Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dean Honda Inc

Phone: (412) 466-8120 Fax: (412) 469-3027 911 Clairton Blvd, Pleasant Hls, PA 15236 http://www.deanhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sale of new & used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dean Honda Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Dean Honda Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dean Honda Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1982 Business started: 06/01/1978
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is MV231660.

Business Management
Mr. Steve Sherman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Sherman, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Industry Tips
Auto Repair Auto Service Contracts

Additional Locations

  • 911 Clairton Blvd

    Pleasant Hls, PA 15236

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto Dealer fraud is pretty hard to spot when its happening to you. its only after you reflect back at the situation when you realized what happened. On 3/16/15 i purchased a Honda certified pre-owned accord... and paid a premium for that certification. A couple of days later I get a call that my financing didn't go through and had to re-apply. This time the APR increased 6% and the monthly payment increased 38%. Giving the car back was not an option since I would loose the $1500.00 down payment as well as all the state taxes and fees. This is referred to as “yo-yo financing.” in 02/2016, i take it to a dealer to trade it in for another car. the dealer pulled up the car's history and showed me that it was involved in two major accidents and one of them caused structural damage. Dean Honda blatantly lied to me that it was certified pre-owned: structural damage disqualifies it from being certified. that's affirmative misrepresentation. Withholding vital information about the car's history such as the two major accidents and passing the car off as a certified car is a method of non-disclosure. I contacted Dean Honda with a chance to make things right, assuming this was an honest mistake and somehow they inspection missed ALL the signs... they blamed me for missing the signs and not doing my due diligence. they offered me $6,0000 for it. i paid $15,000 for it 8 months ago.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this matter, I would require Dean Honda to purchase the vehicle back from us at the amount paid originally. no amount of partial refund can make me feel safe driving my kids in this car.

Business Response: The dealership is currently in negotiation with customer to resolve complaint.

10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before I begin, let me just say that I just began my lease of my 2015 Honda Odyssey on July 2015. It had around 1,700 miles before the vacation. On August 9, 2015, we were driving home from vacation from ***** ****** **** to *********** *** This is about a 200 mile trip. The vehicle ran smoothly the entire trip until I left the turnpike of driving 60-70 miles per hour and then began driving on a road with a 40 mph speed limit. All of a sudden I was at a red light waiting in traffic. As soon as the light turned green, I pressed the accelerator. We began accelerating to 25 miles per hour but knew something was wrong. My car would not leave first gear. The gauge on the dashboard went from 1-7 gear but nothing happened. I was in the passing lane traveling 15-20 miles per hour in a 40mph zone. I then proceeded to change lanes when all of a sudden the entire car jumped as if it had a mind of its own and began to accelerate. We honestly thought the car was going to die right there in traffic. The car began driving faster but not any faster than 40 mph. Again, all we could hear was rooooooom and the dashboard indicator looked like windshield wipers going from left to right. The car would not leave 2nd gear. This continued to happen over and over again at each red light. Since this was a Sunday, the Service Center was closed at Dean Honda. I called first thing Monday and the receptionist said that they were booked for scheduled appointments and all I could do was drop it off on Wednesday and they would take a look at it sometime that day and give me a call. After all was said and done, the service manager said that they could not do anything for me since none of the sensors were triggered.

Desired Settlement: Repair/Replacement of transmission since this vehicle is less than a month old with less than 2,000 miles.

Business Response: Dean Honda's service technicians and service manager drove the customer's vehicle over a few days attempting to duplicate the problem she experienced and were unable to duplicate the problem. They also checked the vehicle's on-board diagnostics systems for any error codes that would have been stored from the incident and found none. They also called Honda's technical support line to find out if they had any previous experience like the customer's and could not find any.

Since the vehicle is under new vehicle warranty, American Honda must authorize any repair made to the vehicle covered by this warranty. Since there is no evidence supporting the replacement of the transmission or any other part of the vehicle, Honda will not authorize any repairs to be made. Dean Honda cannot unilaterally decide to replace the transmission or any other part of the vehicle without evidence supporting a warranty claim.  At this point, Dean Honda is unsure of what caused the customer's problem, as the vehicle was functioning properly when checked by it's service department and, as far as we know, is functioning properly now.

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had work done on my 06 ***** ***** hybrid (new transmission) and the technician either damaged the rivets that hold the body panels to the bottom or the car, or they failed to put them on correctly. This resulted in 2 body panels falling off the bottom of the car and becoming damaged past the point of repair. The manager of Dean Honda then informed me that they would split the cost of repairs but said that it wasnt their fault. Had it not been their fault there would be no reason to split the cost. Also i had changed my oil 2 months before taking the car to Dean Honda and i replaced all the plastic rivets/clips to the front body panel, but the technician claims they were damaged, leading me to believe that they were damaged during repair and not prior to repair.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of both body panels that were imcorrectly put on the car after repair.

Business Response: We have reached out to the customer and are in the process of settling the situation.

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership Knowingly tried to sell me a used vehicle that was in need of a few expensive repairs. I took the vehicle to have it looked over by my mechanic and the sales representative came along with me. The rear valve was LEAKING and in need of a new TIMING BELT! The very next day the sales rep tried saying that my mechanic mentioned a serpentine belt, which never came from his mouth. OH!!! AND THEY WANTED ME TO PAY FOR HALF OF THE REPAIRS!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Repair the parts on a car BEFORE you try to sell it.

Consumer Response: I decided to go against purchasing the vehicle because they did not want to fix the repairs needed by a mechanic. The only way they offered to fix the repairs was for me to take out extra money on the loan causing me to pay more in interest. I really wanted them to repair the damages found by the mechanic before the purchase. They failed to even mention these expensive repairs during our discussion. I specifically asked if anything major needed done and they explained otherwise telling me the car was in excellent condition.

Business Response: The vehicle in question had passed PA state and emissions inspection and was judged to be safe and in good operating condition by our technician. The slight leak in the valve cover is a common defect in older vehicles such as this one, and was not judged to be of detriment to the operating condition of the vehicle.

Changing the belts as the customer requested is a maintenance-related issue, nothing that requires immediate action in order for the vehicle to be safe and operable. While it is suggested to replace these belts at certain intervals, we may not always perform these maintenance services on older vehicles like this one in order to pass a lower price on to the customer.

We regret not being able to help this customer in her search for a new vehicle, and wish her the best of luck in her shopping process.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Dean Honda Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)