BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of South Hills Electric Heating Cooling?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

South Hills Electric Heating Cooling provides electrical, heating and air conditioning services to the greater Pittsburgh area. Since 1993, we have installed furnaces, boilers, air conditioners, electrical systems
and hot water heaters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Hills Electric Heating Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Hills Electric Heating Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 31, 2010 Business started: 05/21/1993 in PA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/hiccon.aspx?id=4502
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Pat Cray, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Cray, Owner
Business Category

HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEAT EXCHANGERS THERMOSTATS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR HEATING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS CLEANING & REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING SUPPLIES & PARTS BOILERS-NEW & USED BOILERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS HEATING EQUIPMENT HUMIDIFYING APPARATUS FURNACE SALES & SERVICE AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS BOILERS-REPAIR & CLEANING ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS HEAT PUMPS HEATING CONTRACTORS

Products & Services

South Hills Electric Heating Cooling sells the following brand(s): Amana Heating and Cooling Equipment, Goodman Heating and Cooling Equipment, We service and can install any Heating and Cooling Equipment

South Hills Electric Heating Cooling offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners and Systems, Boilers, Electrical Service panels, Furnaces, Heat Pumps

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Invoice
Financing Available
Refund and Exchange Policy
Right to cancel laws are set by the state of PA.
Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Heating & Cooling Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 951 Killarney Dr Ste 1

    Castle Shann, PA 15234

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Company Monday May 14th to check why AC was not working. They did come out to look at next day and repair. They said condenser motor was bad and needed to be replaced and capacitor. They gave me a price of $800 which I reluctantly agreed because it was Hot out. Four days later motor went bad by not starting up easily by itself if you spin fan blade manually it will start itself. Called company and they said there is nothing they could do for me except discount a whole new unit for me at a replacement cost of $2200. I looked up motor they installed and it is a very cheap $88 dollar motor that did not have enough Amps to power my fan blade enough. The new unit unit they quoted me was a the cheapest ******* you can buy with a 13 seer rating and uses the old R22 refridgerant which is what my system takes. but They just wanted way to much money for it even after installation and everything. Again, this job is just an easy switch out. I signed their paper on Friday May 17th 2013 not realizing I was paying for such a cheap system and they said I had 3 BUISNESS days to cancel the contract. Monday evening I decided to research the unit and found I could buy the same unit for $800 dollars and have a complete install done by another company for a total of $1400. Tuesday I called South Hills Electric to cancel my install of their new unit and they said I could not. The manager was very unfriendly and flat out said too bad, it is sitting here and we already charged you and you can't cancel now. I told him his contract clearly states you can cancel within 3 Business days and I am within that time frame. He said good luck but your not getting your money back. So now I've paid over $3000 dollars and only have a very cheap broken motor and no working AC. What a rip off...

Desired Settlement: Refund my credit card for $2200 and replace cheap motor they put in that wasn't rated high enough for my system's fan blade. I have put a dispute in with ***** credit card as well. Also, I may need to file civil suit if they do not comply. Also, they really should fire their manager for his negative actions and additude. I would not recommend this Company to anyone...

Business Response: Mr ****** contacted us on 04/16/2013 because his 15 year old AC condenser was making a humming noise.  Technician ****** went out 04/18/2013 to service equipment.  ****** presented Mr ****** 3 options to get his families AC running.

Option #1 Replace existing equipment with new.  ***** 14 seer r410a AC 10 YEAR PARTS WARRANTY.

Option # 2 Renovate condenser heat removal system which included a
5 YEAR WARRANTY.
Included new fan motor, capacitor, fan blade, and a coil clean with acid wash.

Option #3 Replace fan motor and capacitor.
NO WARRANTY.

Mr. ****** agreed to option #3 which is clearly stated on the contract he signed NO WARRANTY.

May 16th
Mr. ****** contacted us and said his AC failed once again.

May 17th
Technician ****** went out this time and determined that the motor failed again.   Typically this is caused from overheating of the components due to poor air circulation which would have been addressed during initial call on 04/18 if option #2 or 3 would have been purchased.  ****** and Mr ****** agreed at this point to credit the bad motor installed to installation of a new R-22 ******* AC with a 5 year parts warranty.

May 21 @ 12:27PM

Mr. ****** called and left a message on our main business line.  He wanted to speak with owner about the service that he got.  The service was good and the guy was nice and all but he really got ripped off here about a week ago just replacing condenser motor for a cheaper one just an aftermarket one. He never did fan blade which is too heavy for the aftermarket motor.  He said he had to do the capacitor when theres nothing wrong but now he tells me theres no warranty on the fan.  He paid out the butt for this which like $800 bucks for $200 in partsand he was only here an hour and a half.  So I'm gonna cancel my install tomorrow Ican get that same unit here for that goodman unit it's the old R-22 I can get it here for $800 bucks.  He wants to charge me $2200 supposedly he knocking $800 off which is ridiculous.  Thats the deal with R-22 there phasing that out anyways and everyones going with the R-410.  Give me a call back I'm not gonna pay anymore money and I'd like something done withbwhat I have here because it wasn't installed right.

May 21 @ 108 PM
Another voicemail from Mr. ******.
Id appreciate it if someone would call back as soon as possible.  I want to also cancel the install tomorrow.  I want to get my umnit fixed that i currently have.  You guys put a cheap motor in that just wasnt enough Amp I looked it up its any $88 dollar motor.  You guys really took it to me here.  I wanna get my unit fixed or You know I'm gonna go down to the magistrate.  Okay . Bye bye.

May 21 @ 200 pm

Mr. ****** called again and spoke with ****.  He was persistent in his claims that we ripped him off.  We explained to him that what he received on April 18th(new fan motor and capacitor) was the cheapest option with no warranty.     He was also was informed that the contract he signed for this repair included 2 other options at additional cost could have been performed that would have included a warranty.  Mr. ****** was also informed by **** on 3 occasions during call that South Hills Electric Management has not reviewed his contracts and he might be beyond the right to rescind deadline to cancel contract.  Unfortunately with heated tempers between both parties at this point no agreement has been resolved.



Below I have included a summary of  Pennsylvania's 3 day Right to Rescind. Also known as the cooling off rule.

Contracts Entered Into in the Home:

Pennsylvania law recognizes that consumers are particularly vulnerable when salespersons approach them in their homes, and provides additional protection for contracts that consumers agree to after being contacted at home. Contracts for goods or services in excess of $25 that are entered into as a result of a contact at your home, either in person or by telephone, can be cancelled within three business days following the date of the contract.

How to Cancel:

In all cases, you must be given a copy of the contract, along with a Notice of Cancellation. This notice must include the date of the contract and the seller?s name and address. Your cancellation must be in writing. Mail it to the address provided on the Notice of Cancellation, making sure the envelope is postmarked before midnight on the last business day (either the third or the fifth, depending on the services) after the initial transaction date.

When you cancel:

The seller has 10 days to cancel and return any contract you signed and refund all money.


In conclusion we at South Hills Electric LLC are going to refund Mr. & Mrs. ****** back to there credit card the $2213.00 full payment made as a GOOD FAITH EFFORT to resolve this matter.  We will not refund any of the initial repair work of $802.11 as the motor failed 1 month after installation and we cannot warrant.  Customer will also not be charged for 2nd service call and the 1.5 hours of grass cutting Tech ****** did for them. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/8/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1