BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Keystone Basement Systems and Structural Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Keystone Basement Systems and Structural Repair

Phone: (800) 771-3244 View Additional Phone Numbers 205 31st St, McKeesport, PA 15132 http://www.keystonebasementsystems.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Keystone Basement Systems is a full service basement waterproofing and foundation repair contractor.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Keystone Basement Systems and Structural Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Keystone Basement Systems and Structural Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 23, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2003 in PA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/hiccon.aspx?id=4502
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Aaron J Stull, Owner Mr. Josh English, Operations Manager Mrs. Marcia Pabis, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron J Stull, Owner
Business Category

WATERPROOFING CONTRACTORS DEHUMIDIFYING EQUIPMENT STRUCTURAL INTEGRATION BASEMENT - CONTRACTORS FOUNDATION REPAIR & HOUSE LEVELING BASEMENT WATERPROOFING DRAINAGE CONTRACTORS FOUNDATION CONTRACTORS

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Credit Cards and Financing Plans
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Basement Waterproofing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (724) 861-5233 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been calling Keystone and leaving messages for two whole weeks with no call back about these issues. 1.)Before signing the contract, I asked if Keystone subcontracts their jobs out. I was told no Keystone does not subcontract and they have their own employees who do all the work. I inquired further to make certain by asking if the crew is Keystone employees on payroll. I was told, yes they are their own employees a crew that does all of our work. When the crew came and did my job, they gave me a business card with a different company name on it. I never would have signed a contract with Keystone if they were upfront about subcontracting the job out. I was willing to sign a contract and pay higher than average for Keystone employees to do my job, not a subbed out job. I was misled.2.)The inspector proposed a contract to put an interior drain system and sump pump in one 12 x 11 section of my basement to keep my basement dry. However, I showed him two areas of my basement where water was leaking. He said the second area did not need an internal drain system or sump pump that it was just a minor drainage issue outside. When the crew installed my system, that they didnt understand why the inspector didnt include that section of my basement in the job and said it definitely needs the interior drain system as well and it is not a simple outside drainage issue. I never would have signed a contract to fix only half the basement.3.)Before I signed the contract, I was told that the drain would be tied into my existing drain system. It was not and the drain was put in the middle of my yard. The crew said they were not told to tie in.4.)The inspector quoted me $4600 and told me the crew would take two full days. As it turns out, as soon as the crew came to my house they looked at the job and said its an easy job and they would be done in less than one day. The crew was in fact done by 2:00pm. If I was told it was less than a 1day job, I wouldn'thave signed a $4600contract

Desired Settlement: 50% refund.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Customer Item #1 "Before signing the contract, I asked if Keystone subcontracts their jobs out. I was told no Keystone does not subcontract and they have their own employees who do all the work. I inquired further to make certain by asking if the crew is Keystone employees on payroll. I was told, yes they are their own employees a crew that does all of our work. When the crew came and did my job, they gave me a business card with a different company name on it. I never would have signed a contract with Keystone if they were upfront about subcontracting the job out. I was willing to sign a contract and pay higher than average for Keystone employees to do my job, not a subbed out job. I was misled."

Keystone Response - I would like to first state that we have both W2 employee crews as well as independent contractors.  Secondly, an inspector who is giving a quote in a home would have no knowledge of what crew would be assigned (W2 or Independent) to do the work later down the line.  The Production Manager would assign all projects.  Thirdly, regardless of whether a W2 or independent contractor performs the work, the price is the same.  Our pricing is based on a list price basis.  Just as the inspector does not know who will perform the work at the point of sale nor does the company. Thus our price structure is calculated in installation averages with inflation each year. 

Customer's response –It was stated to me that Keystone does not subcontract any jobs and signed the contract based on that false information.   I signed a contract in good faith that my work would be done by Keystone not a subcontractor.

Keystone - As stated before our firm has both full-time and independent contractors.  All that aside, Keystone Basement Systems provides the warranty for this work...regardless of what crew installed the system. Your warranty is exactly the same.  Thus, in summation, your warranty and system is the same regardless of the installer.  Moreover, as stated to the BBB, everything is working fine.  

Customer's response - I didn't state anything to the BBB about the function - it has not rained hard since to test the installed system. Again, I signed a contract for Keystone to do the work, not a subcontractor.  Because I was lied to, I had to opportunity to do a background check of the subcontractor.  I left my house and offered up use of my bathroom in trust that they were Keystone employees and they were not - I had no knowledge of the subcontractor company's work quality, standards or ethics.  These things and peace of mind are what I paid for.  That fairly justifies a partial refund request. 

___________________________

Customer Item #2 - "The inspector proposed a contract to put an interior drain system and sump pump in one 12 x 11 section of my basement to keep my basement dry. However, I showed him two areas of my basement where water was leaking. He said the second area did not need an internal drain system or sump pump that it was just a minor drainage issue outside. When the crew installed my system, that they didn't understand why the inspector didn't include that section of my basement in the job and said it definitely needs the interior drain system as well and it is not a simple outside drainage issue. I never would have signed a contract to fix only half the basement."

Keystone Response - As we all know in matters of contention such as this, the contract is the instrument we should use to discern what was or was not promised.  We have attached a copy to buttress all of our claims as this matter is very cut and dry.  First, if you look at the "Water Management" section you will see the warranty written clearly and concisely on the signed contract.  It states that only the areas where Keystone fixed would be under warranty.  Second, as is the case with many industries, you don't know all of the damage that exists until you remove the concrete floor and investigate the real problem that was hidden.  Our inspectors are very good but they cannot see what is happening under a concrete slab.  Rather than be the type of company that operates under the premise "when in doubt sell something to the client" we operate under the premise of "fix the known problems.  Then, after new information is ascertained, re-assess."  This saves the customer money and avoids them purchasing things they do not need.  Think about it for a second...auto mechanics, doctors, lawyers, builders and every other industry gives an initial scope of work and things change as the project progresses.  This is no different...except we didn't contractually obligate you to spend an unknown sum of money based on what we found.  We find the damage, report it to you, and go from that point because we feel that is THE FAIR THING TO DO.  We stand behind that practice and don't apologize for it.

Customers Response –    Keystone’s response was, “Our inspectors are very good but they cannot see what is happening under a concrete slab”.  The water problem in the second area was fully visible to the inspector (see attached picture) - all the mortar between the blocks showed signs of water in addition to the water leaking where the wall and the floor meet.  It was clearly pointed out to me by the subcontractor crew after my job was complete – and all three members of the crew agreed - that this problem could only be resolved with an interior drain and pump system  and that the contract should have included that section.  I was given information from the Keystone inspector that the second area with leakage was only a minor drainage issue outside. Had I been told before I signed the contract that both areas needed drain and pump systems, it would clearly have been over my budget and I would have never went forward to correct only half of my wet basement.  The job was underestimated. No mention from the inspector was made that Keystone would come dig up my foundation in the second area to find and assess water damage as they stated  “We find the damage, report it to you, and go from that point because we feel that is THE FAIR THING TO DO”.  The inspector’s opinion without any uncertainty explained to me was simply that a drain system was not needed and I trusted his knowledge.

Keystone - I believe the above response more than adequately applies to the rehash of this point.  Moreover, I stand firmly behind the policy.

Customer's response - Again, I never would have signed a contract to fix half of my wet basement.  Now they are asking for more money to do additional work that they originally told me would not need done.

_____________________________

Customer Item #3 "Before I signed the contract, I was told that the drain would be tied into my existing drain system. It was not and the drain was put in the middle of my yard. The crew said they were not told to tie in."

Keystone Response - Discharges for pumps and rain/ground water are controlled by the borough.  We have no discretion over this.  Where you live dictates this.  Thus, as any company who operates in a large geographical area would do, we explain in detail on the terms and conditions of your contract that the discharge will be done in accordance to code requirement...whatever that may be.

Customer’s response – What code in my Borough kept Keystone from tying into my existing drain system as I expected from the conversation with the inspector?

Keystone - In *********** we have to discharge rain water/ground water into a functioning downspout that is code approved not to empty into a sanitary sewer or create ice concerns in the winter or discharge the water within the property lines of the home.  When we ran a hose into your downspout it was not accepting the water at a rate acceptable to integrate a high powered pumping station into.  Thus the downspout was no longer a viable option.  At that point we ran the discharge line 16 feet to daylight.  The ironic thing about that point is that we did that additional 16 feet for free and didn't charge you for the extra labor and material.  

Customer's response - I talked to the subcontractor company Keystone paid do my job.  I asked why wasn't it tied in to my drain system and the contractor said simply because Keystone didn't tell them to.  This also warrants a partial refund.

