Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bowser Automotive Inc

Phone: (412) 469-2100 Fax: (412) 469-8560 1001 Clariton Blvd, Pleasant Hills, PA 15236 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.powerofbowser.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales & service of new & used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bowser Automotive Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bowser Automotive Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bowser Automotive Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1983 Business started: 04/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is BR025341.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Gary Semanchek, Director of Sales Mr. Gary K Bowser, President Megan Erney, Marketing and Public Relations Manager Ms. Stacy Smith, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Gary Semanchek, Director of Sales
Related Businesses
Bowser Automotive Inc Bowser Cadillac Bowser Hyundai LLC
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS - NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS - USED CARS TIRE DEALERS ALTERNATORS & GENERATORS-AUTO REPAIR AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE AUTO OIL CHANGE & LUBRICATION SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS RADIATORS - AUTO TRANSMISSIONS - AUTO AUTO REPAIR - WINDSHIELD, GLASS SHOPS

Products & Services

Bowser Automotive Inc sells the following brand(s): Buick, Cadillac, GMC, Hyundai, Nissan, Subaru

Alternate Business Names
Bowser Pontiac Inc Power of Bowser

Additional Locations

  • 1001 Clariton Blvd

    Pleasant Hills, PA 15236

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a truck from power of bowser and the truck came with a programmer and a full exhaust installed from the dealer. Few months later truck broke down took the truck to a dealer in ********** and the dealer denied the warranty saying it would not cover the defect that occurred because it had a tuner installed . (Even though the tuner was not the problem) so I ended up with a 12,950.66 bill because the warranty did not want to cover it.. I called the dealer that I bought the truck from in ** to get a hold of the manager (**** ***** and it's been over 2 months.. Not a single phone call back to me .. I left him countless of messages and no return...

Desired Settlement: Since the truck was sold with the modified parts on it they have to pick up the bill because it's their fault the warranty denied to pay for the damages.... I need a full reimbursement or at least $12,000 I didn't even drive 6k miles and it broke down. Wtf.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

My name is ***** ***** Sales Manager at Bowser.  I am responding to Mr. ******** complaint in which he disputes that Bowser owes him $12950.00 due to the repairs that were needed on his 2013 Chevy Silverado 3500.  Mr. ********’s complaint reads to me like this should be a dispute between the manufacturer and himself instead of with this dealership.  He states in his complaint with you, that the tuner and full exhaust was installed by this dealership.  My response to that claim is that this is a false statement. There were no aftermarket accessories installed on this vehicle at any time while this vehicle was in our possession.  He also makes a claim in his statement to you, that the installed accessories on this vehicle had NO bearing on the issue that he had with the engine but that the claim was denied because it was a component on the vehicle.  This vehicle was service and reconditioned as all pre-owned vehicles are here at Bowser prior to all sales and at no time was there any indications that there were any mechanical problems with this vehicle. 

We also do not know that nature of use that Mr. ******** used this vehicle during the time between his purchase and the time of the incident.  There are many circumstances that could have contributed to the mechanical failure of this vehicle.  In conclusion, as stated earlier, this seems to be an issue that GM needs to address with Mr. ******** not Bowser Automotive.

***** ****
Sales Manager

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Here's what I have to add:  if that was true about the aftermarket parts not being on the truck why was I blowing you up by calling everyday trying to get you and ***** to come to a resolution which you shorted me 490 dollars for the registration which took you one month to pay that back. And I have a copy of the check so you can't say that's not true and the fact that the truck came with the full exhaust,  computer(tuner) and intake.  I smoggy the truck the day  after I got it. So I had no time to put those parts on there... I called and talked to you and ***** about this.and I did.no ask for money not even once but I did tell u it would cost a fortune to put the truck back to stock.... I have call logs on my phone showing every call I made.. I will get a lawyer to handle this. It's rediculous what you guys are doing out there. And even if I have.to spend double that I pay for the truck I will make you guys pay for it. It's been over 2 months that I have been calling you ***** **** and trying to get a hold of any other manager at that location. And everyday calling leaving voice mails and you can't even return 1 phone call.  Wtf. Please telle what does that say about you or the business  you are running..   the person I bought the truck for had it delivered right the next day.  This truck was delivered to *******  **********  @2am  10am same day I had it smogged.  9pm the truck was delivered to the customers house. Which is good friend of mine.. so I have the smog papers with the date and time info at the dmv   and the person who I bought it for to vouch for me .  How can you sit there and say it was a lie?  But you know what, karma is a b****.   I have contacted GM customer service and they are doing an investigation  in this case.  Everyone including online forums are outraged with this situation.  

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2011 Sierra GMC pick up truck in July of 2014 and was given a card from my salesman **** ****** which stated that I would receive a free oil change and free tire protestation for 2 years.When I went this past December of 2014 for a tire rotation and oil change I was informed that it would be done and was not covered.I showed them the card that **** gave me and they told me they didn't care what **** wrote.I contacted **** to resolve this problem and wanted a meeting with ***** the general sales manger of used sales as well as the general sales manger of service. **** set it up at 3"15.I left work and when I arrived, **** told me that the "big wigs" were having a meeting and that the two men that were to be at my meeting were in it and he didn't know when they were going to be finished.Problem was never resolved. No meeting re scheduled and no phone call from mike to explain why. Instead I received a call from one of their associates. I feel that Bowser should honor what was put on the card that the salesman gave me.Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I feel that Bowser/salesman should honor what was written on the card which I still have.

Business Response:

My name is ***** ***** I am the General /Pre-Owned Sales Manager here at Bowser Automotive Inc. This letter is In response to l.D. ********. In December of 2014 when Mr. ******* came to the dealership to have maintenance performed on his 2011 Sierra he was informed that the service was not covered by the maintenance agreement that was provided to him as part of the Certified Pre-Owned program with the purchase of his vehicle.

I was called to the Service Department to talk to Mr. ******* in regards to his concern. At that point, Mr. ******* showed me the card that Mr. ****** provided to him that did state that the vehicle came with a 2 year Maintenance Plan with the vehicle purchase. [ went into further discussion with Mr. *******, that like all warranties and service plans, there are both time and mileage limitations associated with these agreements. His comment to me when he showed me the business card was that he "assumed" it was an unlimited mileage agreement since all the card said was a 2 year Maintenance Plan and wouldn't I read it the same way. My response to him was "No". I have provided you with the contract for the 2 year Maintenance Plan that was provided to Mr. ******* that I presume Mr. ******* read when he signed and initialed it upon delivery of the vehicle to him on July 5, 2013, along with the Buyers Agreement and Service Contract Disclosure forms that were also signed and dated at time of delivery. I offered, at the time of the incident, to go and retrieve Mr. *******'s file and show him the parameters of the Certified Pre-Owned Program but he declined and got in his truck and left.

As noted on the Customer Acknowledgement Form, there is an Oil Life Monitor system in the vehicle. The maintenance intervals are based on when that reminder comes on or based on the service/maintenance schedule as noted in the customer's owner's manual. The routine maintenance is based on an every 6,000 mile interval or every 6 months whichever would come first. Mr. ******* purchased the vehicle on July 5,2013 with 4,287 miles on it. He returned to the dealership in September of 2013 with 7,725 miles on the vehicle for an oil change. Then again in November of 2013 with 10,456 miles on the vehicle, January of 2014 with 13,484 miles on the vehicle,

April of 2014 with 16,422 miles on the vehicle, June of 2014 with 19,432 miles on the vehicle, September of 2014 with 22,538 miles on the vehicle, and then in December of 2014 with 24,583 miles, all for routine maintenance to be performed only. As you can see, this is not in conjunction with the maintenance schedule as recommended by GM. But to try to maintain good customer relations with Mr. *******, he was never charged for any of these services that were rendered.


 


Consumer Response:

 
Thank you so much for keeping me informed as to my complaint as well as the letter from Mr. *****
 
After filing the complaint with the BBB I also called GMC headquarters and spoke to a *********** with GMC customer service. 
 
After reviewing my complaint and looking into the matter with Bowser/|Mr. **** it was GMC's opinion that I was correct and that they would handle the matter without the BBB being involved.
 
I am very satisfied with what GMC has done about this matter and also want to thank you again for your attention.
 
Thank you.
 
