Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Washington Financial Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (724) 222-3120 Fax: (724) 229-8867 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.mywashingtonfinancial.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers bank.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Washington Financial Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Washington Financial Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Washington Financial Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 1993 Business started: 11/01/1899
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773
The number is 29520.

Business Management
Ms. Elizabeth Guerrieri, Vice President of Marketing & Relations Ms. Suzanne Taylor, Sr VP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Suzanne Taylor, Sr VP
Business Category

BANKS FINANCIAL PLANNING CONSULTANTS INVESTMENT ADVISORY SERVICE LOANS LOANS-SMALL BUSINESS CONSUMER FINANCE & LOAN CO. MONEY ORDERS & TRANSFERS MORTGAGE BROKERS RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE SAVINGS & LOAN ASSOCATIONS FINANCIAL SERVICES MORTGAGE BANKERS ESTATE PLANNING & MANAGEMENT

Industry Tips
Mortgage - New Laws

Additional Locations

  • 1500 W Chestnut St

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 222-3120

  • 160 E Pike St

    Canonsburg, PA 15317 (724) 222-3120

  • 190 N Main St

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 222-3120

  • 190 N Main St

    Washington, PA 15301

  • 220 Main St

    Hickory, PA 15340 (724) 222-3120

  • 3616 Washington Rd

    Mcmurray, PA 15317 (724) 222-3120

  • 98 E Wylie Ave

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 222-3120

  • Oak Spring Rd

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 222-3120

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* ****** ******* ****I signed up for auto bill pay through my on-line banking account at Washington Financial. When signing up for auto bill pay, you pick the date you want the money to be taken out of your account and it shows a two day block that it takes for the bill to be paid. I had my house payment set to come out on December 25th, 2014, which was due on December 31, 2014. I understand that December 25th is a holiday, and expected it to be paid a day late due to the holiday. My account showed the house payment was withdrawn on December 29th, 2014. You can imagine my surprise when I received a letter on January 6th, 2015, from the bank ******** ****** ******* ***** ***) where my house payment is paid that I have been turned in to a credit bureau about a late payment, missed payment or other default on my account. My husband I went to Washington Financial, *** ******** ******* **********, **, on January 10th, 2015, and met with ******* ******, Customer Solutions Specialist. We took the letter we recieved from ******* and logged onto our account in her office and showed her when we had the account set up to auto pay and that the money was withdrawn from our account on December 29th, 2014. ******* ****** agreed after looking at the account it should have been paid by the due date of December 31st, 2014. ******* ****** stated the deparment that handled that was not in on Saturday and they would look into it, she also stated they would send a letter to ******* on our behalf. It was decided Washington Financial would look into the matter and would have a file for me to pick up on Friday, January 16, 2015, as to what happened. I waited fifteen minutes in her office on Friday and she did not produce a file. When asked if they sent a letter to *******, she stated they did not because they did not know the address, which was clearly printed on the copy of the letter. She said they were only writing it as a favor. I mentioned turning the bank in to the BBB being unhappy with customer service and received nothing!

Desired Settlement: A typed letter sent to ******* ****** ******* ***** ***, from Washington Financial stating that the payment was late due to their error. It is clear that the money was taken from the account on December 29th. Why did it not clear at Hancock until after January 1, 2015 when it should only take two days as shown when you set up the auto pay account. I do not want a scar on my perfect credit rating due to negligence at a bank!!

Business Response:

January 28, 2015

Washington Financial Bank is in receipt of the complaint filed by ******** ***** with your office in January of this year. According to Ms. *****, Washington Financial erred in the forwarding of a payment from our on-line banking platform, specifically that we did not forward the payment in a timely manner. It is further asserted that this error resulted in her mortgage payment being processed after the due date and she incurred a negative notation at the credit bureau.

As you can see in the supporting system-generated documentation that I have attached as Exhibit A to this correspondence, the payment request was made per Ms. *****’ prior instruction for December 25th and the payment was sent to ******* ****** Savings Bank via US Mail on December 26th. The payment was sent by paper check through the US Mail because ******* ****** Savings Bank is not a participating ACH receiving bank with Washington Financial, As a routine matter of operational procedure, the amount of the payment is deducted from the customer’s account and placed into an escrow account for payment of the paper check two to three days following the mailing of the check. This is the reason that Ms. ***** saw the amount deducted from her account on December 29thand not immediately on the 26th. In short, while the amount was deducted from her account on December 29th, the check was actually mailed to receiving bank on December 26th. She is correct in her assertion that the check was presented by ******* ****** Savings Bank on January 5th, but this is not the fault of Washington Financial Bank. As such I categorically deny that the late payment was the fault of Washington Financial Bank.

In her complaint, Ms. ***** also alleges that she attempted to rectify the situation by visiting one of our branches on January 10th, specifically our branch located at *** ******** Avenue in **********, and speaking to Washington Financial employee ******* ******. During the conversation with Ms. ******, Ms. ***** requested that Washington Financial Bank write a letter to ******** ****** Savings Bank regarding the late payment issue.

Ms. ****** agreed to do further research which indicated that in August 2014, Ms. ***** set up the automatic bill pay for the 25th of each month. The Bank’s records also reflect that on January 3, 2015, Ms. ***** changed the payment request date from December 25, 2014 to December 20, 2014. This change would obviously not be effective retroactively.

As clearly indicated in the process detailed above, Washington Financial Bank accepted no responsibility for any errors in processing the payment. The Bank agreed to write a letter to ******* ****** Savings Bank explaining her misunderstanding of the processing time lines only as a courtesy to Ms. ***** to assist with her credit rating. The letter that was prepared is attached as Exhibit B.

The remaining issue is the delivery of this letter. Ms. ****** stated that Ms. ***** informed her she would pick up the letter at the ******** Avenue location on Friday, January 16, 2015.When Ms. ***** returned to the branch on the 16th to pick up the letter, Ms. ****** reviewed the additional research with her, noting the change date for her auto payment. Ms. ***** became irate and abusive, demanding to see the manager who was with another customer at the time. She then asserted that the letter was to be mailed. Unwilling to wait until the manager was available, Ms. ***** left the office.

In summary, Washington Financial Bank accepts no responsibility for the late payment to ******* ****** Savings Bank on behalf of Ms. *****. The letter was prepared for her to pick up only as an accommodation to her and it was never the intent for the Bank to mail the correspondence. Ms. ***** chose not to wait until the manager became available and left the office without the letter.

We remain willing to forward the letter to ******* ****** Savings Bank. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at ********************************* or by phone at ###-###-####.

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In reply to the letter from ******* ** ******, COO, from Washington Financial Bank; yes, since August 2014 the auto bill pay for the 25th of each month was set up.  My question is why was there no problem until December of 2014 when September and November were both months that only had 30 days?  Should there not have been a late payment on any of those months, including November which held the Thanksgiving Holiday on the 27th? From the exhibit sent by ******* ** ******, the payment was set up in August to come out on the 25th of the month, yet, the effective and authorized date in October clearly state the 27th, two days after the authorized date for the funds to be withdrawn.  Clearly, Washington Financial Bank is lacking in their auto bill pay as this should have apparently been an issue with payments prior to December 2014 into January 2015.  I find it hard to believe you claimed you mailed it December 26, 2014, but there is no hard evidence to back that claim, as it was received by another bank on January 2, 2015.  I did not realize a bill could take so long to get from *********** ************ to ******** **** ********, even if there was a holiday.  As for ******* ******, she did not review any additional research, she only walked me in her office and left stating there was no letter mailed and they did not even have the address to the bank it was going to.  As a professional, I did not become irate or abusive, I merely stated, if they were unable to help me that I would forward the matter to someone who would listen.  ******* ****** even encouraged reporting the matter and told me to go ahead and contact the president of the bank too.  Bottom line, I am very dissatisfied with the customer service at this bank, and this is not the first time I have had customer service issues with this particular location.  In the future I will be choosing a bank to better serve my needs in a timely manner.

Regards,

******** *****