BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2012

Carfix, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (919) 771-0300Fax: (919) 771-0731248 Mast Dr, GarnerNC 27529-6720 Send email to Carfix, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Why Choose Carfix?
Free Loaner Cars
Free Shuttle Service
Clean waiting area.
Free WiFi
Free Snack Bar
Kids Room
Family owned/operated
Industry leading warranty
While you wait appointments

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2012

BBB has determined that Carfix, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carfix, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carfix, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/16/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They did not fix the original complaint. I was complaining about my car jerking and shaking
THey claimed they fix the problem with the shaking and jerking of my car. The problem started back as soon as I left Carfix. I took the car to the ******* ****** They fixed the problem right away. I haven't' had any problems with my car since.

Desired Settlement
I would like the refund for the labor since Carfix didn't fix my car. The total refund is $367.72. They replaced the coils instead of Bank 2 and bank 1 oil control valve which stopped the shaking and jerking.

Business Response
At Carfix, client satisfaction is our main priority. It is obvious that we have fallen short of that goal with this customer. I have contacted the client and arranged a time for her to come in so we can provide any refunds needed.

I'm confident that the services Carfix performed were needed as a starting point to get to the final solution - we failed, in that we didn't follow through to completion with the additional items discovered by the dealership. While we wish we could have had another opportunity to see the vehicle before it went to the dealership - we understand and respect her decision to go there.

We appreciate the trust that our clients put in us at Carfix. When we fall short of expectations we make it a priority to make things right. I'd like to thank our client for giving us the opportunity to do that in this situation.

**** ***** - Owner

01/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid 750.00 for Repair of exterior and interior light. Two days ago, I noticed high beams still not working correctly.
On or about the 14th of November 2014, I took my car in because the interior lights and exterior lights weren't working correctly. The lights worked intermittently. I left my car with Carfix for more than 10 business days. I picked the car up and and paid 750.00 A few days ago, on Dec.5th, I used the high beams for the first time since the car was returned to me. The highbeams came on but after a minute or so, the headlamps went completely dark. On Saturday, Dec 6th I went back to Carfix to advise them of the problem. Their representative began explaining to me about a charge for a diagnostic and other fees that I might potentially have to pay. I told him that I didn't believe it to be fair as this was part of the original problem that I paid to have fixed. Furthermore Carfix had my car for more than 10 business daysmore than enough time to accurately diagnose my car's problem. For the record, the rest of the lightsinterior and exterior appear to be working correctly again.

Desired Settlement
I think a refund in the amount of $300 in cash or credit to the auto mechanic of my choosing would be fair.

Business Response /* ****** ** *********** */
On November 1st (Not the 14th) Customer brought his vehicle to Carfix and requested that we perform several services. He requested electrical testing to determine why the interior dash lights weren't working and why there was an intermittent headlight failure. Additionally he requested that we track the source of multiple oil leaks in the car, give a second opinion on a badly worn wheel bearing, and flush the radiator on his car. Customer gave initial authorization for the requested services and testing at 3:45PM on November 1st.

Carfix provided Customer with a free loaner car to use while we serviced his vehicle and told him to expect to hear from us the following day. That evening, one of our ASE Certified Master Technicians began work on the vehicle. He immediately noted what appeared to be sand in the radiator and on the inside of the radiator cap. Additionally, there was no coolant visible in the radiator at all. Experience has taught us that this is an indication of potentially major problems with the engine or cooling systems. Rather than proceed with a service (the radiator flush) that would likely not help the condition and would certainly waste Customer's money, we stopped immediately and tried to contact him.

We tried to call Customer the morning of November 2nd, unfortunately the phone number on file from his previous visit (5 years ago) was no longer valid. Having no other way to contact Customer, we waited several days in the hope that he would contact us for an update. After 6 days of waiting and still no contact from Customer, we began driving out to the address on file in the hopes of finding him at home. Unfortunately, we couldn't be sure that the address on file was valid (again, his most recent visit was from 2009 and if his phone number has changed - his address may have as well) and we never saw our loaner car at the address in question. After 9 days with no contact we were concerned enough that we contacted the Johnston County Sheriff's Office to try to find Customer. The following day, the JCSO made contact with Customer and he called us.

We informed Customer that we hadn't yet done anything with the vehicle because we didn't want to spend his money on services that would not improve the vehicle's condition, as the car likely had other major problems. This is also the first time we advised Customer that the car's service/repair needs outweighed its value. After much discussion, Customer asked us to move forward with the other tests/inspections originally requested but to not perform the radiator flush. Finally, on day 10 (November 11th), we had good contact information for our client and we were able to move forward with testing.

The following day we began testing. Our technician found the headlights were working properly at the time. We continued with testing of the interior lights and found that the light switch on the dash had been severely overheated and the interior of the switch along with the connecting harness block had partially melted. This problem was certainly the cause of the interior lighting problem and could possibly cause the intermittent headlight problem as well. This was communicated both verbally over the phone with Customer (On November 13th @ 11:57AM) as well as in writing on his repair order. We recommended replacing the known damaged/faulty components and then retesting the system for proper operation. At this time, we also advised customer of a long list of other service/repair needs that the vehicle had and provided estimates for those items as well. Again, we advised Customer that the cost of needed items outweighed the value of the vehicle. Customer requested that we move forward with the recommended interior light related repairs. After replacing the faulty components all lights were working properly, interior and exterior. We documented on the repair order that should the intermittent headlamp problem recur that further testing may be needed to find any additional problems.

The repairs were completed on November 14th and Customer picked his car up on the 15th. At the time of vehicle delivery, Customer was shown the defective part that had been replaced. During the conversation when Customer picked up the vehicle we again advised him that there was severe sludge buildup in the engine cooling system and that there are likely several other problems with the car that need to be addressed.

I feel it should be noted that on more than one occasion between November 1st and 14th, Carfix staff recommended that Customer not invest much money in the repair of the vehicle as we found more than $3000 of other unrelated repair and service needs. This list did not include everything that the car likely needed, as we had not found the source of the problems causing the sludge/sand in the cooling system. It simply is not advisable to spend well over $3,500 on a high mileage car that would be worth far less in good operating condition!

On Saturday, December 6th, 21 days after he picked up the car, Customer returned to Carfix and told us that his headlights had acted up again on the night of the 5th. He did note that the interior lights had been working properly without fail. He stated that he expected Carfix to fix whatever the headlight problem was at no charge. As politely as possible, we re-read Customer's previous invoice to him: "...If the headlights shut off again, additional diagnostic costs will be needed to determine the cause." We would need authorization for those tests prior to starting work on the car. Customer was assured that if any of the components related to the previous repair were found to be at fault, they would be replaced free of charge and that the diagnostic fees would be waived. If we found that there was an additional problem, the diagnostic fees and any other repairs would be at normal charges. Customer did not agree to move forward and left without further incident.

Unfortunately, this car has over 225,000 miles and has a myriad of service needs - mechanical and electrical. It is evident that it has two separate electrical issues that were manifesting in two separate ways - interior light failure, and intermittent headlamp failure. We were able to find and repair one problem on the initial visit. By the very nature of an intermittent problem, we were unable to duplicate the other concern on that visit. By Customer's account - the problem did not recur for three weeks (Nov 15th to Dec 5th). It would not have been fiscally or ethically responsible to simply start replacing electrical parts on the headlight system without being able to duplicate or pinpoint the problem.

I am confident that we can diagnose the problem with Customer's headlights and repair it should he return, but we will not be doing so without prior authorization of diagnostic fees. Again, if we find that the previously repaired parts are faulty then all diagnostic fees and repairs will be waived and the repair will be covered by our 3 year / 36,000 mile warranty. Customer should not expect a refund from Carfix.


Consumer Response /* ****** ** *********** */
I thank Carfix for being so thorough in their response, but most of the information has little if anything to do with the issue of the headlamps that weren't fixed.
I did pick up my car on or about Nov 15, unfortunately, I didn't have any reason to use my high beams until the 5th of December.
I stand by original request for a partial refund or credit at another auto mechanic of my choosing.

Final Consumer Response /* ****** *** *********** */
I wish to counter offer. I'll accept 299.00 dollars to resolve the issue.

Final Business Response /* ****** *** *********** */
As nothing about the situation has changed, our response is still that we will happily diagnose the additional issues with Customer's vehicle, but we will not be doing so without prior authorization of diagnostic fees. If we find that any repairs performed by Carfix in the last 3 years or 36,000 miles are the cause of his described headlight issues then both the diagnostic and the repair will be under warranty. If (as we strongly suspect) the problem is unrelated to any repairs performed by Carfix, then repairs will be at our normal price points. No refund or credit to another facility will be issued. Thank you for your time in this matter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair Services, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Car Diagnosis Shops, Inspection Stations, Auto Repair - Tune-Up

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/02/2005Business started: 11/01/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2005, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Allen (Vice President)Mr. James Allen (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repair Services, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Car Diagnosis Shops, Inspection Stations, Auto Repair - Tune-Up

Products & Services

Carfix, Inc. offers automotive service and tires for domestic and import automobiles and light trucks. They also service duallys and some RV's.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

30 Month / 30,000 Mile warranty on parts and labor. Call for more details.

Service Area

Raleigh, Garner, Clayton, Fuquay Varina NC

Industry Tips
Car Service

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carfix, Inc.

248 Mast Dr

Garner, NC 27529-6720

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • PO Box 4670 

    Chapel Hill, NC 27515-4670

  • 248 Mast Dr 

    Garner, NC 27529-6720(919) 771-0300
    Fax: (919) 771-0731

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carfix, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Services

Car Service
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.