BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1989

Johnson Body Shop, Inc.

Phone: (919) 682-1090Fax: (919) 682-1627

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Disappointing work for my car: The color of painting doesn't match; obvious gap between the front bumper and the body; Failed to honor warranty.
I took my 2008 Honda CR-V to the bodyshop for replacing the front bumper on Aug 12th. I talked to ***** ******* and agreed to pay cash $650 for parts and labor. In the receipt it shows workfile id:: 0d30fea2. I paied the full amount of $650 got the car back on Aug 19th. I noticed there are two issues with their work:
1) The painting color of new bumper is different from the original color of the car significantly.
2) There is a gap between the bumper and the body of the car, and the left part of the bumper doesn't align with the body of the car.

I called the bodyshop and talked to some one else, the gentleman agreed and asked me to leave the car in the bodyshop for estimation. Later I got call from ***** *******. I was told they are not willing to fix the problem. The only thing they can offer is give me $100 back and let me take the car back they he hang up. I called him back a couple of times but never got replied. I am scared that they may do some bad thing with my car so I went to the bodyshop and got my car back and took the $100. Now I need to find another reliable body shop to fix the issue they caused.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******-owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@johnsonbodyshop.com
When Mr. **** came to ******* Body Shop his primary concern was to save as much money as possible. His front bumpers (2 pieces)and right fender needed to be replaced and his right front door and left fender needed to be blended. The core support and inner structure behind the bumper and headlights needed to be pulled, repaired and possibly some parts needed to be replaced. I personly explained this to Mr. **** and he was adament that he did not want to pay for all of this work. Mr. **** only wanted to replace his front bumpers using the cheapest parts we could find. ******* Body Shop agreed to help Mr.**** and we were able to re-attach his bumpers and save him the money he was so conerned about. After we completed the work Mr. **** suddenly wanted a perfect job and seemed to have completely forgotten about his main concern which was to save him as much money as possible. If he truely wants his car repaired back to it's orignal condition he should contact his insurance company and have them write a complete estimate. The insurance company can then contact us and we can confirm that he paid $550 so maybe he wouldn't have to pay his deductable for the additional repairs. Mr **** got a lot of work for only $550 since it was very difficult to re-attach his font bumpers without repairing the core support. We do over 2500 repairs a year and
customer satisfaction is very important to us. We are sorry there is a misunderstanding,however, we have done everything we can do for this customer. ****** *******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We appreciate the efforts on the resolution provided by ******* bodyshop and agree the the case can be closed.

Final Business Response
If Mr. **** believes he was willing to pay additional money and he was only waiting for our phone call then we have total misunderstanding. ******* Body Shop is going to refund Mr. **** the entire amount that he paid us. The check for $550 will be mailed to the address that is on this complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

02/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: This complaint relates to the body shop's incompetence, poor work quality, and inferior craftsmanship
This complaint relates to the quality of work done at Johnson Body Shop. I have had to take my car to their shop 4 times and the car is still not fixed properly. The shop was paid by my insurance company to repair the front bumper, passenger side cowl, and rear quarter panel (visit #1). The first time the car was returned to me after the work was "complete." They painted the quarter panel the wrong color white, got white paint or clear coat on the black roof of my car, ruined one of the stripes on the hood of my car, and there were bubbles in the paint on the cowl where they painted. The front bumper looked fine. I brought the car back to the shop (visit #2) and they repainted the quarter panel, which looked great. Because they ruined the front stripe, they had to replace the stripe decal and they got rid of the overspray on the roof. On my way home from the shop, I noticed that the interior door panel clip was broken and lying on the floor in my front seat. I drove back to the shop and was told that the piece was broken and they had to order the part. About a week later, the part came in and I brought it back to the shop to have it quickly installed (visit #3). After I returned home, I noticed that there was a narrow area on the cowl that was bare metal. There was an area on the edge of the hood approximately 0.5cm from the cowl that had an area of bare metal as well that was the same length and same appearance. The edges of these areas had some paint overspray but the rest of them was bare metal. Additionally, there was masking tape left on my hood near these areas. These areas of bare metal were not there prior to taking the car to the shop. I brought the car back to the shop (visit #4) to have these areas repaired. After picking up the car, the cowl area looks fine but the hood area is not fixed properly. I called the shop immediately and was told that they never painted my hood, I was being unreasonable, and that there are "other scratches on my hood." I know of every scratch on my car and know how they happened. When a scratch occurs because of something I did, I have to accept that. I should not have any marks on my car as the result of a body shop's incompetence or poor work quality. I do not understand how these areas of bare metal happened. All I know is that they were not there prior to bring the car to Johnson Body Shop and they were there after. On of the areas was on the panel they were supposed to pain and the other was a mirror image less than 1 cm away. I have only dealt with the owner of the shop and my car is still not fixed after almost 2 months and 4 trips to the body shop. I personally do not feel that I am being unreasonable. I want the car in the condition it was prior to the body shop messing up my hood and cowl. I have taken the car to them 4 times, taken time off work for each one of these, and have been patient with these issues. I have pictures of all of these issues and the terrible craftsmanship if needed.

Business' Initial Response

January 24, 2013

To Whom It May Concern:

Customer is correct when he states he had to return 4 times. We should have done a better job when we repaired his car the first time in November of 2012. We apologized and put him in a rental car for 3days from 11/26 thru 11/28. We repainted the right quarter panel, buffed the overspray off of the roof and buffed out a small piece of trash in the cowl panel. He also stated that we had ruined a decal on his hood because it had a small scratch. Even though I never believed we were responsible for the scratch on his decal we replaced the decal in an effort to satisfy our customer. When he picked up his car on 11/28 I personally went over the repairs with him and he seemed satisfied. He returned an hour later and showed me a small reflector that had fallen off of his right door interior trim. We bought the reflector and he returned a week later and we snapped it on his trim panel.

On 12/26/12 he e-mailed me a photo showing a scratch on the cowl and the hood. This was quite a surprise to me since there is no way we would have delivered the car with a scratch on his cowl panel. He was very unhappy and against my better judjment we provided him with a rental car for 3 days and repainted his cowl panel.

We did not paint his hood but we did touch up the back edge of the hood where the scratch was. When I wrote the original estimate on 11/1/12 I made a note that the hood had several scratches and nicks that were not a part of the accident. My partner went over the repairs with customer on 1/18/13 and he left satisfied. He called back later that day and said he wanted the hood painted not touched up since he believes we scratched his hood. He was going out of town for 5 days and he wanted us to provide him with a rental car while we painted his hood. My partner said that was an unreasonable request and we would not paint his hood nor would we provide him with a rental car.

We did make some mistakes with his repairs and we tried to correct them by redoing some of the repairs even though we felt we were not responsible for all of the problems. Our Warranty does not cover damages that occur after the car is delivered nor does it cover prior damages that were noted in the original estimate. Feel free to contact me if you need additional information.
Thanks,

Owner/ President


Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the shop's preposed resolution because the shop has not proposed a resolution.

I am very sorry that he feels that this "disagreement" is getting out of hand. I take a significant amount of pride in my car and this whole ordeal has been very upsetting. Given that he is in the business of working on/fixing cars, I assumed that he understands that people take pride in their vehicles and the condition of their cars. Evidently, my assumption is incorrect. I have a feeling that if someone damaged his property, his feelings would be different.

What he doesn't seem to understand is that this whole ordeal could have been avoided if his shop would have fixed my car correctly the first time and not caused additional damage to my car in the process. He had to put me in a rental car twice not because of something I did. He put me in a rental car twice because of the shop's poor workmanship.

I find it very ironic that he states that "disagreement and misunderstandings are common in the service industry . . . name calling and questioning someone's character makes it even harder to resolve problems." he has basically accused me of being a liar since the first time we met when I questioned the quality of his shop's work. Each time I have called him, he has questioned whether what I was saying was true and accurate. I sent e-mails with pictures and spoke with him on the phone, yet he would instruct me to bring the car in so he could inspect it and then make a decision about what needed to be done. He has never called me a liar, but his actions have spoken louder than his words. In the last response, he wrote "For the record we did not scratch the hood." Again, you can come to your own conclusions. I am telling you that the scratch was not there before the shop did their work and now it is. He is adamant that his shop did not scratch my hood. Who is questioning whose character?

Throughout all of this Johnny has never once apologized for anything. At one point he did tell me that he hoped I didn't need his body shop services again, but if I did, he hoped I would consider using theirs again. In the service industry, a simple apology goes a long way. Believe it or not, I am not an unreasonable person (as * said on my voicemail). I simply want my car fixed and in the condition it was prior to the initial accident. Given these communications, I assume there is no resolution to this issue. I guess the next step is to seek legal counsel. I will be submitting the photos as requested.

Business' Final Response

February 1, 2013

To Whom It May Concern:

My Goodness, I think this disagreement is getting a little out of hand. We replaced the hood decal because of the scratch not because of the overspray. The overspray that was on the hood decal could have been buffed off in one minute. the co-owner of Johnson Body Shop and * picked his car up * helped him. He personally cleaned the snow off of the cowl and the hood and personally showed him the painted cowl and the touched up hood. I am very sorry about the poor quality of the repairs on the original job. We tried to correct these problems by providing him with a rental car and redoing those areas that he was not satisfied with. With the exception of the scratch on the back edge of the hood, which we did touch up, I believe we have addressed his concerns.

I don't know how the hood was scratched nor did I notice the scratch when I went over the repairs and delivered his car on 11/28/12. This was after we repainted his quarter panel and buffed his roof and cowl panel. The first time I saw the scratch was when he e-mailed me a photo of the hood and cowl on 12/26/12. For the record we did not scratch the hood.

Disagreement and misunderstandings are common in the service industry and especially in the car repair business. Name calling and questioning someone's character makes it even harder to resolve the problems.
Thanks,
Owner/ President

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Shops, Wheel Alignment, Fr & Axle Service - Auto

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.