***** *******

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a Hyundai Genesis Coupe 3.8 the year is a 2010. I have a 100,000 mile warranty when i bought the car two years ago, recently the tail lights got water in them. I took it to Bowser Hyundai and explained the problem. They ordered new tail lights and installed them, it took about an hour or so. Once i got the car back i noticed where the tail lights were installed there were scratches as if they put a screw driver into the back bumper to open it up. I investigated around my car the fender had a scratch as well as my front bumper. I was very upset i went to the manager immediately and showed him where all these unknown scratched came about. Because before i handed the car off i looked over my car if there we're any scratches, niks, ect. He kindly told me he will get this fixed, so i got a rental car for the week and had it returned in a very nice fashion. Mind you i did not have my car for a week, i go into my car and i find a hole right in the middle of my leather seat. Once again another problem i go to the manager and he says i have no proof it was there fault and he refuses to do anything about it. I am very upset about this issue. It would be a lot of appreciation if the BBB could investigate and give me justice. Thank you for your time.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new drivers seat.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to a claim made by Ms. ******* ********* regarding her 2010 Hyundai Genesis. Ms. ********* purchased the vehicle from Bowser Automotive and is a good customer.

When Ms. ********* made the complaint regarding scratches to the back and front of her vehicle, Bowser made a good faith effort to satisfy her concerns by repairing the scratches to both the front and back of her vehicle. During her last service appointment, only the back tail lamps and spoiler of the vehicle was repaired by our service technician.

We do not believe that the damage to the seat of Ms. *********** vehicle occurred in our service or body shop; and consequently, we will not repair the interior of her vehicle.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

As I said before once I had my be chile returned to me I seen a hole in my seat it not being there before I had them take the vehicle and once returned to me I checked everything carefully and once I got to opening my door I seen damage done to my seat. I would like to know how they are not responsable for damage on my while it was in there hands for the time frame they were fixing my bumper they also damaged but fixed thankfully.

Regards,

******* *********

 

 

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Bowser 51 on 6/6 for service. I picked up my car on 6/10, I went to take out my ipod, which I had tucked in the armrest compartment when I dropped it off and it was gone. I also checked my change compartments and everything was gone. I immediately when back to the dealership to let them know. They wrote down what was missing, I was told I would hear from them the next day. I waited the entire next day and never heard back. On 6/12 I called myself, I talked to ****, he said he would have someone call me back within the hour. 4 hours later, I called back and left a VM for the manager. An hour later I received a call back from ****, saying he talked to his superiors and they investigated the situation. He stated they talked to the technician who worked on my car and he didnt see anything. They are also not responsible for anything left in the vehicle. I asked if there was a log of who used my car over the 5 days it was there, or who has access to my keys there to be able to get into my car, and he said everyone in the building would have access to that, he also said that anyone off the street would have access to my car if the doors were left unlocked. I asked how is that my responsibility if you left my car unlocked, his response we arent liable for anything left in the car. I seemed to make the mistake of trusting this dealership and not expecting anyone to be rummaging thru all of my compartments while the vehicle was in there care to be repaired, apparently that is not the case here. I completely understand the policy, but this goes well beyond the $5 in change and ipod, but more so a trust issue that I feel like a company should try to have with their customers and their possessions while they are in their care, if you cant depend on that from a business what can you?

Desired Settlement: I hope this situation can be looked at and certain standards and practices can be put into place to create a more accountable workplace in hopes negligence like this does not happen again.

Business Response:

Regarding case# ********

Mr. ******** did have his vehicle in for service on 6-6-14. When he picked it up, he did inform us that some items were missing from his vehicle. Unfortunately, we have no proof that the items were present when he dropped his vehicle off for service.

Even though we had no proof, 1 did question the mechanic that 'worked on it and the lot attendants that moved the vehicle.

No employee of Bowser ever saw the items that the customer alleges were missing.

In the absence off any proof, we cannot make any restitution in this matter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I truly feel like they did not make the effort to communicate with me during the process, as I had to do most of the reaching out to them.  I also believe they did not take my issue very seriously and do not seem to take much care in the customers belongings while it is in their possession at the dealership.

 

 

Regards,

**** ********

 

 

1/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable