Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Michael E Davis, Attorney at Law

Phone: (412) 232-0433 429 4th Ave  Ste 1501, Pittsburgh, PA 15219

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This law firm offers no-fault, uncontested divorces.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Michael E Davis, Attorney at Law meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Michael E Davis, Attorney at Law include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Michael E Davis, Attorney at Law
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 25, 1990 Business started: 09/01/1963
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Disciplinary Board of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
601 Commonwealth Ave., Suite 5600 , Harrisburg PA 17120
Phone Number: 717-231-3380
Fax Number: 717-231-3381
The number is 19718.

Business Management
Mr. Michael E Davis, Esq
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael E Davis, Esq
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Davis Divorce Law Reisman & Davis Attorneys

Additional Locations

  • 429 4th Ave
    Ste 1501

    Pittsburgh, PA 15219 (412) 232-0433


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid the law office $359.00 to file my divorce. I explained to the law firm mine and my spouses living situation at the time of payment and was told that all was well with our situation. On the 16th of February 2015 I found out that my spouse had recently moved from ************, I immediately notified the law firm and asked for a refund. I spoke with ******* ** ***** and was told that funds that were not spent would be returned to me. Upon receipt of my refund check I noticed it was only $94.00. The reason this is a problem is because there were no real services rendered, no paperwork was filed and any mail correspondance that were neccassary were made using my envelopes and stamps. When I called the law office upon receipt of my refund check I was given no explanation as to what my funds were used for. I was told to just put it on paper.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least $300 of my $359 paid to the law firm refunded to me. $94 has been refunded so a remainder of $206 is requested.

Business Response:

Dear Ms ****:

It always annoys me when a client alleges that I performed no services. They seem to think that unless the divorce is final, I have spent no time, effort and expense on their files. Here is the chronology of Mr *******s file:

10/8/14:        He called for and was sent my free information.

10/17/14:       He returned his Client Authorization Form with $359.00 for our expedited service.

10/17/14: , That same day, his file was opened and he was sent instructions, a detailed questionnaire and a divorce complaint for him to complete, sign, date and return to me.

10/22/14:       My letter was returned to me by the U.S.P.S stating Mr. ****** had moved so we called

him that day and he said he would go to the post office and make the required corrections.

10/22/14:       Relying on Mr. ****** to make those corrections at his post office, I mailed the

documents again.

10/27/14:       The documents were again returned by the U.S.P.S. and for the same reason. Clearly,

Mr. ****** had not made the corrections. We called him again and instructed him to send a Self Addressed Stamped Envelope.

11/11/14:       I called Mr,' ****** to say I had not received the Self Addressed Stamped Envelope.

11/12/14:       I received that envelope and again sent the documents.

12/15/14:        I received the document, a month later; noticing that neither party now resided in ************ as required by law. He lived in ******** and stated his spouse's Last Known Residence was in ************ but she was receiving mail in *** ******. This appears as a disingenuous attempt by Mr. ****** to attempt to file his divorce in ************ when he knew neither party resided in ************.

Enclosed are duplicates of my first letter, the questionnaire and the complaint, all of which explain the residency requirement. Note that Mr. ****** signed the Complaint under oath. I have highlighted all pertinent portions as well as one in my first letters, before he sent payment, of my no refund policy.

12/15/14:        That same day, giving Mr. ****** the benefit of the doubt, I sent him a letter instructing

him to correct his questionnaire showing Ms. ******'s actual (not last known) permanent address. There was a small fee charged therewith, which has not been paid.

2/15/15:          Two months later, knowing there would be a $40.00 fee, Mr ****** called me finally

admitting that neither party resided in ************. I instructed him to put that in writing to me and I received his letter on 2/18/15.

2/19/15:          I wrote to him refunding the $94.00 court costs portion of what he had paid.

I charge very little for my service and can only justify doing so when client's follow my instructions and things proceed accordingly to plan. Mr ******'s file was continually active for 4 months and received more time, effort and expense than was allowed for in the fees charged and retained, but I am willing to call it even.

Very truly yours,

******* ** *****



1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am very disappointed. I called reisman and davis to get a copy of my Divorce decree and I received a very rude and ignorant letter in the mail from them. Also they told me if I caed again they will charge me another 40 dollars!

Desired Settlement: I would like a copy of my Divorce decree with out them getting mean and nasty for no reason! It has been 10 years and I have never needed my decree till now because I lost mine!!!!

Business Response:

Enclosed is a duplicate of my 10/6/08 letter to Ms *****. What happened when she called is exactly what she was told would happen. That she forgot about this does not change my procedures.

Dear Client:

Your divorce is final. Enclosed is your certified decree copy. Note that this court uses only an impression seal, not a colored seal (red or gold, for example). This is all that is available and is completely legal and authentic. If someone such as a marriage license clerk tells you this decree needs a colored seal, he.-or she is wrong, and you should demand to speak with the clerk's superior or that office's solicitor. There is no legal requirement that a certified decree copy's seal be colored. Please do not call us about there being no colored seal. There is nothing we can do.

Keep your decree and this letter in a safe place! If you ever need another decree for any other reason, write to us (do not call) and send us a $30.00 money order, not a check, (plus $10.00 for each additional certified decree should you want more than one) and a self-addressed stamped envelope.

NOTE WELL! This is your last chance to get additional decrees at the $10.00 rate. Additional decrees in the future will be at least $40.00. If you call, there will be an additional $40.00 charge. You should receive your additional decree(s) in two to four weeks. ADD $25.00 if you want your additional decree(s) expressed to you. Your former spouse may also obtain decrees through us for the same charges. (The $30.00 fee is in effect for the next 30 days. Thereafter, the fee will be $40.00.) Note the court on the decree. We do not respond to communications requesting the court's name, address or telephone number now or in the future.

The second paragraph of your decree is routine language required by the Court for all divorce decrees and has no effect on your claims. However, we do receive inquiries from clients' banks, for example, sometimes a year or more later when a client is seeking a loan. Some banks require assurance that no claims were ever filed. We can arrange for the Court to provide a "Certificate of No Claims Filed" for the same fee amounts as we charge for providing additional decrees. Please remember that this certificate is available and keep this letter on file. If we receive a call about it, there will be a $40.00 charge.

P.S.    Now the divorce is final, you or your spouse may wish to retake your prior last name. We can perform that service.

You should send us a $45.00 money order (not a check), a written request and a self-addressed, stamped return envelope. We do not handle changes of names for children or parents, just the retaking of your prior name (such as maiden name, name prior to your marriage or previous married name). The $45.00 fee is in effect for the next 30 days. Thereafter, the fee will be $55.00. After one year from the date of the decree, $15.00 in additional costs will be required. If we receive a call about it, there will be a $40.00 charge.

10/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom it May Concern:My name is **** **********. On October 21, 2014 I had called the office of Reisman and Davis looking to see if they were the attorney's who had handled my divorce in which my ex-husband was their client. This information was provided to me by my ex-husband, and he was not positive this was the firm who handled the divorce. I called this office, looking to see if they were the correct law firm. I had never received any information on where to receive a copy of my divorce decree or where it was filed(courthouse). On 10/23/14 I received a very unprofessional letter stating that I owe them $40 for a phone call on 10/21/14, on which I called to verify if they were the firm who handled the divorce for my ex-husband. All communications were done through the secretary not an attorney. There was no communications regarding fees, charges, referencing to the current phone conversation or any other future charges. Per secretary I was going to receive a letter in the mail in which I was to fill out the information and return to the law firm in order to receive a copy of my divorce decree. I was not calling for representation, I was calling to confirm they were the law firm that handled the divorce. This divorce took place over three-years ago. I refuse to pay $40 to a firm that I was not even sure handled the divorce. Now I am being billed for the amount of $40, and in the letter, they state if I try to contact them for any reason, they will bill me an additional $40. I disagree with this charge of $40. If need be, I would be more than happy to submit you a copy of this letter I received from this from. Please feel free to contact me at ###-###-#### if you have an other questions. I feel this firm is taking advantage of me.

Desired Settlement: To waive this $40 billing fee.

Business Response:


See duplicate of my letter of 5/4/11 to Ms **********. Note highlighted portion. She may not remember my letter, but that is neither my fault nor problem. Had she written, I would have made no charge, I have no record of any letter being returned to me so it is presumed to have been delivered. If Ms ********** never pays me, I will do nothing; however, I will adhere to what my letter says otherwise.






P.S. Now the divorce is final, you or your spouse may wish to retake your prior last name* We can perform that service.


You should send us a $45.00 money order (not a check), a written request and a self-addressed, stamped return envelope* We'do not handle of names for children or parents, just the retaking of your prior name (such as maiden name, name prior to your marriage or previous married name). The $45.00 fee is in effect for the next 30 days. Thereafter, the fee will be $55.00. After one year from the date of the decree, $15.00 in additional costs will be required. If we receive a call about it, there will be a $40.00 charge.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


**** **********    Hello.  Today, 10/30/14 I have just received the same letter that you have sent me to view.  First of, I have the first original letter that was sent by this firm after contacting them to see if this was the firm that handled the divorce for my ex-husband. In this unprofessional letter, I was informed of the $40 fee per his last letter.  However, I never was at anytime in contact with this firm while going through this divorce.  I do not know what address my ex-husband have given them at that time.  Which as I had stated before, I never received any information pertaining to where my divorce was filed.  Point number 2.  In this letter, besides the fee amount of $40, I was informed if I wanted a copy of the divorce decree it would cost me $80 not $30 as it is suggested in letter number 2.  

After doing research on this firm, I also found that they also located in the Potter County, PA.  I had called the Potter County courthouse to see if they had my divorce on file.  I spoke with a ***** ** ********* who confirmed that they did.  The amount for a copy of my divorce decree was $5, which I now have received.  
I am going to mail the first original letter that was sent by Reisman and Davis on 10/21/14.  I am not paying this firm ANY money for services that was never discussed per attorney or secretary.  I find it very ironic how his fees for a copy of a divorce has changed within a matter of two weeks, and the cost considering I only paid $5.  
I will mail the original to you within a couple of days.  I truly believe this firm is very unprofessional on how they handle their business matters

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were to charge my credit card $25 howevere they charged $209 and refuse to refund the difference or return my calls. If fact they told me I would be charged $20 everytime I called. Its scary because they have my credit card # so they can easily charge my card. This firm is ripping me off and hiding behind the fact that they are lawyers so I guess they assume no one will challenge them

Desired Settlement: I have absolutely no problem with them keeping the $25 that I authorized them to charge but its positively unacceptable that they over charged my card- I want the $184 difference refunded

Business Response:

7/10/13: He requested my free information via email on 7/10/13 and same was mailed to him that day.

7/19/13: I received his Client Authorization Form opened his file and charged the $209.00 total. Enclosed are the following: A duplicate of my first letter (before payment) highlighting my no-refund policy, a copy of Mr ********** Client Authorization Form and an unused, blank Client Authorization Form with the highlighting I put on each one, clearly explaining that the card will be charged the full amount, NOT as the first payment. Mr ******** has yet to address these issues with me.

7/23/13: He called my dedicated client line and left a message for me to return his call even though my voice message instructions clearly direct him to leave his file number and call back and that there will be a $20.00 fee and that he may write and receive my answer at no charge.

At this point, his refund would be the $78.00 in unexpended court costs. He clearly did not take the time to read or listen to clear and simple information and instructions. That is his fault, not mine.

Very truly yours,

********* *******

7/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service