Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

C J Long Paving Company

Phone: (724) 656-0412 Fax: (724) 658-2898 View Additional Phone Numbers 3588 Perry Hwy, Slippery Rock, PA 16057 http://www.cjlongpaving.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential & commercial paving.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C J Long Paving Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for C J Long Paving Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on C J Long Paving Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA003286.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward D Long, President Mr. Jack L Long, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward D Long, President
Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS ASPHALT SEALING AND REJUVENATING SEAL COATING SEALING - PAVEMENT DRIVEWAY INSTALLATION, PAVING & REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
E Long Holdings Inc Long, C J Paving Company
Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 3588 Perry Hwy

    Slippery Rock, PA 16057 (724) 656-0412

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In the process of prepping our driveway for paving, the road ditch tile were broken causing erosion of the new driveway surface and creating a large hole at the exit area . Upon visual examination of the remaining underground tile, there are other tile that are broken underground as well. We contacted CJ Long and they came to look at the problem but have never returned to make the necessary repairs. At one point they denied responsibility, after several more phone calls to the company, another employee ( the Owners' son ) came and looked at the situation saying he would get back to us but, we have not seen nor heard from the company since their last visit. This whole process has been going on since the early spring rains when the hole in the driveway became visible.

Desired Settlement: An admission of responsibility and the necessary repairs made to the tiles and damage to the driveway.

Business Response:

October 23, 2015

BBB of Western Pennsylvania

400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220

Pittsburgh, PA 15220

Re: Complaint ID# ********

To Whom It May Concern:

This fetter is in response to the above complaint that was filed against C. J. Long Paving Company by ***** *******.

Mr. *******’s driveway was in fact paved by C. J. Long Paving Company on July 1,2014.

At no time in 2014 did he contact C. J. Long Paving regarding a broken tile.

He had a contractor at his home using a back hoe there sometime between July 2014 and this year when he contacted C.J. Long Paving.

He called to discuss getting some additional paving completed, asked about getting a broken tile repaired and was told we would do it at no charge when we were paving

the additional area.

He decided not to get the additional paving done. We believe if the tile had been broken in July 2014 the erosion would have occurred much sooner. We only agreed to do the repair as a courtesy if we were there paving.

Sincerely,

Edward D. L***

President

EDL/beh

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *******

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contract was agreed to in the middle of July 2015 No money had or has exchanged hands. The contract states that money due upon completion of work. After the contract was in place I was not given a date but i had to call and talk to Gregg each time and he could only say "soon" Maybe a couple weeks. I got a hold of Gregg and again today and was again given an opened ended date. He said maybe a few weeks. I got specific and asked is he talking October November or later. I got the hem haw of it all. he said they were busy doing work in *** **** and ******** and "may" get to it (mine) soon. I have serious concerns with fall coming on quickly and chilly to cold whether plus i lack confidence due to the fact they wont call me and i have to constantly reach out to get information which they still dont offer anything specific.

Desired Settlement: Obviously CJ Long over extends and cant meet their obligations. I suggest they get an office manager who understand house customer service works and how to manage time and contracts. They should not be taking on business knowing full well that maybe lower income residential service will be pushed aside to work on more profitable business. Do not make empty promises that can and will not fulfill Schedule the work you contract and fulfill your obligations. You either underbid or company has no intention of doing the work. I want confirmation of their true intent.

Business Response:

C. J. LONG PAVING COMPANY

**** ***** *******

******** ***** ** *****

                                                                                                                 ###-###-####

September 25, 2015
BBB of Western Pennsylvania

*** ******* ****** ***** *** *********** ** *****

Re: Complaint ID # ********

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to the above complaint that was filed against C. J. Long Paving Company by ****** ******

C. J. Long Paving received Mr. *****’s authorization to pave his driveway on July 28, 2015. Six weeks is not an unreasonable length of time to be on the schedule for paving.

An attempt to speak with him regarding the issue over the phone was made, a message was left on his voice mail, but he did not respond.

We appreciate you updating our file to indicate that this complaint has been resolved.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Edward ** ****

President

Consumer Response: I have not received a response from CJLong they have not made an attempt to contact me in anyway. The fact that they seem to dispute is the time. they have no schedule for this for me and they have indicated that they will get to it eventually. Seeing that Asphalt paving has limited time during the year to be done due to the weather and the companys supplying the mix shutting down shortly. My back is to a wall where the companys has in the past as noted by the BBB done the same thing. There is a serious question as to when if it gets done this year or next or even the year after by CJ Long. With two weeks left in the manufacture of asphalt and me not on their schedule I am force to rush out and find another company that is service oriented and hopefully get this done. because of this I am afraid i will have to pay thousands more. And thats because they want the big companys not little guys like mine

Regards,

****** *****

7/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A contract was signed 6-25-2014. No money was exchanged but services were promised monthly upon my phone calls to company and representative. The contract states that money due upon completion of work. I had explained that a recent injury was my concern in my drive way being paved and concern for winter conditions coming. The senior consultant had called me from June to October promising every month to show up to do paving, never happened. The owner called me at the end of November and said that job could possibly be fitted in to schedule. At that time temperatures were getting too cold and I felt job would not be quality. Recently this year the contractor was less than 2 miles from my residence and was preparing another driveway. Never contacted me to "fit me in to schedule". At this point I feel he underbid the job and has no intention of contacting me. If residential paving is so hard to accommodate in the schedule then do not "roam" neighborhoods trying to drum up business that they can not do. FYI other residence that company is at is still waiting for them to return and finish.

Desired Settlement:

To make others aware of business practice.

Date Sent: 7/1/2015 4:18:06 PM
Contract was signed. Reservations for requesting action would be 1. job would not be done correctly 2. offer to begin paving job may come once again during cold weather thus resulting in poor product 3. may have " empty" monthly promises of job completion again. The short of it being that job was either underbid or company has no intention of doing the work. Therefore would possibly like confirmation of their true intent. So that could be a resolution.

Business Response:

C. J. LONG PAVING COMPANY **** ***** ******* ******** ***** ** *****

###-###-####

July 21, 2015

Re: Complaint ID # ********

To Whom It May Concern:
This letter is in response to the above complaint that was filed against C. J. Long Paving Company by *** ** *********
C. J. Long Paving paved her driveway located at *** ***** *** *** ********* ** on Monday, July 20, 2015. She indicated that this was an acceptable resolution of the claim.
We appreciate you updating our file to indicate that this complaint has been resolved.
Thank you.
Sincerely,
****** ** **** President
EDL/

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** ********

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Grandparents live in ******* ****. They signed an agreement with CJ Long Paving on July 21, 2014 to repair a drain at the end of their driveway as well as pave the rest of the drive. My grandfather made numerous calls to them to get this work done before he passed away 3 weeks ago. They told him once that they would be out to do it when it was pouring rain outside and he asked them to come back when it was nicer out, as to not mess up the driveway because of laying blacktop in the rain. The owner got upset with him after that. Since my grandfather is not around to handle this issue anymore, my Grandmother has started to try to get them out to do the work before cold weather hits. She called me very upset the other day because the owner was so rude to her when he finally called her back. It has been over 3 months since this agreement was signed, and 3 months if excuses and procrastination.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement would be for this company to apologize to my grandmother, not only for taking too long to get the work done but for also being rude after her husband passed away. The desired settlement out be for them to get the work they agreed to do done before snow comes.

Business Response:

 

This letter is in response to the above complaint that was filed against C. J. Long Paving Company by *** **** *******.

A C. J. Long Paving crew went to her grandmother’s residence at *** ******** ****** ******* ** on November 11, 2014 and paved the driveway.

We appreciate you updating our file to indicate that this complaint has been resolved. Thank you.

Sincerely,
****** * ****
President

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: installed driveway 5/11/2010. driveway cracked badly first year. I have called and complained incessantly. it took them almost 4 years to send someone out. they repaired a few cracks and said they would be back in 5 weeks to finish. after numerous calls and assurance they would be out, they have not come. I have been extremely patient, and in fact cj long did my lower driveway about 15 years ago, that also has cracked badly even though I had it sealed faithfully. the weather will be changing soon and the repairs have yet to be completed. we paid over $4,000.00 for the first driveway and $4,400.00 for the second one.i used this company for their good reputation, I regret now that I did not seek another. I was even willing to pay to have the first driveway repaired and asked for an estimate, and still no response. I would like my driveway to be repaired properly before it becomes worse. thankyou

Desired Settlement: I would request that cj long pavers repair the cracked driveway, installed in 2010 [ I have phoned their offices numerous times since the cracks were discovered in the summer of 2010 ]. I would also like to be advised by cj long if the first driveway comes under a warranty, as this also is cracked badly.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:
This letter is in response to the above complaint that was filed against C. J. Long Paving
Company by ****** ********.
AC. J. Long Paving crew went to Mr. Lachelli’s residence at**** ****** ***** ******
on October 8, 2014 and did the crack repair on his driveway. He was home and
expressed his satisfaction with the work that was done.
We appreciate you updating our file to indicate that this complaint has been resolved.
Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** * **** * ********

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company paved my drive. In preparation for the paving some removal of the old drive was necessary. When the removal was done damage occurred to the framing around the garage doors. I called the company to discuss twice and gave my information to the secretary. She promised a call back but that has not happened.

Desired Settlement: The aluminum wrapping around the door frame will need some repair. I expect the company to foot the bill for that.

Business Response: This letter is in response to the above complaint that was filed against C. J. Long Paving Company by ***** *******.
In our defense the crew foreman, ****** *****, left him a phone message shortly after the incident telling him he needed to talk to him regarding the damage, but Mr. ******* said he never received the message.
C. J. Long Paving has contacted Mr. ******* and apologized for the damage. He is replacing all of the existing garage door framing. In lieu of C. J. Long Paving paying the portion of his estimate that is associated with the damage, we have offered him a free driveway sealer application for 2015 valued at $560.00, which he has accepted.
We appreciate you updating our file to indicate that this complaint has been resolved.
Thank you.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on C J Long Paving Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)