Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jefferson Auto Sales

Phone: (724) 222-7200 Fax: (724) 222-7937 879 Jefferson Ave, Washington, PA 15301

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers used automobile sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jefferson Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jefferson Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jefferson Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 1995 Business started: 11/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
The number is MV124039L.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jonathan Cohen, Vice President Mr. John Barron, Partner Mr. Victor H Cohen, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan Cohen, Vice President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Jefferson Auto Inc

Additional Locations

  • 879 Jefferson Ave

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 222-7200


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiancé and I are on a car loan together with the dealership "Jefferson Auto". We are e-mailing in response to the issues we had today. The owner, John had spoke with ***** ****** is my fiancé) about these issues and had the car in on 5/31/15 and decided with ***** that the struts would be replaced at no cost to us as a result of all the issues we have encountered with this car. It is not September and my struts have not been replaced. We had to wait for parts to be ordered (as we were told) and scheduled an appt in July. Because of miscommunication, that appt was missed. We were then told the next appointment available was in a few weeks due to them being short one mechanic. We then scheduled it for today (9/14/15), over a month in advance. We have been driving this vehicle since MAY with the struts like this. We drive to Pittsburgh twice a week for things with our daughter and honestly, I feel unsafe in it, but because this was our only solution AND vehicle, I've had to deal with it. Since we have purchased this car in 10/15, we have to put four new tires on three months after purchasing, replace a resorvior tank, coil packs, spark plugs, it was seen by their mechanics TWICE for the check engine light (the first time was four days after our initial purchase and our personal mechanic ultimately corrected that issue while Jefferson Auto was still responsible under warranty) ball joints, a coolant flush (which was pointless because apparently the coolant line is corroded with rust), there were rust holes in the floor that were cheaply fixed by whatever body shop the dealership uses. We were told they would properly use fiber glass and seal the holes in the floor but we were shown during it's inspection that their body shop basically slapped puddy on it. We were also told there is a slim chance this car will pass inspection next year because the underneath is severely rusted out. My window motor has gone for the second time, and our heat and air conditioning do not work. We have taken care of almost all of those repairs. The holes, coil packs, plugs, and apparently struts will/were replaced by them. You have to understand our frustration. We are paying 360$ a month (with perfect payment history) on a car that has been nothing but problems since day one, WITH the great chance it will not pass inspection again in June. We made our appointment for today (9/14/15), both the mechanic and secretary had no idea we had made it (Lori is who we spoke to when scheduling it), and we were told they may not be able to get us in. We scheduled the appt ahead of time so that we could make arrangements to miss work or find other transportation. When **** called at 4:30, we were told he would not get to it today. I made an appt, we don't understand. And then **** is told, well it could be the struts or sway bar or links. So now we have to worry about those costs as well? So we are again, inconvenienced to the point one or both of us will have to call off work at a future time and hope that we can get our car done the same day it is promised. The mechanic had no idea what **** was talking about. So we have to continue driving an unsafe car, while paying an insane amount on a car that blue books for half of what I'm paying for it. The thing is, we wouldn't have a problem paying for this if it was not one issues after the next. It literally has been something EVERY SINGLE MONTH since we purchased this car. I understand we were in a bind with not so perfect credit that this was our last resort. I get that, but I shouldn't have to sacrifice my safety, my daughters safety, and constant STRESS over a vehicle like this. When my fiancé had called to check the status, if the car was completed, he had asked to speak to the owner. He was told John was not there. He then called back a little big ago to see what time they were open to so that we could arrange to get the vehicle since we have prior commitments for my daughter tomorrow (tomorrow is when they would like to fix it, even though I made arrangements TODAY for transportation and work), he found out that the owner WAS there. The service manager Mike, had lied when my fiancé asked to speak to the owner. All we want is a safe car, THAT is all. I transport a seven year old in this car, we use this vehicle to get us both back and forth to our employers, and I just don't feel as though they have provided us with reliable transportation. Not to mention the fact that I put $1000 down a vehicle that I am paying $9995 dollars for, that is on Kelly blue book for almost less than half that amount and we pay $360 monthly, with perfect payment history. When I sent an e-mail to John the owner, he simply said we needed to leave it tomorrow to get it fixed. It's as if he doesn't get it that we made this appointment for a specific day for a reason. If we can't work with them, basically we are out of luck and I don't feel as though that is how a business should be run. Thank you for your time, we appreciate it.

Desired Settlement: I would just like my vehicle to be safe. I have communicated with the dealership that we were more than okay with reworking our loan into another vehicle. I would really like a full refund in the amount of what I have paid on this vehicle. If that is not possible, at least to be in a vehicle that is safe.

Business Response: This vehicle was sold almost a year ago, Oct 30 ,2014 with a 3 month/3000 mile engine and transmission warranty.  We have done several minor "goodwill" repairs, not covered by warranty for this customer at no charge.  Most recently on 9/16/15  we replaced the rear struts & rear sway bar links and front sway bar links, which was $577.24 worth of work, for a charge of $100 to the customer and provided them with a free loaner car. These are routine repairs on wear and tear parts typical for a pre owned vehicle of this age.  So I assume this is a misunderstanding, because this work has already been completed?  There was a 1 day delay in the repair due to a backlog in our garage as a result of our mechanic being off work for a month due to hernia surgery. We are a small family business and work hard everyday to ensure customer satisfaction.  I have gone to great lengths to communicate with these customers to resolve any concerns as quickly as possible, including sending several emails from the hospital during an ultrasound for my unborn child!  In addition, I also paid $150 3/24/15 to another garage for a minor repair as a goodwill gesture.  We have obviously gone to great lengths and expense to help and assist these customers with vehicle maintenance over the past year.  I trust that this is a miscommunication due to timing and that this matter has been satisfactorily resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


****** *****

Everything John has stated is true, for the most part. We were told, on 5/30/15, that ALL struts would be repaired at no cost to us due to the amount of money we had to put into the car within the first 6 months we purchased this vehicle. We were under the impression that the front struts were being repaired as well, that is what we were told. When my fiancé arrived at the dealership to pick up the vehicle, he was thrown off when asked for payment in the amount of $100.00. That is NOT what we were initially told. We were given a loaner car so I could attend the functions for my daughter, however, this was a result of their mistake. When we purchased the car, the inspection stickers were put on in June of 2014. We purchased in October of 2014. When our car was seen by a local mechanic in Washington during the winter of 2014, just a couple months after purchase, he showed my fiancé the holes that were in the floor and the amount of rust that was underneath our car. We were told there was no way the car would've passed a proper inspection that summer with the size of those holes. John may have not known the condition of this car, but his mechanics sure did. We were sold a lemon on a two year loan that will more than likely not pass inspection this upcoming year because of the amount of rust. Our vehicle literally squeeks because the undercarriage and the amount of rust. His mechanic's did do "good gesture" service on our vehicle, which resulted in the wrong coil packs being put on our vehicle, only to cause the check engine light to continuously come on. The other good gesture repair was the one where they paid another garage to repair the holes in our floor. Initially, we were told it would be "fiberglassed" over and sealed properly one week before we had it inspected. During the inspection, OUR mechanic physically showed us how it was done poorly and puddy was slapped on it to simply barely pass inspection. We are denying that John has not got back to us in a timely manner, John was been more than willing to communicate with us and has even taken **** to work when our car was seen there. The issue is I feel as though we were sold a lemon. It has been an ISSUE EVERY SINGLE MONTH since the initial purchase of this vehicle. On top of paying DOUBLE and then some regarding what this car is actually worth, the amount we have had to come out of our pocket is truly a financial burden when trying to raise a daughter and go to school. I have always owned used vehicles and never in my life have I encountered problems. Recently our car began "bucking" and not accelerating, almost as if it's going to just stop. So now we are expecting to be burdening by either the transmission or engine issues. Common knowledge is that those issues may end up costing me more than this car is even worth, knowing it may not even pass inspection next year. I'm not blaming John, as stated before, he has communicated with it. We feel as though however, that someone at that dealership knew the condition of the car we were being sold. We have asked before to please be reworked into another loan. Our goal is just to be a in a safe vehicle. I would much rather be refunded the money I have paid on this car. I am basically paying on a car I will not own after this coming summer due to the condition and current issues. That's if whatever is going on with the engine or transmission can even be resolved. We are literally burdened and panic the second we hear a different noise in this car, again, since the initial purchase, we have had this car serviced almost every month.

3/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues