Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


South Hills Electric Heating Cooling provides electrical, heating and air conditioning services to the greater Pittsburgh area. Since 1993, we have installed furnaces, boilers, air conditioners, electrical systems
and hot water heaters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Hills Electric Heating Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Hills Electric Heating Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2010 Business started: 05/21/1993 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA012126.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Pat Cray, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Cray, Owner
Business Category


Products & Services

South Hills Electric Heating Cooling sells the following brand(s): Amana Heating and Cooling Equipment, Goodman Heating and Cooling Equipment, We service and can install any Heating and Cooling Equipment

South Hills Electric Heating Cooling offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners and Systems, Boilers, Electrical Service panels, Furnaces, Heat Pumps

Method(s) of Payment
Financing Available
Refund and Exchange Policy
Right to cancel laws are set by the state of PA.
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 951 Killarney Dr Ste 1

    Castle Shannon, PA 15234


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a single mom that belongs to ******* **** to help prevent fraudulent misrepresentation, as I am not knowledgeable in HVAC, as well as many other home improvement issues. Below I want to state the facts and then present my claim. 1. South Hills Electric Heating & Cooling has been to my house previously (annually) in the past two years for the same service using the exact same ******* **** coupon. The first year I was told by South Hills Electric that my system could have a slow leak and it would be costly to locate and repair the leak. They told me my unit is old and probably wouldn’t be worth the leak inspection/repair and the best solution would be to add Freon, to see how slow the leak is. If it was slow, it could take me through another season. They filled the unit and it was fine. Like clockwork, the next year my system showed the same signs. South Hills Electric again came out, tested the levels, filled my unit with Freon and again, my system was up and working again. Both years I used the following coupon. Exact information on coupon copied verbatim: ----------------------------------------------------------------- South Hills Electric LLC, an A-rated, Super Service Award winning service provider on ******* ****, is offering a central A/C inspection and tune-up with up to one lb. of refrigerant for only $77. This service is normally valued at $225, saving ******* **** members 66%. Why You Need this Deal: Your air conditioning system can account for an average of 50% of your energy costs. An efficiently-operating unit will assure your comfort and cost you less to operate. Make sure you're ready for hot weather with this great offer. This Deal Includes: • A 26-point inspection, cleaning, tune-up, check for overall safe operation, and up to one lb. of refrigerant (if needed) The Fine Print: • Not valid for cash back • Cannot be combined with other specials/offers • Cannot be applied to estimates/current/past jobs • Valid for residential service only • Appointments are to be performed during normal business hours • One lb. of coolant will be supplied only if necessary • One coupon per central air system (please check your unit to see how many you would need) • Multiple coupons can be purchased for multiple systems, however coupons must be redeemed during the same service call • Additional fee for broken component(s) and/or part(s) replacement • Promotional value expires six months from date of purchase. Purchase amount does not expire --------------end ad/coupon--------------------- 2. In the two previous years, South Hills Electric Heating & Cooling taught me signs to look for when my unit is running low on Freon, such as, line visibly showing sign of freezing. South Hills Electric Heating & Cooling taught me that I need to turn off the unit for a period of time in order to allow it to thaw. So when my unit started showing signs again this year that my coolant was running low, I purchased the coupon and called to make the appointment just as I had done the two years previously. South Hills Electric arrived while I was at work and performed the Freon check. My older son was there to greet them. Upon arriving home, I was told that I did not need coolant. I was then told that my coil was dirty and needed cleaned and it would cost $1200 to clean it. I was not able to spend that kind of money to have it cleaned, so I thanked them and assumed I’d be going the rest of the season without a functioning AC. Two days later, after discussing the exuberant cost of having my coil cleaned with a neighbor, my neighbor suggested I have another company come out to inspect and give me another estimate on cleaning my coil. My neighbor felt that the price was extremely high for that service. The other company come out today and told me I did, in fact, need coolant. He also told me I did NOT need my coil cleaned, but, if I had, it would cost $150, not $1200 to have it cleaned. While the other company was still in my home, I called South Hills Electric to let them know what I was told. I spoke with Adam. He was condescending and completely unhelpful. After telling him my unit did not need its coil cleaned and I did need the Freon as I had in the two years previously, he stated: "We don't give R-22 coolant anymore for the $77." I asked, "Where in their ad/coupon does it stipulate there has been a change?" I told him I had the coupon/ad on my computer screen right in front of me and I did not see mention of the type of coolant it approved and/or did not approve and that I had used the exact coupon with them twice previously. He said I was right and that it does not stipulate any changes. I told him I wanted them to come back and give me the pound of coolant that I paid for. He refused. I then asked for a refund. He told me to contact ******* **** for the refund. I told him I would be giving a bad review on ******* **** and contacting the BBB with a complaint. He told me to go ahead, if that’s what I wanted to do over $77.

Desired Settlement: South Hills Electric were required to fill up to 1 pound of coolant, if needed and my unit needed Freon. I not only want a refund, but I also want an apology, I want to warn potential customers how my situation was handled and I want the company to follow through with what the coupon represented.

Business Response: This is in regards to BBB complaint # ******** & complaint filed to ******* **** that customer was not provided proper service per Deal purchased on ******* ****.
First off I would like to state that we appreciate your business & our first priority in servicing your HVAC system is the safety of our customers.  
As customer stated we no longer provide R-22 refrigerant as it is on a government phase-out program.
  As stated in the deal customer may be charged additional fee for broken component(s) and/or part(s) replacement.
  While our technician was performing inspection he noticed a crack in furnace heat exchanger area and advised customer that furnace should not be operated.  
Statement of conditions by technician that customer signed off for service call.
 09/03/15 6:37 PM by Technician(Refrigerant levels are fine not cooling well due to restriction on dirty coil while I was here I decided to check the furnace and found a crack in the heat exchanger advised homeowner not to use do to co poisoning and possible death).   Visible crack in combustion chamber noticed when door was removed.
We provided customer with estimate to replace furnace only. 
09/03/15 6:43 PM by TechnicianDo you to crack in heat exchanger I advised homeowner not to use the furnace and needs a new furnace gave her two different options for two different furnaces one for 80% Single stage 80,000 BTU five year parts one year labor life time warranty on the heat exchanger for $3250and 96% 60,000 BTU high-efficiency ten year parts ten-year labor lifetime unit replacement if the heat exchanger cracks for $4100  Customer declined furnace replacement.  
Customer contacted office about service call and demanding her 1 lb of coolant.  I explained to her that we do not provide R-22 with deal anymore.  I emphasized the fact that her furnace had a cracked heat exchanger and needs replaced. 
We cannot repair any part of customers HVAC system in this condition as furnace is non operational due to possible carbon monoxide leak which could lead to poisoning, sickness, or possible death.
Customer stated that she would file complaint with BBB & ******* ****.  I advised customer that is her right as a consumer to do that.  She hung up.
In conclusion,  South Hills Electric LLC did tune up on AC system and our findings were that furnace needed replaced do to hazardous conditions. Customer declined suggested work of furnace replacement.  We will not perform any repairs to HVAC system that could potentially put customers health & wellness in jeopardy.  
In good faith we will offer customer $77 credit towards furnace replacement.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

During the phone call regarding a refund of the coupon used for $77, due to no service provided as well as falsely telling me that I did not require any coolant, my furnace was never discussed. It is my understanding that my AC unit is separate from my Furnace.  The furnace is fueled by gas, the AC operates on electricity, no gas is required to run my AC. I have not used my furnace, but continue to use my AC as the weather requires. I would never put my family in danger or ask anyone to patch something that could potentially hurt my family. That was never the case in this situation whatsoever. I'm appalled that it is suggested.

This complaint is regarding your company falsely advising me that my AC did not need coolant, when in fact it did and falsely advising me that my coil needed cleaned (at a price of $1200), when in fact it did not. After I called to let you know that another company came to inspect my AC after your assessment stating I would need to pay $1200 to have my coil cleaned, that is when you notified me that you no longer honor R-22 coolant with that coupon. That is when I demanded a refund, because there is no place in your ad that states there has been any sort of change in what type of coolant you cover. The ad that I have used twice prior always included R-22 coolant, my AC unit had not changed and neither did your ad. I was never advised prior to inspecting my AC unit that your company no longer included R-22 coolant with the coupon. There is no way I would have known that you would not honor the exact same coupon that I had used 2 years prior.


***** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on South Hills Electric Heating Cooling
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)