BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Firestone Complete Auto Care?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Firestone Complete Auto Care

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 856-0220 Fax: (412) 858-1018 View Additional Phone Numbers 400 Mall Circle Dr  District Office, Monroeville, PA 15146

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files this company operates a chain of more than 1,700 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Complete Auto Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Firestone Complete Auto Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Complaint Information

Based on BBB files, this company has a satisfactory record with the BBB.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1976 Business started: 01/01/1926 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Vehicle Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Program
1101 S. Front Street, Harrisburg PA 17104
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-265-0921
Drivecleanpa@state.pa.us

Business Management
James Boyett, District Manager Mr. Andrew Bandish, Manager-Wexford Mr. Steve Chandler, Manager-Erie Mr. Steven Cox, Manager-Hermitage Mr. Raymond Dengler, Manager-Allison Park Mr. Leslie Dewey, Manager - Erie Mr. Aaron Farmerie, Manager-Pittsburgh Mr. Gerald Galey, Manager - Bradford store only Mr. Curtis Groves, Manager-Washington Mr. Jeffery Gulling, Manager - Sharon Mr. Charles Hackett, Manager - St. College Mr. William Halsey, Manager-Pittsburgh Mr. Thomas Lowden, Manager - Greensburg Mr. George Markland, Manager-Johnstown Mr. Edward Neil, Manager - Altoona Mr. Duane Olsen, Manager- Moon Township Mr. Robert Petrucelli, District Manager Mr. John Sapida, Manager-Monroeville Mr. Dave Schwartz, Manager - Uniontown Mr. Charles Smith, District Manager Mr. Anthony Spano, Manager- Bethel Park Mr. Wally Stock, Manager-Monroeville Mr. John Wankulitz, Manager-Pittsburgh Mr. Steven Zilavy, Manager-Natrona Heights
Contact Information
Principal: James Boyett, District Manager
Business Category

TIRE DEALERS AUTO INSPECTION STATIONS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE BRAKE SERVICE MUFFLERS & EXHAUST SYSTEMS TIRE RETREAD & REPAIR BATTERY SUPPLIES TIRE DISTRIBUTORS & MANUFACTURERS BATTERY REPAIRING & REBUILDING SHOCK ABSORBERS

Alternate Business Names
Expert Tire GCR Tire Center Mark Morris Tire
Additional Information

This company's headquaters and company-owned locations throughout the country participate as members of the BBB. This means they support the BBB's services to the public and meet our membership standards.


Additional Locations

  • 1 Bradford Mall

    Bradford, PA 16701 (814) 362-6838

  • 10225 Perry Hwy

    Wexford, PA 15090 (724) 935-3758

  • 1155 Washington Pike  Great Southern Shop Ctr

    Bridgeville, PA 15017 (412) 257-2655

  • 1701 Broadview Blvd

    Natrona Hts, PA 15065 (724) 224-2664

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1802 State St

    Erie, PA 16501 (814) 454-2488

  • 181 Sierra Dr

    Altoona, PA 16601 (814) 944-4311

  • 20030 Route 19

    Cranberry Twp, PA 16066

  • 2165 S Atherton St

    State College, PA 16801

  • 2950 Banksville Rd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15216 (412) 561-0260

  • 301 Oak Spring Rd

    Washington, PA 15301 (724) 222-4222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 E Lake St Ste 300

    Bloomingdale, IL 60108 (800) 367-3872

  • 3405 E State St

    Hermitage, PA 16148 (412) 856-0220

  • 3775 William Penn Hwy

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 856-0500

  • 400 Mall Circle Dr  District Office

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 856-9380

  • 408 Galleria Dr

    Johnstown, PA 15904 (814) 266-1487

  • 4748 William Flynn Hwy

    Allison Park, PA 15101 (412) 487-8840

  • 500 Chauvet Dr

    Pittsburgh, PA 15275 (412) 788-9570

  • 5055 Library Rd

    Bethel Park, PA 15102 (412) 390-5817

  • 520 Clairton Blvd

    Pittsburgh, PA 15236 (412) 653-6435

  • 573 Millcreek Mall

    Erie, PA 16565 (814) 868-5258

  • 5920 University Blvd

    Moon Township, PA 15108 (412) 262-3200

  • 600 Monroeville Mall

    Monroeville, PA 15146 (412) 856-9380

  • 6228 Route 30  Hempfield Square

    Greensburg, PA 15601 (724) 836-2330

  • 9 Mill St

    Uniontown, PA 15401 (724) 438-7302

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (330) 379-6912(Phone)
  • (412) 833-4433(Phone)
  • (412) 833-4436(Phone)
  • (412) 856-9380(Phone)
  • (540) 982-0173(Phone)
  • (610) 968-2062(Phone)
  • (716) 631-0105(Phone)
  • (724) 346-2621(Phone)
  • (800) 562-2838(Phone)
  • (330) 864-0811 (Fax)
  • (412) 220-9745 (Fax)
  • (412) 856-9023 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car into Firestone about a month ago for alignment, brake check (squeaking), and tire balancing. I was told upon further inspection that I needed all new tires and that after checking the brakes it looked like the pads were brand new. I was further told that since brakes are new they wouldn't recommend doing anything unless the noise really bothers me that much. So at their suggestion I just replaced all 4 tires. The squeaking has now gotten worse so I brought my car back to Firestone and asked for a brake check and oil change. I was told that the notes on my account said they had recommended that I get new rotors.....this clearly is not what I was told a month ago. After inspection I was told that because the rotors had not been fixed they had completely ruined my BRAND NEW brake pads. If I had truly been told that my rotors needed repairing I would have done so. Just as the new tires were suggested I would have had the rotors replaced. I take the condition of my brakes very seriously especially when dealing with the hills in Pittsburgh. I have been quoted $850 for the job to fix my brakes. As a law student I cannot afford this nor should I be required to pay for the brakes because had I been properly notified I would have had the rotors fixed to begin with. I am being forced to max out my firestone credit card and try to find the remaining balance of $250 cash to get the work done. Until I can find the money for the repairs I cannot use my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like Firestone to cover the cost of the entire brake replacement. I cannot use my car until I find the money to cover the extensive cost that would have been mitigated greatly by proper notification.

Business Response: Spoke to customer. customer admitted there was discussion on conditions of rotors and that he received a written estimate that he didn't review. we offered to replace rear rotors and rear brake pads only. just for customer satisfaction. customer agreed to resolution

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brother had my father's van towed to firestone for repair. Upon completion of repairs i took my brother to the shop to pay for and pick up the van. They asked if he wanted to put the repair on his firestone charge and this is where the problem begins. The van that was repaired is in my fathers name which is james f. fornof and they assumed it was my vehicle and had already charged it too my firestone charge account. I told them not too put it on the charge and my brother used a credit card too pay for the repairs. A few days later i was checking my accounts and found that they had indeed put the repair on my charge account and not used the payment from my brother's charge card.

Desired Settlement: want this charge removed from my account and a refund of my payments for it

Business Response: File update: called customers daytime number in 5/13/2014 at 1:06 leaving a voice message requesting the customer to contact District office to discuss resoution. contused why customer waited over 10 months to correct this situation. called customer again on 5/21/2014 at 9:10am leaving second voice message. customer has not attemped to contact District office for resoultion.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Lexus to this place for tire replacement. I drive my car everyday I never noticed any wheel alignment issue with my car and it was not even 3 yr old and is still under company warranty. I usually take my car to **** **** in Wexford, I always get my car alignment checked with every oil change, I never had any problem. but this time I had to take to this place for time constrains. When they changed tires they claimed that my wheel alignment is bad and they said I need to get alignment. I never had any problem with alignment so I refused it but as soon as they changed my car started pulling to left because poor alignment. This company intentionally changes alignment of tires and pull the report showing bad alignment so that they can make their commission on the services provide. Another thing I noticed that they charged me for Warranty on my tires which I never asked for and I only noticed that on my bill when came home and I called them told them that I never asked for it and they tried to be smart by saying that I signed on bill that I am agreeing to pay for it.. I told them that I signed on that bill trusting that company but I never asked for any additional warrenty. They returned that money for warranty but they have notorious manipulative billing and service practices. I had to pay another store for alignment. I did not want take it same store for the fear of damaging my car further.

Desired Settlement: They have to provide me amount that I paid for alignment with another mechanic.

Business Response: Spoke with customer and Firestone will refund him the amount he paid for an alignment. Apologized for situation. Possibility alignment was off and old tires were worn to compensate. Firestone does NOT pay sales teammates a commission on services.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken my 2003 ****** *** to Firestone on Monday October 14th, 2013 for a front-end alignement and inspection. After sitting for roughly an hour, the technician came out and told me that roughly I needed around $1400.00 worth of work. I told the technician that I had the vehicle to my mechanic Tuesday September 3rd for inspection and he told me that I needed 4 new tires and that I would pass inspection. I purchased the tires and had them installed before I went to Firestone, expecting to pay $57.00 for the alignement and around $48.00 for the inspection. I was floored when the technician told me what I needed done. I told him I have my own mechanic who does my work and told him I would go back to him and have him recheck the vehicle to see what I needed done. I just had the vehicle there on Monday October 21st 2013 and he said that Firestone was trying to take advantage of me and that I did not need all that work done. He also inspected the vehicle and it passed. I have told this story to several of my clients in the Hair Salon that I work at and they told me to file a complaint. How many people have they taken advantage of that no one knows about. That is why I am letting you know this. Is there any thing that can be done to keep this from happening to people?

Desired Settlement: Just want this noted so it doesn't happen to someone else.

Business Response:

10/30/2013 called customer and left voice message requesting conference.

10/30/2013 retrieved a copy of estimate from store. Estimate for state inspection had a burned out bulb, right front broken coil spring, and brake bads with one side measuring 1/32nd of friction material (all required for state saftey). Additional estimate had recommended rotors, left front coil spring ( for even suspension), rotors due to rust (could not be resurfaced as should be done with friction material replacement) and 2 options on our allignments( all optional, not required for state inspection). Total estimate of $1205.85.

10/30/2013 customer left voice message after office was closed

10/31/2013 received voice message from customer. Customer stated same as BBB complaint. Then stated that she just wanted us to be aware of her concerns regarding over pricing and that further contact was not nessesary.

10/31/2013 called customer leaving a voice message again requesting opportunity to reinspect vehichle to verify estimate of state safety requirements and over pricing.

11/1/2013 no response from customer. We certainly take the concerns seriously and have investigated them as thouroughly as possible.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Took my work van into the Firestone, ********** ** location on 6/1/13 at 8:30 am for a state inspection and emissions inspection. Upon arrival the manager said that he would need it for a couple hours and take a look at it and give me a call. At 1:00pm a man named ***** called me to ask me if I wanted to have the emissions done and a sticker put on the windshield that would need replaced to pass inspection. I instructed him to do the emissions and inspection and I would pay for a replacement sticker when I get the windshield replaced on Monday 6/3/13. ***** said OK, i will give you a call if it needs anything else. After that I waited for a call but never received one, the store closes at 6pm, so at 5:55pm I called to find out if the inspection and emissions were done, a man named ***** answered and said that my van was never looked at, I said that ***** had called me at 1pm that day and said that he was doing it. ***** said no, it was not looked at and that they would need to keep it and look at it first thing Sunday morning. Reluctantly I agreed. I had to miss work on 6/1/13 and 6/2/13 as a result. At 10:45am 6/2/13 I stopped into the store to check the status, *****, informed me that they still had not looked at the van. I saw many cars in the shop that were not there when I dropped off my van and many people waiting inside. I feel completely dis-satisfied with the negative experience I received and I feel slighted and lied to.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursed for the lost time from work for two days wasted. I was unable to use my van for work because firestone employees lied to me and I had to cancel deliveries that I was supposed to do on saturday evening and sunday morning. I lost $460 in income from deliveries because they kept my vehicle overnight after telling me It would be looked at that day. I could have made other arrangements but because no one bothered to call me before their store closed to inform me.

Business Response: Contacted **** ***** and made appointment on Friday to get Free State inspection and what every is needed for inspection handled free. Customer Happy,  Case Closed

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
2/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues