Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retirement planning services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hunt and Associates meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hunt and Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hunt and Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1981 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Insurance Department
1326 Strawberry Square, Harrisburg PA 17120
http://www.insurance.pa.gov
Phone Number: 877-881-6388
The number is 349605.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gary Hunt, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Hunt, Owner
Business Category

RETIREMENT PLANNING SERVICE INSURANCE-LIFE ANNUITIES


Additional Locations

  • 8794 Delaware Ave

    Irwin, PA 15642 (724) 863-1059

  • 8794 Delaware Ave

    Irwin, PA 15642

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met **** two times, the first time he seemed like he was interested in my and my needs. After that meeting he seemed to forget about me, I called him three weeks later, he could not remember what we talked about so we reviewed on the phone and set a meeting to discuss his product offerings.The complaint starts here. After a brief second meeting, he was very forceful , insulting, and lied to meFORCEFUL - he continued to push me to sign the contract for the annuity he was offering and I continued to tell him I want to read about it and learn more before I would sign. He said he is creditable and I should trust him, people are lining up to sign this agreement and ALL SIGN AT WHEN HE ASKES THEM TO EXCEPT ME. I found this a little unusual and made me uncomfortable. INSULTING- He tried to intimidate me saying that I need to get the form completed because the company had to pre-quality me and since I have limited assets they may not qualify me - of course I said in they don't , they don't. He also said that I was lucky I was dealing with him because my 85K interest was small for him, he usually hands off this type of small business to his wife, and she does bigger accounts than me. He said this is the third time we meet, I corrected him saying it was the second time, and he said it needs to get done now. I said I was meeting other people with other options first, he expressed his concerns that they will not like this plan so be ready to hear that. I said I am smart enough to decide for my self.LIED TO ME - this is by biggest issue. He said he was the only one that sold this product and the only one I could purchase it from was him.I have purchased the same product from another local agent that sells the same thing as many do. I did not need to be pre qualified, did not have a problem with assets, or a rush to sign anything until I fully read and was comfortable with the plan. Basically everything he told me was a lie,his exclusivity, my qualifying, and this pushy nature to sign.

Desired Settlement: I want this recorded as a formal complaint against him and his firm.I will continue to pursue it in whatever method I need to get this complaint registered as DECEPTATIVE SELLING.please advise

Business Response:

When I was talking to *** ******, what I found was, before I could finish my answers he was already asking me another question. He wasn’t really listening to my answers, and I believe this is where most of his confusion came from. It’s true that I thought we had met two times previously, and I did apologize for that. I was confused because we had spoken on the phone several times at length, and some time had elapsed since I spoke with him last. I suggested that we submit a form to see if he could prequalify; every client is required to qualify through suitability. Prequalifying is not a requirement, but I was concerned about the size of the case, and I said that there was no sense proceeding if it would not be accepted. I mentioned that we usually handle larger accounts only because there was a chance he would not be accepted. *** said that he was meeting with other people and I said that security agents don’t sell this plan because it’s not a security; I did not tell him that “I’m the only one who sells this plan”; that would be ridicules. ******* has many agents and I always point out how large they are to show their financial strength. I would never claim that I’m the only one who sells their products! The companies I work with have regulations that I must follow, and I would not do anything that jeopardizes my relationship with them, or my clients. I’ve been in business for 32 years. I don’t lie about products; this is my livelihood and I guard it very well. This is the first complaint I’ve ever received. I think that more than anything else it was a misunderstanding. -**** ****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


**** is now dancing around the facts as presented to me.  He indicated he was confused about our phone calls,  I submit , he is also confused in his response that I wasn't listing to his answers.   I am a quick study, listen well, and must do it every day at my job to succeed for both internal and external clients.  That is a ridiculous statement he offered. Also, there was no suggesting that I get pre-qualified,  he stated that due to low value of the account, 85K,  he tried to intimidate me with this strategy to again get me to sign.  The same plan offered by others did not even bring up or ask about this qualification, only his BS to get me to sign and be-little me.  Additionally he said and I am again stating it, " I AM THE ONLY ONE THAT CAN OFFER THIS PLAN TO YOU".  Sorry to say his response above just is not correct and he again goes on trying to protect his position by saying he would never say this to jeopardizes his relationship with clients.  Well, first time for everything  and he did say it as I stated.  I did not misunderstand, I understood exactly since I have also been in sales for over 30 years.  He was trying to close at that time at any cost and I would not have it.   


Please understand, my only resolution is to have a complaint registered with BBB for Deceptive Selling Practices.  Just too many issues to ignore.

 

How long does this have to go one?   I will not change my position and considering to file a complaint on PA State Insurance site also.

Regards,

*** ****** 

 

 

Business Response:

*** is now saying that I’m dancing around the facts, and that I  “did not ask him to pre-qualify”. In his first complaint he stated 4 times that I asked him to qualify/pre-qualify. Every company I work with requires clients to qualify before issuing the policy. His “85k” was not the issue; it was his lack of other liquid funds that I was concerned about. The companies I work with require clients to have 50-84K in liquid cash on top of the funds that clients invest; depending on their situation. These policies are long-term contracts and this requirement is to protect clients from fees associated with the surrender schedule. I’m not the “only one” who sells these programs, but security agents can’t sell these programs; that is also why they don’t like them. I was not trying to “close” him, just get him to pre-qualify; I didn’t want to waste any more of ***'s time if he would not be accepted. I understand that I angered *** and made him feel unimportant; I apologized for not remembering how many times we met. I am a very busy man, and see many clients; it can be difficult to remember everything about a client after not speaking to them for an extended period of time. *** isn’t looking for resolution he just wants to hurt me. It seems like his new agent may have coached him in what would do the most damage. I’ve seen how cut throat some of the people in this industry can be. That’s not how I do business; I go to church every Sunday and strive to be the best Christian I can be. If there was a way to resolve this with *** I would not hesitate to make amends. Again, this is my first complaint in 32 years of business, and I will continue to do my best to make sure it’s the last.