BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Brown Construction

(919) 428-888210605 Gardenia Ct, RaleighNC 27603-9338 Send email to Brown Construction

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Brown Construction is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Brown Construction's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brown Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair work on our screened in porch was supposed to be completed in a week. Wasn't even close to being finished after 2 months and numerous emails
Original contact was made from *** ***** on April 17, 2014 and a written estimate was provided for work to be completed on our screened in porch as well as new shelf construction in our garage, was provided approx. 2-3 weeks later. The estimate stated "time frame to complete project: 3 days weather depending (porch work) and 5 hours for the shelves and I would be able to start on this project May 26th." On May 10 we emailed *** ***** stating that we are ready to move forward with the project and have accepted the estimate. We did not hear anything until we sent another email on May 13, 2014 asking if he had received the first email. His response stated that he did receive our email and that he would "be starting your project Tuesday, May 27." May 27th came and *** ***** did not show up as he previously stated. Another email was sent on 5/27 asking if he is still able to complete the work and he responded with the story that his email to me never went through and "I can still do the job but I will not be able to start until Monday, please let me know if Monday works for you. My response was that "Monday will be fine"On May 30, 2014 *** ***** sent an email stating "is 8am Monday morning ok for a start time?" *** ***** showed up on June 3 and completed the shelving in the garage and also asked for a check for half of the original contract price to cover materials; but didn't show up for the rest of the week. A check for $1228 (#235) was given to *** ***** on June 3. I sent an email June 5 requesting a status update and he responded on June 6 saying he was at another job and is finishing up our porch rails and would have them installed on Sunday June 8. June 8th came and went and *** ***** did not show up as he previously stated he would. Another email was sent June 11 asking once again for a status update. We were told that he has been stuck at another job "changing a ton of things" and that he is "very confident I will be able to have everything complete on Saturday" (6/14)Saturday came and went and *** ***** was a no-show. He did come to the house on Monday 6/16 and stayed for 3 hours then left with very little work completed. From 6/17-6/30 we did not receive any response from *** ***** after we sent 3 emails and 2 phone calls. His next visit to the house was not until 7/3. He left the house after 2 hours saying that he wanted to finish railings in his shop because it would be easier and would return Sunday to install. Sunday and Monday came and went and *** ***** did not show up once again. He sent an email on 7/7 and said "I needed to put one more coat of paint on frames to ensure coverage. I will be there tomorrow morning to install." 7/8 he did not show. Below is a list of additional emails and phone calls with dates:

7/9- email sent releasing *** ***** from job and asking for refund for work that was not completed. We did not hear anything back until we sent another email on 7/28

7/28- email asking for email response within 72 hours and a refund if work will not be completed by the end of the week.

7/29- email from *** ***** stating "I will be out this week to pick up my stuff and drop refund check for $500"

*** ***** did not show up as he stated one last email was sent stating that no further email would be sent and further legal action would ensue I even gave him the option of mailing the check and he did not comply

I have all emails, text messages and voice mails sent and received between us and *** *****, as well as pictures throughout the process showing the work not being completed

In addition, after the garage shelves were completed and prior to *** ***** not completing the porch work, we gave him 3 moving blankets out of the kindness of our hearts, in order to help his business, not knowing that he was not committed to his customers and an unreliable "businessman."

Desired Settlement
A check for $1228 ****** was given to *** ***** on 6/3. Half the total cost of the project which was $2456. Of the $2456, $1967 was for labor and materials for the porch and $489 was for the garage shelves. We have deducted the following from the original check $1228

$489 (garage shelves) leaves a balance of $739, materials purchased and brought to job site were 4 2x4s ($3.50 each) 3 cans of stain ($35 each) which is $120 in materials $739-$120= $619. We believe the labor costs should be no more than $175, which leaves a balance of $450. I am also asking for $50 for the moving blankets for a total refund of $500.

10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
***** ***** of Brown Construction was contracted to demolish and install master bath file in the shower and around tub, reface vanity & build cabinet
Started the work and never finished. The cost was $2,600 of which I paid $2,400 in deposit and good faith money. He stopped in the middle of the job and refused to come back. He promised he would come back multiple times, but no show and no call. Workmanship on tile was terrible and has to be totally re-done. After less then 6 weeks, grout is cracking away, tiles are uneven, and he cut a hole in the liner which will lead to leaks. He also installed some windows and broke trim molding and didn't say anything. Totally untrustworthy, I am retaining a lawyer to sue for settlement.

Desired Settlement
Total refund for poor quality work, it looks like he never performed tile work before based on this terrible job!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cabinet Makers, Cabinet Maker, Bathroom Remodelers, Patio, Porch and Deck Enclosure Companies, Deck Builder, Patio and Deck Builders, Kitchen and Bath Remodelers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/18/2014Business started: 04/01/2013
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Brown (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Cabinet Makers, Cabinet Maker, Bathroom Remodelers, Patio, Porch and Deck Enclosure Companies, Deck Builder, Patio and Deck Builders, Kitchen and Bath Remodelers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brown Construction

10605 Gardenia Ct

Raleigh, NC 27603-9338

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10605 Gardenia Ct 

    Raleigh, NC 27603-9338(919) 428-8882

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brown Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Cabinet Makers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.