________________________

Customer Item #4 "The inspector quoted me $4600 and told me the crew would take two full days. As it turns out, as soon as the crew came to my house they looked at the job and said its an easy job and they would be done in less than one day. The crew was in fact done by 2:00pm. If I was told it was less than a 1day job, I wouldn't have signed a $4600contract"

Keystone Response - Our jobs are not priced by the hour, they are priced by the job.  Hence the contract was for a total dollar amount ($4600) rather than a price per hour.  As you will see in the contract we state a scope of work and give a price to perform that work.  This work was done in accordance with the contract.  We are not sure what else can be said about that as it is clearly stated on the contract.

Customer’s response – The contract amount was agreed to in good faith based on the information the inspector gave on how long the scope of the work would take to complete.  Anyone is willing to pay more for a two-day job compared to a one-day job.  The crew knew at the start of the project is wasn’t even one full day’s work.

Keystone - Once again, the above response more than adequately addresses the rehashed question.  

Customer's response - The Keystone inspector made the job seem more labor intense than it was.  They should have said it may take less than one day or two full days. That would have affected the amount I was willing to pay.  But, they instead they said its a full two day job. I don't think that is right.

__________

Keystone’s additional items:

After reading this complaint one could get the impression that we are not handling an issue with an upset customer.  As I am sure the reader of this note at the BBB understands, there are two sides to every story.  Not only did we visit ********** home a few days after the complaint, we have had phone conversations with her about this very matter.  With that said, at the advice of our lawyer, we stopped communicating with ********.  The reason is due to the untrue posting of what has transpired between both parties on public forums.  Our lawyer does not feel that ****** is allowing for reasonable response times to questions and will be handling the matter for us from this point.  Thank you.

Customer’s response to additional items:

Keystone states they stopped communicating with me because I posted something untrue on public forums.

1.       False: I posted true statements, attached. May I ask what is untrue? 

2.       False: I posted on one public forum (Their Facebook page), not plural forums.

3.       False: they claim they stopped communications because of the post when in fact, the post was only made after my calls weren’t returned.  I was promised a call on May 30th and I didn’t post to Facebook until June 5th which I did only because my calls were not returned.  That is not a reasonable response time.

Customer’s Additional Items:

The subcontracted crew also stated to me that for the price Keystone charged me, it should have included the entire basement, not just a 12 x 11 section.


Keystone - I would respond by stating that we were contracted to perform work as per the signed contract agreement.  We fulfilled that contract and the system is working as verified by the customer.  We did not change the price, change the scope of work, do bad work, act unprofessional, use poor quality materials or do anything different than what both parties agreed upon.  It seems that the client is upset at who did the work...although the work is completely under warranty.  She is concerned with how much work was done...although we did the exact scope of work on the contract and it is working great.  She is upset with where the water is discharging...even though we cant control if he downspout is non-functional and did extra work for free to ensure it is in proper working order and code compliant and she is upset at how long the job took even though the contract clearly stated what we were doing and for what amount.  

Customer's response. 

Keystone did not even respond to my complaint about how they accused me of lying on "public forums", this is certainly acting unprofessional.  Everything was documented, attached to my complaint, and true. 

Again, I absolutely did not verify the system works - I will not know until it rains hard again.  Keystone cannot claim "it's working great" when it hasn't even been tested by rain.

Again, the contractor that Keystone paid to do my job said they simply were not told by Keystone to tie into my drain system so they put it in the yard. 

I want a partial refund for being mislead on the contract with regard to the issues and work as outlined above.

Regards,

**** **********

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

3/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3/5/14-Salesperson used very high pressure sales tactics & scare tactics wanting me to sign contract on the spot. I stated several times I was not going to make decison on the spot & also told him I did not appreciate his high pressure sales approach.I received a follow up call(3/7/14) from sales manger *****- explained things to her. Several times she asked if she could send out a different saleman and I told her NO. She asked if it would be okay to call back in a week or 2. I told her NO, if I were interested in using their company I would contact them.Today-3/13/14 Keystone came up on caller ID @ my place of employment. I was working & unable to answer phone. Within 10-15 minutes of said phone call I received an email from Keystone @ my work email address.I feel this is a form of harrasement as I already told ***** from Keystone NOT to contact me, that I would contact them if I were interesed in using their company/services

Desired Settlement: I have not paid them anything therfore as far as I am aware no monetary settlement can be made

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern;

 
After speaking with the inspector who performed your diagnostic, he feels very different about the situation.  The first thing that should be mentioned is that you contacted us to perform an inspection at your home because you have a problem that you wanted evaluated.  This was not a "cold call" or an unwanted solicitation. Secondly, the inspection was performed at no cost.  After the inspection you were presented a repair plan.  The price and scope of work is valid for 30 days.  This is the case with all non-emergency situation and is a company policy. 
 
