BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Advanced Basement Solutions?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Basement Solutions

Phone: (800) 270-8090 Fax: (724) 872-1004 View Additional Phone Numbers 1200 Herminie West Newton Road, West Newton, PA 15089 http://www.advancedbasement.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This corporation offers basement waterproofing, internal & external French drains, sump pumps, window wells, driveway drains, yard drains, down spouts, wall repair to include wall straightening & rebuilding of foundations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Basement Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Advanced Basement Solutions include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Basement Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 03, 2003 Business started: 03/24/2003 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.attorneygeneral.gov/hiccon.aspx?id=4502
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Tara Hoey, President Mr. William B Hoey, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Tara Hoey, President
Principal: Mr. William B Hoey, Vice President
Business Category

WATERPROOFING CONTRACTORS DEHUMIDIFYING EQUIPMENT STRUCTURAL INTEGRATION FOUNDATION REPAIR & HOUSE LEVELING BASEMENT WATERPROOFING CONCRETE CONTRACTORS DRAINAGE CONTRACTORS FOUNDATION CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Basement Waterproofing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1200 Herminie West Newton Road

    West Newton, PA 15089 (724) 872-2202

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (412) 341-2660(Phone)
  • (412) 373-3395(Phone)
  • (412) 486-5880(Phone)
  • (412) 672-0888(Phone)
  • (724) 222-9020(Phone)
  • (724) 459-5544(Phone)
  • (724) 838-7890(Phone)
  • (724) 847-1855(Phone)
  • (724) 863-4333(Phone)
  • (724) 872-2202(Phone)
  • (724) 872-3300(Phone)
  • (724) 872-7206(Phone)
  • (724) 872-7782(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 years ago we had sump pumps installed in our basement by this company however over the last 6 months or so on one of the walls in our basement the paint is bubbling up & peeling off & crumbling onto the floor as a powder. There is obviously some moisture behind the wall. We have called the company to have them come and take a look as there is a lifetime warranty from our last service. My husband called 4 times and was not able to speak to anyone. The first time I called and left a message - no one called me back. This was in late September. I called back & finally spoke to a girl in the office and explained what was happening. I made an appointment for someone to come out at 10am on Monday October 21st. October 21st came & no one showed up. I took the day off of work for this appointment. I called the office & spoke to one of the owners. She told me she did not have my appointment on her calendar. What? I had to explain the entire situation to her and she said she could reschedule another appointment for Saturday November 2nd 9am. She said we would get a phone call the day before. Here it is November 2nd and we did not get a phone call and no one showed up. I called the office and spoke again to the girl I talked to the first time. She tells me again that they have no appointment on her calendar to come and take a look at my wall. This is like groundhog day. Twice now we have scheduled an appointment and twice now the appointment disappears from their calendar? I'm frustrated and a bit furious. I suspect that we are getting the runaround because of the lifetime warranty and this company doesn't want to pay for their oversight from work that should have been done 3 years ago when they installed the sump pump. I would like this problem taken care of.

Desired Settlement: My husband and I would like this company to take a look at the wall & repair it accordingly. At this point we're not sure if we can trust their workmanship after the run around we've been getting.

Business Response:

Company Statement-

Since the complaint was filed we have inspected the property owned by the ******* and have found that the problem they have was not any fault of Advanced Basement Solutions. The ******* do understand the problem was not our fault.

 

Advanced Basement Solutions Installed internal drainage systems for ******* on January 28,2010, February 11,2011 and March 18, 2011 The systems installed have a lifetime warranty to cover the cove area (the area where the wall and floor meets.) ***** ******* inspected the system on November 16,2013 and is functioning property.

 

The problem is with the Patio that was installed after the waterproofing system. The patio is slopped toward the house and causing water to saturate the wall when it rains.

 

I apologize for the missed appointments. We at Advanced Basement Solutions Pride ourselves on our customer service. We were not trying to give the ******* the run around. We did have the names different in our computer system due to ***** going by the last name ********* and ****** and there was some confusion on our schedule due to this. Also it may not have been a priority because the internal system warranty does not cover the top of the wall. Due to our lack of customer service we waived the service fee to evaluate this issue.

 

Sincerely,

**** ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant did not acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided on ABS because the salesman seemed friendly & knowledgable and came to my house twice and even though we had a difficult job with a lot of obstacles said they would have no problem with the job and get it done in 1 day. The day of the job the workers arrived one hour late and had no idea what the job entailed. They said the salesman did not give enough detail on the job and had to leave because they didn't have the correct tools. By the time they returned and started working it was after 12. the workers came across problems and did not inform me. I had a knock on my door and the man stated his name was **** and he was the owner of the company. He walked through the Job With me and went over what the issues were one of them being the workers broke a pipe in my floor. We discussed the job & what was to be done and he left. Needless to say the job wasn't done in 1 day & I had to reschedule multiple other contractors who were scheduled. The job took 2 extra days to complete. After the job was done they left me an invoice with the original price and told me to call or send in my payment. I called 3 days after the job was done to pay my invoice on 9/23and spoke with **** the co owner and she told me that they were charging me an extra $1200 for labor because my cement was "extra thick" which is more than 60% of what the original price was. i told her I disagreed & wanted to speak to the owner **** who was at my house. She was very rude & unprofessional and said he would call me the next day. It is now oct 1st and I have yet to hear from anyone from the company. It seems from the previous complaints they frequently add extra charges after the job is complete. The workers were here for 3 days and the owner came and discussed the job with me and not once did anyone say there would be extra charges until 3 days after the job was competed. There was an extra 3in cement pad on the floor but that was clearly on my estimate & should have been included in the original price if it was an extra charge

Desired Settlement: I feel this is poor business practice and I am being unfairly charged because the salesman underbid the job (twice) the company had multiple opportunities to discuss any issues that would incur additional charges with me during the job and while speaking with the owner especially an extra charge greater than 60% which is very significant. The cement pad was preexisting and part of the estimate and therefore I should not be charged extra and I want the additional charges removed.

Business Response: Mrs. ******* and I talked last week, I explained that due to the thickness of the floor that this job took 3 days and we lost money doing this job. I asked if she would consider  paying $ 600 additional to offset extra labor costs. She wanted to discuss the offer with her husband and call me back. To date I have not head from her. I will contact you next week and let you know how we are going to handle this dispute.

**** ****
Advanced Basement Solutions

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired advanced basement solutions to place in a French drain system. To get business, they were professional at the start, then it went downhill quite fast. Once the contract was signed we scheduled a date for the team to arrive, which they never showed up for. I got a call apologizing an they arrived another day. While they were here they broke my sewer pipe and attempted to cover that happened up but someone arrows home early. I asked for a letter to be written that they did in fact break the pipe an was rudely asked by the owner why I would want such a letter. After that I came home to see cigarette butts an garbage covering my driveway and two of the workers making derogatory statements about myself and the own company they work for. Stating the owner drinks constantly while attending to work rated business and the "short fat wife" just wants money and does not care about their quality of work and so on. As I walked inside there was an abundance of dirt in my carpet and dust everywhere. A plastic cover should have been placed over the entrance to the area being worked on. After that I got a call I owed additional money for the project because of a radon system the marketing rep did not factor in the equation since it would need sealed up. owners were extremely rude and acted as if it was my fault their person who did the initial quote was liable for these costs. Seems like an ongoing scam that this is what this company does. Yesterday I noticed my radon machine has a gaping crack in it and now the vacuum is not functioning correctly which means toxins are leaking into the house now. After all of that the workers broke my garage door sensors and I once again had to call regarding that which led to another rude conversation with the owner in which she stated it is not a big deal and it would be minimal to correct. This has been nothing but very unprofessional service and I would not recommend using this company to anyone and neither will many real estate agents here.

Desired Settlement: I want reimbursed for the money I am going to pay for a professional to correct my radon system, garage. I do not want these people in my home again.

Business Response: I have emailed Ms. ******* to resolve the complaint. I asked that ******* **** has a chance to look at the work that was done and has a oppertunity to resolve any complaints.

Note- Ms. ******* has not made any payments for the work that was done and owes our company $4945.00.

I will respond to the BBB again after We meet with Ms. ******* to review the job.

**** ****
Advanced Basement Solutions

Consumer Response: Yes this is true the company has not received payment until the job is complete and a licensed contractor is in my home to fix my stairs which has began to cave in due to the work crew channeling under the steps and not supporting from underneath. I have requested they submit a claim to their insurance and they are making it very difficult in doing so. I do not prefer the husband whom is not a structural engineer or contractor correct the work on the steps. What person would issue payment for a job not completed or a job that has many issues to correct such as damages? I did not mention the hand prints on my walls, crew members initials in the dried concrete, or many of the other cover a. I am not picky, just prefer my home and steps be made structurally sound as was previous to this company entering

Business Response: We have an appointment scheduled for Saturday August 24th to meet with Ms. ******* and review the work that was done. I will email you on Monday August 26th with the results.

Business Response: Hello,

**** **** reviewed the job over the weekend. **** **** and ****** ******* came to an agreement on how to resolve the complaint. I emailed ****** to schedule a time for service and due to a family situation she is not available for a few weeks.  The steps need to be raised an inch and secured. (This could not be done the day that system was finished because of wet concrete.) We will clean the carpet on the stairs. ( If her new carpet is not installed). I will email you again after final service is complete. Thank you for your assistance.

**** ****
Advanced Basement Solutions
1200 Herminie West Newton Rd
West Newton PA 15089
###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Advanced Basement Solutions (ABS) installed basement french drains inside my home. Contract was signed on 11/5/12, work was performed on 11/29 thru 12/1/12. At the time, I informed ***** *******, the salesman, that I also needed to install a radon system at a later date to be linked with their (ABS) system.This required the french drain system not to have any leaks or cracks for radon to escape. The radon level was already at an unhealthy level with no cracks on the floor prior to ABS. Mr. ******* stated the cement would not crack at the time of signing although ABS does not guarantee against cracking of cement. They do warranty workmanship, including correct materials for the application. While the job was being done, I noticed the drilled drain holes weren't at the bottom of the cement block, trapping water. Also, cement was only 1/2 to 1 inch thick. I mentioned to ABS workers that I was concerned it may crack but they assured me "you could drive a car over it." One week after completion, the cement was not completely dry,and the vapor barrier top was not completely sealed. When ABS worker sealed the vapor barrier 12/17/12, he was made aware of the cracks and agreed to inform the owner. Despite calls and messages to ABS on 12/21 and 12/27/12, I received no response. On 12/28 @ 7:20am, ABS Owner **** ****, called and informed me he doesn't warranty cracks, although Mr. *******, and other ABS staff said the contrary. I told Mr. **** that Sakrete (manufacturer) Tech service had indicated the "Sand Mix" product used by ABS was not correct for this application! This was also affirmed by other cement contractors.Mr **** initially refused to come to my home to inspect the problems, but was sending Mr. ******* instead. On 1/5/13, Mr ******* did not show up as scheduled. Finally, on January 7,2013 Mr. **** arrived and refused to replace cracked cement with the correct cement, even though he warranties workmanship.He offered to use sealant on the cracks instead. I explained to Mr. **** that workmanship includes use of correct materials. An email was sent to Mr. **** on 1/10/13 with detailed pictures of complete job process. The pictures show the cement block drain holes not at lowest location, also indicating poor workmanship. Water still remains trapped in cement blocks. The pictures also show there was plenty of depth under the existing floor line to use the correct cement. To date no response received from Mr. **** on resolution of issues.

Desired Settlement: Request Full refund of the job performed, since Mr. ***** owner of ABS, refuses to re-do the job with correct cement and thickness, and redrill drain holes in correct location. This way, I can have the job resolved correctly with a competent contractor. Also, damages from ABS due to lack of water use in the home from 11/28/12 thru present.(well water bladder tank sits on ABS cracked cement.) Additional damages, due to increased health hazard of radon because of cracks created by ABS.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

Due to the initiation of my BBB complaint, Mr. **** ****, owner of Advanced Basement Solutions of West Newton, PA, (ABS), phoned me on 2/14/13 @ 7:10am.   Mr. **** indicated he wanted to come to my residence and "dig up" a 1 foot section of cement that was previously installed by Advanced Basement Solutions.  He stated there was not any gravel between the vapor barrier and footer. 

I requested Mr. **** submit an email to me stating his intentions were for resolution, prior to coming to my home.  My concern is that Mr. ****, is only responding at this time due to the complaint filed through the BBB.  Clearly, Mr **** had no intentions of resolving the situation until I contacted the BBB.  Months have now gone by despite my documented attempts at contacting him and trying to resolve the issues that still remain. 

DOCUMENTED EVENTS  

***12/14/2012 ---I called ABS, spoke with ****(owner's wife.) She stated ***, a worker would come on 12/17/12 to fix leaks across the top of the exposed vapor barrier and inspect cracks. 

***12/17/2012 --- *** did come over, sealed the vapor barrier, looked at the cracks and said the owner would follow up with me.

***12/21/2012 --- I called toll free number at company, left a message for Mr.****.   No call returned

***12/27/2012----I called toll free number at company, left a message for Mr.****.   No call returned

***12/28/2012----Mr. ****, returned my call.  He said he does not warranty cracking and refused to come look at job. 

                           He said he would send ***** *******, the salesman to look at the cement.  I explained at that time,

                           that the manufacturer, Sakrete, stated the sand mix cement was incorrect for the application it was used for.

****1/7/2013---------Mr. **** came to my residence to view the cement cracks, and discuss the situation.  He again said he does not warranty against using incorrect materials and refuses to relace the cement with appropriate materials.  At that ime, Mr. **** did measure how much exposed block was above the floor line which was 5 inches.  This left plenty of room between the floor line and the footer for the correct thickness of correct cement, which was 3 inches.  The cement block used is 8 inch height block.   He also saw that I had 33 cracks from the wall to the old cement and lengthy  cracks ranging from 2 foot to 6 foot along the old and new cement line.  At the time of signing, I had informed *****, the salesman that I also wanted a radon system installed at a later date.  My radon was already over the limits prior to ABS.  ***** informed me he would make the system sealed and install a stand up pipe into the french drain,  which is exposed above the cement, and  would then be connected at a later date. Mr. **** knew this as it was on the signed contract.  With the numberous cracks in the new cement, this increased the health hazards from radon.  He offered to seal the cracks with sealant only.I informed Mr. **** I was unable to use of water for any purposes, inclduing drinking, bathing, toileting since the ABSD installation.

***1/9/2013-------Mr. **** called and informed me he spoke with ***** and other workers about only having enough depth for 1/2 inch thickness of cement.  I informed Mr. **** that I had photos indicating otherwise and would forward those to him showing at least 3 inches depth between the footer and the floorline, as he measured on 1/7/2013.  I sent Mr. **** a detailed email with photos (see attchaments) regarding depth below floor line to footer and incorrectly drilled drain holes in the block, which is trapping water in the block.  In the photos, you can see the old existing floor line on the wall, the newly drilled drain holes at the floor line (which is incorrect), and the depth to the footer from the old floor line.

****2/4/2013------No further contact from Mr. ****/ABS , I was forced to contact the BBB for assistance.

****2/14/2013-----Mr. **** contacted me after BBB contacted him.  He wants to dig up 1 foot section of new cement to see the depth to the footer, despite having measured it himself and having pictures showing such depth.  I informed Mr. **** at that time to send written confirmation of his intentions.  He has not submitted anything further at this time.

I do not feel Mr. **** needs to enter my property, having all the facts presented previously.  He has failed to address the drain holes in the block that could cause further damage due to retained water and redrilling.  He has failed to consider that I have been without water since ABS started since 11/28/2012.

Sincerely,

******* ***** ***

Business Response: To Whom it may concern,

We at Advanced Basement take pride in our work and our customer service and would like to work with Mr. ***** to resolve this issue We have tried to contact wit Mr ***** to resolve the situation and have not had success. 

****** **** (Co owner of ABS and Certified Waterproofing Specialist) Would like to go Mr *****s with a laborer and break open the system in a few areas to inspect how  the system was installed. This is the only way to determine if the system was installed correctly.

If the system is installed correctly  will will immediately re-concrete the areas where system was opened and seal existing cracks to prevent radon infiltration.
 If the system was installed incorrectly we will redo the system at our expense as it is covered under our lifetime warranty.

There in not any reason why the water supply could not be in operation.

Sincerely,

**** **** 

Consumer Response:

I have only had one call regarding them coming over since my last comment on the BBB. That was yesterday, March 20,2013. I have just returned there call explaining how I want written documentation before they come over, as to their intentions. The last time they called me was when I responded to the last reply from them from the BBB. No contact at all in between from them, by phone or email. So as far as them trying to get a hold of me more than that, that is incorrect. I have already sent numerous pictures and documentaion regarding what work they have done to the BBB, and to Mr. ****. As stated in my last response on the BBB, this will NOT resolve my complaint for them to just come over, and break up my cement more. I have asked Mr. **** to give me written documentation as to his actual intent for coming over, the last time they called me, and as of today, still have not recieved anything. This has been over a month now waiting for documentation. He insisted that the cement could not be thicker than 1/2" to 1", because of how close the footer was to the floor line, so I sent pictures to Mr. **** and to the BBB, showing it isn't so. He also has stated to me that there wasn't enough room to put thicker cement, so he came over personally, and measured the actual block sticking above the floor, and he himself noticed it to be 5", (which he knows the block height to be 8"). This gives plenty of room 3" for the correct thickness and type of cement, gravel, and vapor barrier, which he refused to redo over the phone before the BBB complaint, and afterwards when he physically came over. The pictures I've sent to Mr. **** and to the BBB show everything I've just stated. Mr. ****, at ABS,  has also NOT MADE ANY MENTION of what is to be done about the cement block drain holes being incorrectly placed. These were also shown in the pictures to the BBB and Mr. ****. Mr. **** has refused to comment on his fix for the drain holes at all. As  stated previously, SAKRETE, the Mfg of the cement, stated the cement they used, "SAND MIX", is incorrect for the job. It even states that on the website. Mr. **** has no intentions of replacing the cement with the correct thickness and type of cement. He has stated that over the phone and personally when he came over. His intentions are only to seal the cracks, not to replace the cement, redrill the drain holes, and to do the job correctly.

If he wishes to come over and dig up some of the cement, I want written documentaion from him stating his intentions IN DETAIL. THis is the only way I will accept having him and his laborer coming over to possibly damage my house more.

With that said.......I await his written documentation stating his DETAILED intentions.

******* ***** ** 

 

 

Business Response: Today, April 8, 2013, ******* **** met with Mr ***** and they have come to an agreement on what needs to be done. Service work is scheduled for April 19th.

**** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/25/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues