Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

A Better Choice Inc

Phone: (724) 863-9696 Fax: (724) 863-0547 View Additional Phone Numbers 97 N Thompson Ln, Irwin, PA 15642 http://www.abetterchoiceinc.com ! BBB Business Review on A Better Choice Inc is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers basement water proofing & foundation repair with five different methods of structural repair & restorations.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 97 N Thompson Ln

    Irwin, PA 15642 (724) 863-9696

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company water proofed my basement and punctured a sewage pipe in my basement with a jack hammer. The workers tried to tell me that it was already broken and they cemented over the leakage. I informed the company and have yet to hear back from them. They broke numerous items in my basement and ruined shelving.

Desired Settlement: I want the sewage pipe fixed.

Business Response:

At “A Better Choice" Inc. we strive for complete customer satisfaction and I am sorry to hear your feelings towards us. Mr. ****** your statements are not entirely true and a little bit twisted up, I am the one who talked to you on the phone and if I came off rude I apologize. I have just never experienced a customer swearing and threatening me in my fifteen years with the company and may have been caught a little off guard, so once again I apologize if I seemed rude.

To address your sewage issue, Mr. ****** you know on the very first day of your project our crew foreman brought you into the basement to show you after opening the floor, that your old clay/terracotta sewage lines were clogged and broken. Although it is possible for our crew to crack or damage these pipes during install, it is not possible for us to clog it with 20 years of sewage. Sir, you were shown this problem within the first few hours of the start of your project and you were also informed by the crew foreman that we are not plumbers and that you may need to call someone to have this snaked or cleaned out. You chose not to call to have this issue addressed and asked our crew to repair one visible break. 1 am sorry to say we cannot take responsibility for your faulty sewage pipes or that they are clogged as you and I both now this problem was there long before we did any work for you.




Mr. ****** I don't understand your anger with our company. You told me yourself that you were very pleased with the waterproofing work that was done at you home. That is great to hear because that is what we do. Your plumbing issue is common to many homes that is why there are hundreds of plumbers in the phone book so I don’t understand the need to try to damage our company’s reputation over something that could not possibly be our fault. Please reconsider your stand in this matter in knowing the job you hired us to do was done to your satisfaction.

 

**** ******

Vice-President of Operations

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Better Choice installed a french drain in our backyard a year ago. This year during heavy rains, the frnch drain pipe blew out of the ground and washed out the rocks and drain pipe. The pipe broke at a joint they installed between the two pipes. Upon calling them, they sent out two men to inspect the situation. The one gentleman stated the joint was improperly installed and that it was there fault and that they would "take care of it." Several weeks went by with no action, so we called back. They sent another gentleman out who inspected it again and left, again without action for two weeks. After repeated calls, they informed us they would be glad to fix it for $1700, and flat out told us that no one had visited us. Not only do they not stand behind their work, the out and out lie about site visits and discussions.

Desired Settlement: Fix the damaged work!!! They used the wrong joint by admission and the wrong size rocks to fill in the trench.

Business Response:

We were very surprised to receive this letter from you considering we have only been working with your wife *** to resolve this issue. The work contracted with “A Better Choice” Inc, was an exterior pipe approximate 12” deep with 2B river rock to the surface as requested by you to control water. As you know, this work carries no warranty. Due to extreme flooding in the Upper St .Clair area, your pipe and gravel washed away along with your neighbor’s landscaping, swing sets, patio furniture, mailboxes, cars, etc. This was a true act of God and no system of this type could have held up to this amount of flooding. 

The day after the flooding, your wife *** contacted us to tell us what had happened. “A Better Choice” Inc. set an appointment with *** to have a service crew come out to inspect and repair your unwarranted work at no charge. After further inspection by our service team, they had determined that an upgrade may be necessary to try to prevent this from happening again. At that time, another appointment was made with our general manager to come up with a solution. He had proposed to repair the system you had at no charge or to upgrade to a larger system that could possibly be a little more hurricane proof for an additional cost. 


 **** ******

Vice-President of Operations 


“Your Structural Repair & Restoration Specialists " 


“A Better Choice” Inc. goes to great lengths to satisfy all of our customers and help in any way we can. We stand by our proposed offer and hope to hear from you. 

Consumer Response:

 

I have provided a complete response to their assertations in the attachment.  I am simply now asking that they reimburse me for materials (receipts are in the attachement) since it was two months of an open trench and rocks in my yard, so I fixed it myself.

Regards,

**** *********

 

 

Business Response:

"A Better Choice" Inc. takes great pride in our service record and have over 16,000 satisfied customers in the tri-state area. Our A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau of Western Pennsylvania and our attorney general approval certificate #377 exemplifies our commitment to our customers.

"A Better Choice" Inc. would like to invite you to our office at ** ***** ******** **** ***** *********** ** ***** to pick up your $133.97 reimbursement check. Please contact ***** to set up a convenient time.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   

Regards,

 

**** *********

 

 

 

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Waterproofing company to repair leak in a tandem garage (area that joins at the house) - Inspector **** came to the home - explained how repair would be completed - said I needed internal french drains - also explained he could provide a crew to paintbasement and garage - and fix a previous leak on ceiling with drywall. He said they would repair areas of water and there would be not a drop of water in garage. Crew came - did work - and I found the work to be not to my satisfaction - tandem garage repair wasnot as detailed to that it would be completed. Workers were rude and confrontational.Area in ceiling - was padded with the empty food wrappers they ate for breakfast. Areawas sealed with caulk - not drywall. That evening we had rain - I woke to large areas ofwater in garage. I called company and canceled check - owner called and came to inspect work - agreed to return a crew and correct issues. Crew returned - did not correct all of the issues (Sealing cracks in tandem garage where water was entering). Did not address the main issue I hired this company to complete They installed a sump pump - running electric via extension card to electric circuit of garage opener -risk of injury and electrocution. I had tools in my basement that were present at 9AM thatmorning and when I went to basement at 1110AM - the tools were gone. I called company and have gotten no response. (Professional opinion of plumber - I never need internal french drains - I needed current drains snaked and gutters cleaned)

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the work that was not completed - I want refund for the tandemgarage waterproofing (the reason I hired the company) and for the carpet installation that was completed poorly. I need to hire a professional companyto repair the work - and I also now need to hire an electrician to properly install the sump pump. This pump is danger of electrocution to myself and my family - I am requesting a refund of 2000.00.

Business Response:

"A Better Choice " Inc. takes great pride in our service record and have over 16,000 satisfied customers in the tri-state area. Our A+ rating along with a prestigious Torch Award for Business Place Ethics from the Better Business Bureau of Western Pennsylvania and approval certificate #377 from the Pennsylvania Attorney Generals Office exemplifies our commitment to our customers.

Service Manager’s Timeline and Statement:

On Monday June 17,2013 came to work and ***** ******** had left two messages on the phone Saturday June 14,2013 that she was not happy with the job but paid with a check. 1 called her Monday June 17,2013 at that time she said she could not speak with me and had contacted her attorney and he would be in touch with us. I asked again what was the problem that I would like to help her that this is my job and she said she could not speak to me her attorney would be in touch and that she had stopped payment on her check. I called **** and was asked to set up and appointment with ***** for Tuesday June 18,2013 for 3-4pm. I called ***** and she agreed to meet with ****. A discussion took place with **** to get second coat of paint on the back wall, recei ve free pump, install extra tappits on ceiling, patch right rear comer, extend rear downspout approximately 30 LF sub-surface to road. ***** agreed to this work to be done and to pay $4300.00 on Saturday June 22,2013. The work was completed and ***** paid $4300.00.

On Monday June 24,2013 I spoke with ***** and she wanted to know what **** was going to do about the carpet. On Tuesday June 25,2013 I spoke with ***** and told her to get two estimates on getting the carpet installed on the concrete slab. I asked her why carpet was removed on Saturday June 22,2013 and she responded "yes". She agreed to get estimates from two companies and she would get back to me.

As of today Thursday June 27,2013 no response from ***** ********, but we did receive a BBB complaint on Tuesday June 25,2013.

I am sure ***** ********, as a responsible homeowner read the whole contract. On the back of the contract under terms and conditions paragraph 13 it clearly states Buyer is responsible for installation of electrical outlets for submersible pumps if required and for the supply of electric power and the operation of the same. End of Service Manager’s Statement.

Crew Foreman Statement:

As crew foreman, we finished and completed a waterproofing job for ***** ********.

She was very happy with the work. She had two (2) complaints. 1. The material used to fill a void in the ceiling approximately 3"x 6" which she herself removed and I replaced with a better material. 2. The appearance of the outdoor carpet and membrane that was to stop the water on her rear slab. The neighbor stated that she should hose down the pad to see if it would stop the water as she was told. I, being the foreman, told her not to put water on it for 72 hours to allow the proper dry time. 1 tried to explain things to her and she got very defensive. After I was done she stated that it didn’t look as bad as she thought.

While we were there working she provided us with breakfast foods and lunch and had only nice things to say to us. Then when we were almost completed with the job she became a different person stating that I was yelling at her when I was only trying to explain procedures. I then completed the job and collected a check and left. End of Crew Foreman Statement

Over the past two decades we have found that no matter how diligent we are in maintaining a high level of customer service, unfortunately despite our best efforts, there are some customers that can not be satisfied at any cost.

It is important that a customer be aware of what it means to place a BBB complaint against our small business.

  • Hours of manpower and money are invested to answer any complaint either accurate or senseless.

» Employees may be placed on administrative leave without pay.

*• Drug Testing/Counseling may be required.

  • Our worst fear about a BBB complaint is that whether it is accurate or senseless our company suffers by the loss of future business for 3 years. This income loss can never be replaced and unfortunately weakens the escrow account for future warranty work.
  • Fortunately, over the past 20 years and over 16,000 projects completed, we have had only twelve (12) BBB complaints. We take complaints very seriously and strive for 100% customer satisfaction.

“A Better Choice” Inc. standard operating procedure is as follows:

1. A full in house investigation starts by interviewing all employees involved with the customer to include written statements, timelines, and possible conclusions.

2. Our business goal is 30 days to respond to a customer’s complaint.

3. Standard operating procedure (SOP) once a BBB complaint is filed no service will be issued from our service department until resolution of complaint.

4. A private investigator may be hired to interview possible witnesses to events, workmanship, or allegations.

5. Local police may be informed of our investigation or involved as needed.

6. After compiling all the facts and timelines, a judgement or arbitration will take place.

After reading your complaint, I have concluded that your complaints are as follows:

• Missing Tools

• Poorly installed carpet

• Pump- with extension cord

• Caulking not drywall in 3”x 6” area

1. Missing tools: “A Better Choice” Inc. highly recommends that you contact your local police. We are confident that our workers did not take your tools.

2. Poorly installed carpet: On Tuesday June 26,2013, “A Better Choice” Inc. Service Department told you to get two (2) estimates from professional carpet installers and that “A Better Choice” Inc. would have the work completed. Although you were told more than once that the rubber membrane and carpet was not for cosmetic reasons.

3. Pump installation was not contracted for “A Better Choice” Inc. to do and we will be glad to remove it. Although, I promise you need the pump to make your waterproofing system function. You were not charged for the installation a $329.00 value.

4. 3 inch x 6 inch ceiling repair: Food wrappers are not in. your ceiling, you know it and we know it. “A Better Choice” Inc. will be glad to send our service technician to remove the caulking and glue in a 3”x 6” piece of drywall.

 

In Home Investigation:

  • Customer hosed down with water the newly glued carpet and rubber membrane breaking the seal and causing adhesive failure.
  • Customer removed carpet and rubber membrane, (voiding warranty)
  • Customer refuses to communicate.
  • Customer has taken poor advice from a neighbor/friend?

In conclusion, you have had great service from "A Better Choice11’ Tnc. and we have been in timely contact with you. Should you desire service, please contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

******* ** **** President/Owner