BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern North Carolina

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2004

B & S Body Shop, Inc.

Phone: (910) 347-4156Fax: (910) 347-7933View Additional Phone Numbers1675 N Marine Blvd, JacksonvilleNC 28546-6453 Send email to B & S Body Shop, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2004

BBB has determined that B & S Body Shop, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised B & S Body Shop, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/24/2012Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Paid this company to replace rusted metal, remove rust and paint my truck.
I paid this company to have rust on my truck removed and to have it repainted. I had to take it back to them twice within 2 months of them doing the work to have it fixed again because rust bubbles were appearing all over the truck. I no longer live in NC so I can't take it back again. My truck is now rusting worse than it was before I took it to them and the paint is literally pealing off of my truck and from this I can see that they didn't not sand the old paint prior to applying the new paint which is why the paint is now pealing!
B&S Body Shop was paid by me to replace metal, remove rust and paint my 2001 Dodge Ram in April 2010. I had to take the truck back to them 2 times for additional repairs/complaints on the work they done. The truck is more rusted now than when I took it to them and I have noticed that the paint is pealing off of my truck and underneath I can see the original paint which means they didn't even sand the truck prior to painting. All of the work they did looks worse now and I want a refund so that I can get my truck repaired correctly to stop the rust from getting any worse. I paid $2000 for this work to be done so not like it was just a little job.

Business' Initial Response
Anytime that we have worked on a vehicle to repair rust, we have never guaranteed that the rust would not come back. No one can make this guarantee. The customer was told this. We are sorry that she is again having problems with rust.
Rust is like a cancer, you can slow it down but you will never stop it.

Consumer's Final Response
I am not satisfied with this resolution. The truck started rusting within a month of getting it back. The main purpose that I took the truck to them was to have the rust removed and replaced with metal. He offered a deal on the rust removal and paint and I agreed to the amount of both. The truck now has rust where there was no rust before because of something they did wrong and the paint that they put on the truck is peeling off. I don't think this is acceptable when it all started showing up in less than a year after the work was done. I do not accept their asnwer at all. They did terrible work and ripped me off!

Business' Final Response
Again we are sorry she is having problems with rust, but as we said before we do not guarantee that rust will not come back. If the truck has rust where there was no rust before, how is that our fault? Rust is like a cancer it spreads.

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason why I have rust where I didn't have it before is because of the improper sanding and primer before the shotty paint job. Where the new metal was suppose to be put in as agreed when I took the truck to them for a quote is cracked because of shotty work and the paint job which the owner told me was guaranteed for life is literally pealing off of the truck! That is complete unacceptable. So I paid them $2000 for my truck to look decent for 1 1/2 months. Everything they did to my truck was terrible work! The original paint job looked better the paint job they were suppose to put on my truck! Oh by the way, you can see where they painted right over the old paint in areas and didn't even sand or prepair the surface first! Complete rip offs!

From Business:
We have repaired this vehicle twice, the second time at no cost to the customer. I put tigerhair, which is a rust prohibitor, and told the customer that I could not guarantee the rust would not come back.I have been here in business 40 years and have never guaranteed rust will not come back on vehicles. I discontinued trying to repair rust on vehicles for circumstances just like this one. It is like a eating cancer, you can slow it down but you cannot stop it once it get started.The truck in Ohio where ther is salt on the highways, salt will eat up even the newest of vehicles. I'm sorry the rust has come back, but the only way to get rid of the rust is to replace the entire panel.

From Consumer:
I understand the issue with the rust but I went to them to get a quote to get the metal replaced where it was rusting. Of course they repaired it a second time at no charge because they didn't do it right to begin with. But I was told the paint had a lifetime guarantee, as can be seen in the pictures, the paint is completely peeling off. That is not a very good job for someone who has been in the business for 40 years. I would never recommend this company to anyone. I know I got ripped off and I want to prevent it from happening to anyone else.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/06/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Body Shops, Wrecking Companies, Towing Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/14/2004Business started: 05/01/1988
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1988, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lemuel "Buddy" Hewitt (President)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Body Shops, Wrecking Companies, Towing Companies

Products & Services

B & S Body Shop, Inc. provides auto body paint and repair services. They also provide a wrecker service.

Industry Tips
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for B & S Body Shop, Inc.

1675 N Marine Blvd

Jacksonville, NC 28546-6453

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1675 N Marine Blvd 

    Jacksonville, NC 28546-6453(910) 347-4156

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Eastern North Carolina. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*B & S Body Shop, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (910) 347-4029
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on October 1, 2009.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Shops

The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.