Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Basement Solutions

Phone: (800) 270-8090 Fax: (724) 872-1004 View Additional Phone Numbers 1200 Herminie West Newton Rd, West Newton, PA 15089 http://www.advancedbasement.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This corporation offers basement waterproofing, internal & external French drains, sump pumps, window wells, driveway drains, yard drains, down spouts, wall repair to include wall straightening & rebuilding of foundations.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Basement Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Basement Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Basement Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 2003 Business started: 03/24/2003 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Attorney General List of Registered Contractors
16th Floor, Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/
Phone Number: (888) 520-6680
Fax Number: 717-787-8242
The number is PA005289.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Tara Hoey, President Mr. William B Hoey, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Tara Hoey, President
Principal: Mr. William B Hoey, Vice President
Business Category

WATERPROOFING CONTRACTORS DEHUMIDIFYING EQUIPMENT WATERPROOFING MATERIALS STRUCTURAL INTEGRATION BASEMENT - CONTRACTORS CONTRACTOR - CRAWL SPACE SUMP PUMP CONTRACTORS FOUNDATION REPAIR & HOUSE LEVELING RAINWATER HARVESTING SYSTEMS TRENCHING CONTRACTORS STRUCTURAL SUPPORT - UNDERGROUND FOUNDATION INSPECTION BASEMENT WATERPROOFING CONCRETE CONTRACTORS DRAINAGE CONTRACTORS FOUNDATION CONTRACTORS

Industry Tips
Home Improvements - Basement Waterproofing Pennsylvania Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act

Additional Locations

  • 1200 Herminie West Newton Rd

    West Newton, PA 15089 (724) 872-2202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday, November 7, Advanced Basement Solutions came to my home to install 30' of internal french drain system and 1 sump pump, and install 3 sheets of safewall in my garage. The work was not completed to my satisfaction. I requested that the company return to reinstall the safewall (there were various issues with the original safewall installation that I can detail if requested). On Saturday, November 12, a representative from the company came to my house, noting the "shoddy job," and took the safewall down and put a new safewall up. The representative took photos of the safewall before removing it and installing a new one. As part of performing the work, the representative attempted to plug in a tool and he noticed that the outlet where the sump pump was plugged in (installed by Advanced Basement Solutions) was not working. He then unscrewed the lid of the sump pump and noticed that the sump pump was also not working. The outlet is positioned against the garage wall where the safewall was installed and in order to get the safewall up, the company had to move a wire that is connected to the outlet. The representative stated that he believes that the initial workers pulled the wire out too far and possibly ripped the wire out of the ceiling (connected to the outlet). Had the sump pump been tested, it would have been clear that the outlet was not working appropriately after the workers moved the wire to install the safewall. The outlet was working appropriately prior to Advanced Basement Solution working on my basement on November 7. The representative noted that the extension cord that was used (requested by the November 7 workers and supplied by my mother) was not the appropriate type of extension cord to use; the representative went to Lowes to purchase the appropriate type of extension cord, which had to be routed to a different plug in my garage in order to test the sump pump. The representative noted that Advanced Basement Solutions should have supplied an appropriate extension cord. The representative did get the sump pump working and rigged the extension cord in a way that allows the sump pump to operate, using a different plug in the garage. This is not conveniently placed and I would like the plug at the safewall to be operational again and be used for the sump pump per the original plan. I spoke to the owner of the company on November 11 about the damaged outlet. The owner indicated that his men are not supposed to touch any electrical wires. It is very clear that in order to put the safewall up, the workers would have absolutely needed to move the electrical wire based on where it is placed. Also, it is clear that the workers did not test the sump pump as they should have, as part of the installation process of the sump pump, or they would have realized that the outlet had been damaged and was not working appropriately.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to fix the outlet that was damaged during installation.

Business Response: As noted, Advanced Basement Solutions did send a technician shortly after original installation to repair the areas of concern that the customer found unsatisfactory.  We strive for customer satisfaction and want to ensure that every aspect of the installation meets expectations as contracted and to the best of our ability.  As a result the technician repaired/replaced the Safewall, extension cord, ensured the pump was connected to a usable outlet and tested it.  However, the outlet and wiring nearest to the pump was damaged prior to the original installation on Monday, November 7, 2015.  The service technician also indicated that our crew worked around the area where the customer feels we damaged.  They worked around the outlet/wiring to the best of their ability in order to avoid disturbing it due to the condition found upon arrival.  In addition, the original crew noted that the customer had a written notes not to unplug certain electrical areas to ensure nothing was disturbed or unplugged.  Bringing further awareness (in addition to company protocol) to the crew to use caution/avoid these areas.  Included in the photo(s) attached, you can see the cuts where we went around the metal casing of the outlet along with the condition of the outlet prior to our original installation.  Per our contract with the customer, which the customer signed prior to installation, when a submersible pump is installed, the customer was responsible/agreed to supply adequate electrical power and install outlets for the submersible pump.  This was also explained during the original inspection/estimate.  Due to the lifetime, transferable warranties we offer, we always strongly recommend having a certified electrician install a dedicated outlet as area building code requires to ensure optimal functionality of the system.     


Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

On initial installation, the technician plugged the sump pump into the outlet that the business claims was damaged prior to installation.  Therefore, the original technician did not completely work around the area as indicated in their response and did indeed touch and interact with the outlet that they claim was damaged prior to the install.  It was the business' job to ensure that the sump pump was working upon leaving the job site.  The failure of the original technician to suggest or use a different outlet during original installation suggests that the outlet was considered functional during at least a portion of the original install.

Regards,

****** *****

2/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered into a contract with Advanced Basement Soultions a few weeks prior to the date the work was scheduled to be preformed. The company failed to show up on the scheduled day at the scheduled time. When I called to find out why, I was told that they had employees call off the morning of and that they were going to need to reschedule. I explained that I had taken my last 2 vacation days to empty out the basement and stay home for this project to be completed. The gentleman that I talked to was not very concerned with coming to a resolution. I had to leave momentarily to take my son to the bus stop. When I returned I called back a second time and talked to a lady who only rushed to a solution when I mentioned the Better Business Bureau. She told me that she would get a crew to my house at 2:00 pm and promised the work would be finished that day even if the guys had to stay late. Another hour and a half late at 3:30 two men showed up unprepared for the job and explained that if they started the job, they would still have to come back on Saturday to finish it. After an hour of being in my home the lead worker explained that in order to do the job there would be more work than what was originally contracted and they would have to write up a new quote. I was told that someone would call me on Monday. I received a call on Tuesday from the lady and now the price had doubled from the original quote. I spent 2 days cleaning everything out of my basement and placing it into my garage so this project could be completed on Friday 12/5/14 with all intentions of putting everything back on Saturday. I have been forced to park outside for over a week in the winter's cold. Not something I am very pleased that I have to do. This company has cost me lots of time, effort, and inconvenience. Advanced Basement Solutions is unprofessional, disorganized, incompetent, and liars. I have since contacted another basement repair specialist and scheduled an appointment for the work to be done on 12/18/14-12/19/14.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting to be reimbursed $320.00 for the 2 days of work that I will have to miss caused by Advanced Basement Solutions. The money I will lose because I do not have any more paid time off from work. This does not include my time wasted waiting all day for their employees to show up at my house and not do the job they were supposed to do or the time I wasted having to have another company come to my house and do another basement inspection.

Business Response:

January 9, 2015 

Responding to case ********

Advanced Basement Solutions (ABS) contacted the customer first thing in the morning to let him know that we were not able to make it at 8:00 am as previously scheduled. I talked to him after he went to the bus stop to try to reschedule the work. I do not like to reschedule jobs and I do not like to make excuses but this particular morning we had an excessive amount of crew members out sick with the Flu and Bronchitis that developed from them having the Flu. The employees were told to stay home if they were ill so we did not infect the rest of the healthy employees that were healthy.

I did make arrangements with the customer for a crew to arrive between 2:00 and 4:00. I told him I would call when they were on their way and I did so .I gave the customer a window of time because this crew was on their scheduled job and I could not give a definite time that they would arrive. The crew arrived at 3:30. That is in the window of time that I told him.

The customers’ house had an existing Drainage system and sump pump already installed by another company. This system was also sealed for radon.

Our proposal for work included installing Safewall (A high performance waterproof panel) on the rear wall and right wall of basement. Approximately 20 lineal feet.

To do the work as originally contracted ABS would have to cut the sealant on top of the Drainage system with a razor knife and install the Safewall panels tucking the bottom in behind the drain board of the existing system. This would take approximately two hours.

When Our Crew supervisor went to cut the Sealant he realized that it was not regular silicon sealant that is normally used to seal drain board. It was an epoxy that could not be cut. It was extremely hard. It would not cut with a knife he would have to use a grinder to remove it witch would ruin the drain board. To replace the drain board he would have to break the all the concrete on the drainage system, remove drain board and reinstall it. He would also have to grind the epoxy off the walls.

My supervisor talked to the customer and he decided that if this work was going to be done that it needed to be done correctly. We could have just put up the safewall as contracted but it may not have function as intended. Water could have leaked on the floor if it came in the walls.

When I called the customer to give pricing and schedule a time to break open the system, redo drain board and the concrete he was not happy with the price. I did give him a $400 discount for his inconvenience. He chose not to use our company and take advantage of the discount.

Please note that ABS spent about $325 in gas a wages on this customer and did not hold him to his contracted amount of $1200. We still could have installed the panels but we like to provide our products and services in a professional manner.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Advanced Basement Solutions is completely contradictory of our conversation on 12/5/13. It has also taken over a month from my original complaint to the BBB for them to respond confirming the fact that this company is unprofessional and disorganized. They did not call or contact me in the morning to make me aware of the situation. I called the company shortly after no one showed up at the scheduled time to see when they were planning to arrive. That’s when I was informed they weren’t coming. The company was not at all concerned with coming up with a solution and could basically care less that they had to reschedule. I had to explain that I had pre scheduled the last of my remaining time off of work to stay home and be there for this work to be done. Again, it was only after I returned from taking my son to the bus stop and when I mentioned the BBB did I get helpful attitude. I was told by **** that she was able to get the general manager and one other crew member and they would be able to show up at my home by 2:00. This was a time to be there by, not the beginning time of a time frame. Tara also promised me that they would stay until the job was done, yet once inside my home, the workers said that if they started the job, it would not be finished that day and they would have to come back the following day. Advanced basement solutions knew of the existing drain system, radon system, and sealing. This was all discussed with the salesman who came to my house and examined the wall before preparing the quote. There were no surprises. The crew was unprepared to do the job and did not bring the proper tools to the jobsite. The same material that Advanced Basement Solutions describes as an extremely hard substance to remove was done by ****** ************* without any problem. My original quote from ABS went from $1200 to $2400 including the $400 discount. I had the work previously explained by Advanced basement solutions done exactly the same way by ****** ************* who has an A+ rating with the BBB for a cost of $2200. As for ABS losing money, had they been professionals and known the job at hand and how to do an inspection, write a quote properly, or show up on time. They would not have lost any money and neither would have I. I although, lost money because of this company’s incompetence and through no fault of my own other than trusting this company to do the work as quoted and promised. The work has since been completed by ****** ************* who quoted the job correctly the first time, showed up on time, finished the job on time, and did an amazing quality job without hassle. I am still requesting reimbursement from Advanced Basement solutions for my missed work time.

