Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 655-7500 View Additional Phone Numbers 600 Clairton Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15236 http://www.ronlewisautomotive.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

New and Used Automotive Sales and Service


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 10, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1931 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD027527.

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is VD006450L.

Business Management
Mr. Ron Lewis, Owner Mr. Ronald Lewis, President Dan Mazzant, Sales Manager Mr. Steve Peterson, Advertising
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jodi Fedell, Executive Secretary
Principal: Mr. Ron Lewis, Owner
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Products & Services

Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills sells the following brand(s): Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge, Ford, Jeep, Kia, Ram

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Cash and Check
Alternate Business Names
Cranberry Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, LLC Cranberry Pre-Owned Lewis, Ron Automotive Group Morrow Chevrolet Kia, Inc Morrow Ford, Inc Pleasant Hills Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc Ron Lewis Automotive Group Ron Lewis Chevrolet Kia Beaver Falls Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Cranberry Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Waynesburg Ron Lewis Ford Beaver Falls Ron Lewis Pre-Owned Cranberry Waynesburg Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1625 E High St

    Waynesburg, PA 15370 (412) 655-7500

  • 201 7th Ave

    Beaver Falls, PA 15010 (412) 655-7500

  • 20839 Route 19

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066 (724) 776-7400

  • 21145 Route 19

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066

  • 300 9th Ave

    Beaver Falls, PA 15010 (412) 655-7500

  • 600 Clairton Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15236 (412) 655-7500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty request on a Ram Truck with less than 36,000 miles and less than 3 years old. The clear coat paint on the front bumper is peeling away. The vehicle has never been in an accident. The bumper has never been impacted or bumped. The dealer and Chrysler have acknowledged that this is not normal. The warranty claim was rejected because “clear coat does not act this way. This is not normal for clear coat paint”. This is specifically my point. This is not normal for clear coat to peel and flake away for no reason. The dealer has offered to send it to their paint and body shop at a cost of $500. This issue should be covered under warranty. This is clearly die to sub-par painting techniques.

Desired Settlement: I would expect the dealer and manufacturer (Chrysler) to stand by the repair per the original Warranty. The bumper should be repainted free of charge and the vehicle inspected for any additional paint that is also peeling or flaking .

Business Response:

FCA  (Fiat Chrysler America) originally denied the repair for Mr. *******'s 2013 Ram Truck through their digital imaging program on December 17th, 2015.

Senior Management at Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram became aware of the situation after receiving the BBB complaint and researching the vehicle history.

On 12/23/2015 the Service Director, Jim F*** contacted Chrysler's District Area Manager from FCA corporation and was able to secure a one time goodwill repair to have the front bumper repainted on this vehicle at no charge to the guest.

When the BBB case has been concluded, Mr ******* should contact the dealership service department to schedule the repair.

12/31/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have both a brand new doge challenger just 2 months ago. After 10 days of the purchase I can see that a noise is coming is coming from the front brake and suspension, I car is less than 1000 miles when I found the issue. after three attempts the issue was still not fixed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a better car than what I have now because of the mental strain I had to go through as I was paying for a dodge challenger and I was driving a toyota camry for a month.

Business Response:

We did sell and deliver this vehicle to Mr. ********* however, all service on this vehicle was done by a different Chrysler dealership in Ohio.  We would be glad to service the vehicle for him.  He can give us a call at 412-655-7500 to schedule an appointment for our technicians to diagnose any problems.

Tom C******

Vice President


12/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2012 Jeep Wrangler with 35,000 miles and I had a crank seal leak and a pcv valve go bad. I took it in to be repaired. They didn't have the parts so they told me they would let me know when they came in. But my concern was the leak and the oil going into my intake. The man in the service department told me just put oil in it and run it he assured it would be ok. Well two weeks down the road my check engine light came on and it wouldn't keep iddling. I told their service manager about what he told me and also customer service at Chrysler Corp. they completely ignored that and basically said it was my fault and now after they sent pictures in for the warranty they state Chrysler will not pay for the damages for my motor and that I would have to pay to get it fixed. They also fired the guy that told me that shortly after I told them I was calling Chrysler. I told them it wasn't my fault for what he told me and that I wasn't paying to have it fixed. I said I'll pick it up tomorrow. The general manager ensured that it would be put back together in the same condition. It wasn't. I went to start it and all my dash lights came on it was iddling up and down and the mechanics were looking out the window laughing. When I brought it down the first time it drove when I picked it up it had to be towed because they didn't put it back together the way it was like the general manager ensured.

Desired Settlement: Fix my vehicle with no charge to me due to the dealers fault.

Business Response:

Mr. ********** owns a 2012 Jeep wrangler 2 door.  The original purchase date was 6/20/2012.  Mr. ********** purchased it from Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Waynesburg on 2/25/2015 with 24,773 miles.  The original 3/36,000 bumper to bumper warranty expired on 6/20/2015, however the power train warranty still has 19 months remaining or until the vehicle reaches 64,000 miles. 

That being said, when Mr. ********** drove his car in for service on 10/5/2015, we followed the guidelines set forth by Chrysler corporation under the power train warranty policy.

The vehicle would not stay running, it repeatedly stalled and became increasingly harder to restart.  In addition the check light was on.  The technician raised the hood and immediately saw water marks and mud in the engine compartment.  First glance would make you think the vehicle was under water at some point.  Policy dictates that we notify our Chrysler tech adviser for assistance, and Chrysler’s position of continuing warranty coverage.  We were instructed to take pictures and remove the heads for further diagnosis.  Those pictures were sent to Chrysler for inspection.  The next day we received an e-mail denying coverage.

On 10/30/2015 our service director called Mr. ********** to inform him of Chrysler’s position. Mr. ********** told us that he was not paying anything and instructed us to do nothing more.  He then came in to the dealership and had conversation with our general manager.  The result of the conversation was to put the car back into the same condition it was when it came in. 

That was done the following day and Mr. ********** was informed that it was completed and ready for pick up.  There were absolutely no corrective work done on the car, and that there would be no charge as Chrysler covered the diagnosis up to this point.  To the best of my knowledge the vehicle would not drive off of the lot, so it was towed.  At this point we have had no further contact with Mr. **********.

Sincerely,

Thomas * *******

Executive Vice President

 

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** **********

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2009 dodge ram 1500 that has been recalled with dodges biggest fine in US history. they gave me 3 options repair, buyback, trade. it says to come to a dealership to have it appraised and i did just that on 09/15/15 W@530 pm the sales rep was very nice but the general manager David M******* was not. He argued with me regarding my letter i received from Dodge/Chrysler corp offices regarding my recall. he pretty much told me that what they sent me is invalid and told me to take my business some where else. he was unprofessional and i can not believe you have a individual like that working for you. how can you guys operate such a place with employees like this. You have to do what is told to do. Please note. that dodge/Chrysler corporate offices have been notified of refusal to do per there recommendations.

Desired Settlement: I want the individual fired. and i want retail value plus 10% per my letter from corporate offices. i also want the head manager to contact me ###-###-####

Business Response: Steve P*******, Vice President of Sales and Marketing has spoke with Mr. *****.  Mr ***** is to email a copy of the Chrysler letter to Steve P********  

We are waiting for that email.  As soon as we receive a copy of the Chrysler letter we will contact Mr. ***** to discuss.


8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a used 2005 Ford Escape for my daughter (college student), in April 2014. She went to have the car inspected and it was discovered that the rear shock was through the car and into her trunk, needless to say was not passing inspection. This extent of rust does not occur in 12 months time. I took the car back to the dealership and spoke with Bill, the manager, who didn't have the time of day for me and passed me on to a salesman that was just interested in selling me a another car. I was told he had one car on his lot in my price range. He said the car would be $11,600 - $2000 trade in for her car leaving $9,600 but when I asked "What about my current outstanding loan on the Escape of $5,700", he said "They would take care of that" . . . after 40 plus minutes of waiting on my finance options, Mr. ******** (the salesman) informs me that my loan is for 75 months - NOT 48 months that I agreed to and that it wasn't going to be $9,600.00 but over $16,000.00 because my current loan was being wrapped in and he needed to add the tax, title costs. So, needless to say, they were taking no responsibility for selling me a car that I question should have even had a valid inspection sticker on it when it was sold. I put $2,500 down on the car and financed $7,700.00 which I still owe $5,772.78 to be exact.

Desired Settlement: I am faced with having to find a car ASAP for my daughter. I would have liked them to replace her car at no additional cost to me but under the circumstances, I think it's more than fair to hold them responsible for paying off my outstanding car loan so I can start over with a new 4 year loan. They still got over $4,500.00 for a car that had no business being sold in it's condition and I'm being faced with having to start over with a 48 month or longer car loan when I would have had the car paid off in 33 months. A car doesn't rust as badly as this one did in 12 months time. I do have pictures if needed.

Business Response:

Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills
May 13, 2015
To Whom It May Concern:

On April 5, 2014 we sold ******** ******** a 2005 Ford Escape with 64023 miles.
We did a Used Car Inspection on the ear and found it to be in good condition, good miles,
and road worthy to put 2 years or 100,000 miles warranty on Power Train only. This car
was purchased over a year ago and over 22,000 miles were put on the car and the car
never came in with any issues or for service.

On Friday, May 13, 2015, I get a message from ***’s daughter. I call her back and she
said she just had her car inspected and a week later her boyfriend noticed a noise from the
rear of the car. She took the car back to the place that inspected the car and they took the
stickers off I asked her, “Why would they inspect the car and then take the stickers off?”

Then, ***, the mother, called me and I told her we would look at the car for her. ***
brought the car in on Tuesday, May 5, 2015. After inspecting, with one of our
mechanics, both rear wheel housings; the driver’s side rear had normal wear and rust and
the passenger’s side rear had the same wear and rust, but the shock was forced through
the housing. This is not from normal wear. The damage was caused by the vehicle
being overweight or off road riding; We should have taken pictures of the whole car
inside and out to show you the condition of the car at that time.

Thank you,

**** ****
Used Car Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******** ********


5/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I bought a 2013 Jeep Wrangler with about 4000 miles on it in 12/2013. The vehicle has a lift kit that the dealer had installed and was financed with the vehicle's original owner. We specifically asked if the lift was covered before the purchase, and the explained that it was due to the original agreement. During our first mechanical issue we had a front end shimmy that required attention. Ron Lewis Jeep would not return our calls to schedule the diagnosis. Finally we got the vehicle into the shop. Once there, after several days they got back to us saying the steering stabilizer was bad, and also the shock bushings. They told us they wouldn't do the repair because of the factory purchased lift and it should have had the stock steering stabilizer changed when the lift was installed. We had to purchase a new stabilizer and ** in service helped us by giving us a rental car after 6 days. Then put the stabilizer on and got the shocks replaced under warranty. They had the car for about 8 days. The current issue is a broken rear adjustment bar that holds the axle to the frame. We called the dealer and where told by ** in service, that they did not want to see our vehicle and was given the road side assistance #. They also said it could not be towed there. We had it towed to the local dealer who was unable to help since we didn't buy it there and put the lift on it. Ron Lewis is refusing to return our calls. The location that Ron Lewis Jeep had the lift installed is helping rectify the situation by honoring the manufacturers warranty of the product, but we are paying for the part then getting reimbursed, and I have to install it myself. Ron Lewis won't even return there calls. We have been without our vehicle since 4/15/15 and it's now 4/22/15. We are disappointed and missing work due to only having one vehicle. Ron Lewis Jeep of ********** has a zero rating for customer service, and will not receive any referrals from my wife and myself. Thank You and HELP Please

Desired Settlement: I would like money back for a warranty that is not being honored, lost wages, stress and disappointment, the use of neighbors and friends cars and trying to find rides to work.

Business Response:

Re* ** ******** Ms. Patricia Cook:

Mr. ******** purchased the Wrangler on 06/22/2013. The lift kit was on the vehicle when it was traded in by the previous owner. ********** CDJR did not install the lift kit, it is a non- Chrysler kit. Neither Chrysler Corporation nor ********** CDJR is responsible for that manufacturer's warranty. Any repairs associated with the front suspension would fall on the vendor that installed the lift kit and the lift kit manufacturer.

The broken rear track bar is covered under Chrysler Corporations Manufacturer's Warranty. In order for Chrysler to pay for the repairs including the tow bill the customer must call Chrysler's Roadside Assistance to have the vehicle towed to the nearest Chrysler Dealer for warranty repairs per Chrysler's policy. We were not the closest dealer from the location of the break down or track bar failure.

Mr. ********'s Chrysler basic factory warranty is still in effect until 06/19/2016 or 36,000 miles and the powertrain warranty (internal engine, transmission, and drivetrain) is good until 06/19/2018 or 100,000 miles whichever occurs first. Chrysler Corporation will honor his warranty as long as it is in effect and Mr. ******** can have it serviced at any Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram dealer in the country.

After review, ********** CDJR and Chrysler Corporation are not responsible for any repairs involving the Non-Chrysler lift kit. Mr ******** would have to contact Chrysler Corporation to request, cancellation and refund of any existing factory warranties since any and all warranty statements are the responsibility of the manufacturer and not ********** CDJR.

Sincerely,

***** ** ********

Service Director

 

4/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did an internet search of their new vehicle inventory for a specific color of exterior and interior of a **** suv. I utilized the chat with an internet rep. i asked about a specific stock# vehichle, if it was on the lot to test drive that day. She sent me info on a completely different vehichle and asked what time I wanted to stop in, i said noon or 4pm. she said someone would call. since i wanted to stop at noon, i decided to call in at 10:30 because i hadn't heard from anyone. i spoke with a sales person and asked if the exact stock #'d vehicle was on the lot. He said it was, I had 2 vehicles I was interested in, a white with leather and another without. i asked him to please have the vehicles ready to test drive since i would be pressed for time. I gave him completely honest info about my situation so as to avoid back and forth hassle in the financing. when i was walking out the door at noon the first person called me back, but i was already on the way to see the 2nd sales person. when i got to the dealership, he was not ready for me. did not have any paperwork started, did not have the vehicles ready, not the plates, keys, nothing. In fact, they didnt even have the 1st preference vehicle available at all. after several hours there i said I had to get back to work, they forced me to give my social security number and sign authorization to run my credit which i strongly did not want them to do, i had already given them all the info they would need. they called me after i left and quoted me a price. supposedly according to my credit. the next day while doing an online search again, i found on a different website a white with leather vehichle and i inquired, turned out to be this dealership. i inquired about the e price, and spent 3 hrs texting back and forth with this rep. i was very specific in what i wanted, very specific in the amount i wanted to be under very specific in my situation. this sales person then stated that the price online was different, different for a lease. sales person #1 had told me online pricing was different than if you walk in. The old bait and switch method for sure. This is not really what upset me, what upset me was that sales person # 2 informed me they did not use my credit info to give me an accurate price. therefore they misused my social security number and did not obtain the information received. Why run my credit if you are not going to use the credit info obtained to quote me an accurate price.