There was a situational discount available because your project was of similar size to another that had moved to the next month.  Thus we were offering a discount to anyone who filled it.  The discount was not offered to you alone.  Rather it was offered by the Production Manager to all inspectors that morning in our daily meeting.  The discount was first come, first served.  I apologize if this implied pressure.  I assure you it was situational.  With that said, as is our company policy, the price and scope of work we presented to you is valid for 30 days. 
 
In regard to calling your business, that is the number you provided us.  How else would we have it?  You gave us that number as a proper contact number to reach you.  Moreover, we had used that number before when scheduling with you so it was reasonable to assume it was valid to reach out to you afterwards.  In regards to the nature of the call, we were nearly performing a recap call to see if the inspector answered all of your questions.  We do this for every inspection as it is not only good business practice but a good means of quality control.  
 
Lastly, we have removed your account and retracted our proposal.  Thus you will no longer receive calls from our firm.  We are sorry that you misinterpreted us and had a negative experience. 
 
Best of luck. 

Consumer Response:

I do NOT dispute the fact that I did contact your company for a free in home inspection. I was displeased with the Scare tactics such as the Saleman bringing out is IPAD bringing up the weather channel with the weather forecast showing the temperatures were going to rise into the 50's the next couple of days & I was going to have allthe snow & ice melt running off right down into the foundation of my house making things worse & then might not be able to be repaired and High Pressure sales tactics to sign on the dotted line that night ,stating the offer was only good while he was there in my home. I told him 3 times I was not going to make a decision that night & told him I didn't apprciate him trying to pressure me into signing that night & trying to scaring me into signing as if the snow & ice melt runoff  was going to cause my house to crumble overnight.

Further more a followup call was made 2 days later by ***** from Keystone. She asked me 3 times if she could send out another inspector & I told her repeatedly NO. She asked if she could give me a followup call in a week or 2 and "I clearly stated NO. I said if I am interested in using your company or services I would contact you." That being said there should NOT have been any more calls to me on my private number which they also had , but especially not at my place of employment!?

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

2/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Keystone Basement came on 12/31/13 with two sales men. Sold system no changes to basement floor other than color where new ditch, black membrane along the wall, sump pump where they place it and being a dry basement. Their crews used a dustless jack hammer with shop vac so there would be no dust. There was an area with a toilet that was going to possibly moved and they said no problem crews have fittings to fix that. Paid half that day to start work on 1/6/14. They left no contract that day either. 1/6/14 no show, loss of time with my work, they explained break down pickup. 1/7/14 Eric contractor said it being cold now show (ok agreed)Worked 8,9,10,13& finished 14th. What was left behind, mud smear and chunks throughout the garage & basement. a 2 to 1.5" rise all around basement wall, that nothing can be set against the wall w/o major tilt and my washer falls off blocks due to slope left, crew broke 2 lights with out saying anything, unplugged dog system shocking my dog repeatedly, my basement was flooded due to them not securing a drain line, exterior sump pump pipe has a T in the yard where the mower can hit it, electrical wires where left hanging, electrical boxes left with covers off , cement has blemishes, pock mars, and wholes. I asked them to go over again and they did, but still has places, toilet will not set level, did not do total footage that was proposed, crew left trash and waste material around the house, pile of gravel left behind. within 2 days contact for inspection.1/17/14 same two sales guys came out I walked through and showed and told them the issues. There reply was I would here soon by 1st of week, they wanted to get a resolve. nothing for a week 1/24/14 voice mail to call keystone office around 3:25 pm. Due to work didnt get them called back till Monday. 11/27/14, they wanted punch list, Sales men should have it but I would try to get to them as soon as I could. Work reasons I emailed them 1/29/14 telling them I was working on it. 1/30/14 I called and they said they pasted it on.

Desired Settlement: At this point being threatened to be sued I dont want them back in my house ever, I think they are a company that does not stand behind what their sales men say or promise. they got payment of $5000 voucher + $2000 cash. the $2000 left they dont ever have to worry about there warranty. Cause I never got a contract any way!

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

 
As one who reviews complaints for the BBB, I am sure that you see a large number of complaints where communication is the primary reason for friction between customer and company.  I am fairly sure that you see a lot of situations where communication is one sided and a break down occurs.  I would venture to guess that most of the time you observe a customer trying to get in touch with a company who is blowing them off.  Well this IS NOT one of those cases.  In fact, the complete opposite is true in this case.  Please let me explain.
 
Our firm performed work for Mr. ******.  At the end of the job, during the "Final Walk Through" Mr. ****** voiced some concerns and said he would not pay the balance until they were addressed...which is fine.  This is the exact reason for a quality control mechanism like a final walk through.  Mr. ****** verbally explained to the foreman his concerns.  The foreman then relayed them to our Production Manager, Mr. ****** *******.  After management reviewed them we found that some were legitimate and part of the contract.  Others were not.  Because of this confusion we determined the best thing to do would be to send out the original inspector who had met with Mr. ****** and had explained to him the job and had executed the contract.  Unfortunately, after this meeting we were more confused because the list of concerns had changed and there were more items that were not part of the contract.  In fact, some items are not even services Keystone offers!
 
In light of this Mr. ****** ******* thought he should talk to Mr. ******...and here is where things broke down.  Our office tried to contact Mr. ****** and get to the bottom of this for more than a week without ANY communication from Mr. ******.  Please keep in mind we do not have Mr. ******'s money at this point...he is still retaining the balance owed.  Eventually with no communication from Mr. ****** we took the only action we could...to have our lawyer get involved.
 
We wanted our lawyer to have Mr. ****** create a simple and consistent list of concerns.  Without this list how can we satisfy the customer?  I have attached this letter for your review to show you our lawyer was simply trying to get on the same page as Mr. ******...which I am sure you will agree is a common sense approach to a problem.  
 
Lastly, Mr. ****** finally called two days ago.  When he did we informed him that we have our lawyer involved to help end this matter.  At that point he immediately filed a complaint.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I had Keystone out to give us an estimate of waterproofing our basement. During the estimate we discussed financing in great detail. This was going to be one of our largest purchases besides a car or house. Our field agent, **** *****, told us what our payment would be per month and that it would take 6 years to pay off once the total price was decided. The work was completed and we were charged (through ** *******). We received our first statement and were shocked to see that if we pay the amount **** specified, it would take over 11 years to pay it off!! This was not what we signed up for. I sent an email to **** asking him to look into it on Monday Dec 2nd asking him to look into it. I hadn't heard back from him so on Friday the 6th, I called to make sure he received the email. He said he had and that he was working on it but they were just extremely busy. Understandable. I still hadn't heard ANYTHING so on Thursday Dec 12th, I sent him another email checking the status. No reply. Sent another email on Monday Dec 16th (2 weeks after the issue arose) with no reply. I finally got so fed up I called the Owner on Monday the 16th - he was unavailable so I left a message to call me back. Heard nothing. Tuesday the 17th I called the Operations Manager and left a message... again, heard nothing. This company will not call me or email me back. We're talking a difference of $100 and some odd dollars per month (what we were originally promised) vs. over $400 to get it paid off in 6 years. We can't afford that and would have never agreed to it. I didn't and still don't expect the issue to be resolved immediately but do expect acknowledgement of the issue and to know that we are a priority. Right now, I feel like Keystone wants to push us under the rug and hope we back down. This is completely unacceptable for any business to not get back to a customer in over 3 weeks (especially after calling your "salesman", the Owner and the Operations Manager).

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything, just want other customers to be advised of this service issue that's HUGE - it's called communication

Business Response: My name is ***** ***** and I am the owner of Keystone Basement Systems.  After looking into the matter I believe I know what the issue is with this matter and I would love to explain.

 
I first want to explain the relationship between Keystone and ******* ********.  Keystone is a local company out of McKeesport.  We do not have any "in-house" financing.  We use ******* ********.  ** ******* is a 3rd party financier.  Naturally, as I am sure everyone would understand, ** tells us how things go and not the other way around.  
 
** provides our company with 4 options for our customers.  Plan 600, 601, 602 and 603.  Each one is different.  In a basic sense it goes like this:
 
600 = 12 months with no interest, but has the highest monthly payment...if only the minimum is paid
601 = About a 3 year pay off with a reduced monthly payment...if only the minimum is paid
602 = About 5-6 year to pay off with an even smaller payment...if only the minimum is paid
603 = About a 10.5 year pay off with a very, very low payment...if only the minimum is paid
 
I am sure that **** discussed options when he was in the home.  That happens in almost every case.  But one thing that is for certain is that the finance paperwork from ******* ******** is not only up to industry regulations but it is very clear about the nature of the finance relationship between ******* ******** and the customer.  
 
Now, with all that said, I do feel bad that the customer was under the impression had this false impression...even though the finance contract is clearly written.  Additionally, I looked back at the finance paperwork and everything is in perfect order on it.  
 
I would want to bring up one point that should not be lost here, this can be paid off in whatever duration the customer chooses.  ** does NOT have pre-payment penalties.  Therefore, they can take the balance, divide by 72 months and that will more or less equal the payment needed to pay it off in 6 years.  The customer will incur no early payment fees whatsoever for this.
 
Sincerely,
***** *****
President
Keystone Basement Systems, Inc.

Consumer Response:

As noted in the complaint, the finance situation has been rectified and my contact to the BBB was regarding the service I received (or should say didn't receive).  This is not about the financing.  If a customer has a question, regardless if you provide financing in house or through **, you need to explain it to them or help them find the answers.  My calls and emails were all ignored.  *****, the owner of Keystone, had no problem explaining his stand to the BBB and the problem wouldn't have gotten this far had he simply explained the same thing to me.  I left several messages with the company to have SOMEONE, ANYONE, call me back regarding my questions.  I was not hostile.  I didn't harass and continually call.  I was inquiring.  I will never recommend this company to anyone else due to this reason.  

Along the lines of the financing however, **** did give us a strict $ per month we would pay to pay it off in 6 years.  He also did mention that we could pay it off early with no penalty.  We were confused when we received the bill from ** and had questions.  That's all.  Someone should have gotten back to us.  As an owner, ***** should be mortified about the negligence to a paying customer.  I get more respect when my $5 order at McDonald's is incorrect than I did with a $8500 purchase from Keystone.  

Regards,

******* *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contracted with Keystone because of dampness in our old home basement. Work was to start on app Sept 16 and complete app Oct 17th. It was in the contract that we signed. About a week later we received a message from **** regarding a crew situation. He stated, "We had a crew who had a family issue and is taking an extended leave of absence from us. We are in the process of hiring a new crew and in the meantime we do have to change around our calander. (We were not even asked what dates were good for us.) A firm date we have for you is October 28. We are in the process of getting another crew and when we have them trained, you are at the top of the list. Because of the breach in the contract, regarding the dates we told them we wanted our money back. We are having company from FL and do not want some new trainees learning the trade on our home. The company had a bad experience with crew members and are trying to make us pay. The had and attorney send us a letter stating the claims of contractual breach was erroneous. Not so as I called an attorney today and the attorney agreed a breach was committed as far as the dates. Keystone's attorney stated that our refund would be only $220.10. Our down payment was $2,600. Think twice before you sign anything with this company.

Desired Settlement: All we want is a total refund of our down payment in the amount of $2,600 (two-thousand six hundred dollars.)

Consumer Response: 12/2/13

This is to notify you to dismiss our claim against Keystone Basement . The matter has been resolved between the two parties, and can now be marked as satisfied.
 
Thank you,
***** *** ***** ****

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter has been created as a response to the BBB Complaint submitted by ***** ** ****. 1 will address each claim as well as our forma! intentions on the matter.

1.                    Approximate Date of Installation

Our installment contract has an approximate start date noted on the front. As stated, the dates are "approximate” and not absolute. I will attach the contract agreement between Mr. **** and Keystone Basement Systems, Inc. (KBS) as verification of this.

2.                    Claim of Using a "New Crew in Training" on Mr. ****’s Project

We have, nor have ever had, any intention of using a new crew on this or any other project that we are under legal contract to complete. It is true that we did have one crew leave the company, which required us to locate and train a new crew, but this team is NOT performing "on the job training" nor will they be used on Mr. ****'s project.

Additionally, as a sign of good faith, I will allot my most senior foreman and crew for Mr. ****'s project to ensure that he gets the very best that we have to offer. Additionally, to ensure that this will be done, f would have no problem arranging a

Mr. **** can see that they are very skilled and not “trainees.”

3.       Refund of Down Payment / Cancellation of Contract

Mr. **** is completely within his right to cancel the contract for work at his home. With that said, based on terms of the contract, KBS is entitled to 30% of the contract

amount as liquidated damages as per term #18. Whereas Mr. **** has attached just the front of the contract when he submitted his complaint, we will submit both the front and the reverse so that a full understanding of the contract can be understood and appreciated.

In closing, this matter has been turned over to our corporate attorney Mr. **** ************, Esq. who will be handling all communication for this matter for KBS. Mr. **** has been furnished Mr. ************** information. Thank you.

 

 

***** ***** President

Keystone Basement Systems, Inc.


BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1