BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In 28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Monroeville Kia Mazda?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Monroeville Kia Mazda

Phone: (412) 856-2100 Fax: (412) 856-1772 View Additional Phone Numbers 3721 William Penn Hwy, Monroeville, PA 15146 http://www.monroevillekia.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is an auto dealer that sells and repairs cars and does state inspections.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Monroeville Kia Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Monroeville Kia Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 28, 2005 Business started: 06/14/2004 in PA Business started locally: 06/14/2004 Business incorporated: 06/14/2004 in PA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael C. Auffenberg, President Mr. Francis H Auffenberg Jr., Vice President Mr. Michael Pampena, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael C. Auffenberg, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Pampena, General Manager
Related Businesses
Monroeville Dodge Monroeville Kia Mazda
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES - NEW TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Alternate Business Names
Auffenberg Imports Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3721 William Penn Hwy

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 856-2100 (888) 337-8397

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 337-8397(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle to my dealer for an oil change and tire rotation. Part of their advertised service is to check and fill all fluids and check and inflate tires to manufacturers specs. Prior to giving my car to them, I removed the left front air valve cap as a way to check that they actually rotated my tires. ( my previous trip to this dealer they did not rotate my tires, claimed that the tech forgot)When I got my car back, the tire that I removed the cap from was still in the same spot, the tread was the same because I measured that also, the rear tires had the most tread when I dropped it off and they were still on the rear after the rotation. I went back and the mgr had the tech redo my rotation. when I left the dealer, about a mile down the road I went to use my wiper fluid and it was empty, they failed to check and fill the fluid. When I got home I checked my tire pressure, it was at 29 psi, the spec calls for 34psi.I sent an email to this dealership but have not heard back from anyone. Basically, they do not perform the services that you pay for.

Desired Settlement: refund my cost of the tire rotation since the service was to include the fluid check and tire inflation check, and cost me an additional 30 minute wait/. Explain why this is the second consecutive time they have pulled this stunt. They still owe me two free oil changes as part of the package when I purchased this, my second vehicle from them in as many years.

Business Response: I have looked into the complaint filed by Mr. ****** ********.  After speaking with my Service Manager, ***** ******, He assured me that the tires on the vehicle were rotated.  The technician that preformed the service removed all of the valve stem caps and placed them back on the same spot on the vehicle where they were originally located.  I value our customers and did a one time goodwill reimbursement to Mr. ********.  I have attached a copy of the reimbursement check we sent to the customer.  If there is any additional information please contact me.

Thank you,
******* *******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia
###-###-####

Consumer Response:

BBB:  I did receive the check on Tuesday, Jan 28, 2014.  But for the record, I do not believe the dealership performed the service in my complaint. The tread wear on the front tires prior to the service was less than the treadwear on the rear tires by 2/32nds of an inch. Also, the PSI in the tires prior to the service was 29 psi.  After the service, the treadwear on the front tires was still the same and so was the PSI.  therefore, the tech never rotated, nor did he check and  reset the tire pressure as stated by their service program.  On top of that, when I got home and looked at my fluid levels my washer fluid was never filled, also a supposed part of their service. 

  The service manager I dealt with that day was ****, not the person indicated in the dealership's response.

However, I did receive my refund for the rotation and will consider this matter closed.  I want to thank the BBB for their help in this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Driver Side front seat is wearing at only 1600 miles. Also right front mirror fell off bracket and hanging from the wire.

Desired Settlement: Talked to dealership and they refuse to do anything about this matter. Also their telling me that my clothing i wear is wearing the seat. I feel this car used and mirror was glued back on. I've drove General Motors cars for 55 years and not a problem like this. If we can"t resolve this matter I'll go to the lemon law and report this matter.Paper wears better than this.

Business Response:      I am writing in response to a complaint filed by Mr. ******* ****** **. on July 4, 2013.  Mr. ****** a new 2013 Mazda3 sedan on February 26, 2013.  Mr. ****** brought the vehicle into our service department for our service manager, ***** ******, to review the customer's issues the week of May 20, 2012.  Upon looking at the customers concern of the excessive wear on the seat and the mirror falling off of the vehicle,  ***** ****** pointed out the impact mark on the mirror of the vehicle and stated that physical damage is not covered under the manufacture's warranty.  ***** also wanted to confer with our District Service and Parts Manager from Mazda Motors of America about the seat issue.  Upon description of the seat issue with Mazda's representative, it was concluded the damage to the seat was not caused by manufacture's defect and therefore was not under warranty.  Mr. ****** was not happy with that response and he contacted me about the issues.  I stated to him I would review the concerns with him and we set an appointment to look at the vehicle at the dealership on Monday May 27, 2013.  Upon arriving at the dealership, I looked at the concerns on Mr. ****** Mazda and came to the same conclusions as ***** ****** and our Mazda representative.  The passenger side mirror not only had an impact to the paint but also had a dent on the A-Pillar where the mirror had impacted the vehicle.  The mirror would have had to be pushed upwards and towards the body of the vehicle and just not fallen downward.  Mr. ****** did not agree with this even though there was a mark on the mirror and a dent on the vehicle.  The seat on the interior of the vehicle looked more like the was excessive rubbing or friction that caused the wear pattern on the material.  This appeared to be caused by some outside source rather than by a defect in the seating material.  Being it was not a defect in material or workmanship, the seat was not covered under the Mazda factory warranty.  I have enclosed pictures that I took when Mr. ****** brought the vehicle into the dealership on May 27.  


     Please feel free to contact me if there are any additional questions or information needed.
Sincerely,
******* *******
General Manager
Monroeville Kia Mazda
###-###-#### ext "0"


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
?????????????????????As for your response made on July 17, 2013 regarding my 2012 Mazda. Not a 2013 Mazda as you stated. You also stated that the material doesn't wear, however, this material is wearing! I've gotten a couple of dealers opinions. Also, when I bought this car, it had 285 miles already on it. This car was hit in your dealership. The mirror was glued. I worked at a dealership and have seen how the lot attendants hot rod the cars.

 

My next move is to bring the local T.V. Media into this matter. I am tired of fighting your dealership on this matter. In fact, I have stopped at a couple of dealerships and they feel the same way I do about this matter. I would know if I hit this vehicles mirror, and your trying to tell me that I am a liar. Well, I DON'T THINK SO! Also, the day I purchased this vehicle, it was pouring down rain and I wasn't able to do a walk around, which should of been done indoors. If I need to get the Consumer Protection Agency involved, I will because I know I am right about this issue.

If you have any questions, or response, contact at this E-mail address: 

********************

******* ****** **

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/29/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1