BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Meineke Car Care Center

Phone: (910) 347-7746Fax: (910) 347-31361319 Country Club Rd, JacksonvilleNC 28546-6026 Send email to Meineke Car Care Centerhttp://www.meineke.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a nationwide, full service, franchised auto repair business with over 900 locations. They have been family owned/operated for the past 25 years at this same Jacksonville location.

BBB Accreditation

Meineke Car Care Center is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Meineke Car Care Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Meineke Car Care Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/31/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had brake rotors installed on my vehicle. When I noticed they were installed backwards I asked for a refund, which I was denied.
On approximately Oct 29 I had brake rotors and pads installed. On Nov 10 I noticed the rotors were backwards and so I returned for a refund before doing the work myself. They gave me lots of excuses but were ultimately only willing to fix it, not refund my money. This was unsatisfactory as I no longer had any confidence in the shop to touch my vehicle, and would rather do it myself. Also, the wait time they gave me was longer than what the job would take me to do. I was charged approximately $150 for what the mechanic said would take an hour. I feel that these charges are ridiculous, furthering my desire for a refund.

Desired Settlement
Since I had to redo the work performed I feel that it is fair that I receive a full refund for the services performed.

Business' Initial Response
On Nov 1,2012, customer brought his vehicle in to have new brake pads and rotors installed, front and rear, which he provided. He requested that the new rotors be resurfaced as the manufacturer recommended, but after doing some measurement testing on the rotors, we discussed the results with the customer and he agreed not to resurface the rotors. He was not charged for the testing and the initial labor to resurface (2) sets of rotors was removed from the estimate. The technician working on vehicle discovered that he had (2) sets of front axle parts instead of front and rear as he said he had. The rotors were not stamped left and right, but it was rather discretely noted on the opened boxes. customer returned to my shop and said he wanted his money back. My manager discussed the situation with him, apologized for any inconvenience and stated we would pull his vehicle in immediately and reverse the rotors. He declined the offer and said he was going to do it himself. I feel we provide fair service to this customer and because of the way the parts were presented it could easily have been overlooked and did not present any danger to the customer.

Consumer's Final Response
The packaging for the rotors was not only very clearly marked with a white sticker on the brown cardboard box "left" and "right" but slotted rotors, regardless of make and model, are oriented the same way. Anyone who knows what they are looking at can immediately tell whether or not they are oriented the correct way just by glancing through the wheel at the rotor.
While the shop did offer to fix it I am not in the habit of allowing people to work on my vehicle after they have already shown me that they can't be trusted to do so. Because the work paid for had to be completely redone anyway, and was therefore worth nothing, I felt that a refund was appropriate.

Business' Final Response
We saved this customer $200. plus dollars by checking his rotors for free and determining they did not need to be machined. There was no charge for that service. We offerred to correct the issue on hand immediately, which was a simple fix and the customer declined our offer. I do not feel we treated this customer wrong, and it was his option to make the final decision.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair Services, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto, Muffler and Exhaust System Suppliers, Brake Shops, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Inspection Stations, Car Diagnosis Shops

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/21/2000Business started: 01/01/1988
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1987, NC

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Sue Stanfield (President)Mr. Bruce Stanfield (Vice President)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto, Muffler and Exhaust System Suppliers, Brake Shops, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Inspection Stations, Car Diagnosis Shops

Products & Services

Meineke Car Care Center provides complete auto repair and service including NC State inspections, brakes, mufflers, maintenance, diagnostics, tire balancing, and alignment.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Warranty information can be found at www.meineke.com

Service Area

Jacksonville, NC

Alternate Business Names
Meineke Car Care Center # 419, Subru Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
Car Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Meineke Car Care Center

1319 Country Club Rd

Jacksonville, NC 28546-6026

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1319 Country Club Rd 

    Jacksonville, NC 28546-6026(910) 347-7746

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Meineke Car Care Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

Car Service
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.