This business is not BBB accredited.

Pittsburgh Animal Hospital

Phone: (412) 661-9817 Fax: (412) 661-3122 1117 Washington Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15206 http://www.pittanimalhospital.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a veterinarian and animal hospital.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pittsburgh Animal Hospital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pittsburgh Animal Hospital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2011 Business started: 11/01/1972 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 11/15/2014
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of State
206 North Office Building, Harrisburg PA 17120-0029
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/licensing/12483
Phone Number: 717-787-8503
RA-BPOA@pa.gov
The number is BV008527L.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Shaw, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Shaw, Owner
Business Category

VETERINARIANS ANIMAL HOSPITALS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1117 Washington Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15206 (412) 661-9817

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday June 7, 2014 my boyfriend and I took our dog here for a 10:30AM appointment. We arrived at 10:15 and we were not seen until 11:45AM. When I asked how much longer it would be the girls behind the desk, who were busy playing on the internet and talking, got very rude and told me that sometimes things happen. I understand this but I also had planned my day around an appointment and I was simply trying to find out if I needed to change another appointment we had later in the day because we would miss it. When we finally got into the room the vet was rude, I was assuming this was because I was questioning them at the desk. There was no apology for the wait or anything. While diagnosing my dog with an ear infection and testing a lump that she had they asked questions about her health and any answers I gave they responded to very snarkily.They put medication in my dogs ear and told us that we would have to come back in two weeks to have a second round of treatment put into her ear and they gave us antibiotics. We walked out into the waiting area to check out and another dog was barking at our dog so, I took our dog outside and left my boyfriend to pay. We were already running late when my boyfriend got out to the car. He told me they didn't ask him if he wanted to make the second appointment. It slipped my mind and finally today I remembered to call. The girl was very rude from the moment I said they didn't remind us to make the second appointment. As if the whole thing was my fault, between the barking dog and running late, we were in a hurry. She got very defensive, wouldn't pull my dogs card, refused to let me talk to a supervisor, and would not tell me what the medication is called. I don't know how time-sensitive treatment #2 is to my dog and now I have to find a vet who will give treatment #2. I will not spend my money in a place that has such ignorant staff working. This vet has been getting progressively worse since we started going there two years ago.

Desired Settlement: I simply want the supervisors and owners to know the customers side. I bring my dogs there on a regular basis and they lost a good customer because the girl answering their phone is having a bad day. All I wanted when I called was to make the appointment as soon as I said "We forgot to make the appointment and no one asked if we wanted to" she was rude. My dogs won't be coming back because I don't think they will get good treatment anymore because of whatever this woman marked on their cards.

Business Response:

 I am very  sorry to hear that the customer's experience at my clinic was unsatisfactory. I am in the business of providing a service to customers, and when I read this message I was not happy. I will find out who the individuals were working that day and explain to them that this type of behavior and customer service will not be tolerated. I will also contact the customer by email to apologize.

Thank you,

****** ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I simply wanted you to be aware of how your staff is handling situations.