditcard aware of this to have it reversed and contacted my attorney and the FTC for further action

Business' Initial Response
The 300.00 Credit Card Charge has been refunded 9/21/2012. Confirmation # *****.

Thank you

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.