Regards,
******* ********

Business Response: We have talked to customer and resolved this complaint.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the Advanced Basement Solutions in reference to complaint ID ********, The offer to pay me for my 1/2 of my lost time has been accepted and find that this resolution to be satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
******* ********

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After repeatedly calls from this Advanced Basement Solutions, I decided to go with them and signed a contract on May 24,2014 to install a 37 long French drain in my basement for $2200.00. I moved all my workbenches and all the tools away from the wall as required by them. 1.They started digging in the basement on June 2, 2014 using a jack hammer.2.They should have saw cut the floor where they need to install new French drain and jack hammer the concrete in between the saw cut. They started where ever they liked and disturbed concrete slab3.They said concrete is hard and need an air hammer which would cost $500.00 more.4.I asked to split the cost and they asked me to pay $300.00.I agreed to pay $300 more.5.They started using air hammer and still could not break the concrete and asked to pay $1000. 00 more. They said concrete is very thick and would take longer time. 6.I told them that they were digging in the wrong place at the junction of wall and footing where concrete was thick . I sent them original construction pictures where builder who put the extension to building showed 4 concrete slab. They should not have dug near the wall. I told them that the wall was load bearing and they should stay away from wall. They made two holes in the concrete block wall. Now nobody else want to touch wants to touch and do the job. 7.They made a mess and left. 8.Their superintendent convinced the owner of Advanced Basement Solution that it would take long time to dig and they will need additional $1000.00 to install French drain. 9.I have been talking to the sales person **** to talk to **** **** the owner of company to resolve this problem. He told me he would talk to **** and get back to me. I called several time and never heard from him

Desired Settlement: contractor is asking $1000.00 moreIf the concrete is thicker than 4"-5 " where the French drain will be installed I am prepared to split the $1000.00 on top of original contract of $2034.00 of 10/12/2013. (note additional 20' is not required). provided they install f. Drain away from wall footing and provide picture of construction ditch. if they are not ready they should make sure they fix bearing wall concrete block and provide the proof that there wall is adequate

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

There is an appointment scheduled for ******* **** *** ***** ******* to meet Mr. ***** ** ***** for Friday July 18th at 10:00 am.  to discuss the basement issues. I will keep you informed of the outcome.

**** ****

Business Response:

We regret that our many attempts to explain and accommodate this very unusual situation both via email, pictures, phone and personally have not allowed us to come to an agreeable resolution at this time.  As explained during the most recent visit with our Nationally Certified Waterproofing Specialist and Foundation Repair Specialist, due to the very unusually thick floor (measuring over 14” thick in the areas contracted to be serviced), additional equipment is required to accommodate and complete the work properly.  This is an extreme unforeseen circumstance in conventional construction and is the thickest floor (residential and commercial) that we have ever seen in 22 years of experience.  Unfortunately this is unexpected and requires additional labor and materials out of the standard contracted scope to install the internal french drain system correctly.  As an honest company, when we uncovered this situation we immediately informed the homeowner and we were told to leave the property as is and to leave the job incomplete. 

Consumer Response: As per our conversation I am attaching a copy of a letter    from Advanced Basement Solution.. They started with $ 2000.  and went up to $ 5000.00.  that is outrageous.

 

First they asked $ 500. more to get Air Hammer I agreed to split half  and half and agreed for to pay $300. Then they said Concrete is to thick and they wanted $1000. more. They dug up some portion and made holes in the walls
I can not trust this company. I  spent lot of unpaid time went through lot of hardship. I can not move my stuff to my workshop until they patch holes in wall slab.

 I think this kind of company should not be allowed to operate. They will  make lot of people life miserable. 
 
They can not put french drain right near the wall. beacause wall is load bearing and once they cut the footing wall will be unstable. that would be unsafe.
 
 
I appreciate all the help I can get from you to resolve my problem
 
Thanks and Regards
 
 
***** *****

 

 

 

Business Response:

As an honest company, when we uncovered this situation we requested approval from the homeowner to continue the work, but we were told to leave the property as is by the homeowner and to leave the job incomplete.  We have made many attempts to come to a reasonable resolution along with making several trips to meet with the homeowner and repair the work area started.  Please see pictures and email attempts sent to Mr. ***** enclosed as well.  We have explained several times that we do not cut the footing, however, our attempts to explain the situation have not been successful as the customer does not understand the scope of work nor the very unique circumstances of the thickness of the floor at his home.  Unfortunately we are unable to control the thickness of his floor and have we been unsuccessful in helping him understand these circumstances are beyond our control.    

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 years ago we had sump pumps installed in our basement by this company however over the last 6 months or so on one of the walls in our basement the paint is bubbling up & peeling off & crumbling onto the floor as a powder. There is obviously some moisture behind the wall. We have called the company to have them come and take a look as there is a lifetime warranty from our last service. My husband called 4 times and was not able to speak to anyone. The first time I called and left a message - no one called me back. This was in late September. I called back & finally spoke to a girl in the office and explained what was happening. I made an appointment for someone to come out at 10am on Monday October 21st. October 21st came & no one showed up. I took the day off of work for this appointment. I called the office & spoke to one of the owners. She told me she did not have my appointment on her calendar. What? I had to explain the entire situation to her and she said she could reschedule another appointment for Saturday November 2nd 9am. She said we would get a phone call the day before. Here it is November 2nd and we did not get a phone call and no one showed up. I called the office and spoke again to the girl I talked to the first time. She tells me again that they have no appointment on her calendar to come and take a look at my wall. This is like groundhog day. Twice now we have scheduled an appointment and twice now the appointment disappears from their calendar? I'm frustrated and a bit furious. I suspect that we are getting the runaround because of the lifetime warranty and this company doesn't want to pay for their oversight from work that should have been done 3 years ago when they installed the sump pump. I would like this problem taken care of.

Desired Settlement: My husband and I would like this company to take a look at the wall & repair it accordingly. At this point we're not sure if we can trust their workmanship after the run around we've been getting.

Business Response:

Company Statement-

Since the complaint was filed we have inspected the property owned by the ******* and have found that the problem they have was not any fault of Advanced Basement Solutions. The ******* do understand the problem was not our fault.

 

Advanced Basement Solutions Installed internal drainage systems for ******* on January 28,2010, February 11,2011 and March 18, 2011 The systems installed have a lifetime warranty to cover the cove area (the area where the wall and floor meets.) ***** ******* inspected the system on November 16,2013 and is functioning property.

 

The problem is with the Patio that was installed after the waterproofing system. The patio is slopped toward the house and causing water to saturate the wall when it rains.

 

I apologize for the missed appointments. We at Advanced Basement Solutions Pride ourselves on our customer service. We were not trying to give the ******* the run around. We did have the names different in our computer system due to ***** going by the last name ********* and ****** and there was some confusion on our schedule due to this. Also it may not have been a priority because the internal system warranty does not cover the top of the wall. Due to our lack of customer service we waived the service fee to evaluate this issue.

 

Sincerely,

**** ****

 

12/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided on ABS because the salesman seemed friendly & knowledgable and came to my house twice and even though we had a difficult job with a lot of obstacles said they would have no problem with the job and get it done in 1 day. The day of the job the workers arrived one hour late and had no idea what the job entailed. They said the salesman did not give enough detail on the job and had to leave because they didn't have the correct tools. By the time they returned and started working it was after 12. the workers came across problems and did not inform me. I had a knock on my door and the man stated his name was **** and he was the owner of the company. He walked through the Job With me and went over what the issues were one of them being the workers broke a pipe in my floor. We discussed the job & what was to be done and he left. Needless to say the job wasn't done in 1 day & I had to reschedule multiple other contractors who were scheduled. The job took 2 extra days to complete. After the job was done they left me an invoice with the original price and told me to call or send in my payment. I called 3 days after the job was done to pay my invoice on 9/23and spoke with **** the co owner and she told me that they were charging me an extra $1200 for labor because my cement was "extra thick" which is more than 60% of what the original price was. i told her I disagreed & wanted to speak to the owner **** who was at my house. She was very rude & unprofessional and said he would call me the next day. It is now oct 1st and I have yet to hear from anyone from the company. It seems from the previous complaints they frequently add extra charges after the job is complete. The workers were here for 3 days and the owner came and discussed the job with me and not once did anyone say there would be extra charges until 3 days after the job was competed. There was an extra 3in cement pad on the floor but that was clearly on my estimate & should have been included in the original price if it was an extra charge

Desired Settlement: I feel this is poor business practice and I am being unfairly charged because the salesman underbid the job (twice) the company had multiple opportunities to discuss any issues that would incur additional charges with me during the job and while speaking with the owner especially an extra charge greater than 60% which is very significant. The cement pad was preexisting and part of the estimate and therefore I should not be charged extra and I want the additional charges removed.

Business Response: Mrs. ******* and I talked last week, I explained that due to the thickness of the floor that this job took 3 days and we lost money doing this job. I asked if she would consider  paying $ 600 additional to offset extra labor costs. She wanted to discuss the offer with her husband and call me back. To date I have not head from her. I will contact you next week and let you know how we are going to handle this dispute.

**** ****
Advanced Basement Solutions

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired advanced basement solutions to place in a French drain system. To get business, they were professional at the start, then it went downhill quite fast. Once the contract was signed we scheduled a date for the team to arrive, which they never showed up for. I got a call apologizing an they arrived another day. While they were here they broke my sewer pipe and attempted to cover that happened up but someone arrows home early. I asked for a letter to be written that they did in fact break the pipe an was rudely asked by the owner why I would want such a letter. After that I came home to see cigarette butts an garbage covering my driveway and two of the workers making derogatory statements about myself and the own company they work for. Stating the owner drinks constantly while attending to work rated business and the "short fat wife" just wants money and does not care about their quality of work and so on. As I walked inside there was an abundance of dirt in my carpet and dust everywhere. A plastic cover should have been placed over the entrance to the area being worked on. After that I got a call I owed additional money for the project because of a radon system the marketing rep did not factor in the equation since it would need sealed up. owners were extremely rude and acted as if it was my fault their person who did the initial quote was liable for these costs. Seems like an ongoing scam that this is what this company does. Yesterday I noticed my radon machine has a gaping crack in it and now the vacuum is not functioning correctly which means toxins are leaking into the house now. After all of that the workers broke my garage door sensors and I once again had to call regarding that which led to another rude conversation with the owner in which she stated it is not a big deal and it would be minimal to correct. This has been nothing but very unprofessional service and I would not recommend using this company to anyone and neither will many real estate agents here.

Desired Settlement: I want reimbursed for the money I am going to pay for a professional to correct my radon system, garage. I do not want these people in my home again.

Business Response: I have emailed Ms. ******* to resolve the complaint. I asked that ******* **** has a chance to look at the work that was done and has a oppertunity to resolve any complaints.

Note- Ms. ******* has not made any payments for the work that was done and owes our company $4945.00.

I will respond to the BBB again after We meet with Ms. ******* to review the job.

**** ****
Advanced Basement Solutions

Consumer Response: Yes this is true the company has not received payment until the job is complete and a licensed contractor is in my home to fix my stairs which has began to cave in due to the work crew channeling under the steps and not supporting from underneath. I have requested they submit a claim to their insurance and they are making it very difficult in doing so. I do not prefer the husband whom is not a structural engineer or contractor correct the work on the steps. What person would issue payment for a job not completed or a job that has many issues to correct such as damages? I did not mention the hand prints on my walls, crew members initials in the dried concrete, or many of the other cover a. I am not picky, just prefer my home and steps be made structurally sound as was previous to this company entering

Business Response: We have an appointment scheduled for Saturday August 24th to meet with Ms. ******* and review the work that was done. I will email you on Monday August 26th with the results.

Business Response: Hello,

**** **** reviewed the job over the weekend. **** **** and ****** ******* came to an agreement on how to resolve the complaint. I emailed ****** to schedule a time for service and due to a family situation she is not available for a few weeks.  The steps need to be raised an inch and secured. (This could not be done the day that system was finished because of wet concrete.) We will clean the carpet on the stairs. ( If her new carpet is not installed). I will email you again after final service is complete. Thank you for your assistance.

**** ****
Advanced Basement Solutions
1200 Herminie West Newton Rd
West Newton PA 15089
###-###-####