BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2013

Triangle Reconstruction Company

(919) 924-76002010 Silky Dogwood Trl, ApexNC 27502-4069 Send email to Triangle Reconstruction Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/14/2013

BBB has determined that Triangle Reconstruction Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Triangle Reconstruction Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Triangle Reconstruction Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company failed to provide documentation promised (photos and receipts) - found extra charges and work never completed as agreed.
Purchased coupon for services on Living Social website, and then called and made appointment for estimate of job. Job was quoted on 11Jun14 for $300. Requested Operating Procedure contract for job, and was emailed copy next day. Project was scheduled for 18Jun14. Owner of company (*** ******) arrived to perform work as discussed at 7:45 AM on date specified.
*** abandoned jobsite without word (8:45 AM) - leaving tools, materials, and clothing strewn around as well as left door to crawlspace wide opened with children around posing safety risk. I closed door, picked up supplies and when I called to question what happened he simply explained he was going to get a drink. He returned shortly and upon completion of job at 11:00 AM, I requested photo documentation for any work completed which he failed to produce. He asked me to simply authorize charges on a cell phone and promised a receipt being sent at a later time. When no receipt arrived, I contacted him on 25Jun14, and an electronic receipt was promised. Receipt arrived later that day stating charge of $718.45. Upon inspection of work completed found tools and trash left in the yard as well as under the house, as well as a sloppy installation of material including major gaps, jagged edges, and minimal overlap preventing complete coverage. Upon further inspection there appears a lack of double layer at crawl space door as previously promised. Called *** on 26Jun14, I addressed these items and conveyed my concern over quality of job performed. His reaction was to apologize profusely and offer the excuse that he was a terrible installer. He frequently performs substandard workmanship and is prone to leaving items at a job site. Offering to send a more qualified person to redo the installation from scratch, or refund the bulk of the charges. He pleaded for me to allow his company another opportunity to complete the job correctly. I was hesitant, but requested a corrected receipt for services performed while I pondered my options. When the requested documentation failed to arrive, I contacted my bank to investigate the charges from his company only to discover I was charged $400 by his company. One of these issues would be bothersome, but together they constitute a pattern of fraudulent behavior. I called *** on 2Jul14 to insist that I would prefer I refund as I would have to hire another company to redo everything he did. I was unable to reach him directly and was only able to leave a voice message. Received an email several days later stating I was not entitled to a refund, and that because he traveled out of his way from Apex, I would have to accept his decision.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the $499.95 charged me. $99.95 charged from the LivingSocial deal I originally purchased, $100 that was fraudulently charged and the remaining $300 from the original agreement. I will need these funds in order to bring in a reputable company to repair what work was performed, as this company lacks integrity and has proven through hostile emails they have no intention of honoring the original agreement. Upon my initial meeting with ***, I requested genuine integrity as I was looking for a company that would do what they promise while offering a quality job at a reasonable price. I am disappointed the owner of the company tarnishes the company reputation through shabby workmanship, incorrect billing, and lack of moral direction.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
The way I remember was he was happy with the project. We kneeled by the crawl space door together and looked into the crawl space. We spoke about the project. He was happy with the project and even said he did not need the pictures because we could see the whole thing kneeling at the door.
I am happy to provide another receipt. He called and complained that there was a jagged cut on one of the pieces of poly under the home. I offered to send a crew to fix the issue, and or any issues with the vapor barrier. He said there was no need because it was such a minor issue. I will still send a crew to fix any issues and make sure he has a nice vapor barrier. I think it is highly unfair to try and leverage such a small thing and want a refund.


Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
This company changes their story each correspondence. First, it was a hard luck story for a man who lost his child and trying to make good. Next, it was a complete disaster and when I called the owner (***) he apologized and admitted he was terrible. HE offered me a refund or send someone out to rip out everything and start over. Then, it was the bad job is MY fault and he was justified because it was hot, he traveled a long distance, and he even resorted to falsifying conversations that never happened. Now, it is I was happy and now I am trying to get something for nothing? Each correspondence simply solidifies the poor reputation of this person, and how his only care is trying to take advantage of everyone he encounters. I did NOT want a refund originally, I simply wanted the job done correctly. I did not realize till later the fraud that was perpetrated by this person until I saw the work he did and the overcharge on my credit card.
Nothing *** has told me has proven trustworthy, and he feels the need to fabricate new stories to justify his behavior.
I would not be concerned with the "minor issues" had there only been those instead of the malicious conduct. I have never received a correct receipt stating the amount I paid. I was given a quote for $716 and a receipt for $716 and another quote for $300 but, never a receipt for the $400 that was charged to my card plus $99 paid through the LivingSocial website.
While Triangle Reconstruction is unable to provide any photographs or documentation as is clearly stated as proof of job completion, I would gladly provide proof showing his failure in installation as well as copies of the receipts/quotes received. This documentation provides the basis for my complaint, and I would happily upload for help in seeing this case.
To illustrate my point, here is a copy of the email he sent on 7/02/14:

****,

I can send my guy out to fix any jagged edges or whatever is bothering you. But I will not give you any money back. I went out of my way to do your project. You are out of our service area and I traveled over an hour to meet with you. I left Apex at 6:15 in the morning to do your job personally. You ridiculed me calling me Jose the whole time. I do not know why thinks it is OK to make prejudice remarks about Mexican people. I am proud of my company and the job we do. You gave me a $200 cooler for doing a good job when I left, or to ease your mind for ridiculing me. Either way I will help you by sending my installer out to fix any concerns you have. We are on a 2 week backlog. We can come out anytime after July 16th that is convenient for you. Lets communicate by email from now on so we have a clear stream of communication.

Thank You,

****** ******
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
Triangle Reconstruction

and here is the original statement of expectations that I was sent so I could understand the process:

What to Expect - Vapor Barrier

Thank You for choosing Triangle Reconstruction to install the vapor barrier under your home. Here is a list of what to expect when our technician arrives to perform your service.
Product Service
o Technician arrives and introduces themselves upon arrival to the home.
o The first step is to pull out any personal items out the crawl space work area. We temporality place these item in the yard.
o Next we pull out any existing vapor barrier and place in truck for disposal
o We then install your vapor barrier giving you 100% floor coverage. We stake the barrier in place and double ply in front of the crawl space door.
o Upon completion, we place your personal items back into crawl space
o Technician knocks on door and shows you pictures of the finished project and collects any monies due.
o You will receive an emailed receipt showing paid in full
Product Quality
o We use a 6 mil polymer that meets or exceeds building code
o All polymer products are made in the USA
o Your Vapor Barrier has a 1 year warranty that includes all labor and materials
o Extended warranties are available on all vapor barrier products

As you can see there are several discrepancies between what I was promised and what actually happened. I expected to have 100% coverage and double ply at the door, but did not get those. Had I in fact knelt at the door with ***, as he claims, these would have been glaringly obvious as well as the abundance of trash and tools left.
I am very easy to do business with, as long as expectations are mutually agreed, understood, and followed. Not only did *** do a poor job he should be ashamed to put his name on, he committed a crime in the fraud he perpetrated in stealing money through electronic transfer.

Final Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
If you do not want a crew to fix anything...then there is nothing to fix. Your story changes. That is why I requested all written communication with you. You ridiculed me in person, cyber bully me online, talk about my deceased son and accuse me of things that are not true. So again....I will say what I said every time. I will send a crew out to fix any issues you may have. But we do not give refunds. We wait until the end of the job to get paid after you review the project. After you reviewed the project, you paid me and gave my a really nice cooler as a tip. I will say I thought I could make anyone happy so Thank You for showing me that I can make almost anyone happy.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Basement Waterproofing, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Mold & Mildew Remediation, Mold & Mildew Inspection, Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up, Water Damage Restoration Companies, Fire Damage Restoration Companies, Fire Water Damage Restoration Companies, Energy Audits, Door Installers, Window Installation Companies, Weatherization, Insulation Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/05/2013Business started: 06/01/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2012, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Ayscue (President)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Basement Waterproofing, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Mold & Mildew Remediation, Mold & Mildew Inspection, Fire & Smoke & Water Clean Up, Water Damage Restoration Companies, Fire Damage Restoration Companies, Fire Water Damage Restoration Companies, Energy Audits, Door Installers, Window Installation Companies, Weatherization, Insulation Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Triangle Reconstruction Company

2010 Silky Dogwood Trl

Apex, NC 27502-4069

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2010 Silky Dogwood Trl 

    Apex, NC 27502-4069(919) 924-7600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Triangle Reconstruction Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Basement Waterproofing

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.