Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ronnie's Tire Service Inc

Phone: (412) 881-8396 Fax: (412) 881-8675 1657 Saw Mill Run Blvd, Pittsburgh, PA 15210 http://www.ronniestire.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells tires in addition to providing auto repair and service including inspections.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ronnie's Tire Service Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ronnie's Tire Service Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ronnie's Tire Service Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1963 in PA Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Program
1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us
The number is 4404.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Schemm, Owner Ms. Jeanette Schemm, Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jeanette Schemm, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Paul Schemm, Owner
Business Category

TIRE DEALERS AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TIRE RETREAD & REPAIR

Industry Tips
Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 1657 Saw Mill Run Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15210 (412) 881-8396

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I waited in line for 56 mins with a 1 year old in the car to have a tire replaced on my car. I had a flat, and was riding on a donut. Prior to entering the garage, an older man approached my vehicle and asked what i needed. i stated i needed a tire and i was driving on a donut. he asked if i had the flat in my trunk, and i said yes. when it was my turn to enter the garage, they looked at the flat and said they couldn't use it, and they didn't carry the tires my car had. i asked if that meant that i waited in line for an hour and that meant they couldn't help me, and the mans response was that they didn't carry my kind of tire. he then proceeded to yell at me about not knowing anything about the tires on my car, and asked why i didn't tell him that i needed a whole new tire. i said i was unaware you could fix a flat tire, i assumed i would get a new one. i had never had a tire replaced on a car before, and had no idea what it entailed. prior to going to ronnies, i had called the shop and inquired if i could purchase a single tire, and they said yes. i also asked what i needed to do and if i needed an appointment and they said just show up and get in line. i did exactly as instructed. no one asked what kind of tire my car took, or anything relating to why i needed a tire. given that this is their business i assumed if that was information they needed they would've mentioned it. the people there were extremely rude and condescending and made me feel stupid for being ignorant on tires and my vehicle. i don't know anything about cars or tires, and i would hope that the professionals i seek out to care for my car needs would be more courteous and respectful. i work in a restaurant and when people ask questions about the menu i don't treat them poorly and assume they should know all about the food. they don't work in my restaurant, and i don't work at a tire place! the older man who spoke with me while waiting in line was argumentative and kicked me out of the shop.

Desired Settlement: ideally i would like an apology. i feel i am frequently disrespected in situations like this because i am a woman and look much younger then my age. this business should be accountable for poor customer service.

Business Response:

I received your letter dated November  18, 2014_ regarding the complaint submitted on November 17, 2014. The complaint ID number is ********. At Ronnie's Tire Service we always strive to provide the best service to our customers, so I was disappointed when I received this complaint. However, I would like to assure, you that the information in the complaint is not accurate and seems to be more of an issue of misunderstanding on the part of the customer. 

On November 17,  2014 the customer arrived at our business and stated that she had a "donut" on the front of her vehicle and a flat tire in the trunk.  She was instructed to pull her vehicle into the line that had formed outside of our garage. This is a very busy time of year for us with other customers having  their snow tires mounted before the winter snow arrives, and the line can get rather long. The customer waited approximately 45 minutes until her vehicle was pulled into the garage for the repair.
When our tire technician, examined her "flat" tire he discovered that the tire was not just "flat" but was in fact destroyed due to extended driving on the "flat". Our office manager spoke with the customer and informed her that due to the extensive damage to the tire it was not able to be repaired. The customer was angered by this statement and informed our office manager that, as she is a female,  she was not aware that she should not have driven on the flat. The customer become irate and made quite a scene in our work area. Our office manager spoke with the customer and informed her that she would have to replace the tire. It was further explained that according to the manufacturers, all four-wheel drive and all-wheel drive vehicles must have four matching tires. The customer has "club" tires (tires exclusive to discount chain stores) on her vehicle and we were unable to sell her a single replacement tire as the type and tread design of the tire would not match and as a result would be unsafe and could cause damage to her all-wheel drive ******. The customer was very upset and continued to yell and cause a commotion which was causing discomfort to our other customers, so she was asked to leave. 

I am sorry for the poor experience, that this particular customer had at our establishment; however, this poor experience was due to us not being able to meet her needs rather than her receiving poor service. We could have simply sold this customer a non-matching tire which would have put her and her child at risk or caused damage to her vehicle. Although this would have given her a more 'satisfying 'experience, we chose not to take the customer's money and advised her to do what was safest for her and her vehicle. As a family owned business, with daughters of our own, I can guarantee that Ronnie 's Tire Service has never taken advantage of a woman for financial gain.


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Ronnie's statement of events is false. I was never irrate and never caused even a bit of a scene. The circumstances reguarding the situation with my car were not properly or politely explained to me. I felt reprimanded and talked down to by this establishment for being ignorant in vehicle knowledge. Customer service was horrendous and others should take caution.

Regards,

******** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ronnie's Tire Service Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart