Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Ricky Fin's Aquatics

Phone: (814) 312-4489 1381 Old Route 220 N Ste 98, Duncansville, PA 16635 http://rickyfins.com View Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert on Ricky Fin's Aquatics !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Aquariums - Lease & Maintenance


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

On April 14, 2015,  BBB contacted the company regarding their misuse of the BBB name and/or logo. This business has falsely stated BBB accreditation (or membership) or referenced the BBB name in an unauthorized manner online, in their contracts and other advertisements, despite BBB’s efforts to get the business to cease using the BBB trademark. This use of the BBB trademark constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. As of June 23, 2015, the company has removed the logo misuse/BBB trademarks from their marketing and advertising.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ricky Fin's Aquatics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ricky Fin's Aquatics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2013 Business started: 01/15/2004
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rick Pucciarella, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Pucciarella, Owner
Business Category

AQUARIUMS-LEASE & MAINTENANCE AQUARIUMS-DEALERS

Alternate Business Names
RF Aquatics

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1381 Old Route 220 N Ste 98

    Duncansville, PA 16635

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I special ordered a saltwater aquarium bulb for 70 dollars on 7/19. The owner wrote on the receipt: pickup 7/24/15. When I called in the first time, it was not in. I called in about 2 weeks later and they said it was in. I went in on 8/30 to pick it up. The owner stated that since I did not pick this up within 30 days, he is not going to give it to me. He stated that he told me this verbally and that it is posted in the store. He did not tell me this, nor did he point out any policies hanging in the store. This is written nowhere on my receipt. It only says: No returns after 30 days--nothing about pickup time limits. So, he not only has my 70 dollars--he has my bulb also.

Desired Settlement: I want the aquarium bulb that I ordered and paid for.

Business Response:

******
I have reviewed the complaint that I received from you this week.  Here are the facts as follows:
***** was made aware of the special ordering guidelines/policy before she placed the order.  If you would like proof, I can get signed documentation from other customers who were in the store that day and forward them to you as well. I have already contacted them about doing so and have assured me that if I need anything of the sort to let them know when they stop in to shop again.   
The special ordering guidelines are always explained prior to the order!
The Special ordering policy is also explained in writing on the bulletin board by the door for all to see.
The item in question is not a bulb or a hood.  It is a fixture.  
Every time the customer contacted the store via phone she was told that the light was in stock for pick up and she said that she would be right down and never showed up.  The item was in store on 7/23 for pick up.  
***** has made multiple attempts to slander, bash, and in no short order ruin my reputation and the store reputation by doing all of the following:  Repeatedly post on her Facebook page and yard sale sights that I am a liar, thief, jerk, and that the store is expensive.  She has also personally messaged me, customers of the store to the point that customers were contacting me asking what this woman was doing and why she was contacting them.  
She has repeatedly harassed my customers, myself, and has also had people posting negative reviews on the store Facebook page who have never shopped, called, or ever had any association with the store.  Her online onslaught was quite extensive.
I have had to call the police about her contact with me, the store, and my customers.  She is also the only one who has ever had a problem with the ordering policy as well.
I am including a picture of the Special order policy as it is posted in the store. 
I have thought about contacting an attorney about the damage this woman has tried cause myself, my livelihood,  and my business.  The effects she was trying to cause are still being determined at this time and further action may result in the near future.
Thanks,

**** ***********
Ricky Fin's Aquatics
###-###-####(service#)
###-###-####(store)  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

***** ******

Business Response:

******
I would like to respond to the 2nd letter.  This will be the last response on the matter at hand with *****. No further communication is necessary after this point. We only request action from this point. These are the facts.  Pictures included.  
It is clear from the letter that this customer does not pay attention to posted signage at the store.  She showed up after posted store hours.  The store hours are posted online and on the front of the store and haven't been put up after her visit, just as well as the store ordering policy hasn't been posted since her visit. They have always been posted for all customers to see.  The ordering policy is explained in full prior to the purchase of all special orders.  This shows the customer could not take note of the hours let alone a special ordering sign posted.  This is the reason all special order guidelines are verbally explained prior to making the sale.
I request an apology to myself and my business for the slander and online talk of myself and my business by *****.  I would appreciate the apology be public and she remove her previous remarks.  She caused my customers who have liked the Facebook page undue stress and irritation by repeatedly messaging them about a matter that they don't really care about in order to try and ruin the business and my livelihood.  I had customers calling on the phone asking who this person was and why were they acting so irrationally? 
We have done everything in our power from the beginning to assist ***** with her aquarium.  The only further action we would take or to occur would be legal action against ***** for her actions to try and destroy my personal image, loss of income, undue stress,  as well as the reputation the store has built since opening.   
Sincerely,
**** ***********
Ricky Fin's Aquatics


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ricky Fin's Aquatics
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)