BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Best Window & Door?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Best Window & Door

Phone: (814) 536-1422 Fax: (814) 536-2224 View Additional Phone Numbers 501 Broad St, Johnstown, PA 15906 http://www.bestwindowinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the manufacturing of windows & doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Window & Door meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Window & Door include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 18, 1989 Business started: 03/01/1987
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/hiccon.aspx?id=4502
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242

Business Management
Mr. Barry Ritko Jr., Vice President Mr. BJ Ritko Sr., President Ms. Tammy Burnheimer, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Barry Ritko Jr., Vice President
Principal: Mr. BJ Ritko Sr., President
Business Category

WINDOWS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS AWNINGS & CANOPIES DOORS GLASS-BLOCK STORM WINDOWS & DOORS

Industry Tips
Condensation on Windows Home Improvements - Windows Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 501 Broad St

    Johnstown, PA 15906 (814) 536-1422

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 292-5594(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw this company's TV ad that said that if you call by a certain day they will sell you doors and windows "bogo," (buy one get one free). They would also come to my house and do a home inspection free just for calling, $350 value. I called them, I was needing a new front and back door. We set up an appointment for them to come out. Their salesman came out and ask what I was looking for? No inspection what-so-ever. We looked through his computer at what they had, and I picked out a front door. When we started looking for my free back door, he told me that I would have to pay additional for the installation of the back door. The price of the front door was to be $1,883 installed. I said how about a storm door for the front, they are cheaper and they was going to have to remove and re-install the old one anyway when they installed the new main front door. He stated that their storm doors was high priced and that I could get one much cheaper at a local home improvement store. I ask if my current storm doors, front and back could be repaired? He inspected them both and said they could fix them both. We agreed that they would install a new front door and repair my current storm doors (front and rear) in exchange for the free back door for the $1883 price. When their guy came to take measurements for the new front door he stated that they could not do the repairs to the storm doors and that he would call the salesman so we could discuss other options. I called the salesman later that evening, he had not yet talked with the measurement guy, but would call me the next day. He did not call the next day. The following day I called their office to cancel my order and request return of my $600 deposit. This company's BOGO is BOGUS.

Desired Settlement: I want my $600 deposit back and for this company to stop their false and deceiving advertising.

Business Response:

 

I have received and reviewed the complaint filed by Mr. *** ****** (**** *** *** *** ****** ** *****). After investigation into the matter, I offer the following response.

1.  Mr. ****** was visited by our Factory Representative on March 12, 2014 for interest in an Entry Door, possibly two.

2.  When our associate arrived, he acknowledges that he asked Mr. ****** "What are you looking to do today" and Mr. ****** lead him to his Entry Doors for replacement where the conversation began. Mr. ****** DID NOT state to our Associate that he would like to have the free home inspection done. Our Associate stated that he did not conduct the "Free In-Home Analysis" as he felt that Mr. ****** only was focused on his Entry Door replacement and Mr. ****** never mentioned it to him.

3.  The Associate did create various door designs for Mr. ****** of which he decided on the 400 style design (see attached). The full price with installation WITHOUT TRAVEL CHARGES should have been $2650.35.

4.  *****, West Virginia does have an applicable travel charge of 10% (See attached Map) for all sales which SHOULD have raised the price to $2915.38.

5.  Mr. ****** then expressed interest in possibly reducing the price of the project by just replacing the front door with a Storm Door. Our Associate was CORRECT and CARING in being honest with Mr. ****** that he could "acquire a Storm Door" much "Cheaper" from a home improvement center as our doors are "expensive" and can run up to "$1000.00 based on designs and styles".

6.   The Factory Associated DID acknowledge that he looked at the existing Storm Door and believed that Best Window could provide repair service to it.

7.   The contract was signed and agreed to for ONE DOOR at $1883.00 with repairs to the existing Storm Door.

8.   Via the TERMS OF SALE for the BOGO AD (see attached) Mr. ****** DID NOT QUALIFY for the BUY-ONE GET ONE SALE as he did not buy another door. HOWEVER, our Associate did deduct $1032.38 by discounting Mr. Mullen's door and WAIVING the Travel Fee.

9.   Upon measurement by our Technician, it was determined that Best Window DID NOT have the ability to repair the existing Storm Door as we do not carry the appropriate parts to do so correctly.

10.                  Mr. ****** NEVER contacted our office to explain that he

did not reach our Associate and that he had any questions or was dissatisfied.

11.               Mr. ****** contacted our office on March 19, 2014 to cancel the CONTRACT PAST THE THREE DAY RECISSION DATE/APPROVED CANCELLATION DATE. Best Window HAD ALREADY ORDERED THE DOOR UNIT.

12.               Mr. ****** was mailed his deposit back in the amount of $600 on March 28, 2014 (see attached check copy). And, the order was luckily cancelled in time before production on it was commenced.

SUMMARY:

The purpose of Mr. *******s BBB Complaint is not justified and is inappropriate.

1.   Mr. ****** did not qualify for the BOGO Sale via its terms.

2.   Mr. ****** was still awarded $1000.00 in savings by our Associate for his order.

3.   Mr. ****** never asked to have the Energy Analysis conducted when our Associate was there.

4.   Mr. ****** never contacted our Office stating ANY dissatisfaction nor requesting any explanations on pricing nor informed us that he desired the Free In-Home Analysis or that is "was not done."

We would have gladly sent an Associate back to him to conduct one had we known.

5.   Mr. ****** CANCELLED his order PAST the cancellation period. Best DID NOT have to honor this request but did so.

6.   Our Factory Associate only meant to help Mr. ****** by attempting to repair a broken door that is NOT of Best Window make.

7.                                                                                         Best Window DID NOT ignore the attempts to repair the door. We tried to during the measurement process but found that we did not have the parts to do so......................

8.   Best Window NEVER neglected Mr. ****** nor mistreated him nor overpriced or mislead him.

9.   Our BUY-ONE, GET-ONE Television Ad is very clear in requiring callers to call by Wednesday to receive the promotion. In addition it states to "visit mybestwindow.com for BOGO Sales Details" where the consumer can find the BOGO Terms of Sale for their personal review.

10.               Mr. ******'s deposit was returned.

In summary, Best Window & Door Company is confused as to where Mr. ****** was misled, mistreated, or taken advantage of during the sales process. In addition, Mr. ****** never contacted our Office directly to relay that he did not hear back from our Associate. And the delay in response from our Associate was only one day. It was not as if our Associate took weeks to respond. Mr. ****** only gave our Associate a day to respond and then apparently cancelled.

In addition, Mr. ****** never gave Best Window & Door Company ANY^ information that would indicate he was unhappy. How can we respond if we do not know he is unhappy?

Best Window & Door Company considers this matter closed. Mr. ****** has received his deposit back and we have honored a cancellation well past its approved period. Best Window & Door Company would gladly apologize to Mr. ****** for any wrong doings. But, Best Window & Door Company is very confused as to what it actually "did" that was "wrong"?

And, the BOGO Sale is not "BOGUS". Mr. ****** practically received it for only buying ONE door.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The end of October 2013 we hired Best Window & Door Co. of Johnstown PA to install 10 windows and 1 big living room window. The cost came to $5810.00. We got the "**** **** SERIES. "When I came home from work and saw the new kitchen windows I told them immediately that I hated them. I asked them to put my old windows back in. The framing around the windows is ugly, the windows are more vinyl than window as compared to my old windows. Now that the weather is warmer I cannot even reach the top latch to unlock the windows to open the kitchen windows. I hate the kitchen windows. We believe that we were mislead. Best Windows salesmen promised us 2 things that were incorrect. He told us that all the new windows would NOT sweat, but they actually caused puddles of water on the wood window sills damaging the wood sill in the living room. He also told us that ALL of the J Channel would be replaced around ALL the windows, but installers only replaced three sides and not the bottoms, leaving them on and they are old and wavy. Also the installers replaced seven windows but when they got to the kitchen they did not remove all of the old window but installed new windows inside of the old frames. The installers told us that they could have installed a full size window but that the guy that measured sent the smaller window. If we had known that they were going to change their method when they got to the kitchen we would have said "Forget it, do not do the kitchen." They replaced the WHOLE window on the first seven, what was the big deal about "replacement" style windows when they got to the kitchen. The first seven were also replacement style windows. We paid $2000.00 on September 14, 2012 and we paid $3000.00 on 10/12/12. I called and wrote to Best Windows about the issues and said I would pay the rest of the bill when I'm satisfied with the service. They told me if I did not pay the balance that they would eliminate the warranty on my new windows. We have pictures if needed.

Desired Settlement: We want Best Windows to refund $1575.00 for the two kitchen windows and damage to the living room window sill and we want the J Channel job completed.

Business Response:

I have received and reviewed the complaint filed by Mr. & Mrs. *** ******* (*** ******* ******* ******** **). After investigation into the matter, I offer the following response.

  1. Attached to this response is written correspondence between Best Window & Door Company and Mr. & Mrs. *******. Mr. & Mrs. ******* have repeatedly raised issue to our company about non-issue items. As described in their complaint to the BBB, they raise issue with Window Condensation, Kitchen Window Finish, and J- Channel installation. As can be seen in our correspondences to them (see attached), we have made every effort to respond to them via response letter, phone call, in person meetings, and even mailed them supporting documentation. We have referred them to our website as well as recommended them to conduct third party research which would support our response and validate we are not "making stuff up".
  2. The simple fact is Mr. & Mrs. ******* doesn't want to agree or listen. We have explained over and over again that the window "sweating" is because of their home's environment. They have been encouraged to look this up for themselves on line for third party verification. Apparently they did not. We also supplied them a packet on this issues which explains "sweating" in great degree.
  3. They also make complaint about "window J-Channel" that our Installation Crew NEVER TOUCHED. The J-Channel issues they complain about was present the ENTIRE TIME they've had their home. Our Installation Crew NEVER TOUCHED the part of the window they complain about (the very bottom portion) during their installation as we did not need to disturb this area. This was explained over and over again to the *******'s. Now for some reason, it is Best Window's responsibility to repair it? And also, J-Channel removal and replacement was never mentioned or a condition of the contract.
  4. The Kitchen Window installation was explained to Mr. & Mrs. ******* IN PERSON (on site) as well as via written and phone response. Our Installation Manager had in-depth conversations with them on why the window was being installed the way it was. Mr. & Mrs. ******* were even offered a "change order" option to adjust the window installation utilizing another method. They did not accept (see attached documents). In any case, had the *******'s chosen another contractor, they would STILL have this type of installation conducted. It is a standard install and WELL within industry standards.

  5. Best Window & Door Company even offered to conduct the J-Channel adjustment for Mr. & Mrs. ******* when it fit our installation and route schedule. Although we had NO OBLIGATION to do this, we did so as a good-faith gesture. We went out to their residence in February to conduct the adjustment and Ms. ******* stopped our crew from fixing the J-Channel. She told them "if you are not here to replace the kitchen windows, you're not doing to fix anything." So, our crew departed without conducting any work.

    That is the last contact we had with the *******'s until this complaint.

    In final, Best Window & Door Company has made every effort in person, via phone, via written response, and third party recommendation to Mr. & Mrs. ******* about their repeated complaint. We are done answering their complaint as they are finding fault with our company when there is none. This response, as well as the attached supporting written correspondence, clearly indicates we've made efforts above and beyond to provide explanation and to appease our customer.

    Mr. & Mrs. ******* were never ignored in their issues nor ever asked to pay any money's beyond what our contract stated. They were expected to pay in full to complete their transaction. We informed the *******'s that we do not provide full warranty to customers who withhold payment without just cause. Their complaint was not viewed as a valid reason to withhold payment.

    Their complaint is not worthy of BBB involvement as they were never misled or misused. We will not reimburse any money's as we met the full scope of our contractual obligations nor will we conduct any further work.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1