Desired Settlement: Apology and if there is anyway to report to credit bureaus that they pulled my credit in error or that they misused my information. Whatever legal penalties are involved.

Business Response: In response to the complaint filed by Ms. **** ******.  We have since invited Ms. ****** back to our dealership to see if there was anything we could do to rectify the situation.  Ms. ****** gave us the opportunity on Monday and we are currently putting a deal together for her.  Please let us know if any further response is required.

***** ******
General Manager

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2010 jeep from this place over a year ago under warranty. I didn't notice it as soon as I bought it but that week noticed that when I started out in first gear that the transmission would bang then the stick shift would pop out of first gear into neutral. I kept telling their service dept and I even took it there but they said there were no problems and there was nothing they can do. After that my clutch went bad and they said they will not cover that under warranty and I told them they should because the clutch going bad was because of the transmission problem and they still didn't do anything about it and charged me$1,000 for a new clutch and I never burnt a clutch out before in my life. I then did some research online and many other people had the same problem with their 2010 jeep popping out of 1st gear when driving and then I found out there was a manufacture service bulletin about a bad synchronizer in the transmission and the dealer still refused to look up the service bulletin to see what I was talking about. About a month later my clutch burnt out again because of the bad part in the transmission. They charged me another $1,000 for a new clutch and I couldn't do anything about it at the time because I needed my jeep. I then said I am sick of this jeep popping out of first gear when I’m driving it and the issue making my clutch bad I took the jeep back out there and bade someone sit in the passenger seat while I drove it and it popped out of first gear and the guy said oh wow it really did op out of first gear. At that time the service dept looked up the service bulletin and seen there was a recall on the synchronizers in the transmission and then they replaced the transmission parts under warranty. I asked them for my $2,000 back I had to pay on clutched because the transmission part recall made my clutch go bad but they refused to give me my money back. The clutched went bad because I was forced to start out in 2nd gear instead of 1st gear because they wouldn't fix the problem at first until they looked up the service bulletin. I want my $2,000 back the clutches I had to pay for due to their failure to fix the transmission problem when I kept reporting it to them. I since traded my jeep in on a truck somewhere else but Ron Lewis Jeep in ********* ***** has all records of what they did to my Jeep there. I traded the Jeep in somewhere else because i didn't want them screwing me over again

Desired Settlement: I want my $2,000 back they charged me on clutches due to them not fixing the transmission problem at first when there was a recall on the parts in the transmission

Business Response:

A review of Mr. *******'s service history disputes his entire claim. The vehicle was purchased on 03/09/2013. 07/29/2013 the first service visit, the owner complaint was "car will not move", we replaced the clutch for excessive wear. It wasn't until 02/14/2014 almost a year after purchase that the owner complained about the wrangler popping out of 1st gear. We replaced number 1 and 2 synchronizers on 05/09/2014 when we were able to verify the condition as per the technical service bulletin (not recall), so the synchronizers did not cause the clutch to fail.

Mr. ******* states that he was forced to start out in second gear because it pops out of first is not supported by the technical service bulletin. The symptom/condition section of the, bulletin reads, the transmission pops out of first gear while accelerating, thus enabling the driver to start out in first.

Clutches among several other items are only covered by the factory warranty for 12 months or 12,000 miles from the date the vehicle is first placed in service as a new vehicle or demo. The wrangler had 51,908 miles on it when purchased by Mr. ******* so it was out of warranty.

I reviewed Mr. *******'s service history with Chryslers Area Manager seeking reimbursement assistance for the second clutch replacement under Chryslers defective parts warranty. The request was denied, the parts warranty is for defects not wear.

The position of Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Pleasant Hills is: based on the service history, no reimbursement is warranted.                                  

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I told the service dept on several different occasions before the first clutch went and before the second clutch went about the service bulletin about the transmission and they refused to look it up until I showed the service dept it popped out of first gear when starting out so I had no choice to start out in second gear and the service dept knew that. If they would have looked up there was a service bulletin from the first time I reported the problem I would have never had to replace two clutches in a matter of a month or so. This is bad business performed by the dealership and they should have looked up the service bulletin from the first time I reported it to them. The first time I told them about the service bulletin the one guy said he never heard of it instead of looking it up at first to see that I was right. U mean are u kidding me. 

Regards,

***** *******

2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a car from this company and 12 days later it catches fire and is a total loss. Car was not even running at the time.

Desired Settlement: Would like a replacement vehicle in place of the vehicle lost. You can inspect every part of a car that is visible, but you cant inspect what is not visible.

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****,

Ron Lewis Pre-Owned Cranberry sold Mr. ****** a 2009 Chrysler Sebring with 104,495 miles. We inspected the vehicle and sold the Sebring with a ************ inspection sticker on it. The vehicle was safe and ready for everyday use.

We sold the car with no warranty due to the age and mileage on the vehicle. Mr. ****** signed all necessary documents stating that he was aware that he was buying a vehicle with no warranty.

We are very sorry to hear what has happened to Mr. ******' vehicle and hope we can help by finding him another vehicle. I would offer a vehicle at a reduced cost to help him as much as we can. We cannot replace Mr. ****** vehicle at no cost to him.

Sincerely,

**** ********
General Manager

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from them on Oct. 25, 2014. I went back on the 29th to tell them that the car's seat was defective and they knew it. The driver's seat was busted and had caused a contusion on my leg because of it. I asked if the car could be exchanged or get my old car I traded in back. The car I bought would not have passed Inspection the way the Driver's they could do and would pay for the seat was and that they had deceived me. I was told they could order a new seat and that was the best they could do. They would pay for the cost of the seat and labor. Well they never got back to me or answered my calls. A month had passed and after I called the Manager. They put me thru to the Sales Person I dealt with. He said he would check and call me back that same day. Never did!!! I kept calling. By now the contusion on my leg was down to the bone. The salesman called and told me to only call his cell phone #. So the calls couldn't be recorded anymore. He called a couple of days later and asked me to drive out to Ron Lewis on Dec 12th. Well I did. I was told that the good news was they could fix the seat and now it was covered under the warranty I had purchased with the car. The bad news was that they would have to order the seat. As of today. Dec 28th I have not heard from them. My driver's seat is still busted and injuring my left leg because of it

Desired Settlement: At this point I do not want to deal with this Dealership. I want the money returned and contract with the lender cancelled or to be able to pick the car of my choice and be done with them. I have been in pain since I got the car and stressed due to trying to deal with them. I need a car to get to work. But not this one and I do not trust The Dealership. I don't know when my leg will heal

Business Response: On Oct 25,
2014 Ms. **** purchased a vehicle from Ron Lewis Chevrolet. A few days later
she came back to show us that there was an issue with the driver’s seat that
was making her uncomfortable. At that time we agreed to repair or replace the
necessary parts to solve the issue.

I authorized
our service and parts departments to make the arrangements to have the work
completed. Unfortunately I assumed that everything was handled when I never
heard anything more about it but I was mistaken. Ms **** contacted me last
month and expressed her concern that nothing was ever done about it. Upon
further research I found there was miscommunication between departments and the
part was never ordered.  

We had Ms **** come back to the dealership to have the service manager re inspect what
was needed and get the parts here to make the repair. I have followed up with
my salesperson and the service department and am told that we are still waiting
for a part that is on back order from the manufacturer to complete the repair.
I assure you and Ms **** that the seat will be repaired just as soon as we have
all the parts needed to do so.


**** *****
General Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

**** ****

1/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a 2013 Dodge Durango SXT. In May of 2014 I received my first recall notice of a possible defect in the Brake Booster of the vehicle that may result in the booster splitting at the seams and in turn causing failure of proper breaking. Within 7 days of receiving this my vehicle was in the service center for routine maintenance and I inquired about the recall( with recall notice in hand). I was told that I would be put onto a waiting list and was one of the very first customers who came with this and that once the parts arrived I would be called. At this time the vehicle was not even inspected for the defect to ensure my or my families safety was not at risk. Since May I have been to the dealer 3 times with no inspection of this part and still no part. I have requested the General manager contact me to discuss this on 4 separate occasions and still to this day I have not heard from them. I have also contacted Chrysler and they said the parts are on back order and they don't have enough to send to the dealers, and that I should keep calling to other dealerships in the area to see if they have the parts available.In November I received a recall for a second problem to the alternator that could result in vehicle fire and or the vehicle to become inoperable. I was told that I would again be put on a waiting list for when the parts are available and that no timeframe is available for this. Recall notice #2 for first recall arrived December of 2014 and still no parts available. I was told that over 300 customers just for my dealership are now ahead of me.

Desired Settlement: Either repair of vehicle or replacement of vehicle due to safety concerns with another vehicle.

Business Response: Recall P14 power brake booster shield recall parts have
been very slowly released to our dealership on the average of 3-5 shield kits a
week since the recall had been announced. Earlier this month Chrysler began releasing
much larger numbers of the parts and our dealership has been contacting the
customers that that have been on our list in the order that they had contacted
us. ******* **** should be contacted by Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Cranberry within the
next week or so to have his P14 recall completed.

I have attached a copy of the P60 recall notice that
customers are receiving from Chrysler Motor Company. In summary it states that
they are recalling some vehicles for the alternator failing and that they will
notify all the customers involved in this recall when the parts and repair will
be available.

On the notice there is also a 1-800 number for customers
to call with any questions or concerns that they may have.

*** ****

Service and Parts Director

Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Cranberry



Business Response: *****, our Appointment Coordinator for Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, called **** **** on Friday, January 2, 2015 and left a voice message stating that the part for the
P14 Power Brake Booster Shield recall was available and that we would like to get his vehicle scheduled at his earliest convenience.

We are awaiting a return phone call.  If we do not here back from him by Wednesday, January 7, 2015, we will call again.

Sincerely,

***** ****
Service Director

Consumer Response: I have called and scheduled appointment for the P14 Recall but still awaiting parts for the other alternator recall.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ****

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a car on 8/2014 the very next day the radio and lights started flashing and the brakes we makeing a noise and also had a hard time starting the car/the engine turning over.I was told it was an as is sale.there the certified paper that i have on the very botton in very tiny letters it says not certified if over a 100,000 miles.Very hard to read for anyone.The salesman also told me the battery was charged and they would charge it again for me.My understanding they knew the battery was not good.Also on the form it says rotors were cut down.The brakes were makeing a grinding noise.I then called and spoke with the manager in the dept.He then again stated not covered.Alarms and lights continue to flicker in the dash.As of yesterday the grinding started again.Now the bearings went out in the front end of the car.They refuse to work with us at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take the car back or fix the repairs.

Business Response: Mr. ****** Honda was back one time since purchase on 9/15/2014 for an air bag warning light being on. The vehicle was taken to a Honda dealership for repair. The drivers seat belt buckle was replaced for $236.44. Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram absorbed the charge and did not charge Mr. *****. As far as the other issues, nothing has been diagnosed by our Service dept. The Sales department is not willing to occur any further expense on this vehicle. We would gladly inspect at no charge the brake grinding issue to ensure they are safe for our guest. No other diagnosing or repairs will be done unless the customer is willing to participate.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* *****

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 that I bought new. The bed has started cracking on both sides near the cab. I took it to the dealer and they said that I needed to take the tool box and bed liner out so that they could have a better look at it. I did this and returned for them to look at it. They immediately said that I had put too much weight on it. They took pictures and sent them to Chrysler for a repair request. I was told that the request was made and that I was denied. The claim was apparently denied because of "outside forces". I asked them what the vehicle rails were rated for. They said that they would have that information for me on my next visit. However, when I returned, they handed me a phone number for Chrysler. I called that number and they don't know either. If they don't know how much weight you can put into a tool box, how can they say that I put too much weight on it (especially since no one ever asked me how much I had in the tool box)? The three year factory warranty has expired (we are still covered under an extended warranty that does not cover sheet metal). However, this is a catastrophic failure of the vehicle body. If I have indeed put too much weight on the vehicle, I will take responsibility. We have had other older Dodge trucks with tool boxes and never had any problems. A Dodge Ram Forum website has indicated that others have had similar problems and that the bodies are now made of thinner sheet metal. Any help would be appreciated. Also, as a side note, one of the steps that was on the truck when we bought it new has broken out of the frame and they refused to repair that as well.

Desired Settlement: Repair of the bed and step.

Business Response:

Ron Lewis Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Waynesburg

09/17/2014 *** *** ******;

Attached is the actual request we made to Chrysler on the owners behalf. The manufacturer is responsible for any warranty Statement and provisions. Chrysler Corporation declined the repairs. Ron Lewis Chrysler Waynesburg has no responsibility in this matter. Our recommendation is for the owner to contact Chrysler's customer relations department at the number that we provided. Thank you.

Sincerely,

** *****
Service Manager
 

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a 2012 Ram 3500 pickup truck Nov 1, 2013. The truck was not inspected. We waited 6 hours on it to be inspected. It passed state inspection with a very bad alignment, a broken belt in a rear tire, weak tires for the weight of the vehicle and a death wobble when driving over bridge joints/pot holes. We went back to the dealership 4 times. The truck has been aligned and the tire with the broken belt has been replaced by the dealership. The tires have not been replaced with the correct ply for the weight of the vehicle. The death wobble has not been cured. The service department says we have to replace tires with the correct ply on our own. The vehicle should not have been sold nor state inspected needing safety issues repaired.

Desired Settlement: The tires on the vehicle need to be replaced with the correct ply for the weight of the vehicle by the dealership! This is so that the death wobble is cured according to the service manager, ******. This needs repaired before my family wrecks and is injured. It should not have been ignored and should have been fixed at time of inspection, not returned 4 times to still not be repaired!

Business Response: Our customer has been contacted and has agreed to a 50/50 settlement on a new set of tires.

Our customer has stated they are extremely satisfied. 

Sincerely,

***** ********
Vice President

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my truck to Ron Lewis Dodge to get overhead clearance lights installed. I purchased the ligths from the parts department. Before I purchased the lights I inquired to the cost of installation. I was told it would be $132. So I went ahead with my purchase of the lights planning to have them installed for $132 by Ron Lewis Dodge. The day came for installation, so I dropped my truck off around 8am in the morning and I was going to pick it up that afternoon. Around 11am I recieved a phone call from the service department manager (***), just wanting to clarify that I wanted the lights installed because it was going to cost around $320. Obviously I was confused. I told the service manager (***) that I had bee quoted $132 for the install by ********. *** told me she would call me back after she talked to someone. *** called me back and let me know that they were going to honor the $132 and she would call when the truck was complete. The next morning I picked my truck up around 8:30am, paid and left immediatley because I had to be at work at 9am, 45 minutes away. When I arrived at work I got out of my truck and noticed a large scratch on the drivers door. I did not check the truck before I left the dealership, but I drove it from there to my office, no stops in between. So it was obvious to me that it had happended at the dealership. After work I returned to Ron Lewis to show them the scratch and see what they would do about it. The person at the counter went to get the service manager (*** ), and as *** was coimg out of her office I overheard her rudely say to her coworker that I was the person that they worked a deal for, and now I am here complaining about something. Then *** came out and walked right by me, without a word and went to my truck. She came back in an said that she was going to have one of the service guys take it back and see if they could buff it out, which they could not. She then told me that there was nothing they could do because there is no way to tell if they did it.

Desired Settlement: I would like the large scatch on my drivers door fixed. It is an obvious scratch that was done by something repeatedly rubbing on the door (like a stool or stand used to install overhead clearance lights?). I was very disapointed by the way I was treated by *** *, and I believe I deserve an apology from her.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter is in response to complaint ID# *******, concerning a 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Truck, serial # ****************, belonging to ***** *******After a review of the events that transpired and a conversation with all parties involved there is no way to determine when and how the scratch occurred to the driver’s door of the truck. Taking into consideration the overall condition of the truck and my conversation with Mr. ******, on 1/16/2014 at 10:34am, we feel that in the interest of customer satisfaction that we should indeed repair the scratch to the door at one of the Collision Centers within our Dealer Group at no charge.

Mr. ****** has agreed to contact our Service Manager, *** *******, to make arrangements to have the repair done and he is satisfied with our agreement.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have in this matter between the hours of 8:00am to 5:00pm at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

*** *******

Service Director

11/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a 2011 Kia Soul found out they didnt disclose it was an accident. Then I paid more than the original invoice for the car. Went back and complained the the salesman, ******, he talked me into taking a lease vehicle. Emptied all personal belongings from the 2011 Soul and drove off the lot with the brand new Soul. ****** said they would sell the 2011 Soul. That night I was at work and I got a call from my boyfriend that ****** brought back the 2011 Soul. Of course it was too late for me to call him. Spoke with ****** again and he told me he didnt want to lose his job and he would PERSONALLY pay me every month for the lease. Now I am stuck with 2 cars and dont know what to do. I have tried repeatedly to work with them but I am getting nowhere except more in a hole every day.

Desired Settlement: Would like them to take back both vehicles. Restore my credit and give me the money back for my trade.

Business Response:

According to our records available the 2011 KIA Soul purchased on 8/30/13 had never been in an accident.

2)      The price charged for both vehicle were at Fair Market Price or the Financial Institution would not have agreed to the Contract and the customer was fully aware of the pricing and payments at the desk and after going into the Business office to complete the transaction.

3)      With the Lease of the second vehicle: the customer made no mention of even considering trading of any vehicle.

4)      Within one week of second vehicle Lease purchase the customer did come in and discussed with Mr. ****** ******** her options, because she was now only wanting to keep one vehicle. Mr. ******** advised her that she could try to sell either one on her own or trade one or both here or elsewhere.

5)      Mr. ******** has told me that he in no way told the customer that he would personally make any of her payments on either vehicle.

6)      We would be happy to visit trying to trade the customer out of one or both her current vehicles, but it would be subject to financial approval and the customer’s approval of the deal.

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 ********* ******* ** Used from Morrow Chevrolet-Kia in Beaver Falls, PA on October 27th 2012. The sticker on the car said that the vehicle went through an 127 point inspection. the vehicle was taken back to the dealer on the same day due to them selling me a car with a leaking sunroof, on top of the leaking sunroof the car had a few other problems wrong with it which included the back hatch bracket which was broken along with a dent on the back of right rear side which to me means that the car was in an accident, even though they gave me a car fax report which shown no accidents. the car was also making a lot of noises which to me was probably sounds coming from the rear hatch since the bracket was broke. after 8 months of having the car i noticed a new noise coming from the front end of the car, i then returned the car to have it looked overed and serviced if needed only to find out that the car had even more problems then what it should have in the 4000 miles that the car was driven in the first 8 months. all of the noise was coming from the rear of the vehicle which included rear hub bearings, rear springs, rear trailing arms, shocks, brakes, rotors, and front sway bars. all of which was covered only because i was smart enough to get a 2 year warranty which they screwed me on and charged me $2500.00 for. as far as i can tell they sold me a death trap which at any time i could have been seriously injured or killed due to their lie of having that car go through an 127 point inspection. everything on this vehicle that was bad was bad since the day that i bought it. So BUYER BEWARE THIS DEALER IS NOT THE BEST TO BUY FROM AND FROM MY EXPERIENCE NOW FOR THE SECOND TIME THIS WILL BE THE LAST TIME I EVER BUY FROM THEM. protect yourself and your loved ones from buying any used vehicle from this dealership.

Desired Settlement: i would rather have a refund of this vehicle and it taken off of my hands. there are more problems still wrong with this vehicle that still have not been fixed and as far as i'm concerned is unsafe for anyone to drive. i would like the dealer to take it back and for this not to affect my credit. this car should never have been sold the way it was to me or to anyone else.

Business Response:

In Response to BBB   ID # *******:    

******* ******* ******** **. purchased his vehicle from us on 10/27/12. In the negotiating for a vehicle, everything was upfront and fully disclosed prior to the purchase by the customer. The vehicle had been safety checked and issued new State Inspection and Emission Stickers in our Service Dept., deeming the vehicle roadworthy and a safe vehicle. Mr. ******* purchased the vehicle for $6942.00, plus tax, title, license, and all fees. The vehicle was sold to him AS-IS and he signed no less than 6 (six) separate papers stating that.

He was presented the opportunity to purchase an “OPTIONAL” Mechanical Service Contract at an extra charge of 2482.00 to the insurance company, which he opted to go with. I am glad he chose this optional protection, because on 6/21/13 with 119,740 miles on the vehicle he needed service that resulted in an extensive repair that the Service Contract covered in the amount of 1791.50, and he still has the protection until 10/27/14 or up to mileage of 139,946.

We feel as an organization that we treated this customer fairly, openly and honest every step of the way, both during the presentation process, negotiating, and full disclosure of the vehicle, and service before and after the initial sale.

Regards

****** ******

General Manager

Consumer Response:

the vehicle was making a lot of nonoises from the rear of the vehicle from the day I purchased the vehicle. So by them saying it was road worthy is a false statement. When I took it in for these noises at that point it was getting worse. So this vehicle was not looked over the way it should have been. Along with when I had the repairs done the service department said additional repairs needed done before inspection which was also false. I was duped in to buying this vehicle and was never properly told anything with buying this vehicle other then the payment. 

 

8/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/2/2013 my father ****** ********* goes to Morrow Chevy Kia to co-sign for his nephew to get a car. The Sales Consultant ******* *. tells my cousin ****** he could get him into this ***** ****** For $23,000.00 after factory rebate. They ran ******'s credit report it came back not so good. So they where going to need ****** to co-sign for him. ****** filled out application for vehicle traded in his auto a 98 ***** ****** and told him his payments would be $475 a month. He signs paper works where needed So they gave him the keys and put a dealer plate to go to work. Then told my father we could save him some money and make his payments lower. Bring his payment to $450. If that will help his credit score. My father said they started shoving blank pieces of papers in front of him getting him to sign them when it was all said and done. My 80 year old father purchase himself a $31,000. car. My cousin's name was not on the application at all. They had sold the car to my father not my cousin. We tried to get it fixed went back to dealership. They now tell us that my cousin ****** will have to come up with $4,000 to $5,000 dollars before they can do anything when it was their fault. They mislead an 80 year old man. A Sales Consultant by the name of ****** was helping out and he's the one who got the sale. When I went to fine out why the car was sticker priced at $28,000. and with a $5,000 rebate. The selling price this car was $31,000 a for cry from $23,000. ****** admitted to me that my father was over charge for this car, this was after looking over the application together and making him explain the contract several times. He finally said some people pay more than other people and in the same breath he said I will take care of you next time you purchase a car from us again. He said we can pay up to 30 % over the sticker price. That's only for certain people.

Desired Settlement: What I like to happen is for the car application to be done over for two reasons :1. For ****** ********* to be the owner and my father ****** as the co- signer on the vehicle and without the $4,000 - $5,000 dollars down for it to be at the $475. payment a month which he sign for.2. For the sticker price of the vehicle to be what is should be $28,000. with $5,000 rebate ,with his trade that they have and all the Service Contract Package, GAP, TST and taxes, plates that where added.

Business Response: ****** and ****** *********, along with a Mr. and Ms.******** **** came into our business on July 2, 2013 to deal on a new car.  We presented numbers in both names, but the required monies down (as set by the financial source) was not agreeable to the customer.

****** ********* was presented numbers, including the asking price, rebates he qualified for, trade allowance, taxes, license and all fees, along with a monthly payment, without any cash down, as requested by ****** *********.  These numbers were explained to him and Mr. and Ms. ****, who were here to assist ****** in the transaction. They were in writing and verbally explained line by line.

Mr. ********* agreed to the proposal after much discussion with the salesperson ******.  Mr. ********* signed the initial purchase agreement, then all other necessary paperwork was taken to the Business Office for completion.

Mr. ********* along with Mr. **** went into the Business Office.  All papers signed by Mr. ********* were completed and explained fully, prior to any signatures.  We do NOT have customers sign "blank" paperwork.  We believe that the individual with the complaint was not involved in the transaction at any time and is getting their information second hand and is not as accurate as to what actually transpired. 

We acted in a professional, open and honest manner and did NOT hide anything at anytime during the entire transaction.

Sincerely,

****** ******
General Manager



8/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on June 15th, we shopped at Pleasant Hills Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc. We asked to see new vans and we were shown a used one reportedly in excellent condition/ low mileage that was on the lot. It also had a 100,000 mile power train warranty. The van looked nice and handled well on the test drive. There was a red light on the console during the test drive. When asked, the salesman said it was a seat belt light. We discovered after the purchase that it was an airbag light that was allowed to pass inspection. Under the dealership's protest, it was repaired because the salesman informed us it was a seat belt light. We were told there were 2 keys -- there was only 1. Under protest, they provided a second one, again because the salesman promised 2. On June 20, a light lit on the console and the power to the motor dropped. Turning the van off then on brought power back to the van. Dealer blamed the problem on a loose gas cap. Two days later the same problem happened. Both times the vehicle was going uphill. Both times we checked the gas cap. On June 24th, the power dropped and light came on again going downhill. On the way to the dealership for repair, it went out again going uphill. When we took it to the dealership, they paid a portion of the repair cost. On July 1st (fifteen days after purchase), the power to the motor cut out entirely. There was no warning light or beep. A few hours later, it happened again. This time, the dealership is not willing to repair the same problem for free.Upon discussion with Chrysler corporate, the company is not willing to help us solve this problem with the van. They will contact the dealership, but will not be contacting us with any solutions. We may take it to another dealer for repair, but we will have to pay again to fix a problem we thought was fixed. we do not recommend buying used cars from Chrysler as they do not stand behind the product as represented.

Desired Settlement: 1 of 2 options. 1)The van fixed at no cost to me (because we already paid to fix this problem even though it was under warrant) and an extended warranty so I can have it repaired at the dealership of my choice now and in the future. 2) Chrysler or the dealership buys the car back for full purchase price plus taxes and title.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

We have done everything we can, within reason, to assist the customer with the mechanical problems aforementioned in their complaint.  We have covered approximately $900.00 in repair costs in an attempt to appease the customer.

Our mechanics have taken the vehicle on numerous text drives in an attempt to identify said mechanical failures the customer has described.  The mechanics did not experience the mechanical failures that the customer described during any of the test drives.  That being said, we cannot repair a problem if a problem does not present itself to our certified mechanics.

Sincerely,

**** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response:

 

Upon reviewing the response from the business, no offer was provided.

As for them not finding the mechanical problem (the van loses power while driving), they stated they have found issues with what was causing the problem. On 6/20 the code that was displayed in the car indicated that the gas cap was not correctly replaced. This took them approximately 15 minutes to fix. On 6/25, after the problem occurred again numerous codes were displayed by the car's computer (***** ***** ***** ***** *****). I was told that a cam shaft sensor had to be replaced. They only covered $94.00 of the total bill which was $226.62. We were obligated to pay the remainder to fix the car. I do not see where they spent $900 to fix the mechanical problem.


The only way I have been able to achieve a total expense of $900 is by including the following:


1. The second key bob

Before purchasing the car, the salesman promised 2 keys. After the paperwork had been completed and signed, we were informed there was only 1 key bob. I had agreed to accept a valet key as long as it would allow me to drive the car. When we went to pick this up, we were informed that they no longer make a valet key that will start the car. So they begrudgingly gave me a second key bob. I understand the estimated value of that key was about $150.00.


2. The air bag sensor light

We were misled again by the salesman before the purchase of the car concerning the airbag light. When questioned about a light on the instrument panel, we were informed it was a seat belt safety warning light. We later discovered after the purchase of the car when all passengers had fastened their seat belts (and the light remained lit) that it was actually an airbag safety light. Upon returning to the dealership, they informed us that they knew the light was faulty, but decided not to repair it because it was not deemed a necessary repair to pass state inspection. I insisted that because we were misled they should fix the issue. We were not given any papers to indicate the cost of this repair. This may bring their total cost for all problems to the $900. (Key bob $150 + $94 for cam shaft sensor +allow $50 for gas cap problem (my estimate) means it cost them $578 to fix the sensor light. Again, the entire $900 did not go to the mechanical problem).


 

I feel the dealership is trying to misrepresent the facts in this case to their benefit because 


1. they say their mechanics could not determine what the issue was with the car losing power, but have provided us with the 2 solutions listed above.


2. they state they spent $900 to repair the loss of power problem without providing supportive documentation. We determine their portion to be the $94 they spent and the 15 minutes to screw on the gas cap (surely not an $806 charge).


3. they sold the vehicle to us with a power train warranty until the mileage reaches 100,000 but did not honor it for the cam shaft sensor repair which is part of the power train. (The vehicle had under 55,000 miles at time of cam shaft repair).


In addition, any time that I have raised any issue, management's response has been yelling and intimidation while begrudgingly fulfilling their staff's promises (i.e. the key and airbag warning light). After the van was supposedly repaired but lost power again (after the cam shaft sensor repair) I called to state that the problem had not been fixed. The Used Car Manager suggested that I bring the vehicle back in and I agreed. I then asked if he knew of the two protection laws applicable to used cars because I did not feel I should cover the expense of the repairs on a van sold in 'excellent condition' [their terminology] less than 2 weeks before. It was also sold with a power train warranty which to me means they should cover the cost of repairs if the van loses power. As soon as I mentioned the Consumer Protection Laws: the Pennsylvania Unfair Trade Practice and Consumer Protection Law and the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act, the Used Car Manager started yelling and screaming and said he did not want to deal with me. When I asked him to calm down or I would file a complaint with Chrysler Corporation, he screamed "File the complaint!" knowing that Chrysler Corporation would keep the complaint internal and refer it right back to the dealership. The Chrysler Corporate representative explained that they would not follow-up on the complaint, which (to me) meant the dealership would not have to take action as there would be no penalty. 


I have lost all confidence in their ability to repair my vehicle and that is why I was requesting one of the options for a solution which I gave previously. 

 

Regards,

***** ******* 

 

 

Business Response: To Whom It may Concern,

Pleasant Hills Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram would like to put an end to the dispute on the best terms possible.  We would like to offer the customer a ***** 3 year/unlimited mileage ********* vehicle protection plan at no cost to the customer.  This is not an admittance of fault but a gesture of goodwill.

For the record, a cam-shaft sensor is not covered in a power-train warranty.  This is clearly stated in the power-train warranty contract that the customer signed and received (a copy of) at the time of sale.

Also, for the record, we did provide the customer with mechanical diagnosis for some mechanical problems the vehicle was experiencing.  The problems diagnosed, however, were not connected to the issue of the vehicle allegedly losing power.

**** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

Please have them contact me when the ***** 3 year/unlimited mileage ********* vehicle protection plan is in place with all the information I would need to use this plan.

Regards,

  

***** ******* *******

 

 

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started having problems with my 2010**** ******* on Sunday July 7, 2013 on my way up Erie, PA. The overheating light came on and my car stopped accelerating. I was an hour outside of my destination and knowing that I had the ***** **** **** warranty on **** (100,000 miles/10 year) I could call them and start a roadside assistance service plan. I had talked to *** that day and knowing that all dealerships where closed, I had decided to just let the **** cool off and finish my destination. On the way home the vehicle started to do the same exact problems and as we were driving (all the way over in the left hand side of the road) my car's overheating light came on, it stopped accelerating, and I prayed that we could merge over to the right hand side of the road for safety with two children in the back of the car. I called the***** **** **** people again in the morning and had they tow my car when I got to work in the morning. They towed my **** to this dealership and this is where my problems start. ** the service guy here, didn't listen to me, he didn't seem to care what my problems where. I needed a rental and he refused to give me a rental, until I demanded I get one because I knew what my warranty offered me. After several phone calls throughout the day, he offered for a tech to take my car through the night and drive it, and then said he didn't have anybody to do that. I told him how the **** acts up on long car drives, can't use AC, it will stop accelerating on me and he mocked me and said he can't have a tech drive my car 2 hours to Erie and laughed at me. I feel that he is very unprofessional and is only there to make a buck and doesn't care about the customers and their problems. I did not feel safe breaking down twice within 24 hours of one another; I am scared to drive my vehicle now. I do not have the confidence in this company that I once did. ** really treated me with disrespect and I felt he doubted my trust because I was a woman in this situation. Thanks

Desired Settlement: First off I would like a refund for all of my troubles for todays troubles. I would also like to feel safe in my vehicle and have it checked out and know that they took the time to check it over thoroughly and listen to my problems without being laughed at or mocked. This ******* is three years old; it should not be having these problems. This is the 3rd time in 3 very short yrs. I just want to be able to feel safe, because at one time this was a trusted worthy name brand to myself & my family

Business Response:

The owners’ complaint as recorded on repair order ***** dated 07/09/2013 is “Vehicle is overheating, all the warning lights come on and car has no power”. We did perform a thorough check up, although we could not verify the complaint, the mechanic had to pressure test the cooling system for leaks, scan the vehicles computers and sensors for any electronic faults and ran the cars vehicle identification number thru ********** database to determine if there are any vehicles of the same body style and equipment complaining about the same thing and what fixed it. We would normally road tested the vehicle four to five miles to confirm the complaint, unfortunately we do not have the personnel to drive the vehicle for an extended period of time as per the owners statement in the BBB letter ” acts up on long car drives”.  

This is the owner’s first visit at this dealership. We do not know what was done the other two times this happened or where the repairs were made Twice a week I drive from my house in ****** Pa. to ********** Pa. that’s 168 miles round trip. If the owner feels that problem will occur within that mileage then my recommendation would be to schedule an appointment with us.

There are two charges on the repair order dated July 09, 2013, $48.00 for diagnosis to check the vehicle overheating complaint and $27.95 for oil and filter change. If the owner does reschedule with us I will waive the diagnostic fee for that visit.  The oil change, that was requested by the owner and a refund is not warranted and will not be considered.

 Sincerely 

***** * ******** Service Manager

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

 

I would like to be refunded for the money that was spent at this business. and it is MS. ***** ******

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

6/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Web site has a prise of 21,138.00 for a 2014 Jeep Patriot. Requested an internet price per web site. received an E-mail that said the internet price was 21,138.00 than after that a price of 22,138.00 everyone qualifies for. talked to an internet sales rep . ask me question on my vet status. She called back and told me price was 22,138.00.There is a hidden disclaim. but you have to know were to look.Also there was no disclaim in my E-mail giving me my internet price.. This in my opinion is either a bait and switch deal or sales advertising.

Desired Settlement: Charge the way they're advertising pricing. This the only dealer that i have encountered that doze this.

Business Response:

In response to this complaint, our disclaimer concerning internet pricing is not hidden.  If you go to our website, www.ronlewisautomotive.com, click New Inventory, click Cranberry dealership in the Search Box, click 2014 in the Year Box, then click Patriot in the Model Box.  Then scroll down to the Patriot listed for $21,138 will appear on your screen.

If you click on this vehicle, you will see that our disclaimer is listed in the same size and font as all the Details and Included Packages on the vehicle.  Also, it is immediately adjacent to this information. 

As mentioned in our comments, not all consumers are eligible for all rebates from Chrysler Corporation. Because of this, our policy is to advise all consumers before they come into our dealership of the two levels of rebates that may be available to them.

We do this intentionally so that the consumer does not feel that they have been baited or switched.

Please call me with any questions or concerns.

***** ********Vice President Sales and Marketing

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I BOUGHT A 2010 MERCURY MARINER ON 03/14/13. FROM MORROW FORD IN BEAVER FALLS, PA15010. I CANNOT GET THE SALES MANAGER TO CALL ME BACK ITS BEEN ALMOST A MONTH. I WAS ABLE TO SPEAK TO MY SALES GUY ABOUT THE OUTSIDE KEYLESS ENTRY KEYPAD, THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO GET ME A 5 DIGIT CODE ACCORDING TO THE OWNERS MANUAL BOOK PG 98.IS THIS TOO MUCH TO HAVE DONE AS A CUSTOMER? THEN HE TRIED TELLING ME IT WOULD BE AN ADDITIONAL $100.00 TO HAVE THEM PROGRAM IT FOR ME. ALL THIS WHEN I JUST GAVE THEM BUSINESS BY BUYING A CAR LOAN I TOOK ONE OUT FOR 18,000.00 NOW THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME SOMEMORE? I CALLED THE BUSINESS MANAGER SEVERAL TIMES MORE THAN 4-5 TIMES HIS NAME IS *** ******** (###-###-####) AND HE CANNOT CALL ME BACK? I WISH I COULD JUST GIVE CAR BACK AND SHOP ELSE WHERE,(ISHOULD OF WENT TO ***** ****) I AM HIGHLY FRUSTRATED THAT NO ONE WILL RETURN MY CALL AND THEY ARE TRYING TO MAKE AN EXTRA BUCK ON ME I AM A SINGLE MOM SO I AM STRUGGLING AS IT IS. TOTALLY UNFAIR,NEVER AGAIN I DONT EVEN WANT TO DRIVE ALL THE WAY OUT THERE TO BEAVER FALLS, PA AGAIN JUST TO HAVE THEM TELL ME IN PERSON "SORRY ITS GOING TO COST YOU MORE" PLUS THEY DIDNT EVEN FILL UP MY NEW CAR THEY GAVE ME HALF A TANK! ALSO, MY INTERIOR DOME LIGHT DOES NOT COME ON EITHER, WHENEVER THE CAR DOOR IS OPENED I DO NOT KNOW IF THAT NEEDS ACTIVATED AS WELL, ACCORDING TO BOOK(MY OWNERS MANUAL) THIS IS A PRESET FEATURE TO ILLUMINATE WHEN A DOOR IS OPENED AND REMAIN ON FOR 25 SECONDS.WELL MINE DOES NOT DO THIS! THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME ANOTHER $100.00? TO ME I FEEL THAT THEY DONT CARE ABOUT ME AS A CUSTOMER. AFTER THE SALE! I GAVE THEM MY BUSINESS PLUS A TRADE IN AND BASICALLY AFTER THE SALE OH WELL YOUR ON YOUR OWN THATS HOW I HAVE BEEN UNFAIRLY TREATED. ITS ALSO A SHAME THAT, THE ONE PERSON IN CHARGE CANNOT EVEN SPEAK BY CALLING ME BACK. VERY DISAPPOINTED AND I DONT THINK I AM ASKING FOR NOTHING MORE THAN WHAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN CARE OF BEFORE I DROVE OFF THEIR LOT.

Desired Settlement: ACTIVATE THE CODES I EXPLAINED EARLIER AND FILL MY TANK UP AND GIVE ME FREE OIL CHANGES FOR 1 YEAR DUE TO THIS INCONVENIANCE AND FOR MY TIME WHICH IS PRECIOUS TO ME. AS WELL, HAVE THEM REALIZE THAT THEIR BUSINESS LOYALTY IS VERY POOR BY TRYING TO CHARGE ME ADDITIONAL MONEY SO THEY CAN STICK IT IN THEIR POCKET AND TAKE IT OUT OF MINE.LET THEM KNOW I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED AND WOULD NEVER GO BACK TO THEM OR REFER THEM.

Business Response:

April 18, 2013

 

To Whom It May Concern,

I spoke with *** ********* about her concern.

I set an appointment on April 24, 2013 @11am for her to bring her 2010 Mariner into our Service Department so we can program her keypad at our expense.

I also told her I would fill her gas tank for her. I asked her if I satisfied her concern and she said I did.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

*** ********

General Manager

Morrow Ford

A Member of the Ron Lewis Automotive Group

Main:  724.843.1000

********************************

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2004 Dodge Dakota from Morrow Ford on March 18th 2013. On March 22 I started having problems with the rear differential of the truck so I called them and asked what my options were for service. They said to return it and they will get it into the shop immediately once they acquire all the parts needed for the fix. So on March 23 I drove the truck to Morrow Ford. Since then it has sat untouched in the parking lot. Everytime I call I get the service manager**** I think is his name, I get a run around of "we just want to make sure its fixed right". I cannot get an exact date for the finishing of the repairs. I can't get any information from them at all. I believe they are holding the truck in spite of warranty issues. They offered me a 100,000 mile warranty when I purchased the truck with 98,000 miles on it. They told me that all the parts and service would be covered when the truck was brought in. After that there was several arguments between myself, and my father, with the dealer's general manager and service manager over a so called "deductible" that I would have to pay to have the truck serviced.. Mind you that I hadn't owned the truck for 4 whole days and it was driven less then 500 miles. So far they have been extremely poor at communication, and extremely poor in dealing with customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like my truck fixed immediately with a set date that it will be finished. It has been almost 2 whole weeks that the truck has sat outside the car dealer with no work at all done to it. I have no means of transportation, wasn't offered a rental, or loaner car, and I lost money driving the vehicle back and forth from the dealership which is an hour and a half away from my house.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

This letter is in response *********** ******* ** * *******, dated 4/4/2013.

*** ***** did indeed take delivery of a 2004 Dodge Dakota from our Morrow Ford Dealership on 3/18/2013 with approximately 98193 miles on the odometer. He did bring the vehicle back with a howling type noise concern around 3/25/2013 and 98788 miles on the odometer, see attached repair order # 72147. We diagnosed the noise as a pinion bearing defect. The truck does have a 100,000 mile warranty that carries a $200.00 deductible. When our Service Advisor, **** ******* informed the customer of this and the customer did not want to pay the deductible. We needed authorization to waive the deductible before proceeding with repairs. The waiver of the deductible was approved by our General Manager, *** ********. At that time we could proceed with the needed repairs. The 100,000 warranty we provide at no charge does not have any rental or loaner provisions.

We did order the OEM Parts which did take some time. Contrary to the customers belief there are special tools required to set up a differential properly. Being a Ford Dealership and this vehicle being a Chrysler Product, it did take some time to get the needed parts and tools. Our Service Manager, **** ******** contacted ******* ***** on 4/4/2013 with a status report.

With the needed tools and parts on hand the repairs were completed at no charge to the customer on 4/4/2013 and the customer picked up the vehicle on 4/5/2013, see attached repair order #*****.

We empathize with *** ***** and the problem he encountered with his recently purchased vehicle. Fortunately the break down happened while it was still within the 100,000 mile warranty period. 

Please feel free to contact me between the hours of 8:00am and 5:00pm, Monday – Friday if I can be of any more assistance.

 Sincerely,

*** ******* Director of Fixed Operations

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service