Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Montgomery IP Associates LP?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Montgomery IP Associates LP offers inventors services through their family of companies including a patent search, a feasibility analysis and a marketing overview. The company may then coordinate patent and/ or marketing services for the inventor. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Montgomery IP Associates LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Montgomery IP Associates LP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Montgomery IP Associates LP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 18, 1996 Business started: 07/18/1996 in PA Business started locally: 01/22/2001 Business under new ownership as of: 01/22/2001 Business incorporated: 03/13/2002 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is PE0017305E.

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Neil Montgomery, Owner Mr. Robert C Montgomery, Owner Mr. Robert E Montgomery, Owner Mr. Garvin Putt, CSR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Neil Montgomery, Owner
Principal: Mr. Robert C Montgomery, Owner
Principal: Mr. Robert E Montgomery, Owner
Business Category

PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT & MARKETING ENGINEERS-PROFESSIONAL PATENT SEARCHERS

Alternate Business Names
Ad Gen LLC Advertising Generation LLC Montgomery Patent & Design LP Patently Brilliant The InventSAI Network LLC
Additional Tradenames, Addresses & Phone Numbers

The following is an overview of the business entities for the Montgomery IP  & Associates' family of companies:

Montgomery IP Associates, LP serves as the control company providing clerical and administration services for the various entities.

Montgomery Patent & Design LP provides intellectual property legal services (Patents, Copyrights and Trademarks) as well as engineering and drafting technical services.

Invent SAI Network LLC doing business as Patently Brilliant provides small and micro-entity inventors with consulting, research and referral services.

Advertising Generation LLC [Ad-Gen] provides advertising and representation in assisting small, micro-inventors and small businesses with creative, industrial submissions, and negotiations.

Industry Tips
Invention Promotion Companies

Additional Locations

  • 375 Southpointe Blvd  Ste 110

    Canonsburg, PA 15317 (800) 528-0627 (724) 745-9335

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,Long story short, I looked and searched all over for a reputable company in the patent world. I found many with poor reputations and just a few with ok reputations. I spoke to a Ms. ******** ******** several times and had just as many email or texts back and forth. Where the problem arises is that when I started this process I was told the words by Ms. ******** and a senior product advisor, ****** ******** that they would help me find investors for my idea and or patent? I actually spoke with Mr. ******** today and again asked him to explain the investor situation. He admitted that it is sometimes confusing and there is no deliberate attempt at trying to confuse people, but it sometimes happens? They help us find investors, not get us investors? I was told on the "phone" by Ms. ******** that they do find us investors, period. Then she emailed something different. She moved me to Mr. ******** who while very nice, "said the exact same thing, we help get/find investors, and that Ms. ******** while she had been with the company for awhile, was still new to this paticular dept and was still learning." So even after speaking with him and hearing the same thing, I decided to go forward, giving them a deposit of 758.40. I even recieved an email saying he was sorry and there was no deliberate attempt to mislead me and sorry about the confusion?!! Well to late for me, I'm out the money and they are now asking for another 13,000. This is not right. I see there have been a few other complaints about this same thing happening. I would like to just move on, get my money back, and lesson learned. I am on minimum income and told them many, many times that I could not afford this money but I would borrow it. They told me my idea was really good and now I had to pay more money, but it could be a minimal amount or high amount? Well imagine this, now they want the high amount? I need help, this is not right.Sincerely,******* *****

Desired Settlement: I would like the full amount back if possible? I feel I was 100% misled, some may call it something different, but I am trying to be nice.

Business Response: The claims in this report are entirely unsupported as detailed below.  Mr. ******* ***** is attempting what effectively amounts to extortion from our company by using the BBB as a vehicle to make false claims.  In so doing, he is refusing to make use of our money back policy; a policy which would have fully resolved any concerns (real or imagined) he had about our services. 

Mr. ***** is very careful in his complaint to note that the counselor told him about investors on the “phone” because our written correspondence with Mr. ***** (cited below) proves the opposite.  Additionally, we personally contacted Mr. ***** and he could not tell us specifically what was “told” to him regarding the investors, who the investors were, how much they would be investing, or what he was promised in return.  He only provided a vague allegation that somehow we could and would produce investors.

Please see the detailed interactions we've had with Mr. ***** which absolutely refute the claims made in his post with the BBB.

9/2/14 Client acknowledges the cost, risk and money associated with bringing an invention to the marketplace prior to beginning any conversation regarding commercializing his invention.

The following are relevant portions and summaries of e-mails to Mr. ***** from the counselor he’s accusing of fraud:

9/5/14:  We do not find investors for you, however we will help you talk to people you find that are interested in becoming partners with you.

9/9/14:  As for investors, we do not go out and find them for you, but yes we help you with them.

9/21/14: We do not find investors for you, however we will help you talk to people you find that are interested in becoming partners with you.

9/24/14: This might not be for you. It takes money to get this done and there is no way around that.

9/26/14:  Client personally entered a credit card transaction on website to pay for services

9/30/14:  Email was sent explaining potential costs and risks before work was completed giving him an opportunity to refuse services for a full refund:  Our most comprehensive package that includes a 20 year Utility Patent, Engineering AND Marketing—costs $15,000.

There were 14 such e-mails exchanged and numerous phone calls made to Mr. ***** prior to him contracting for our services.  At no time was he promised that we would produce or provide investors.  In fact he was repeatedly warned the opposite.  With respect to the costs of our services, we have many affordable options with corresponding payment plans depending on a given client’s needs.

In conclusion, numerous hours have been spent counseling Mr. ***** about the scope of our services and preparing a research report on his invention.  Now we must spend even more time responding to his publicized defamatory statements.

With this in mind, we reject Mr. *****’s request for a refund.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******* *****

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October of 2013 I called Patently Brilliant and told them that I had an idea for an invention. I was passed on to a Florida representative that introduced himself as ****** *******. We talked and he told me that I invested $758.00 for the first step in getting my idea patented, his company could get me an investor. I was quite shocked when he said this because I had contacted several patent companies, but his exact words were, "I guarantee you that we can get you an investor!" I quickly talked it over with my husband and called Mr ******* back and gave him my credit card number considering he guaranteed me an investor. Several months past and it was always very hard to get in touch with him. I called the main office and they were not much help either at some points. Finally when I would get hold of him he would tell me that it was slow and there we not many investors. Lastly he told me that I could come up with the money myself and that is over $13000! I told him that the only reason that I went with his company is because he told me that he guaranteed me an investor. He also denied that he said that he guaranteed me. He stated that his company would "try" to get me any investor and that I did not have to come up with all of the money at the same time.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back and forget that this all happened!

Business Response: Dear BBB, 

This letter is a response by PatentlyBrilliant to a Better Business Bureau complaint filed by ******** ****** ***** on September 24, 2014. 

This complaint comes as a complete surprise as we have one contract with this inventor that is backed by a Money Back Guarantee.  The client paid for services on October 24, 2013 and on November 13, 2013 our office completed and sent the agreed upon services as contracted to do so by the client.  Now, nearly an entire year later, the client is upset and demanding a full refund.

On October 22, 2013, prior to contracting our licensed patent professionals for work on her project, the client acknowledged electronically that patenting and licensing an invention was a high risk venture and that nobody can guarantee success.  Here is an excerpt from what the client acknowledged which is also always available on our home page:

DISCLAIMER: Past performance of professional services can provide no guarantee of future profits or that anyone will agree to purchase, license, produce or distribute any invention idea. Bringing an invention from an idea to marketed product is a high risk venture.

After paying and prior to beginning and completing the work on her report, the client was sent an additional email explaining potential costs.  The client had no issue with the email regarding the potential for future costs and acknowledged the inherent risks of inventing so we began the Research Report right away.  The complaint is not regarding the quality of our services but is centered on an unsupported claim that a member of our staff verbally “guaranteed” to obtain investors for the client regardless of the fact that she acknowledged to the company that there is no guarantee.

Nowhere in any of our marketing materials or tracked email interactions with this client do we even propose to help “FIND” investors.  We checked all correspondence with this client and saw not even a single reference to an investor let alone a baseless claim that we guaranteed to provide her one.  If requested by the inventor, we always agree to talk to an investor on their behalf.  This is a tremendous leap to say that we guaranteed to provide an investor and appears to merely be a ploy to strong arm us into providing a
refund through a visible online forum. 

The client never contacted our office to request the money back guarantee nor to complain.  All conversations were amicable until receiving this complaint through the BBB nearly a year later.  We have since contacted the client for details and facts regarding this situation.  The client had no facts to support her claim but gave us warning that she would continue complaining until she got her money back. 

Providing a full refund would have been no issue if she would have contacted the office directly during the money back guarantee period.  We respectfully reject her request for a full refund because there is no evidence to support her claim, there was no issue regarding the timing or quality of the services she received and the fact that she is well outside the time period to request a refund.

 
Respectfully,


**** **********

9/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted patently brilliant to resubmit a invention that I had started in 2008 when there name was invent SAI. I was working with a man name ******* in 2008 but was told he was unavailable now and I was to work with his boss ****** . ****** was extremely pleasant to work all until I sent him my invention with the updated changes that ******* in 2008 told me to make so that my product would be patentable. ****** would not send me anything out in writing on why my invention is not patentable he in fact laugh and said I don't have to send you anything it's my opinion and basically that's that! He also said well you didn't pay for anything but he never mention that I had to pay because I was resubmitting something I already paid for before. I feel my ideas have been stolen by patently brilliant and that they may try to patent my invention . It's seems very strange that they were so nice until they got their hands on my idea. Please look into this I wish to have a patent review or documentation supporting the denile of the invention

Desired Settlement: I would like to have documentation on the review of my invention and the reason for denile for the resubmitted 2014 changes

Business Response:

Our Product Manager incorrectly confused this client with another client.  We’ve contacted her directly and are continuing to work with her on developing her invention idea.  In fact, it turns out that her invention idea is patentable and we are assisting her with patenting and marketing her invention and bring it to life.  

This complaint is simply a case of human error.  It is unfortunate that this happened to this client as we make every effort to meet and exceed client expectations. 

 We made an adjustment to the agreements that we send to clients in response to this complaint so they know where to go should they feel uncomfortable moving forward.  It is impossible to predict every possible scenario but we want to do everything to make sure that our clients are treated correctly and professionally.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ******

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been in communication with this company since March of this year. Just like any other perspective inventor, I was with hope looking for a company that could assist me with the patent process. I find it rather ironic that this business is listed as a marketing business because they most certainly do not come across that way upon communicating with their clients. I have already paid almost $800 for unnecessarily extended opinions that seem to literally just repeat the patentability of my invention with some drafts and one obviously unprofessional drawing. This company is not a patent company by any means, it is a marketing company with access to resources, which I feel overcharges their clients for services that do not truly cost the amount they are asking which in reality the fees are associated with their marketing plan. My last conversation with the person who had been handling my project stated it would cost $2980 to continue with the patent pending process and exposure on one of their websites and of course if any other marketing tools such as trade shows were to be utilized thousands of more dollars would have to be spent as well. He even asked me to process payment prior to signing the contract due to their deadline of filling by the first of the month. My point of this complaint is to make reason out of what doesn't seem sensible. I see they pride themselves on educating their clients about the patent process but aren't very honest about the expenses behind their services. Fortunately I did my research and did not process payment for the so called broad patent pending process. In all honesty if a person is expected to pay this amount of money with little to no support from a so called patent company then they might as well do it by themselves.

Desired Settlement: I truly feel I was lead to believe I would have all this support from a perspective patent company. Engineering. ..designing...no...I just received opinions and paperwork. I know I might not receive a refund but at least I am letting it be known that a company can not unfairly charge for services they aren't really providing. Most people want their invention to be protected first before even making any marketing decisions. They should at least offer other more substantial services.

Business Response:

Dear BBB, 

This letter is in response to the Better Business Bureau complaint filed by ***** ********* on August 7, 2014. 

This Complaint comes as a complete surprise.  As recently as July 31, the client told the Product Manager that she planned on moving forward on patenting her invention with us in the next week or so.  Then without any notice, the company received this complaint from the BBB days later requesting a refund along with unsubstantiated statements damaging to the company’s reputation.

Using a public setting to knowingly make false claims against our company for not fulfilling a contract nor assisting with a patent is without merit and entirely unfounded.  The company maintains a public link on our home page to the USPTO government site with nearly 1,000 ISSUED patents that we have helped individuals obtain over the last 10 years.  In addition, we publicly and actively maintain our ForSaleByInventor.com website that hosts our clients’ inventions that are available for license.  This is available publicly for anybody to see at any time.

It is unclear how the client came to the conclusions listed in her complaint and to the motive of the client to make public, unfounded accusations about the cost, quality and nature of our services.  If the motive was only to get money back, the company has a 90 day money back guarantee.  Although the 90 day period had expired, the client never asked for an extension or indicated in any way that she was dissatisfied.

Following is the company’s response to the complaints made by Ms. *********:

To begin addressing this matter, the client complained that the contracted services were never provided.  This statement is entirely false.  In fact, our services went above and beyond the scope of the agreement to try and appease the client.  The client began working with Patently Brilliant on March 14, 2014.  By March 28, the client was presented with a Patent Search, a Professional Engineer’s Statement of Feasibility and a Marketplace Overview for a fee of $598.00.  At this stage, the client’s invention was not deemed by our licensed professional staff to be ready for patenting.  The client worked with an assigned Product Manager with Patently Brilliant to refine the invention to the point where a new Patent Search was the recommended course of action.  The client paid $198.00 on April 22, 2014 for the new Patent Search and Opinion of Patentability which the client received on May 2.  This time with the changes to the invention the Patent Opinion was positive to continue with a patent filing.

