Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Mr. Appliance

Phone: (412) 931-0903 Fax: (412) 931-0785 652 Center Ave, West View, PA 15229


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This sole proprietorship offers sales & service of reasonably priced refurbished appliances with warranties. A Family owned service company supplying a two hour window with phone call on repair jobs. Delivery Available.in-home repairs of major appliances and used appliance sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mr. Appliance include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Appliance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Appliance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 04, 1993 Business started: 03/06/1993
Business Management
Mr. Edwin J Moore, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edwin J Moore, Owner
Business Category

APPLIANCES-MAJOR- SERVICE & REPAIR COMPACTORS-WASTE-SERVICE & REPAIR REFRIGERATORS & FREEZERS-SERVICE/REPAIR

Alternate Business Names
Moore & Moore Appliance Service

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    652 Center Ave

    West View, PA 15229 (412) 931-0903

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Web site said BBB accredited. Not true according to BBB. Web site said diagnostic fee for washing machine was $69, but was later told it was really $105 and would be credited back if they did the repair. Web site also said Seniors get a 10 percent discount. Tech installed electronic panel after we paid $200. It did not fix washer. Was told it was probably the motor and total bill would be $595. We said to proceed, but insisted on an itemized invoice, showing parts, labor hours, and labor rate. Owner **** *** ***** promised to send us the itemized invoice. We never received it. Tech replaced motor, leaving dirt and grease all over washer, dryer, and decorative towel in bathroom. He also threatened to rip out the new parts when we requested an itemized invoice. Received a call from **** *** ***** requesting AUTHORIZATION to charge our credit card for the remaining $395. We said we would not AUTHORIZE payment until we received the itemized invoice. She said that they do not provide itemized invoices. We have no idea of what the $595 covered and if we received the $105 diagnostic credit and the 10 percent Senior discount. After refusing to AUTHORIZE payment without an itemized invoice, **** *** ***** finally agreed to send us one. However, without telling us, she went ahead and charged our credit card WITHOUT OUR AUTHORIZATION.

Desired Settlement: Credit $395 charge until we see and approve an itemized invoice showing parts, labor rate, labor hours, $105 diagnostic credit and 10 percent Senior discount.

Business Response:

Dear BBB

In response to complaint #********.  *** ****** wanted an itemized bill which is difficult because we don’t break it down because our corporate offices have these prices preset in our I-pads which are based on type of repair not an hourly rate plus the parts.  This makes it easier on the customer because if it takes longer for the tech to complete she don’t pay extra.  We did break it down on a receipt the best we could on Saturday 4/18/15 when she complained for the first time and mailed that to her on Monday 4/20/15.  We couldn’t e-mail it to her because we can only e-mail from our I-pads but couldn’t break it down for her on our I-pads so we mailed it to her.

The reason the service fee was $105.00 was because it is a stacked unit and we charge $105.00 for them and high end appliances.  That shouldn’t matter because she was not charged a service charge.  Our policy is that we only charge the service fee when the customer declines to repair, or the unit is not repairable, otherwise we charge for parts and labor to do the repair and waive the service fee.

In our warranty it states we will charge extra if other parts are needed. The tech found that after installing the first part that another part was needed so I the owner Authorized doing the second part for just the parts cost.  The customer signed the receipt giving the go ahead to make the repairs

Here is a break down for the repair that occupied 2 technicians for just over 4 hours.  We needed 2 techs because the stacked washer and dryer was not accessible and required 2 techs to remove the dryer to access the interior components, and that is why both parts were not diagnosed because the customer failed to tell us that the units were stacked so the first tech had to diagnose by what the control board told him and could not verify this.  This repair would normally cost more than $550.00 labor for 2 tech’s but we gave the customer deep discounts to help the customer get her washer fixed.

The Motor was       $209.02

The Capacitor was   $33.67

The Motor Board    $198.16 

The labor was          $115.74

Sales Tax                       $38.96

Total                             $595.55

 

We still abide to the rules that the BBB has set up but we do not subscribe due to unreasonable cost to do so.

We have requested the BBB be removed from our web site but were told it will be done during the next maintenance scheduled

 

Thank You ***** ***** Owner Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I take exception with a number of statements made by Owner, *** *****:
1. We first went on the web site on Feb. 4.  It still, 3 months later, lists them as BBB Accredited.  This is fraudulent and unacceptable because BBB Accredited was a key reason we chose Mr. Appliance and the public continues to be misled.
2. The web site did not mention a $105 diagnostic fee for a premium washer, only a $69 one. We indicated on the web site and told *****, my Mr. Appliance telephone contact, that it was a Bosch washer. This misleads the public.
3. We made the appointment on the web site and then with *****, and neither asked whether it was a stacked washer.
4. Apr. 18 was not the first time we complained and requested an itemized invoice..  I asked ***** twice, and I spoke with **** *** ***** on a Saturday in Feb. and she promised to send me an itemized invoice immediately. That did not happen.
5.When **** *** ***** called on Apr. 18 to request AUTHORIZATION to charge our credit card, we told her NO, not until we receive an itemized invoice.  However, she charged our credit card that same day, WITHOUT OUR AUTHORIZATION.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response:

Dear BBB

          In Response to the complaint ID # ********.  Number 1 we were members of the BBB up to April 1st 2015 and we were advised by our Corporate not to renew due to a large number of BBB locations letting companies pay to remove bad referrals.  They feel that the BBB has lost their respectability in the eyes of many of the educated consumers.  We still will follow their complaint resolutions as they are how we do business.  The BBB has been removed from our site since our last response to the BBB.

          Number 2 Our website don’t list our service fee and has never listed it.  We have charged the $105.00 service fee on high end appliances and stacked washer and dryers for the last 3 years.  If you forget to tell us that you have a stacked unit then it is your fault we quoted incorrectly.  It is not our place to ask if it is a stacked unit this is the customers responsibility to tell us.

          Number 3 We ran your credit card after we put your itemized bill in the mail, but you had a receipt at the completion of the repairs also with the totals listed, and you did say we could run your credit card after we sent you an itemized bill.  All customers get an emailed receipt or if they don’t have an email address we mail it out.  You did sign the invoice at the completion of the repair.  So you received the signed receipt by email.  Remember you gave us a credit card on April 18th 2015 at the completion of the repair but it didn’t go through so after multiple calls we talked to you and found out you wanted the itemized bill even though we lost money doing the repair, and we made that clear to you when we ordered the last part and charged you only for the part.  Just the hourly rate for 2 technicians for more than 4 hours cost us $160.00.

 

 

Thank You ***** ***** owner Moore & Moore Appliance Service LLC DBA. Mr. Appliance 

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contact Mr. Appliance about having a broken control knob fixed/replaced on my GE washer. I was still able to use my washer with the broken control knob. A repairmen came out to see the problem and after removing the broken control knob told my representative that I could still use the washer while waiting for the new part to come in. I came home that day and plugged the washer in to no avail it didn't work. A week later a repairmen returned to install the new knob. I again tried my washer and it didn't work. I made another call for service to have the washer checked to see why it wasn't run. The repairmen stated to my representative that I needed the timer replaced. he also stated that it looked like someone had pulled or pushed on it too hard.The timer was in working condition before the repairmen from Mr. Appliance looked at the washer and remove the broken knob. The one thing I notices after the first service call was the control panel was not seated completely. I have tried a few times to speak with the owner. He did make contact with my representative stating that his employees did not break the timer. I disagree whole heartedly with his statement that his employee did not break the timer. I know for a fact that things do get broken accidentally while trying to remove a broken part.These are the only individuals that opened the control panel and worked on the washer. I will also be filing a complaint with the Pennsylvania Attorney Generals Office of Consumer Affairs.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the broken timer replaced and installed for free.

Business Response: Mr. ************’s stated when he called in that the knob was not working, On 1/7/2015 the tech
found the teeth that grip and turn the timer worn off. He checked the machine for operation by
advancing the timer with the stem and it worked, he also opened the panel to make sure none of the
timer mounting clips were broken off which is very common when customers are pushing very hard to
advance the timer when trying to use the washer. The only way for the customer to use the washer with
the stripped knob was to push very hard on the knob and most times they still can’t advance the timer.
He ordered the knob and returned on the 1/16/2015 at which time he checked the cycles and they were
working normally, I know he checked it because the knob would take less than 2 minutes to install but
he was in the home for 45 minutes and he told me. On 1/17,2015 Mr. ***********’s called and stated
that the machine wasn’t working, On 1/21/2015 the tech found the timer had voltage in but no functions
were getting Voltage indicating the on off contact in the timer had been shorted open or pushed out of
place from pushing to hard on the knob. The timer is completely sealed and it is impossible to get into
the timer so it would have been impossible for the tech to damage it by putting on a new knob assembly
or going into the consol. The timer going bad is just a coincidence and has nothing to do with the repair
made. I tried to contact Mr. ***********’s but I got his mother so I told her I would do the repair for
the cost of the timer, I also sent him an e-mail with the same information. My tech also told him we
would do the repair for the cost of the timer as I had advised him to do. My office also advised him that
we would do the repair for the cost of the part. I felt that there was no other information I could give
Mr. ***********’s and I prefer to avoid nasty confrontations.
I have informed Mr. ***********’s that due to the circumstances I would do the repair for the
cost of the timer, but he refused to pay anymore. The timer cost $99.98 and our supplier has it in stock.
Thank You ***** ***** Owner
Mr. Appliance Of Pittsburgh
*** ****** *** ****** ***** ************ ****************************
~

Consumer Response: I don't agree with all parts of the letter, but I have decided to accept the replacement part at my cost with the labor at Mr. Appliance  cost.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** ***********

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a technician out to service our washer which was not running through cycles properly and remained full of water after completing a cycle (we'd have to run it from between 5-6 spin cycles to get water out)and clothes became damaged throughout the process. They said it was a problem with the pump and belt and replaced both parts - the first load of wash and nothing was fixed, still full of water and same situation. A sr. technician was sent out and saw the washer full of water. He did not know what the problem was and tightened one coil assuming that may be the answer - it was not and the washer was still full of water. We called management to ask for a refund since nothing was working and we did not want more technicians coming out not knowing what the issue was. After no word from the manager after calling three times, he finally called to say our washer was fixed, we change our story and are liars - hung up the phone and refused to give a refund or continue a discussion (it was appalling). We offered to pay for the parts but are certainly not paying for a washer in which the technicians did not identify or fix the problem after three visits.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund of the labor - we said we would pay for the parts although the machine does not work, but we would like a refund of what we paid to Mr. Appliance

Business Response:

Dear BBB.                                                                                                                              6/20/2014

 

            In regards to ****** ***** complaint ID#********.  I will issue a refund of $106.41 if Mr. ***** agrees to it.  Mr. ***** blatantly lied over and over, and I don’t deal with people who disrespect me by lying to me.  We did the repair we were contracted to do.  It is not unusual for other problems not to show up when we make repairs.  It is customary for us to do those repairs at much lower rates or free depending on the problem.   On 5/23/2014 ***** found the Maytag Washer was not draining completely leaving about 2 inches of water.  The tech removed all of the hoses looking for restrictions but found none the Tech didn’t remove the inner tub to look for possible clothing in the outer tub because he would then have to install new tub seals which are very expensive.  ***** ordered a pump and belt since the belt was worn.   He filled and drained the washer 2 times and said it was draining slowly possibly leaving a small amount of water in the tub.  The pump is mounted directly to the motor so even if the washer didn’t spin or the belt was bad it should still drain unless the pump is damaged or there is a restriction.  **** went back on June 4th  to install the pump and belt and everything worked for him when he tested it.  The customer called back and said the washer wasn’t Draining at 8.30 pm after we were closed insisting we get the tech back out that night.  When we called the following morning we were able to set up for June 7th.  ****** found nothing wrong he also found no water in the tub and suggested that maybe it wasn’t spinning all of the water out of the clothing so he adjusted the idler spring that puts tension on the belt to make it reach full speed spin quicker.  On June 10th  we received a call on our answering service that the customer wanted a full refund since it still wasn’t working and he bought a new machine. 

Mr ***** told my office that he replaced the washer on the tech George’s recommendation and requested a full refund.  The tech told Mr. ***** before he adjusted the idler pulley that he found no problem.  He told me he would never tell a customer to replace a working machine.  The customer at that time told him he wanted a full refund even though the washer was working fine.  ****** told him he saw no reason for a refund.  Mr. ***** told me the washer was full of water when ****** went to look at it but ****** told me there was no water in it except what is supposed to be in the outer tub.  ****** did run the washer with a full tub of water and it drained in less than 2 minutes, which is good.  ****** didn’t charge for the trip.  Mr. ***** told me that ****** told him he didn’t know how to fix this machine.  When what ****** actually told him was that he found nothing wrong with the machine.  Mr. ***** told me that he went away the day after ****** was there and when he came home 5 days later the clothing in the washer was soaking wet.   Mr. ***** replaced the washer on June 10 th according to his message with our answering service 3 days after ****** was there.  Mr. ***** said the belt was burned off the machine because he found it when the delivery company hauled it away, but that was impossible because the belt is in the internal cavity and not accessible under the machine, the belt can’t get out of the machine with out removing panels.  There where a lot more lie’s.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me (although not the truth, I just don't have the time to continue arguing this matter with a new baby that arrived last week.  We simply will not be doing business with this organization in the future).

 

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Mr. Appliance to diagnose a problem with my washing machine. It would not turn on. The technician came to my home and checked the electronics. He said that I had to replace all of the electronics of the washing machine for $450. I told him that I would think about it. I was charged $74.95 for this diagnosis. I looked at the washing machine myself and saw that the power button was not aligned properly. I made the adjustment, and it worked perfectly. I contacted Mr. Appliance to discuss the misdiagnosis. I was told by the office manager that she would speak to the technician and the owner and call me back. I have not been in contact since. I am looking for a refund of the $74.95 because the diagnosis of the problem was incorrect. I can't even imagine paying $450 for parts and labor for something that wasn't broken to begin with! If they intend to keep me as a customer, they would admit the mistake, stand by their work, and refund the fee.

Desired Settlement: If they intend to keep me as a customer, they would admit the mistake, stand by their work, and refund the fee. I would continue using their services in the future if they stand by their service.

Business Response:

I am sorry that Mr ****** is unhappy with our service. The tech did diagnose the problem properly.-The screen was dead indicating the board problems. Had a power on button been stuck there would have been an indication on the screen of E2, E15 or SR

These are normal error codes your board puts on when a button is stuck. If a button is stuck but there is no display there is a problem with the boards listed. On occasions the

boards can be rebooted by unplugging the machine and leaving unplugged for a period of time but that is no indication that the boards are good. To the contrary that indicates the board are not bleeding off static electricity and they have bad bleed down resistors and me blank board indicates the drop down transformer that takes 120 volts and drops it

down to low voltage for the board is overheating.

I am sorry but we are not going to refund your service fee since our servicer did his

job.

***** ***** Owner Moore & Moore Appliance Service LLC DBA:Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh


 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The problem with the machine was not the electronics.  The power button was misaligned.  It is inappropriate to tell a customer to replace all electronic parts when there is no problem with the electronics at all.  Since I aligned this power button properly, the machine has worked flawlessly for over a week.  This company is fleecing customers by telling them that they need to replace parts that are not needed.  In addition, the costs of the parts and labor far exceed the costs of the parts individually.  In this case, THIS WAS NOT AN ELECTRONICS PROBLEM.  It was a plastic button physically not making contact with the board.  No parts were needed to repair this problem.  They are using customers on the assumption that the customers have no knowledge of the products need serviced.    This business charges customers $74.95 to tell customers that they need to spend an additional $375 for parts and labor that they don't actually need.  Perhaps the technician was not thorough in his examination of the machine.  Honest mistakes happen.  Admit that this was a mistake and issue a refund.  It's the right thing to do.

Regards,

**** ******

 

 

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service