BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Best Window & Door?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Best Window & Door

Phone: (814) 536-1422 Fax: (814) 536-2224 View Additional Phone Numbers 501 Broad St, Johnstown, PA 15906 http://www.bestwindowinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the manufacturing of windows & doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Window & Door meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Window & Door include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 18, 1989 Business started: 03/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA003910.

Business Management
Mr. Barry Ritko Jr., Vice President Mr. BJ Ritko Sr., President Ms. Tammy Burnheimer, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Ritko Jr., Vice President
Principal: Mr. BJ Ritko Sr., President
Business Category

WINDOWS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS AWNINGS & CANOPIES DOORS GLASS-BLOCK STORM WINDOWS & DOORS

Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows Home Improvements - Windows Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 501 Broad St

    Johnstown, PA 15906 (814) 536-1422

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 292-5594(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am placing this complaint for my mother ******* *******, 91 years old and same address as mine. Our problem is with the gutters that were put on in either April or May of 2010. The roof on the house is very steep and the covered gutters were not working. They came out several times and fixed that problem on 4/1/2011. That winter of 2011 I noticed that ices formed over the gutter (lots). ***** the person who is in charge explained that ice will form like that but if it's damaged they will fix it. We do have a life time warranty on the gutters. The falling year I noticed ice forming between the roof and gutter. I contacted Best Windows and ***** did not return my call but sent a picture of ice flowing over the gutters which isn't the problem we have. I got a little disgusted and let another year go by. 2013 we had the same problem but I didn't contact them again till Oct 2014 two times leaving messages with a man named *****. Never got a call. In first part of Nov the door department had to come out an fix one of the doors. I told him the problem and gave him a picture go give to ***** at a manager meeting on 11/11/2014. I have not heard from them and I told them I would report them to the BBB if I didn't get a response.

Desired Settlement: I want the gutters fixed and I feel it will take this complaint to the BBB to get any response. Thank you for your assistance.

Business Response:

The following is Best Window & Door Company’s response to the Better Business Bureau’s complaint dated 11/14/2014 and assigned ID *********

Best Window & Door Company received this complaint from the Better Business Bureau in the mail on Wednesday November 19, 2014. The company had already contacted Ms. ******* on Monday November 17,2014 regarding the scheduling of his outstanding service issue. She was available that morning for my installation crew to come inspect the issue as this was an ideal day to inspect the operation of the gutter system because of the steady rain we were experiencing.

Upon inspection, the gutter system was performing exactly as it should. The steady rain was flowing from the roof onto the gutter protection and directly into the gutter itself. The installation technician removed the gutter protection from the gutter and caulked the backside of the gutter where it meets the fascia. Although this was an unnecessary measure, this satisfied Mr. *******. The technicians could not find any areas of the gutter that showed rain getting behind the gutter.

In response to the Customer’s Statement of the Problem, Best Window & Door Co. did install new gutter and gutter protection for Ms. ******* ******* on 5/13/2010. After the installation was complete we did perform 4 service calls from May of 2010 through February 2012. All of the service requests came through Ms. ***** *******. Each of these phone requests were answered and had service technicians scheduled to inspect and fix any discrepancies. Best Window & Door Co. did find legitimate discrepancies due to the extreme pitch of the roof and the back angled pitch of the fascia board. During each of these service requests Ms. ******* agreed that the repairs performed were to her satisfaction.

Ms. ******* states “the falling (sic) year I noticed ice forming between the roof and gutter. I contacted Best Windows and ***** did not return my call sent a picture of ice flowing over the gutters which isn’t the problem we have”. After Best Window & Door Co. received this service call we mailed out our brochure that contains third-party, objectionable information about ice dams. What she had described to us on the phone was the exact definition of an ice dam.

Ms. ******* states “I got a little disgusted and let another year go by. 2013 we had the same problem but Ididn't contact them again till (sic) Oct 2014... ”. Our company cannot respond to issues if we do not know that there are issues to respond to. If the customer is upset and needs something addressed our company needs to be informed of it. Best Window & Door Co. cannot be at fault or take responsibility for a service discrepancy if there is not one recorded.

Ms. ******* states “I didn't contact them again till (sic) Oct 2014... ”. This is a correct statement. However, her service complaint was that she was experiencing “ice forming behind her gutter’’ did not make sense due to the fact that at this point in the year there had been no chance for ice or snow to form due to weather conditions. At this same timeframe, Mr. ******* called into Best Window to have a service technician inspect and issue she was experiencing with her storm door. She asked the receptionist if the door service tech, could inspect the gutter issue as well. The receptionist (*******) told her that the door service tech would not be able to “fix” any gutter issues. The door service tech, was schedule for Monday 11/3/14. Ms. ******* gave this service tech, a photo of her gutters. The photo was turned into management and the gutter department onTuesday 11/11/14. The photo in question has a date stamp of 2012.

In summary, Best Window & Door Company does not feel it was negligent in any way regarding the service request made by Ms. ***** ******* for the gutter contract of Ms. ******* *******. Best Window & Door Company considers this matter closed.

 



 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

  They have twisted everything I said and complained about.  I was not complaining about rain or ice over flow.  I complained about the ice that formed between the roof and gutter which isn't normal if the gutters are on properly.  What angered me was his neglect of returning my calls.  I wish I had kept better records and if I had any idea of the problems I was going to have I would have done a better job of writing down the dates.  I did tell them that the picture may have had the wrong date on it because I didn't realize that the date was incorrect on my camera and I wasn't sure when it occurred.  Why did he wait for a week to call me after he received the picture and the picture showed clearly the ice between the roof and gutter.  The worker said they may have forgot to caulk when they put the gutters up.  I won't know if the fix they did is going to work since we haven't had any freezing snowy weather.  They were very good when they first put the gutters on and they did have trouble because of the steepness of our roof.  Not my problem, theirs.  My mother paid extra for the covered gutters which they took off because of the roof but she was never reimbursed for the difference.  I never said anything because I felt they were doing what they could to get the gutters to work.  Shouldn't have been so understanding since their trying to make me look the fool.  I think a company should return a call to people who have been very good customers.  I will continue to call them if ice keeps forming between the roof and gutter.  The roof will be ruined if this continues and I will be very upset if that happens.  Thank you for your assistance.  Not sure what else can be done.  I just hope the caulking will work.

11/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Best Window to install gutters with gutter shields on 6/16/2014. Installation took 7-10 days and was completed on 8/13/2014 at which time the remainder of the costs were paid to the co with my check. There were potential deficiencies noted by the installers to the company regarding overflow of the gutters during heavier rain falls. The co. has been notified 4 times that they need to come and fix their installation. Gutters are still being overflowed or missed entirely and the company has done nothing to correct the discrepancies. Winter is upon us and the overflow will cause ice buildups in front of my garage door which was specifically discussed with the company and they assured me that it would be taken care of. It has not been corrected and it is now 3 months since the installation. The excuse is that they were busy with other jobs and I have been understanding up to this point. Now winter is upon us and it is snowing today. The melting of the precipitation is sufficient to miss or overflow the gutters. Poor customer service and lack of communication lead me to complain to the BBB in an effort to get the company to honor their end of the contract since I have honored mine.

Desired Settlement: Replace gutters that are insufficient with sufficient length and width to handle the water running off the roof as necessary to properly redirect the flow away from the house or return the cost of the installation.

Business Response:

The following is Best Window & Door Company’s response to the Better Business Bureau’s complaint dated 11/7/2014 and assigned ID *********

Best Window & Door Company received this complaint from the Better Business Bureau in the mail on Friday November 14, 2014. The company had already contacted Mr. ****** on Monday November 10, 2014 regarding the scheduling of his outstanding service issue. He was available the following day (Tuesday November 10, 2014) at which time I scheduled to have my technicians arrive at his residence at 8:30 am that morning. During this conversation Mr. ****** never mentioned his displeasure with our company nor his contacting the BBB.

Mr. ****** was satisfied with the services that were done to stop the overflow of water in the “valley” areas of his gutter.

Since the completion of the contracted work, between Best Window & Door Co. and Mr. ****** on August 13, 2014, every time that Mr. ****** called into the company with a question or a service related issue the company has responded promptly to his call and scheduled a technician to inspect the issue at his residence. The last phone call from Mr. ****** was received on October 13, 2014 in which he spoke with Best Window and Door Company’s General Manager. During this conversation the General Manager discussed the only remaining solution to his service issue and how it could be resolved. Mr. ****** agreed to this resolution. In addition, the General Manager asked Mr. ****** if he could be patient with Best Window and Door regarding the scheduling of this service. The reason being, that we had already scheduled many jobs out of the local area that needed to be completed. The General Manager assured Mr. ****** that we would complete his service before snow started to accumulate. Our company honored this statement.

Mr. ******’s “Desired Settlement” request is inaccurate as well. He states “Replace gutters that are insufficient with sufficient length and width to handle the water running off the roof as necessary to properly redirect the flow away from the house”, The issue he is experiencing cannot be controlled by adding length or width to the gutter. This has been explained to him by our gutter technicians on multiple occasions. The only way to stop on “overflow” at a corner is to install a diverter and this is what Mr. ****** agreed to have done and what our technicians installed on his gutters.

In summary, Best Window & Door Company does not feel it was negligent in any way regarding the contract agreed upon with Mr. ****** nor any of his service issues. All voice records and written logs are on file and available to confirm our prompt attention to Mr. ******.


 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, although I find some discrepancies it the company's response they did come after I contacted the BBB and I assumed that the response was due to my actions in that regard. The resolution to the problem is still open in my mind and only time will tell if the resolution is truly satisfactory to me.  Improvements have been made and the resolution is satisfactory for the moment.  

Regards,

***** ******

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After placing an order and signing a contract with this company, we decided we did not want the item. We felt that the salesman had mislead us. This past Friday someone came to do a final measurement (left papers behind for us to sign), and coincidentally we also received financing papers in the mail that same day. Upon receiving both sets of papers we began to feel as if we were not told everything about our financing and left us wondering what else we weren't told by the salesman. The salesman called me Saturday morning stating that we needed to resolve this issue so we can proceed because production would begin by the third day after measurement. I met with the owner of the company Monday to explain my side of the story, but again, reluctantly agreed to purchase the item. Later that day, 4:00 exactly, I called to cancel the item. A note was to be placed on the owner's desk indicating this. I was notified Tuesday around Noon by the owner that unfortunately, he hadn't arrived until around 11:30 and production had already begun. They had incurred costs of coming to measure and also "administrative costs." I asked for a total incurred, thinking I'd pay that amount and be done with it. It was then that I was told they did not need to provide me an itemization and they'd be keeping my entire $600 deposit. I do not want their window. I want my deposit back. They are clinging to the dates on the contract and indicating they do not have to refund. the owner assured me if I contact an attorney that I will lose the case in court. I am very disappointed and feel lied to and bullied by this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit returned. If they need to charge a REASONABLE amount for the man coming to measure, I am willing to pay that amount.

Business Response:

I received the Better Business Bureau (BBB) complaint (ref: ID ********) on August 28, 2014 in regards to Mrs. "C" (name of customer omitted per your direction for Web Posting) of *********, Pa. I intimately familiar with Mrs. "C" complaint and can provide a detailed explanation of the transaction that transpired and the company's position on this as I dealt with Mrs. "C" DIRECTLY. The response below is listed in Chronological Order with details to each section:

PART I: - CONTRACT AND SUPPORTING PAPERWORK:

A.      Mrs. "C" entered into a contract for ONE (1) large Two-Section Slider window (see picture attached). The agreed amount was $1428.00. Mrs.

"C" signed the contract on AUGUST 5, 2014.

B.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Mrs. "C" SIGNED THE TERMS OF CONTRACT (see attached document) which states all the TERMS she agreed to. Specifically, ITEM #3, which states that Best Window retains the right to hold the 30% if the contract is cancelled AFTER the Cancellation Period (three business days is over). Mrs. "C" states in her complaint that "she did not sign this". This is incorrect, she did. Again, refer to the attached document. (All signatures highlighted).                                             ¦

C.      Mrs. "C" SIGNED the NOTICE OF CANCELLATION for this agreed contract and this agreed amount (see attached). It was signed on August 5, 2014 with the Cancellation period ENDING August 8, 2014.

D.         Mrs. "C" was only asked to give a 301 deposit of the total which is $1428 x 30% = $428.40. Mrs. "C" opted to give $600.00 and leave a remaining balance of $828.00. This was agreed to by both parties.

E.      Mrs. "C" opted to FINANCE the balance of $828.00.

A.     Mrs. "C" applied for CREDIT APPROVAL (this is KEY to understand) through ***** *****. She provided our Sales Associate ALL of her personal information that she needed to get approval (see attached APPLICATION). The Application was submitted and she was approved for $8800.00.

B.                Mrs. "C" was approved at 6.9% APR at l/50th payments. This was ANNOTATED on the CONTRACT SHE SIGNED (see attached documents).

C.                                                                   ALL application processes were followed in Accordance with Company policy and ***** ***** requirements. The application COULD NOT be processed WITHOUT her INFORMATION which ONLY SHE KNOWS (SSN, Income, Etc.) ¦

D.     On August 15th, 2014 (Friday), one week after the Cancellation Period, the Remeasure was conducted at Mrs. "C's" residence for final numbers so that the unit COULD BE MANUFACTURED.

E.     Mrs. "C" received NOTICE of her FINANCE approval via mail on Saturday, August 16th IF SHE WANTED TO USE THE FINANCING. She still DID NOT sign neither the required "Cardholder Terms" nor the ***** ***** "Notice to Cancel/Invoice" document (see attached) that would execute her financing. So, her financing wasn't in place yet because we did not get her that paperwork or signatures yets. At this point she was just "APPROVED". No permanent financing was in place.

F.     The Application is for ***** ***** HOME PROJECTS — **** CREDIT CARD ACCOUNT. This is the area where Mrs. "C" has issue understanding. Mrs. "C" was approved to finance her $828.00 balance at l/50th payments (minimum) for however long she chose to pay it back. At a minimum monthly payment, it would take her 50 months. ALSO, as PART OF her contract Mrs. "C" was provided **** CREDIT CARDS by ***** *****, NOT BEST WINDOW, to USE IF SHE WANTED TO as a rotating Credit Card account up to $8800. She received THESE CARAD via the letter stating "Wef re Glad You're our Credit Card Customer".

A.     Mrs. "C" came to my Office on MONDAY, AUGUST 18, 2014 at approximately 100pm time frame. I spent about 20 to 30 minutes with her personally. She stated that she felt "misled". She brought her FINANCE APPROVAL letter stating **** Cards on it. AGAIN, I spent time with her explaining the ***** ***** program. I informed her that BEST WINDOW USES ***** *****. We cannot dictate their finance packages and that ALL our finance packages with all Financed Customers operate in this format. If shed didn't want to finance she didn't have to. She was simply approved. Mrs. "C" stated she wanted to cancel her finance paperwork. Best Window approved this. Since she was only "APPROVED" financing at this point, there was nothing to cancel. I also informed her that the Credit Cards she received could simply be "chopped up" and thrown away. They required "ACTIVATION" as stated on the sticker on the cards, to be used. If she didn't activate them, then they were just pieces of plastic.

B.     She asked me "WHY" I'm sending out Credit Cards to customers. I told her Best is not. It's ***** ***** providing this cards under the approval to finance their project with Best. I gave her an analogy of most finance companies. I told her many finance companies send "pre­approved Credit Cards in the mail". Some send them without one even applying for credit. This is what ***** ***** does. I told her SHE DOES NOT have to activate them and she can simply throw them away.

C.     I walked Mrs. "C" to our exit door personally. I looked her in the eye and I asked her, "ARE YOU HAPPY?", "ARE YOU COMFORTABLE?".... she stated "YES. We WANT the window." "We'll just get the money for the balance from somewhere else". I told her "OKAY, we will proceed". At that point, she left.

D.     At approximately 4:10 pm, Mrs. "C" called into the office. I was gone for the day. Per our voice recording (ON FILE AND AVAILABLE), Mrs. "C" asked directly for me. My Operator informed her I was gone for the day {this was accurate). Mrs. "C" explained to our Operator that she wanted "HOLD ON THE WINDOW FOR NOW" and to "LET ** KNOW".


A.     The next morning, Tuesday, August 19th, I arrived at my office at approximately 11:30am. On my desk was a note to contact Mrs. "C". Mrs. "C" and I talked and I told her that her CANCELLATION is TOO LATE. We remeasured her windows on the Friday, August 15th. The paperwork was turned in that late afternoon (8/15) and the unit was turned into production Tuesday morning at 700am. The Glass had been already made. At the time, I did not know, but the Vinyl for her window had been cut also (SEE ATTACHED PRODUCTION SHEETS for August 19th} .

B.     Mrs. "C" basically said she did not believe me. I told her, regardless, she was WELL Past her cancellation date of August 8th. She stated "not true". She stated her cancellation date was August 14th per her finance approval paperwork. I explained to her that her Cancellation Date was tied to the contract. The cancellation date on the ***** ***** application is a standard disclaimer on all WELLS documents which IS LEGAL for FINANCING. SHE DID NOT SIGN THE FINANCE PAPERWORK. THUS, her original NOTICE, ending on AUGUST 8th was active. As a further counterpoint, even if her Cancellation was August 14fc , it did not matter, because she notified us on August 18th.

C.     Mrs. "C" stated she wanted her deposit back. I told her

outright.."NO". I explained that we executed a lot work on her behalf and held to our obligations to the contract.

D.     Mrs. "C" stated she wanted everything "itemized" on the costs we extended and that she was getting an Attorney. I asked her "why"? I told her she was "completely overreacting". That I could not understand her constant anger and frustration. I told her lets just keep the contract, get her window installed, and she can deal directly with me, the owner. She said "NO".

E.     I told Mrs. "C" that her use of Attorney would be a "complete waste of time for her and I". I never said, per her words, she would "lose".

Via the documents and order of events, she is in the wrong. I also told her via the TERMS of Contract (see attached) which she signed, we did not have to give her back the 30% as we, again, extended services.

F.     Mrs. "C" stated we at least owed her the difference between the $600 and the 30% ($428.40) ...a difference of $171.60. I explained to Mrs. C. that more than $600 was spent towards as part of her window was made. She again pressed for an Itemization. I told her, we don't owe her that explanation. She then stated that she would pursue her Attorney and I told her to contact mine.

G.     She also mentions in her complaint about the estimated Start Dates. They are APPROXIMATE. It states 11/30/2011. This is a calculating error by the program. It is 11/30/2014. We are required by state law to put an "approximate" date work might begin.

A.     The units, again, were placed into production on Tuesday morning at 700am. The glass units were cut and set for assembly. The vinyl was pulled from the racks and cut for assembly. This material and effort is a waste now (See Attached Production Sheets)

******** ** ** *********** ** **** ******** ** ** ******* *** *** **** ******** ****** ******* ****** ****** ******* ******* *********** ** ****** ***** ********* * ***** ****** ********* *** **** * ******** ***** ******** ********** ***** ***** ***** ********* **********

The order of events has been provided. The details are in the explanation and the supporting documents. The fact is Mrs. "C" is trying to cancel AFTER her cancellation period has ended. She's asking for money that she is NOT DUE. Efforts were extended on her behalf by Best Window & Door Company to uphold our obligations.

Mrs. "C" was NEVER misled. That fact that she uses the terms "feels bullied" is QUITE ABSURD. I've spent MUCH time talking to her personally face-to-face and on the phone. I asked her if she was "COMFORTABLE" and "HAPPY" and did everything so assure she as okay with proceeding even AFTER the cancellation period has passed.

It is Mrs. "C's" fault that she cancelling so late. Her hand was NEVER forced to finance. She was APPROVED ONLY. She stated she wanted the window. She signed a CONTRACT. She signed a CANCELLATION. She signed the TERMS of CONTRAT. She remitted money.

Mrs. "C"'s argument of "three days to production" has no value. It is not Best Window's responsibility to answer to Mrs. "C" when and how we produce our products. Although we did produce within three days of measure, this means nothing. Our obligation to Mrs. "C" was to MAKE HER WINDOW in accordance with the agreed contract which we did. Her argument of cancelling has no value. Her calls and efforts to cancel are WELL PAST ALL THE CANCELLATION PERIODS.

Mrs. "C" was NEVER misled. How could I be possibly be misleading her if I personally spent 20-30 minutes with her ensuring she understood all items and making sure she was okay with the order? Not too mention the office phone calls? Every request she made was acted on promptly and addressed. She was never ignored and  pushed aside. We were ALWAYS hones with her.

This entire   process is misuse of the BBB process. The BBB process      is for

companies that take advantage of customers. We DID NOT do so in this instance. Mrs. "C" has reached out to the BBB in a final effort in hopes to get support for her money back.

Best Window   & Door Company WILL NOT remit Mrs. "C" any money back       on this

issue. She is   in debt to us for $29.19. We will take no further action      on

this issue and we will assume it's closed. If Mrs. "C" wishes to pursue legal means, or further action, we will respond accordingly with ALL TIMES and EFFORTS not included in this document in supporting our position.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** *********

 

 

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw this company's TV ad that said that if you call by a certain day they will sell you doors and windows "bogo," (buy one get one free). They would also come to my house and do a home inspection free just for calling, $350 value. I called them, I was needing a new front and back door. We set up an appointment for them to come out. Their salesman came out and ask what I was looking for? No inspection what-so-ever. We looked through his computer at what they had, and I picked out a front door. When we started looking for my free back door, he told me that I would have to pay additional for the installation of the back door. The price of the front door was to be $1,883 installed. I said how about a storm door for the front, they are cheaper and they was going to have to remove and re-install the old one anyway when they installed the new main front door. He stated that their storm doors was high priced and that I could get one much cheaper at a local home improvement store. I ask if my current storm doors, front and back could be repaired? He inspected them both and said they could fix them both. We agreed that they would install a new front door and repair my current storm doors (front and rear) in exchange for the free back door for the $1883 price. When their guy came to take measurements for the new front door he stated that they could not do the repairs to the storm doors and that he would call the salesman so we could discuss other options. I called the salesman later that evening, he had not yet talked with the measurement guy, but would call me the next day. He did not call the next day. The following day I called their office to cancel my order and request return of my $600 deposit. This company's BOGO is BOGUS.

Desired Settlement: I want my $600 deposit back and for this company to stop their false and deceiving advertising.

Business Response:

 

I have received and reviewed the complaint filed by Mr. *** ****** (**** *** *** *** ****** ** *****). After investigation into the matter, I offer the following response.

1.  Mr. ****** was visited by our Factory Representative on March 12, 2014 for interest in an Entry Door, possibly two.

2.  When our associate arrived, he acknowledges that he asked Mr. ****** "What are you looking to do today" and Mr. ****** lead him to his Entry Doors for replacement where the conversation began. Mr. ****** DID NOT state to our Associate that he would like to have the free home inspection done. Our Associate stated that he did not conduct the "Free In-Home Analysis" as he felt that Mr. ****** only was focused on his Entry Door replacement and Mr. ****** never mentioned it to him.

3.  The Associate did create various door designs for Mr. ****** of which he decided on the 400 style design (see attached). The full price with installation WITHOUT TRAVEL CHARGES should have been $2650.35.

4.  *****, West Virginia does have an applicable travel charge of 10% (See attached Map) for all sales which SHOULD have raised the price to $2915.38.

5.  Mr. ****** then expressed interest in possibly reducing the price of the project by just replacing the front door with a Storm Door. Our Associate was CORRECT and CARING in being honest with Mr. ****** that he could "acquire a Storm Door" much "Cheaper" from a home improvement center as our doors are "expensive" and can run up to "$1000.00 based on designs and styles".

6.   The Factory Associated DID acknowledge that he looked at the existing Storm Door and believed that Best Window could provide repair service to it.

7.   The contract was signed and agreed to for ONE DOOR at $1883.00 with repairs to the existing Storm Door.

8.   Via the TERMS OF SALE for the BOGO AD (see attached) Mr. ****** DID NOT QUALIFY for the BUY-ONE GET ONE SALE as he did not buy another door. HOWEVER, our Associate did deduct $1032.38 by discounting Mr. Mullen's door and WAIVING the Travel Fee.

9.   Upon measurement by our Technician, it was determined that Best Window DID NOT have the ability to repair the existing Storm Door as we do not carry the appropriate parts to do so correctly.

10.                  Mr. ****** NEVER contacted our office to explain that he

did not reach our Associate and that he had any questions or was dissatisfied.

11.               Mr. ****** contacted our office on March 19, 2014 to cancel the CONTRACT PAST THE THREE DAY RECISSION DATE/APPROVED CANCELLATION DATE. Best Window HAD ALREADY ORDERED THE DOOR UNIT.

12.               Mr. ****** was mailed his deposit back in the amount of $600 on March 28, 2014 (see attached check copy). And, the order was luckily cancelled in time before production on it was commenced.

SUMMARY:

The purpose of Mr. *******s BBB Complaint is not justified and is inappropriate.

1.   Mr. ****** did not qualify for the BOGO Sale via its terms.

2.   Mr. ****** was still awarded $1000.00 in savings by our Associate for his order.

3.   Mr. ****** never asked to have the Energy Analysis conducted when our Associate was there.

4.   Mr. ****** never contacted our Office stating ANY dissatisfaction nor requesting any explanations on pricing nor informed us that he desired the Free In-Home Analysis or that is "was not done."

We would have gladly sent an Associate back to him to conduct one had we known.

5.   Mr. ****** CANCELLED his order PAST the cancellation period. Best DID NOT have to honor this request but did so.

6.   Our Factory Associate only meant to help Mr. ****** by attempting to repair a broken door that is NOT of Best Window make.

7.                                                                                         Best Window DID NOT ignore the attempts to repair the door. We tried to during the measurement process but found that we did not have the parts to do so......................

8.   Best Window NEVER neglected Mr. ****** nor mistreated him nor overpriced or mislead him.

9.   Our BUY-ONE, GET-ONE Television Ad is very clear in requiring callers to call by Wednesday to receive the promotion. In addition it states to "visit mybestwindow.com for BOGO Sales Details" where the consumer can find the BOGO Terms of Sale for their personal review.

10.               Mr. ******'s deposit was returned.

In summary, Best Window & Door Company is confused as to where Mr. ****** was misled, mistreated, or taken advantage of during the sales process. In addition, Mr. ****** never contacted our Office directly to relay that he did not hear back from our Associate. And the delay in response from our Associate was only one day. It was not as if our Associate took weeks to respond. Mr. ****** only gave our Associate a day to respond and then apparently cancelled.

In addition, Mr. ****** never gave Best Window & Door Company ANY^ information that would indicate he was unhappy. How can we respond if we do not know he is unhappy?

Best Window & Door Company considers this matter closed. Mr. ****** has received his deposit back and we have honored a cancellation well past its approved period. Best Window & Door Company would gladly apologize to Mr. ****** for any wrong doings. But, Best Window & Door Company is very confused as to what it actually "did" that was "wrong"?

And, the BOGO Sale is not "BOGUS". Mr. ****** practically received it for only buying ONE door.

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The end of October 2013 we hired Best Window & Door Co. of Johnstown PA to install 10 windows and 1 big living room window. The cost came to $5810.00. We got the "**** **** SERIES. "When I came home from work and saw the new kitchen windows I told them immediately that I hated them. I asked them to put my old windows back in. The framing around the windows is ugly, the windows are more vinyl than window as compared to my old windows. Now that the weather is warmer I cannot even reach the top latch to unlock the windows to open the kitchen windows. I hate the kitchen windows. We believe that we were mislead. Best Windows salesmen promised us 2 things that were incorrect. He told us that all the new windows would NOT sweat, but they actually caused puddles of water on the wood window sills damaging the wood sill in the living room. He also told us that ALL of the J Channel would be replaced around ALL the windows, but installers only replaced three sides and not the bottoms, leaving them on and they are old and wavy. Also the installers replaced seven windows but when they got to the kitchen they did not remove all of the old window but installed new windows inside of the old frames. The installers told us that they could have installed a full size window but that the guy that measured sent the smaller window. If we had known that they were going to change their method when they got to the kitchen we would have said "Forget it, do not do the kitchen." They replaced the WHOLE window on the first seven, what was the big deal about "replacement" style windows when they got to the kitchen. The first seven were also replacement style windows. We paid $2000.00 on September 14, 2012 and we paid $3000.00 on 10/12/12. I called and wrote to Best Windows about the issues and said I would pay the rest of the bill when I'm satisfied with the service. They told me if I did not pay the balance that they would eliminate the warranty on my new windows. We have pictures if needed.

Desired Settlement: We want Best Windows to refund $1575.00 for the two kitchen windows and damage to the living room window sill and we want the J Channel job completed.

Business Response:

I have received and reviewed the complaint filed by Mr. & Mrs. *** ******* (*** ******* ******* ******** **). After investigation into the matter, I offer the following response.

  1. Attached to this response is written correspondence between Best Window & Door Company and Mr. & Mrs. *******. Mr. & Mrs. ******* have repeatedly raised issue to our company about non-issue items. As described in their complaint to the BBB, they raise issue with Window Condensation, Kitchen Window Finish, and J- Channel installation. As can be seen in our correspondences to them (see attached), we have made every effort to respond to them via response letter, phone call, in person meetings, and even mailed them supporting documentation. We have referred them to our website as well as recommended them to conduct third party research which would support our response and validate we are not "making stuff up".
  2. The simple fact is Mr. & Mrs. ******* doesn't want to agree or listen. We have explained over and over again that the window "sweating" is because of their home's environment. They have been encouraged to look this up for themselves on line for third party verification. Apparently they did not. We also supplied them a packet on this issues which explains "sweating" in great degree.
  3. They also make complaint about "window J-Channel" that our Installation Crew NEVER TOUCHED. The J-Channel issues they complain about was present the ENTIRE TIME they've had their home. Our Installation Crew NEVER TOUCHED the part of the window they complain about (the very bottom portion) during their installation as we did not need to disturb this area. This was explained over and over again to the *******'s. Now for some reason, it is Best Window's responsibility to repair it? And also, J-Channel removal and replacement was never mentioned or a condition of the contract.
  4. The Kitchen Window installation was explained to Mr. & Mrs. ******* IN PERSON (on site) as well as via written and phone response. Our Installation Manager had in-depth conversations with them on why the window was being installed the way it was. Mr. & Mrs. ******* were even offered a "change order" option to adjust the window installation utilizing another method. They did not accept (see attached documents). In any case, had the *******'s chosen another contractor, they would STILL have this type of installation conducted. It is a standard install and WELL within industry standards.

  5. Best Window & Door Company even offered to conduct the J-Channel adjustment for Mr. & Mrs. ******* when it fit our installation and route schedule. Although we had NO OBLIGATION to do this, we did so as a good-faith gesture. We went out to their residence in February to conduct the adjustment and Ms. ******* stopped our crew from fixing the J-Channel. She told them "if you are not here to replace the kitchen windows, you're not doing to fix anything." So, our crew departed without conducting any work.

    That is the last contact we had with the *******'s until this complaint.

    In final, Best Window & Door Company has made every effort in person, via phone, via written response, and third party recommendation to Mr. & Mrs. ******* about their repeated complaint. We are done answering their complaint as they are finding fault with our company when there is none. This response, as well as the attached supporting written correspondence, clearly indicates we've made efforts above and beyond to provide explanation and to appease our customer.

    Mr. & Mrs. ******* were never ignored in their issues nor ever asked to pay any money's beyond what our contract stated. They were expected to pay in full to complete their transaction. We informed the *******'s that we do not provide full warranty to customers who withhold payment without just cause. Their complaint was not viewed as a valid reason to withhold payment.

    Their complaint is not worthy of BBB involvement as they were never misled or misused. We will not reimburse any money's as we met the full scope of our contractual obligations nor will we conduct any further work.

5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service