The client complained that they “paid almost $800.00 for unnecessarily extended opinions”.  The typical price range for a licensed Patent Attorney to do a Patentability Search with written Opinion of Patentability is $1200.00 to $2400.00, plus a Professional Engineer’s Feasibility Statement is an additional $1000.00 to $1500.00, not to mention the Market Overview provided by a division of *** * ********** which costs $195.00.  Performing these services are considered vital for an inventor before considering expending the time, energies and funds required to patent and market an invention.

The client complained that Patently Brilliant is a “marketing company with access to services which I feel overcharges their clients for services that do not truly cost the amount they are asking which in reality the fees are associated with their marketing plan.”  Patently Brilliant offered no “marketing plan” but rather a business overview produced by Hoovers, a *** * ********** company.  The patent searches and professional opinion was performed by two different licensed Patent Practitioners and the feasibility review was done by a registered Professional Engineer.  The patent professionals and engineer are employed by Montgomery Patent & Design which is part of Montgomery IP Associates and was disclosed to the client in advance.  Patently Brilliant is a separate business entity created to help small and micro entity inventors with affordable fees for professional services.

The client complained that they were encouraged to move forward as quickly as possible.  This is true because the United States has been a First To File country since March 16, 2013.  Inventors often think that they have priority rights to an invention because they thought of an idea first.  This is not true.  Upon internal investigation of this case, the Product Manager did not convincingly explain the importance of filing as soon as possible.  This could have been done better by the company.

The client complained that the cost for preparing and filing a patent was too high.  The client was sent a contract to prepare and file a patent with an engineering enablement and patent drafts for $2985.00.  The American Intellectual Property Law Association reports in their latest survey of professional fees that the median fee for this service is $4595.00.  Complicating the situation is that many “invention companies” on the internet advertise filing a patent for as little as $195.00.  These applications are either a template where the client fills in the blanks, or prepared by a non-licensed individual where the client files the patent themselves.

The client complained that they were sent “one obviously unprofessional drawing.”  To begin, the client never contracted for, nor paid for, any drawings.  The drawing being referenced was a simple hand sketch made by the Product Manager sent to the client to be sure that some changes to the invention were correctly understood.

The client states that “fortunately I did my research.”  We are naturally concerned about our reputation; however, we are equally concerned that the client is being told falsehoods that may cause serious problems for her invention rights.

We contacted the client by telephone after the Complaint was filed and made a final effort to provide facts and proof.  The client was cordial but not interested.  This situation appears to be one where our Product Manager could have done a better job of explaining the pitfalls prevalent in the invention business while emphasizing the high caliber of our services and staff.  Unfortunately, the client has taken misguided advice regarding our company and services and taken them as fact. 

Patently Brilliant in particular, and Montgomery IP Associates in general, have provided all contracted services and more substantially below the national median price. For the reasons listed above, the company respectfully declines the full refund request.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *********

 

 

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an ideal that I want to get patent. I called this Patently Brilliant and talk to *** ******* ************. He talk slick. At this time I thought that $1000 was all it would cost me. But that was for a patent search. Then he told me how to talk my family and friends out of $20,000 to pay the Patently Brilliant to get me a patent. He also told me the patent office usely don't give patent on the first try and they would send it back again. Well last year they needed more money. I sent $800. Now they sent me a letter and it look like they wanted more. ****** ***** called me and sured me they didn't. Then said that they would need more money to continue with my patent. Befor I started with this invention if they would had it would cost $1,000. I would not have started it. Now I have over $20,000 in a patent invention. They still want more money and I have no patent.

Desired Settlement: Eather get me a patent or give me $20,000 I would like to have the patent

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

Please make the attached letter sent to the client part of this response to the Better Business Bureau. The letter makes another good-faith effort to resolve the client’s patent application matter.

At the center of the Complaint is the client’s patent application. We make every attempt to educate our clients prior to entering into a contractual agreement as well as throughout the process. We send monthly newsletters called Invention Times, as well as client specific letters, emails and telephone conversations. It is exceedingly difficult, bordering on impossible, when a client fails to read the materials sent plus refuses to return messages. This is the case with this client.

His first complaint is totally without merit because we never asked for a penny. Our cover letter accompanying a standard Patent Office Action warned that failure to respond within ninety days would result in the Patent Office imposing “Extension of Time” fees. The client was not charged a fee from our office nor from the Patent Office. It was merely a warning that time was of the essence. Rather than contacting our office as was requested, the client filed a complaint with the BBB.

The client’s proposed Settlement to the complaint was either his Patent or $20,000.00. The fact that the client spent nowhere near $20,000.00, this settlement request is out of the question. As for receiving his Patent, it is as simple as the client responding to our requests for his patent changes. All the client needs to do is send in the changes that he wants to make and we will do the rest. We are not asking for money. We are on our client’s side. We have told him that.

The second Complaint is essentially the same with the same proposed Settlement. We have made numerous attempts to contact the client during the business week and on Saturdays, during daytime hours and at nights. On the few occasions that we have spoken to the client, he seems to understand and makes promises to send in

the necessary information. He does complain that other people owe him money but this has nothing to do with us. In spite of his promises, the client sends in nothing and refuses to communicate.

The root problem is that our patent attorneys/agent cannot ethically respond to the Patent Office knowing that our client has changes that are important to the invention, and ultimately to the issuance of the patent. Our patent legal staff cannot just make things up and file it. Neither are we holding the client’s patent refusing to give it to him.

The other central problem is that on December 19, 2013 the free 90 day response period expired. The Patent Office allows for three 30-Day Extensions of Time but charges a fee for the extensions. Until February 19, the Patent Office fee is $150.00. It is sad that there any fees imposed by the Patent Office because our office could have easily prepared and filed a proper Response well before the December 19 date. This is a problem that should have never happened and is impossible to resolve without the client’s cooperation.

In closing, we want nothing more than to finish the contracted work. For a positive resolution, the client must simply respond to us. This unfortunate situation is the first for me in over 25 years. Although our office is frustrated with the actions of this client, we remain willing to help bring the situation to a positive conclusion.

Yours truly,

****** ** **********

Founder & President, Montgomery IP Associates, LP

Consumer Response:

Cust called 1/28 and said to close complaint. He will call co directly to find out what they need from him.

 

 

 

 

 

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two days after I submitted a payment to Patently Brilliant I called and told them to cancel it. That I was no longer interested. ****** ****** tried convincing me not to do that because "there was nothing like my idea" I still told him to cancel it and he would not. I then called again and he said they still had not found any patents out there like mine, he told me this several other times. They did send me the research report and I saw there were several patents out there like mine. I called Mr. ****** and he said "Oh, I haven't even looked at it." So, all along he had been lying to me, first he refused to cancel, then when I asked him for the progress report he would not give it to me and I later found out he had lied the entire time. It has been weeks and they will not get back to me. I think this company is a complete scam. I am extremely disappointed in their performance.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded from this awful scam.

Business Response:

The assigned Product Manager should have notified management when the client asked to cancel their requested services from Patently Brilliant.  We have taken corrective actions with the Product Manager and all of our Product Managers have been educated on our company policy to prevent this from ever happening again.  Additionally, we reached out to the client who submitted their complaint and resolved this thoroughly to their complete satisfaction. 

With the new patent law going into effect in March of this year that only provides protection to inventors who file for their patent first, we act with a sense of urgency after receiving payment from inventors.  Although this request was made shortly after payment, significant work had already begun on the client’s invention.  The Product Manager made an incorrect judgment call by not notifying management immediately of their request and instead thought it would be better to wait until after the Research Report was complete.   

Our process for helping inventors includes legal, engineering and marketing services performed by licensed professionals.  The worst news we ever want to give a prospective inventor is that their invention is not patentable, feasible or marketable.  Although this is difficult news to provide a hopeful inventor, we would rather let them know during the Research Phase before they spend thousands of dollars patenting and marketing their invention.   

We take customer satisfaction seriously and want all of our clients to have a positive experience when working with us.  The inventor community, in general, is very passionate about their inventions and emotions can often run high.  We recognize this challenge and strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction for all of our clients. 

In order to hold true to this value, we have a Customer Satisfaction Promise that we advertise on our home page.  If a client should feel that we have not provided the services that they requested, then we encourage them to contact us directly to resolve their concerns. 

 

Best regards, 

 

**** ********** 

VP Sales & Marketing 

Consumer Response:

On Fri, Oct 25, 2013 at 3:09 PM, **** ***** <********************> wrote:

 They did refund the money, I will give you a call on Monday to discuss the complaint.

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service