This business is not BBB accredited.

A Mamaux & Son Inc

Phone: (412) 771-8432 Fax: (412) 771-8436 102 Ella St, Mc Kees Rocks, PA 15136 http://www.amamauxandson.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company makes awnings.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A Mamaux & Son Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for A Mamaux & Son Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Mamaux & Son Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1961 Business started: 01/01/1865
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Theresa Coleman, Owner Ms. Theresa Boros
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Theresa Coleman, Owner
Business Category

AWNINGS & CANOPIES

Alternate Business Names
Mamaux, A & Son Inc
Industry Tips
Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    102 Ella St

    Mc Kees Rocks, PA 15136 (412) 771-8432

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following items were not returned for the summer season. (1)Two upper bedroom window awnings. (2) One large front porch awning. Said items were to be cleaned & stored, then later installed on April 25, 2014. Numerous calls were made for scheduled delivery & installation but no services were ever rendered despite their promises. All services were paid for in advance per company guide lines. $458.00 for removal, cleaning, storage & installation for the year. No communication has been made since August 21, 2014, which was the last time they were scheduled to return the awnings.

Desired Settlement: Settlement in the amount of $2,658.00 should be refunded to the owner.

Business Response:   I am writing to address complaint made by ***** *******.  A. Mamaux and Son does the erection, storage and removal of Mrs. *******'s awning at **** ******** *******  Every year Mrs. ******* schedules either the erection or removal and when our employees go there, the pipes that are needed to do the work are not available for them and we have to go back to the customer's house up to 3 or 4 times to complete the work.  We call Mrs. ******* the day before to notify her that we are coming and yet every time we come, the pipes are not there.     We do not require payment in advance, we send an invoice after the work is done.  So therefore, Mrs. ******* has a zero balance on her account.      To resolve this matter, A.Mamaux and Son will drop off 3 awnings that Mrs. ******* has here stored in our warehouse.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Mamaux in Oct of 2013 to have my awning repaired over the winter. The awning is 2 years old with a 10 yr. warranty. The corners both have holes in it. They were to do the repair and return the awning when complete. I called Mamaux in April of 2014 to see when my awning would be installed. They came a week later and only repaired one of the corners.I called back at the least 10 times and asked for someone to please return my call. As of today I have heard from no one. The repair job is terrible. They just placed a patch over the corner seam on the outside.It could of at the least been patched on the inside of the awning insteadof an unslightly patch on the outside corner. I have asked for my salesman to come out to my house to look at there repair and of course I have not heard from him either. I would appreciate anything you could do for me since this awning was only purchased in the summer of 2011. I realize I leave my awning up all year but when I purchased the first awning I purchased heavy duty pipes. This is my third awning from Mamaux in the past 18 years and have never had this problem with the first two awnings.

Desired Settlement: I would like my awning repaired in a way that is acceptable or replaced.I would also like my salesman to come to my house and look at the repair job.thank you

9/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Claims repairs were done when they clearly were not. Called multiple times with no response. Charged me for the repairs. Either want repairs done or money refunded.

Desired Settlement: Either do the repairs or refund my money.

Business Response:

I would like to apologize first and foremost for the delay in response to the complaint, #******* made by ******* *******. The events that led up to this complaint are as follows: A. Mamaux and Son, Inc notified Mr. ******* in the Fall of 2012 of repairs needed to erect the awning in Spring of 2013. The repairs were a total resew and patch. We also notified Mr. ******* that the awning was in bad condition and the repairs may not be adequate in effectively erecting the awning. The cost for the repairs was to be $220.00 + tax. Mr. ******* agreed and the repairs were completed in January 2013.

We did receive phone calls from Mr. ******* about his concerns. On two separate occasions, we sent a crew out to check the awning. On the second visit, our employee stated the repairs were visible and there was one tear about 3-4 inches long. It could've been something we had missed or could have occurred after the awning was erected in the Spring. Mr. ******* was not home at the time and our employee talked to Mr. *******'s son who also tried to call Mr. ******* but he was unable to be reached.

At this point, A. Mamaux and Son, Inc will agree to reimburse Mr. ******* the money for his repairs, minus what he owes us for the installation of the awning. An invoice is enclosed as well. We also are not willing to do anymore repairs to Mr. *******'s awning because of the age and deterioration of the awning. We have already repaired this awning in January 2013. We have sent the same response to Mr. *******.

Thank you for your time and patience.

Sincerely,

******** *********

A.Mamaux and Son, Inc.