Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Salem Halal Market & Grill

Phone: (412) 235-7828 Fax: (412) 235-7934 2923 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15201

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.



BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Salem Halal Market & Grill
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 06, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1983 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture - Retail Food Facilities & Restaurants
2301 North Cameron Street , Harrisburg PA 17110
Phone Number: (717) 787-4737
The number is In Compliance.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Abdul Salem, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Abdul Salem, Owner
Business Category


Additional Locations


    2923 Penn Ave

    Pittsburgh, PA 15201


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yesterday, June 29th around 8:30, 2 friends, my boyfriend, and I went to Salem's for their buffet hour. It was a spontaneous dinner. I was not that hungry, but I wanted to spend time with my friends and of course, my boyfriend. When we arrived to the restaurant, my 2 friends paid for their buffet and since the buffet was not very vegetarian friendly and the price was bout $15, I didn't want to pay for the buffet. And besides, I wasn't that hungry. I asked if I could order a falafel sandwich to which I was told "no". Then I asked if I could buy a baba ganoush, so I could accompany my friends to eat, the man in the cashiers said "no". I tried to explain to him that I wasn't that hungry, but that I still wanted to eat something and that the buffet was too expensive for my options available. He said that the buffet had some vegetables and humus. I told him that I didn't want to pay $15 for vegetables and humus. So I asked to buy a baba ganoush, which were already prepared and displayed. Then he proceed to tell me that I couldn't stay and occupy a chair if I was not going to pay for the buffet. I asked why not? I still want to consume and the product is already available on your display? The man said that each chair was very valuable and that I could not use one of their chairs. That the chairs were only for buffet paying clients. He didn't allow me to use one of their chairs even though I had the intention to consume their available products on display. It was very disappointing on the bases for why I was refused a chair. I feel I was refused a service, which was available and the time to spend with my friends. My boyfriend and I ended up leaving. Since my friends had already paid for the buffet, they stayed. We had to go look for another place to have dinner. I believe it was a very irrational and unfair way of treating a client. I was not rude to him or anything to have been treated like that. When we were leaving the place, I asked some of the workers who was the manager of the restaurant because I wanted to complain there in persons. It turned out that the man who refused me service and a valuable chair is the manager. That's why I opted to contact the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this business not to treat clients like the way they treated me. It was a very bad experience. I was still going to consume. They need to trust their clients. Paying customers regardless of buffet consumption, should be allowed to sit. Should be allowed to have a nice time with friends or family when going out for dinner. Not being separated and having them experience something like this.

Business Response:

COMPLAINT ID# ********

To whom it may concern,

This letter is in response, to the recent complaint (complaint ID *********, let us first point out the fact, that our buffet is not part of our normal dinner services and also after closing time of the restaraunt. Our normal hours of operation are 11am-8pm Monday through Saturday, and 12pm-6pm on Sunday. It should be noted that we have been open since 1983 this is our first complaint. We are a Halal Market&Grill. That being the case, During the month of Ramadan, we offer buffet after, regular hours as a bonus for these who may have missed lunch. The time of breaking the fast is approximately 8:50pm, and that is beyond our normal operating hours. What we do is actually close the kitchen down and stop taking orders at the normal time of 8pm (we actually stop taking grill orders 15 min before closing). We allow all remaining customers to finish their meals, and we start serving buffet from 8:30pm to 10pm. Of course, our buffet is open to everyone. We don't discriminate. People of ail races and religions join us for our buffet. In fact, they took forward to it all year long. People ask us for months prior; when is buffet going to start? The people from the bar across the street all come over for buffet at starting time. Our customers will  skip lunch so they can enjoy buffet. Every year during this one month, we are extremely busy at buffet time every single  night. On average, we have standing room only by 9pm. The Customer arrived on a Wednesday at 8:50 pm as seats were already very full and customers were lining up for the buffet. Please note there are signs at the front door, at the cashier, and all along the buffet stating the rules and clearly stating that regular menu will not be available for eat in or to go after 8 pm (I have also attached a copy of the sign that is hanging everywhere). If the customer had arrived before 8pm we would have gladly served her a falafel or baba ghanoush or whatever else she liked. 

The fact that she was not able to purchase those items at 8:30pm was in-line with our normal procedure based on our hours of operation, and we had very clear signage posted, that was clearly visible stating that fact. We don’t feel that it is irrational or unfair to ask that any person that is occupying a seat must pay for buffet. As this is standard practice for any buffet, anywhere in the world. Again, our buffet service is only for 1 hour and 30 minutes, and during the majority of that time, there is standing room only. In her complaint, customer stated that she was disappointed that she was refused a chair. In fact, she was not refused, but she was unwilling to pay for a chair. It is also ironic that she was a guest among many friends that all paid for buffet except her. She was actually a guest and her host was already paying for her but she refused to let him pay she told she didn’t want to eat. He tried many times to pay for her buffet but she refused. She stated in her-complaint  that she felt that she was denied a service. We would have been happy to serve her, but we only serve paying customers. She stated that she was denied the time to spend with her friends. Really, she must not have felt that their time was worth $13.99 the price of our buffet. In her complaint, she clearly stated that she was unwilling to pay, but actually, her friends who accompanied her offered to pay and she refused. The customer stated that she was unwilling to pay $15 for vegetables, and hummus. About this, she was not fully correct because out of the 20 total items available, 9 of them were vegetarian. During our exchange at the register, there was a line of customers behind her, so we apologize If we seemed impatient, but she was not at all treated badly, nor was she ever asked to leave. We only very politely stated our policy to her and she removed herself.

Thank you,


**** **** *** 
*********** ** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Salem Halal Market & Grill
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)